Sony STR-DE425 A/V Receivers

STR-DE425

100W x3 Channels / 50W x2 Rear Channels - Dolby Digital Ready - 1998 model

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
Tyler Laman   AudioPhile [Apr 15, 2015]

I've had this for about 3 years now, got it used. This has saved my antique 15" 3-way speakers many times, along with my subwoofer. I've had the 'PROTECT' feature display itself many times, and every time, it shut off BEFORE the speakers blew, although I keep the receiver off for about 10m to make sure nothing was overheated.

Anyways, I have made my own surround sound system, due to the fact that none of the speakers match, and the whole thing works great. I also like the fact that I can switch A+B speakers and left and right.

At first I thought I downgraded to this from a 1000w receiver. 2 500w channels, I was wrong. This Sony receiver is soooo much better. I keep bass all the way up, as I have a lot of midrange and not many bass-producing speakers, and I have treble at about 40% past halfway. This sounds good with my speakers.

Although I have rarely turned the volume past 4.5. I turned up to 10 once, and it shut off automatically, saying 'PROTECT', (saved my speakers once again). Then I turned bass all the way down, treble just past halfway, and THEN turned it to 10. Never flinched. IF you do have high end loudspeakers, you might be able to turn it to 10 with NO modifications to BASS or TREBLE, (without 'bass boost' on). I am still waiting for the day that I can do that, just saving up for better speakers.

I recommend cooling it somehow if you're gonna pump that much power through it, however. I just have a laptop cooling fan flipped up-side-down above the receiver. I have the cooling pad plugged into my PS3 (as I only use my PS3 with the surround sound. I don't have cable, it's pointless). I can turn it up to 10 for hours with the fan on low, it keeps it room temp.

I'm upgrading soon to the (sticking with Sony, as I like my PS3, and everything to match) Sony STR DN-850. It's a 4K, 7.2 channel receiver with built in Wifi and Bluetooth. Gonna have concert-grade Crate amp speaker cabinets (made in the same year, 1998) hooked up to it with two PL-200 subwoofers from BIC Acoustech, a series from BIC America. Should sound great.

Will update when I get the new Crate amp cabinets....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dirtbike   Casual Listener [Jul 04, 2012]

I have used it for over 10 years now and it still pumps out big power! I use a cord that has two speaker plugs to headphone jack. I run headphone through my tv, iPhone, mp3, and more. The only unit that I gotta get up to turn on and off is my woofer. The best ss stereo that I've ever owned! It's kinda old now but still looks and sounds brand new. I will use it until it breaks, so that could be past a lifetime.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
johny   AudioPhile [Mar 16, 2011]

Very good receiver for the money. Good deal. I had this for seven years and it never shut it shelf down, even when i pushed it hard. The ploblem though with this receiver is that it does not have strong transformer and output power... But for the money it costs, it gives more...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
AN DiGiTAL STUDiOS   AudioPhile [Feb 16, 2003]
Strength:

Lots of power, drives my 9 speakers a hell of alot, I got 4 front one center and 4 surrounds hooked up (for now) and it sounds pretty good. Great Bass....

Weakness:

Yet on the AM/FM, on full bass it overloads itself giving out some distortion. NO CONTROLS FOR 5.1 INPUT AT ALL, accept for balance and volume. Thank god my Soundcard has the seperate speaker voume controls, and bass and treble contros, and EAX surround environments. If you use this on your PC, get the Audigy, or atleast get the Live! 5.1.

Pretty nice amp, Yet weak at surround strengths, yet gives out lots of bass for fron speakers. I dont tend to use the 2 channel Prologic mode anymoe, once I got the Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 1394, I just use the 5.1 input. IT DOESNT SOUND FLAT!!!! It sounds great, with the EAX effects and the bass way up high. Could have used a Dolby Digital Decoder, though I have one on my Audigy soundcard. If you are looking for a low price Name brand 5.1 amp, this is the one.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2002]
Strength:

Lots Of inputs and outputs. Sounds great. No problems so far and i had it 4 years.

Weakness:

NONE>.........

This is one of the best receivers ever. I have a bose acustamass 7 home thature system hooked up to it and it is great. Lots of bass out of the bass module. Sounds great. I dont know if its the reciever of just the bose speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Daniel   [Feb 09, 2001]
Strength:

its power is a excellent strenght

Weakness:

None

This is a great product and easy to use

Similar Products Used: No products match up
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nathan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 07, 2001]
Strength:

Well-priced, fairly loud, decently clean, 5.1 inputs

Weakness:

Flat and boring

Paired with 4 B&W DM302's, a B&W CC3 center channel, a HiFi VCR and later a DVD (w/onboard decoder pumped into the 5.1 inputs), this was my first foray into home theatre. The Sony was by far the weak point of the system, made all the more apparent by the introduction of the DVD w/decoder.

First, the good; the receiver played as loud as I wanted it to.. Impressed friends with it's clear sound and loudness. This was much improved by the addition of the DVD pumping through the 5.1 inputs.

Now, the bad; it sounded flat and lifeless when doing so. There was a very small zone when it sounded OK; too low and it was just boring, too loud and it got very ragged. But even when in "the zone," it was dull and lifeless. And that was on movies and such.. With music it was really deplorable.

I dealt with it for 3 years, but after building a house and fully commiting to a home theatre (bought a Velodyne VLF-810 sub and had the house prewired for HT), I couldn't stand it anymroe. I went to my favorite in-town audio store and picked up a Denon. HOLY COW WHAT A DIFFERENCE. My system came alive..

I Dunno... I suppose as a start to home theatre this got me in the door and such. But it was so boring I may have quit had I not also had a set of B&W DM302's hooked up to my NAD music-listening system... and known how good they could sound with decent amplification.

I got the Sony for a good deal, and as a stopgap it served its purpose well. But good riddance, to be quite honest...

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Shaun   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 13, 2000]
Strength:

plenty of inputs/outputs, good bass, nice surround sound selections, super cheap price!

Weakness:

not dolby digital

I LOVE this amp! Sure it's just a lower end amp/receiver, but man for the price it sure delivers. I run two main floor speakers, two bookshelf rears, and two surround speakers continously, and havent had a single problem. The remote is wonderful too! So many controls, for all your a/v components. If you arent a purist, and dont need Dolby digital, pick this one up!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matthew T   Casual Listener [Dec 21, 2001]
Strength:

Delivers a great sound and has a ton of features of such acheap price. Amazing.

Weakness:

You cant scan the radio with the remote.. You have to push it on the reciever.

Very impressed with the quality and durability of this product. Like I said this was my first reciever and I was more than happy with what I got.

Similar Products Used: My first reciever ever, and I am very pleased
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
M o r p h X   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 13, 2002]
Strength:

Good options and expandibility.. Especially when DTS decoder is connected to it... Very cheap. A good start to your HT setup

Weakness:

Well at first none, But since all new options like THX. DTS etc...You could go for more.

A great A/V receiver

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com