RCA RT2250R A/V Receivers

RT2250R

DD receiver

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
Brashpunker   AudioPhile [May 15, 2003]
Strength:

Cheap, cheap, cheap, it does the trick and far out performs most home theaters in a box out there

Weakness:

in 7 months it has blown up twice, Weak natural bass response though it handles synth bass OK

for the money it really delivers, but if at all possible get a extended warranty. It blows up real good.

Similar Products Used: all sorts, I replaced it with a Panasonic SAHE-100, the panasonic is FAR SUPERIOR
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
cjlemas007   AudioPhile [Jul 12, 2002]
Strength:

Tremendous power for the price; huge selection of inputs, front a/v and s-video jacks. No interference with other jacks. Coaxial jack for my laptop (S-PDIF) is a definite plus. And the subwoofer is simply wonderful.

Weakness:

Some of the input jacks have shorts in them and I had to karate chop my system to get the other speakers working - but the latter only happened once.

First of all, let me state that I have the larger 500-watt model. I am EXTREMELY pleased with the performance. It supports both Dolby Digital and DTS, and does both very well. The bass isn't as good through DTS, but I am planning on another subwoofer, thanks to the extra sub-out on the back. Great use of surround, and the RCA speakers are pretty adequate. Subwoofer (200 watt) works extremely well. I bought two omni-directional speakers for my rear surround channels, and it more than made up for the ones that came with the system. Pro-Logic works wonderfully, and the DSPs are also great. I have never had any interference problems; however, a few of my input jacks on the back have shorts in them, but it was after considerable wear-and-tear. One other problem was that the speakers appeared to stop working (all except the center) until I (and I'm not kidding) struck the bottom of the receiver. Gotta be a short in there somewhere. All in all, 100 watts per channel, 200 watt sub, and five speakers for just 360? Can't beat it, not by a longshot.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
diesel dude   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 2002]
Strength:

value, connecion options, features, midrange sound quality, DSP modes.

Weakness:

sub distorts way to easily, bland looking display and reciever, remote, can be frustrating to operate at times.

i have had this system for about 4 months now and i am mostly happy with it. sound quality could be better but its not that bad, and I like the different surround modes but i cant get it to play dolby digital! I recently hooked up a dolby digital dvd player with a dolby digital movie in it and hooked it into the reciever via an optical cable, and set the reciever to (optical) on the display. however it would not play dolby digital, let me select it,or select it it self. Only the other modes like pro-logic etc. worked which was still coming from the optical cable, not the a/v inputs, is there some way to turn off the input IQ? someone please help me with this

Similar Products Used: older kenwood reciever
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
bass_freak   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 25, 2002]
Strength:

DSP modez. cheap, options, preset EQ''''s.

Weakness:

Needs more power (Excluding 100watt/channel model), cheap volume, terible spealkers come w/it, can''''t have good bass with reg. sub that came with it (opened it up and had 2 pretty beefy 5 1/4" woofers. (To open the sub, pry off the front plastic part and the subs are one facing down on the top and one faciong up on bottom .each sub ahs it''''s own"Little box"

This system was pretty good from day 1. since that was my first dolby digital system, I was very facinated. it got to me that 50 watts wasnt much power espically to bigger speakers. Now I had Yamaha ns-6390s to it and also a optimus 100 watt sub (my dog chewed the origional woofer, so I bought a 10" PRO series for it) when you turn the sub off from the reciever and out bass on +10, the speakers distirt at about volume 25 of 60. They play louder with more bass on 120 watt /channel mini stereo. On my reciever, my volume broke. you have to push it to the side, turn it whule oushing etc. You''''ll probably think this is funny and wierd but since the vol is broken and really only eorks good the the r/c, sometimes ill lisen 2 music and it goes up REAL fast to volume 60 like someone inside the reciever is turning ghe volume control up really fast. (maybe I have bugs in there playing tricks on me) well I am gonna change to yamaha center channel, (Not RCA PRO-LS2) yamaha rears and keep my sub and at the end of the year, gonn abuy a yamaha reciver and put this 1 in my room with other spkrs. if you have any questions about this, I have opened it several times and fixed it for my friends that have one, so Email me at JNCOkid258@aol.com. Thanks!

