Sony STR DE475 Dolby Digital DTS Receiver A/V Receivers

STR DE475 Dolby Digital DTS Receiver

- Dolby Digital, DTS, and Dolby Pro Logic decoding
- 80 watts x 2 (stereo) into 8 ohms (40-20,000 Hz) at 0.09% THD or 80 watts x 5 in surround mode
- 24-bit DSP for 11 modes (including Dolby Digital, DTS, Pro Logic, and Digital Cinema Sound)
- Digital inputs: 1 optical, 1 coaxial, 2 audio and 3 A/V (including one 5.1-channel) inputs
- preamp-level subwoofer output
- 1 set of main speaker outputs
- A/V remote control
- 30 AM/FM presets

User Reviews (32)

Showing 1-10 of 32  
hanumanta   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 22, 2014]

Sony STR DE475Dolby Digital Dts Receiver/RVF-126717-2718crx.aspx

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jessie   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 27, 2008]
Strength:

optical cable,5.1 for its time,crystal clear sound for movies and games,quite a bit of options for a budget receiver for different sound effects.The remote can be used on a older receiver from Sony actually since my brother has the model before they changed it to 5.1,but his is 800 watts.The receiver lasted me this long since I was a teenager and I am 23,to me thats good for something that is consider a budget receiver,good with the newer subwoofers,

Weakness:

only 400 watts(but not a huge weakness).I can't even hook up my 250watt subwoofer since it has regular wires that connect,not how the subs are with one plug

I bought the receiver when I was a teenager and now I am 23 years old,I still use the receiver for movies and also I have my Xbox 360 hooked up with the optical cable,and it sounds great,I know its not the high end receiver,but who cares if you can get good sound with the optical cable,having good speakers like JBL would do the job or even older Sony tower speakers are good to.I like how the receiver can have a different name depending what you have it set on.I did have a newer sub woofer,which was only 50 watts from sony,but not as good as my old sub,the 50 watt sub is good for some things,but comparing it to the 250 watt sub and that,major difference in bass.

Customer Service

I didn't even bother asking the best buy guys since they're not that bright on entertainment set ups,so I had my brother go with me since he is the expert in that field of car audio and home theater systems

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Champion   Casual Listener [Dec 15, 2003]
Strength:

Easy to use, nice to look at, sounds great.

Weakness:

lack of inputs and 4mm speaker connections

This is a great reciever, its very easy to set up, looks nice and sleek, and sounds great. One of the nice things about this reciever, is it tells you what signals you are actually listening to, and the remote control doesnt look like its from another planet. Its not the best amp in the world, but stick in a good film or a music release recorded in dts, and you will hear that your money was well spent. As for that guy that complained that its a rip off, Sony are certainly not the only ones to blame when it comes to optimism in the watts department, so i suggest you stick to selling your 85 grand speakers or whatever they were (more money than sense me thinks), and for the record, i have never met a guy that works in a hifi shop, that EVER and i mean EVER has known what he is talking about. I tell you people, do your research before you go, and give it a listen, if you like it, buy it, if not, dont. DONT listen to the guys in the shop, there hopeless (Waiting to be proved wrong)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jon Petter   AudioPhile [Sep 10, 2003]
Strength:

A very good receiver for that price! Dolby digital and DTS. Good round bass on my namco's with 12" bass, not so good on my surround speakers with 6,5" bass. Both optical and coaxial input. Analog 5.1 input's Overall clean sound

Weakness:

Few optical inputs..

This is a very good receiver for a good price!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Natetendo   AudioPhile [Feb 26, 2003]
Strength:

The midrange has pretty good tonal range without distorting. Bass is ok (40Hz not bad for 200$)

Weakness:

It isnt the kind of amplifier that would win any other contest than price range.

I bought this amp at best buy for a small room. It isnt that bad though for a mere 200 pieces of green cloth. Even though it was cheap, that dosnt mean that it didnt sound good. It works perfectly well with small rooms. The matter is, it works well with speakers in the same price range. Kids, dont go hooking up your 20,000 dollar studio monitors and expect the studo sound that they would offer. I work with a beutiful sylvania rq 3747 studio amplifier from the 70's, and it could woop this thing down the street. It does get the job done though. It it actually used as a preamplifer for my turntable. the problem is im using monoblock amps from granite audio. These use things called triodes, for all you newbies out there, not transistors, or capasitators. Anyways the problem is that with monoblocks, you need two of these sonys, for the most accurite sound. hey they work!!

