ROTEL RSX-972 A/V Receivers

RSX-972

DIGITAL SURROUND RECEIVER

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
Frank K   AudioPhile [Jan 03, 2007]
Strength:

Power, looks, lighted remote. Sound is more than phenomenal...with the right speakers. 5 Year Warranty

Weakness:

It is heavy, I don't know if this is a weakness but it is heavy.

Unbelievable, the more I listen to this amp, the sweeter the sound. I have had many configurations in the past: Linn Sondek table, Belles amp, NAD amp, B&W spkrs, Accusound spkrs, B&O table...you get the picture!!

I began my Surround Sound journey by looking to add to my B&W DM620i's. I discovered Monitor Audio & was heartily impressed. I use the Silver 5's for my fronts. My room is 11x17 feet. I was going to use the matching Monitor Audio spkrs for the rest of the surround sound experience but I decided to wait & just enjoy the Silver 5's for 2 channel audio. I relistened to over 100 albums, er CD's. Alas, I had to sell my Linn, I couldn't afford the new cartridge relacement, over $800.

I had luck on my side when I walked into Brack's. They showed me the new Rotel amp1065, what a thing of beauty. Again, I was impressed with the sound that was emanating from the B&W's. I didn't want to spend 3G's on an amp, have wife!! Sales guy showed me discontinued Rotel RSX972 & explained that the Surround Sound Processor was the same as the one in the stand alone unit that sold for $2000. Ok, how much is the Rotel 972...$1000. DEAL!!

The sales guy kept saying that this was one sweet amp. Boy was he right. I finished off my system with Klipsch rears & sub KSW 12 and an Epson 550 projector with a Draper screen. Don't cheap out on cables. For the spkrs, you don't have to get the 99% oxygen free copper made in Japan, just get the good copper, usually $1 to $3 per foot will do. Unless you're running over 100 feet of cable, then you'll need better.

The sound is full, uncolored with just the right depth. Ofcourse, you will have to tweak to your liking. Everything is set to flat. Is there enough power from the 70 watts? You betcha and then some.

In the past month I've watched Pirates of the Caribbean, Braveheart, Matrix, Lord of the Ring (X3), Jurassic Park, etc. What a great viewing experience.

You get a lighted remote that can control your toaster, well just about. The remote is a little large but that's because you can do so much with it. You will have great memories with this one. It looks pretty cool too. No unnecessary buttons on the front panel.

Cheers, enjoy!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jrhymeammo   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2005]
Strength:

-75 watts into 5 channels doesn't seem much, but it has plenty of reserves. -Good/Great 2 channel operation. -Warm sound for a receiver, so no need for the THX roll-offs

Weakness:

-DSP functions but who uses it? -The letters and numbers on remote is fading.

I have been enjoying this receiver for over 4 years now, and I still have another year of warranty!! I'm not concerned with the warranty since this unit has been very solid. In prior to purchasing this unit, I auditioned Denon 3803 and 4803. These units had much more unless functions, but why pay for it if you rarely use them. To my ears, 3803 was just a junk. I say this because, my salesman was nice enough to place receivers side by side under the same condition. While 4803 was close to the Rotel, I found Rotel to be much warmer. But, by no means, this unit shouldn't be compared to tube units. Since my primary concern is 2 channel audio, I've been tempted to sell this unit for an integrated amp. Yet, the performance of this unit has kept me from a new purchase. I do wish that I could bridge the other 3 channels that I'm not using to the Front L/R channels. I just don't think there is such thing as too much power :).

Similar Products Used: Denon 4803, 3803 Onkyo 797, 696 Yamahas Marantz 6-7-8000 series B&K NAD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
vince404   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 16, 2004]
Strength:

Amazing sound. Amaizing Look. Great control at the Sub.

Weakness:

Hard connecting at the back. Too crowded connection. especially for the speakers.

A. You can't miss the beuty of the finished design. B. By technology - Two steps ahead every other product. C. I'm in Love.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
arf005   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2004]
Strength:

Power and poise at an affordable price!

Weakness:

Very heavy, but then that's good....

