ROTEL RSX-965 A/V Receivers

RSX-965

PROLOGIC/DD/DTS Receiver - 75 watts x 5 into 8 ohms - 9 inputs (4 audio, 5 video with S video) - 4 digital inputs (2 coaxial, 2 toslink)

User Reviews (83)

Showing 1-10 of 83  
Richard   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2012]

WOOOOWWW! this unit is just amazing!!! i had the chance to pick up one of this in ebay few months ago, i paid $500... it was in imaculate conditiom (almost NEW) very good variety of inputs, very powerfull ...under stimated in my opinion, remote control, easy to use and a lot a options of configuration. im so happy with it, this is sooooo audiophile unit... similar to NAD,ONKYO, DENON, MARANTZ, PIONEER ELITE, AND SO ONNN (best units brands out there) very recomended ... if you have a chance to get one of this for music listener or movies high quality surround sound, just get it...is worth it!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LSaideman   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 08, 2002]

I just want to add to the reviews below. I think this was a good purchase, but after adding speakers and components, I am wondering if spending less money wouldn't get you just as good a piece of equipment- the Marantz at $500, let's say. I say this because although I like the unit, the dialogue in the center channel is weak despite my upgrading to the B&W CDM center channel. Also, the video inputs should be labelled, TV, DVD, etc. with optical and digital inputs for each rather than this video 1,2,3,4 business with two digitals for 1 and 2 and two opticals for 3 and 4. All manufacturers need to get up to speed on providign both inputs for the audio of each kind of video machine. No one needs the milllion s video connects on the back because most people route directly to the TV- I suspect that many of these issues are issues for most receivers. Remote is reliable, even if you drop it. IT didn't work with my Onkyo DVD or Sony CD, but it worked with my Toshiba DVD and Panasonic VCR, but of course it won't cover all of the buttons on the remote that comes with your components. Tuner is excellent- 30 memories, great sound. Heavy build makes you feel like you paid for something real, but I just wonder if you can't get away with spending less. I would recomment the unit, but just check out the Marantz 4200 or 5200 first, although I haven't listened to them, to be honest.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
ryan baca   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2000]
Strength:

smooth natural sound, good remote

Weakness:

owners manual

I compared this product side by side with the Denon 3300 and 5700, and the Nakamichi AV-10. Nakamichi sounded terrible, denon was average, rotel blew them both away. Rotel equipment sounds incredible for the price. The only complaint I have about the system is the lethargic volume nob.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brett   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 15, 2000]
Strength:

Balance of quality for both HT and Music, Very "musical" sound, Superb imaging for its price point, Overall Value

Weakness:

No digital outs, Potential to outgrow available power

Strengths & Weaknesses summaries highlight most of what needs to be said. After a number of extended listening sessions with receivers in the $1000-1500 price range, I selected this one based on its overall pleasing sound and its equally sweet performance for both movies and music. Lack of digital outs is a bummer, but workarounds for recording to the MD are fairly easy to rig up. IMO, power is a consideration if you have a sufficiently voluminous room (not an issue in an average apartment building or townhouse). I've only felt limited by the power while listening to one or two of my "quieter" DTS CDs. Music and HT sound are very good even without a subwoofer - it folds the LFE into the large main speakers (Vandersteen 2Ce's) very effectively. Great receiver overall - with price taken into consideration, it's about as good as it gets before stepping up to separate components.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo, Denon, Nakamichi
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
john   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 18, 2000]
Strength:

stereo playback, ease of use, ac3/dts decoding, inputs

Weakness:

binding posts,remote, no digital out

replaced an arcam av50 with this unit and have been happy with the excellent stereo performance of this piece. I did have to replace the unit 3 times in the first month but the dealer made the process as trouble free as possible and even threw in a couple of extras for my trouble.(thanks target hifi in london). The 5.1 channel decoding is excellent the set up menu is good, there is more than enough power for my current set up. The unit has excellent forward compatability, ie: 6 channel in and pre outs for all channels. I found the binding posts a little flimsy. I am little disappointed on the lack of learning features of the remote and the absence of macro and direct level control from the remote. Overall for the price I'll give it 4.5 stars and definitely look at Rotel seperates for future upgrades.

Similar Products Used: onkyo,arcam
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Nahush Mokadam   Audiophile [Oct 19, 1999]
Strength:

Incredible detail and imaging

Weakness:

SL8000 remote (not programmable)

I could not believe the improvement in sound when I upgraded to Rotel from my HK(which suffered a surge). The detail is wonderful. The sound is amazingly clean, even at high volumes. Apparently previous problems with clipping have been solved. I wish Rotel included the SL9000 remote for additional programmability. There is no shortage of digital inputs (4) and there are a smattering of DSP modes. In Dolby digital, the sound is outstanding, as it is on music, especially full digital recordings.

Similar Products Used: HKAVR85
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LORENZO   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 1999]
Strength:

IT'S SOUNDS VERY GOOD

Weakness:

WITHOUT ANY RELIABILITY

I bought it two months ago. After only two hours it began to utter a sort of stutterer sound, so the shop decided to replace it, but the second one proposed the same problem. I decided to change product.
...but it sounded very well.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Mike David   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 06, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent sound and clarity

Weakness:

Not enough power

I really enjoy the RSX965. The audio clarity is comparable to some higher end home theatre systems. The controls are simple and easy to use. It has lots of input options and very scaleable. How ever I had some problems with this unit. 1) No sub in stereo mode, problem with tuner using the cable antenna, hissing at hi volume, video disruption when viewing white images. I contact Rotel and expressed by concerns. They were very friendly. They replaced my unit with a new one. Now I am very satisfied with my unit. I would be even happier with it if only it had more juice.

I think Rotel did a poor job testing this unit, so my rating is less than perfect.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Wayne Solotoff   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 10, 2000]
Strength:

Sound imaging, full switching capability

Weakness:

None

I've owned the RSX-965 for just over a year now. The first one did not work. My dealer and Rotel were very good in replacing it quickly (within a week). The second one worked like a charm.

I previewed everything out there within a $400 price range and it blew everything else away. I love it, and it sounds better then sitting in the movie theater. I have a Paradigm PS 1000 sub woofer, four B&W 602's on metal sand filled stands for front and surround sound, and a B&W CC6 center channel.

(I use a Toshiba DVD player with component output directly to my Toshiba TV. The resolution is incredible.)

This is the third Rotel product I have owned. The receiver and turntable I purchased in 1974 were still going strong when I sold them in a garage sale last summer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Hassan   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2001]
Strength:

stereo performance,overall sound.

Weakness:

remote, binding posts, dts processor, quality control

Follow up to previous posts, I just had my receiver in to have the digital board replaced by the dealer as it would not accurately decode newer dts encoded discs, Titan AE, Pitch Black, U 571, to name a few. You may want to try some dts discs(newer releases) before your warranty runs out. This is a potential problem for all rsx 965's. I'm a little disappointed not to see anything on this site from Rotel regarding this KNOWN defect.

Similar Products Used: onkyo, arcam
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 83  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com