Similar Products Used: granite audio monoblocks sylvania rq 3747 quadraphonic hh scott midland 8 track stanton str8-100 sony tc-500a reel to reel bogen b61 turntable epos 1000 studio monitors jbl yamaha ohm mcin
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Allen Ayers   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 31, 2002]
Strength:

-Cheep Price -Sony brandname -Good for small to medium systems, works great as a bedroom system.

Weakness:

-Lack of Digital Inputs -Somewhat poor remote (it's universal as long as you own all Sony products) -Lack of AUX input

Before I start my actual review, let me explain my situation for all of you. First off I am a teenager, who lives in a simple 12 by 12 bedroom. I had owned a shelf system for a few years and decided that I wanted to upgrade to a component system. I went in on a limited budget and decided that the first step was that I need to get myself a reciver and a few speakers. I got the Sony STR-DE475 as well as a pair of KLH 911B speakers. When I got the reciver it was pointless for me to have, however over the following year I would continue to upgrade my system, adding a Zenith 5 Disk DVD changer, a new TV (Samsung Dynaflat TXM2790F),a KLH center channel, and a Sony SA-WM20 Subwoofer. I also moved my KLH 911B's back and made them my rear speakers and put a pair of Sony SS-MB100H speakers. Now that I own all of the above the reciver is finally being used to how I had hoped it would. While I love it I do have a couple of small issues with it. First off there are no S-Video (or component for that sake) jacks on it. Also there is a real lack of digital inputs. My one other problem is the lack of a AUX channel. Now for my setup I think what I have is more then good! Very few people have managed to get a full 5.1 setup in the bedroom. The Sony STR-DE475 can be used as a reciver in your living room, however if that is the case you will need better speakers then just your standard bookshelf. If there are other people like me out there, who are still in High School and want to throw a nice system in their bedroom, then this is a perfect fit.

Similar Products Used: Several others including a some professional equipment.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
thmswmck1   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 30, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound at decent levels with good speakers! THE BLUE LIGHT!!!

Weakness:

Some distortion at high levels of volume.

I bought this receiver at Best Buy open box. I was having trouble decided between the Sony and the Aiwa receiver but apparently I made the right choice. This receiver ROCKS! It does great for movies and all right for music. I say all right because it distorts at loud levels. But then again it was only 169.99. I really like this unit for what it does and its power. I use it with 2 Cerwin Vega LS-12 towers and the LS-6C center channel. I use a JBL PB-12 powered sub with it as well and they all sound great with this receiver. Although I plan to upgrade to a Harman/Kardon or Onkyo in the future, this was definitely a GREAT start for my home theater.

Similar Products Used: None so far.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Sander   AudioPhile [Dec 29, 2002]
Weakness:

No S-Video out :S

It's a great receiver with enough functions to have good sound. It works very nice.

Similar Products Used: b&o suroundset
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve Lockridge   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 21, 2002]
Strength:

Very clean sound. Great price. Excellent setup and diagnostic tools.

Weakness:

Optical input is linked to "TV/Sat" mode only.

To the guy who sells the $85,000 speakers: 99.9% of us can't afford equipment like that so we have to buy the best affordable brands. Sony hasn't been in business as long as they have or grown as big as they have by putting out crap. The STR-DE475 has been a very good HT receiver for me. The sound is very clean and my small Sony subwoofer rocks the house! This isn't a perfect receiver but I didn't pay $1,000 for it either. It is a great value for the $$$.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
butteredgroove   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 18, 2002]

Worked great and sounded great! My friend, who is a classical guitarist, came over and commented on the quality of the sound. Unfortunately, about 15 months after I bought it I turned it on one day and heard a big POP. The display panel no longer lit nor did the sound work anymore. This unit was treated PERFECTLY. Never left on too long, in a space with proper ventilation, on a surge protector, and so on. I opened it up and there is ZERO dust inside. And it still failed, just three months outside of its warranty. Beware. It's not a good value, therefore, in my case.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 32  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com