Sony STR DE575 Dolby Surround Receiver A/V Receivers

STR DE575 Dolby Surround Receiver

The STR-DE575 from Sony features 5.1 channel surround sound and a 32-bit DSP.

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Pete   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 13, 2003]
Strength:

user friendly - even my electonicly inept girlfriend could use it.

Weakness:

poor sound, poor quality

This was my first surround receiver($375CDN). Hats off to sony for user friendly, their product controls are always intuitive. The sound on the otherhand leaves a bit to be desired, the highs are too harsh. Music - forget it!! I recently baught a Yamaha RX-V992 on ebay(older model, new with warranty $280) I'm selling the sony.

Similar Products Used: Rotel, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Morley   AudioPhile [Feb 16, 2003]
Strength:

Good HT sound for the price.

Weakness:

Stereo sound really sucks!

Got the receiver just over a year ago. Was initially pleased with it but am changing my mind lately. It does a fine job on surround sound. It really rocks. On stereo, it really sucks. Clearity really drops around 50% volume and a strong hissing noise begins. This really sucks. Listening to loud stereo sound is really frusterating. I only play it to half volume because the hiss becomes unbearable after. I've moved to different locations and swapped wires but the sound stays. I can't recommand this receiver fo anything but HT surround sound.

Similar Products Used: Techniques, Pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
thercanbonly1   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 16, 2002]
Strength:

Dolby Digital,DTS/PrologicII/Multi Channel input. Good home theater entry system.

Weakness:

Remote:Limited control abliliy with other devices. Manual could be more informative.

I’m very pleased with this receiver because it has allowed me to step up to digital audio, while maintaining a good budget. I’ve had this receiver for over 6 months and I’m enjoying ever bit of it. This is an execellent entry level HT receiver. I would recommend this receiver to any one looking to get an entry level digital receiver.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha HTR5490
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jacob rumsey   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2002]
Strength:

Dolby Digital and DTS decoding from sony for $250. 100 watts per channel is plenty loud (you don't need any more power, I promise you won't use it)

Weakness:

A little complex to learn, but it's not that difficult.

Very good av for first time buyer. Dolby Digital and DTS sound pretty good (keep it on Digital Cinema B).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Nick   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 13, 2002]
Strength:

Lots of; Hook ups features power

Weakness:

Remote is kinda confusing

Great reciever. has lots of power and gives great response. It has lots of hook ups. including 2 optical and a hole load of others. I would recomend this to anyone who is looking for a good amp at a good price. and i could go on about the whole good speaker and cable thing like everyone else but I think they covered it all

Similar Products Used: JVC minisystem
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
James   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 15, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent sound quality, wire connections take 16 gauge wire just fine, Lots of power for the price, imitation surround works wonderfully

Weakness:

The remote is a bit large, and it is fairly confusing (Especially since the manual does not cover every button), however it does the job.

Note: that is $300 CDN Well... I took this home and figured it would be a good reciever... but I didn''t have all my speakers yet. So I hooked it up to the old speakers in the house (which were connected to an old amp) and it made the sound sooo much better. I have also tried the imitation surround from analog and it does a good job (not like some which make it sound like a tin can). After watching Enterprise with this amp I was glad for getting it. (and for a good price thanks to a friends and family discount). A little hint though is get good speakers with this one... crummy speakers will kill you. I used two tiny things I had laying around for initial testing, then I hooked up my new Energy eXL-C center speaker and the sound from the center was beautiful... even without a subwoofer it was shaking the floow. I''ll soon have 4 Energy eXL15s and an Energy S8.2 subwoofer to go on it. Oh..couple extra things: #1) you can program the remote with the codes, they are on the last 2 pages of the manual. #2) I love the fact that with the remote you can enter in the radio station using the number pad, rather than tuning for forever.

Similar Products Used: some Technics recievers from ''92
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 13, 2001]
Strength:

5.1 and dts, price.