Similar Products Used: JVC mini stereo (120wx2) Marantz reviever (165wx2) if anybody is intrested in buying my perfectly good marantz reciever and tape player for CHEAP, email me.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
whatsinitforme   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 06, 2002]
Strength:

Inexpensive. Sounds good for watching movies and TV.

Weakness:

The electronics are too sensitive. Too much interferance and the "Universal Remote" does not work with any of my other components.

This A/V Receiver is weak in a lot of ways. First of all, from day 1, I have been unable to connect a CD player to the CD input or a DVD player to the DVD input. That''s right. I have to plug the DVD player into the SAT input and the CD player into the VCR 2 input. And when I tried to hook up my PC soundcard output to the receiver, all I got was such a loud noise that it was unbearable.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer. (Worked great - now the exwife enjoys it)
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Fastfwd   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 2002]
Strength:

Low cost.

Weakness:

Broke a little while after the warranty ran out. No switching between s-video and rca video.

Worked fine until the warranty ran out. they are better units out there but not at this price.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Sound Shadow   Casual Listener [Feb 13, 2002]
Strength:

The 3 S-video inputs. I dont know any other system that has 3 s-video inputs on them. Price for what you get is excellent. Easy to set up and sounds great

Weakness:

I dunno if this is normal on most recievers but this is my first Audio system and the Reciver gets Extremely hot after like an hour. The Speakers are a little big but that isnt a big deal. Lacking DTS but still It isnt nessecary to me.

I dont acually have the RT2250R, I have the RT2280 but they are quite similar. So Far this is Ausome!!! The main reason i got it was due to the 3 Svideo Inputs. I connect my X-box, Gamecube, and Dreamcast all using S-video. I have a RCA TV too so the remote is wonderful and works on both. (both the remotes for the Reciever an TV are the same). Sound Is excellent and ive had this for about 2 months and no problems. I use Dolby digital on my X-box so it sounds great! I cant beleive the price i paid for it and how much i got out of it! Its also a 500 Watt system. Its pretty hard to find a system the same price and cheaper outputting that much wattage. Even alot of 500$ system and cheaper dot out put so much wattage. As many other people said all that different DSP modes are ausome (church, Stadium, Theater, etc). I REALLY HOPE IT DOESNT BREAK. I love this system too much. It sounds ausome. I urge anybody to buy it

Similar Products Used: Noe this is my first system and its great
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2001]
Strength:

2-way speakers, good sound quality, better built quality than what you might expect.

Weakness:

Not much at this price...better suited for movies than music, remote could be better designed.

After purchasing a DVD player I wanted a Dolby Digital sound
solution, but being on a tight budget I really could not afford what I wanted...(Martin Logan/Sony ES with 36" WEGA TV)...oh well, I'll keep dreaming. This setup from RCA (I bought the receiver and speaker package) sounded very good,
and for the price it's hard to beat. Dolby Digital on DVD movies sounds very realistic, satellite speakers handle midrange with surprising authority. The subwoofer sounds a little "boxy", but after playing around a bit with positioning of the sub this problem was taken care of. Receiver has plenty of settings and tweaks to play with, and after about 30 minutes I had it sounding pretty good. I compared this package to similar offers from Kenwood and a few others, and this one sounded the best to me. Remote control could use bigger buttons, but I do not think there is such a thing as perfect remote. It's not quite as good of a music system, however, but that was not what I was buying it for. Nobody should take my word for it, of course, go listen to it yourself. I have to say I am happy with this product, it provides people on a budget with great solution for Dolby Digital sound.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Leonard   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 25, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent choice for casual listening environment..has
SVHS connectors for DVD as well as optical and Coax
connectors for audio output. Not found in any receiver
that I found for this cost. Very unusual!
SVHS out to TV. SVHS VCR users can output via the DVD
connections to gain the quality of SVHS playback.
Unheard of at this price range!