Upgraded to this model and got a deal when buying the Rotel RDV-995 as well. Combined with my B&W CM series speakers this is an impressive package for home theatre, and stereo audio. CM4 fronts, CMC centre and 601 S2's as rears creates a balanced soundstage. The amp has serious power for it's price and as usual with Rotel quality internals. This becomes more apparent when you turn the volume up! The B&W's sound better at higher volumes and can really blow you away. Music dvd's especially sound great, but even in stereo with cd's the amp has pace and presence. For the price I don't think anything can touch it. Yes, there are more powerful amps, and yes there are 6 and 7.1 channels out there, but do we really need them.... Forget the DSP modes, we really don't need them! For Dolby Stereo, Dolby Digital, and DTS this receiver has serious power to impress. I would recommend it to anyone, and if they aren't convinced I'd have them come round for a listen!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kihsom   Casual Listener [Jan 30, 2003]
Strength:

Sound Ease of use

My view may be skewed in favor of this product as I was replacing a 10 year old Yamaka AV-55, however to be fair, I sampled several systems (NAD, Sony, Onkyo...) prior to commiting to this product. The level of detail, spatial quality, and smooth delivery of the sound brings movies and music to life almost effortlessly. For the price, I don't think I could've have done better. I have it connected to the KEF KHT 2005 speaker system, and the DVD player is the Sony DVP NS900V.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
teejay   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 14, 2002]
Strength:

Fantastic 2 channel (and 3-channel) audio Home Theater Surround comparable with anyone 5.1 input Zone 2 output Lots of in/out options Digital Coaxial/toslink Sound Quality

Weakness:

No Dolby PLII Not 6.1 or 7.1 capable (do you have that many speakers?)

I set out with a simple task - a home theater system that sounds as good as my current receiver in 2 channel stereo. The problem is, my current receiver was a Carver. I listened to Onkyo. Nope. Denon? Forget it. Yamaha? Not even close. Pioneer Elite. OK, but not great. Sony ES - does anybody actually buy this?--total garbage. OK, so let's get away from the retail stores and into the higher end stores. I took my Carver into the store and hooked it up side-by-side with -- Integra? Not bad, but no comparison. Yamaha $2800 receiver - sorry, not a chance. Harmon-Karden - not bad at all, nice sound here. B&K $22,000 seperates - Oh Yea! Can't afford it. About ready to give up, go to a local store which specializes in custom installations, listen to the Rotel and.....sold!!!! Do not let the 75 wpc rating fool you, this system is equivalent to the other 100-125 wpc systems out there and then some. Rotel rates at all 5 channels 20hz - 20 khz, not one channel at an unknown frequency range. Using the "Sony Scale", most 100+ watt receivers would actually rate at 20-50 watts realistically. This Rotel Receiver is crisp, accurate and realistic. I use B&W 602.5 Series 3 fronts, B&W LCR 600 Series 3 center, Velodyne spl 1000 sub (absolutely the best sub choice - except for a better Velodyne), Pioneer CS-V9910's in the rear, Phillips SACD 1000 DVD/SACD player. DVD movies are fantastic, SACD is totally off the charts, 2 channel cd's (or 3 ch stereo) are incredible. 2nd zone pre-outs let me use my Carver in another room. 5.1 channel in lets me use the Phillips SACD 1000 to it's full capacity. S-Video in/out, Component in/out, Analog for vcr and tape. Optical and Coaxial Ditital audio. Amazing remote. This is not off the shelf everyday audio, this is true entry level audiophile quality.

Similar Products Used: Carver Denon Onkyo Integra Harmon-Karden Yamaha Pioner Elite Sony ES
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stephen   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 06, 2002]
Strength:

Plenty of power, clean design, great learning remote.

Weakness:

None that I have discovered.

Excellent, solid product. Rotel seems to be a company that focuses on a small line of audio products and does it very well. Discovered that 75 watts per channel is all that I really need and thats with power to spare.