Weakness:

no switched ac outlet ,only one set of main speakers, optical and d-coaxial on same input.

this reciever is connected to:
sony 5 disc cdp-ce525 via optical cable
sony 32" trinitron tv via s-video
aiwa xd-dv170 dvd player via optical cable
digital cable via d-coaxial cable

this reciever powers:
2 klipsch sf-1 stereo speakers
1 klipsch ksc-c1 center channel
2 klh model 970h surround sound speakers

over all i'm pleased with this unit.
stereo sounds great, the surround modes sound ok.
(an upgrade to the klipsch ss1 for the rears would help)
dts and 5.1 are great but could use a little more power.
(a powered sub is in order for serious movie sound)
both the remote and front display panel are very easy to use/see and offer a great amount of control over the sound.
if you are considering upgrading to 5.1 and dts over pro logic.....do it! also i would recommend using digital connections as much as possible with this reciever....it cuts down on background noise (i.e. that famous sony hissss)
by a great deal and lets the 32 bit processor convert digital to analog for both stereo and surround modes.

overall a great deal on a very solid entry level reciever.


Similar Products Used: sony str-de415, aiwa av-x200, yamaha stereo reciever
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Keith Kennedy   Casual Listener [Jan 02, 2002]
Strength:

Very reasonable price for a very flexible unit with plenty of I/O. Display makes audio source very obvious.

Weakness:

Exaggerated power output.

This is a decent amp with several user friendly and user hostile features. The remote attempts to do it all, but like any universal - it can't...The power issue is not really a problem, but as a musician it is clear that 100 watts from "Sony" is not the same as 100 watts from Bryston, Samson, Trace Elliot, Yorkville etc.
This amp will do for anyone interested in the home theatre craze.
It comes with two year warranty.
The front of the amp allows all functions to be adjusted "hands on" as opposed to many electronic products that are remote dependent.
The remote works with the amp seamlessly, but it can't do all the functions of my two VCRs, DVD and TV. But who really cares - I can use the other remotes or "get off the couch!!!"
for $340.00 Canadian (incl tax) it's a no brainer. Enjoy!

Similar Products Used: Harmon Kardon 6150 Integrated Amp
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jody   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2002]
Strength:

DTS, 5.1, 32 bit DSP Processing and 15 DSP MODES

Weakness:

Remote won't work my sat, Dvd but it will work the TV, VCR.

This is an Amazing receiver. The Base is heart pounding, and the sound is crisp and screams of highs when you need them. I really like the sony Digital Cinema Sound DSPS they really make a difference in the movie. I first watched Hannibal in DTS then I went back and turned on the Digital Cinema Sound number B. I simply could not beleive the differnce talk about theatre sound. Even my friend who has a THX select kenwood 510 was in awe. I am not dishing kenwood but I had 2 of them and the 507 had more inputs and outputs then my new sony but the automode in their receiver is flakey. If you skip forward or pause the movie the sound will cut off 50% of the time. Then you have to reset the sound mode. I also know that the sound of any receiver is mostly dependent on what you are using for speakers and your components. So do yourself a big favour if you have got a crappy setup for speakers and a crappy sub then you shouldn't even be considering this or any other receiver. First get the speakers and the sub then get a good receiver. Otherwise you will always be going around never satisfied with your sound thinking it is the receivers fault but it was you speakers all along. I have been there trust me and it costs alot more money to learn the hard way then the easy way. Well anyways this is a great amp at a great price and the only thing I would change is more S-Video inputs and possibly the remote which are minor.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood 405, 507
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jcamp   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2002]
Strength:

Digital Optical outputs, 100W per channel, Mutichannel decoding.

Weakness:

Controller sucks thats it

Ive upgraded my Reciever to this model of Sony and its a wonderfull reciever for the money. Im pushing 2 Infinity RS 5 towers (Left and right channel) Infinity I36C center channel, 2 Infinity Modulus Satelite speakers and a IL100 Infinity Subwoofer. Connected 5 dick CD player, Ps2, VCR, TV, Digital Sat. I like this reciever.

Similar Products Used: Infinity, sony, Bose
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com