Weakness:

Only has Dolby systems. No DTS.

This is an excellent receiver considering the cost
for an environment where one is listening in a rather
casual mode. I bought it to put on a new 43 inch
Sony Rear Projection TV. The internal speakers are
not really acceptable for long periods of time! I
put a pair of Paradigm Titan speakers on the front
driven by the RCA receiver. I use the system in my
Bedroom setup. Used currently in the Stereo mode.
It has the normal DSP pre-sets..church, club, as
well as Stereo and 3spk Dolby stereo.


The Best Buys deal throws in a pair of KLH rear
speakers with the RCA receiver. I haven't connected
them as yet. They are a rather inexpensive set of
speakers! This deal might be over when you read this!

The audio is very good, I listen at very moderate
levels and the RCA is more than sufficient for me.
The remote works well...except on the VCR setting...
start causes it to rewind, rewind sends it into fast
forward...something bad wrong here..maybe this remote
is just an isolated case. DVD, DSS all work great
as well as the receiver functions.

Considering price, overall quality, used in a
rather laid back mode, this is an excellent buy.

It has SVHS connectors for output of DVD video and
has optical or coax inputs for the audio...normally
not found anywhere on a receiver this inexpensive...
excellent switching inputs/outputs...the main reason
I bought it! The 50wpc with all speakers connected
is more than sufficient..and the audio is excellent
via the speakers I'm using. I don't find the missing
DTS as a problem...With DSS connected...Dolby is used
in %99.9 of the movies. If you listen at ear-shattering
levels and assess great value to how loud a system
will play..then, move along...this is not designed
for that purpose..but, for any reasonable level this
system is more than sufficient. With very good audio
quality. Shop around..the prices seem to vary by at
least $100! A rumor on the net indicated that this is
manufactured by Kenwood! Don't take this as the gospel.
A heavy receiver at this price range...big, substantial
output transformer.

For a second system elsewhere in the home, this is
a great system...considering the price/feature ratio.

So far (4 weeks)..no problems, with a lot of play, other
than the quirk in the VCR function of the remote.
Good Luck..

Leonard...


Similar Products Used: Pioneer SX205
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Tyler J   Casual Listener [Mar 20, 2001]
Strength:

Lots of features, on my amp it came with the speakers to. built in 100 watt dBas subwoofer amp, great sound for music and movies, Dolby Pro-Logic & Dolby Digital Decoders built in, great sound, you cant beat the price. Digital sound prosesor

Weakness:

subwoofer placement is hard, no subwoofer crossover
( the sub amp is built into the receiver )

i would just like to tell you that when i got my system it came with the Receiver ( with a built in 100 watt sub amp ) and 6 speaker including the dual 6" sub .
i love my system you cant beat it for the price the Receiver has lots of features you can set the front L/R speakers to "LARGE" or "SMALL" when you set them to large it sends all of the low frequency's to the front speaker's if you have small speakers ( bookshelf speaker, Satalite speakers ) then you set them to small and what that dose if you have a subwoofer it sends all of the lowfrequency's to the subwoofer.
this Receiver you can also change the volume of each speaker from -10dB or +10dB it's a verry good system the sub sounds verry good for such a small sub the system can also play verry loud with good sound quality.
there are many things on this Receiver that you would expect to find on $400 + receivers.
here's a list of a few sound modes this cool reveiver has

1. Stereo
2. Dolby 3 stereo
3. Dolby Pro Logic
4. Dolby Digital
5. Church
6. Bypass
7. Theater
8. concert
9. club
10. stadieum
and many more

Similar Products Used: Technics Rack system, the rca system pounds over the technics 3 way speakers that hold a 10" woofer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com