Similar Products Used: Snell E5 MK II Towers Snell CR.5 Center Snell SR.5 Surrounds Velodyne SPL 1000 Subwoofer Rotel DV995 DVD Player Mitsubishi WS-55819 Widescreen
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
szymic1   Audio Enthusiast [May 23, 2002]
Strength:

Great power, good dynamic, very good stereo nice price (but not in Poland), well built.

Weakness:

It sound can be more detailed but maybe I will get more detail from the sound if I use Marantz 6000 instead DVD player for playing CD.

Very good amplifier if you are looking for good stereo in reasonable price. It has no many nifty functions that are usually useless for user that like real sound , it offers great power and clear sound. Configuration that I use: RSX972, Pioneer 525 DVD player, Tannoy M5, Tannoy MC, Mission 77ds, SonicLink AST 200 for front speakers and Audioquest flat cable for rear speakers.

Similar Products Used: Marant sr6200, NAD 751 and 761
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
astravitz   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2002]
Strength:

Strong Build Clear Crisp Sound 5 year warranty Serial Port, Upgradable Good Tunner Bass Management

Weakness:

Some might say a little bright, but shouldn''t be a problem if matched with the proper speakers. Remote does not contain all functions.

This review is actually for the RSX-1065 which is the larger cousin of the RSX-972. The RSX-1065 is a newer, and larger AV receiver, with a 100 watts x 5 channels and support for 7.1 surround. In addition it supports the following: Dolby Digital, Dolby Pro-logic II, dts, dts ES, dts ES Discrete, dts Neo 6, HDCD. Prior to the Rotel, I had the Arcam AVR100, which was excellent in 2 channel mode, but lacked clarity in DTS and Dolby Digital. When I purchased the Arcam my second choice was the Rotel RSX-972. We all make mistakes! Luckly my dealer gave me a credit for the Arcam towards the Rotel RSX-1065. Both the 972 and the 1065 are excellent at stereo reproduction. However they truly excell in the HT arena. I am now hearing nuances in movies that I never knew existed. When you start watching old DVD''s again, then you know your happy with your system. The 5 channel stereo mode is excellent, the best I''ve ever heard. The 1065 also has very flexible bass management. You can select all Small speakers and set the crossover for the sub at 40, 60, 80, 100 or 120. If you have a satellites plus sub system the 972 is probably all you will need. However, if you have full range speakers, you might want to opt for the 1065. The musical separation with the 1065 is unsurpassed. The build quality of Rotel is also second to none. My RSX-1065 weighs 45 pounds, and is build like a tank, with a large heat sink grill on the front. I''m looking forward to years of listening pleasure. Did I mention that Rotel has one of the best warranties - 5 years. No, I don''t work for the company, I just fell like I can kick back and relax for a while. System: Rotel RSX-1065 AV Receiver Triangle Antal - Mains (class B) Triangle Titus - Surrounds (class B) Triangle Center & Sub Pioneer Elite DV-C36 HTS5000 Monster Power conditioner M-Series Monster Cables - Biwire.

Similar Products Used: Arcam AVR-100, Yamaha 795, Marantz 8000, HK, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Todd Anderson   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 30, 2002]
Strength:

EXCEPTIONAL sound quality.

Weakness:

Nothing not easily overlooked.

This is a continuation of an earlier review; I`ve gotten to use this thing for full blown home theater now and I am amazed to say the least. With a full Paradigm Reference speaker set-up this thing has scared me with realism. I`ve gotten-up to answer the door only to find out it was on sceen action I was hearing. The dynamics and clarity are second to nothing I`ve ever heard. The sound is so clean and satisfying that you become unaware how loud it really is. There are never any glitches or decrepencies in the sound, it just seamlessly moves from speaker to speaker. I catch myself looking across the room thinking; what the hell was that?, the sound is THAT real. As an experiment I hooked-up my Rotel RB980BX amp to the 2 front mains. The extra wattage comes in handy when listening in 2-channel mode because my speakers are full range floor standers, but for 5.1 sound its not needed, but appreciated. I believe that even if I had to pay full MSRP I would still absolutly love this receiver and it would have been worth WHATEVER I had to pay(its that good)!

Similar Products Used: Carver and Rotel separates.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com