Pioneer VSX-D812 A/V Receivers

VSX-D812

  • 100 watts x 2 (stereo) into 8 ohms (20-20,000 Hz) at 0.2% THD — or 100 x 6 in surround mode
  • Dolby Digital EX, DTS-ES, DTS 96/24 and Dolby Pro Logic® II
  • DTS Neo:6 modes
  • 6.1 Expanded Theater mode
  • 7 DSP modes (6-channel stereo, Music, Movie, TV, Sports, Game, Headphone)
  • Midnight Listening mode
  • 96kHz/24-bit DACs
  • multibrand remote
  • 7.1-channel preamp input
  • 6.1-channel preamp output
  • component video switching (2 in, 1 out, 28MHz bandwidth)
  • digital inputs: 2 optical, 2 coaxial
  • optical digital output
  • 3 audio and 4 A/V (including 4 S-video and 1 front-panel) inputs
  • no phono input
  • wide-range frequency response
  • 2 sets of main speaker outputs
  • 30 AM/FM presets
  • 16-1/2"W x 6-1/4"H x 16-3/16"D

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
alain desbiens   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 05, 2012]

i need to kno how to restore the rmote control to my receiver !

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pulsar19   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 10, 2005]
Strength:

It's a very reliable machine.It's very easy to use it.It has more than the average of us actually need regarding surround modes.It's a powerful unit and in its price range is a winner.It looks good as well.When the lights are out,it has a very useful dimmer to hide unwanted leds.Its remote is very good,very comprehensive unit.

Weakness:

For my taste none whatsoever.

This was my very first A/V receiver.Pioneer's reputation is very good and I've decided to purchase it,after a very long time comparing its rivals.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LarryGS   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2004]
Strength:

Solidly accurate and transparent reproduction of even the toughest music and film tracks. Superb DD and DTS processing. A wide range of setup and configuration options. Uncompromising dynamic range.

Weakness:

None. You'll wish for features like automatic MCACC on the lower end models (and maybe a bit more horsepower). So pay a few bucks more and move up a model or two. You won't be sorry. However even the lower end models are quite easy to configure and balance and provide the same great transparency.

After several model-years of competent but lackluster home theater performance, Pioneer has jumped to the forefront with their current line of receivers. I have listened extensively to the 712, 812, 912, and the Elite 53 and am solidly impressed... enough to buy an 812 for myself. These are some of the most responsive and transparent surround systems available today, at a price sometimes far below what you'd pay for similar performance from Denon, HK, and Yamaha. All surround decoding is spot on. Music and soundtrack reproduction, even at the widest dymanic range settings, are nothing short of breathtaking. Sometimes I think, "THIS is how it was meant to sound!" Other times the system, and even the room, simply vanish, leaving nothing between the listener and the sound. Do yourself a favor and give the current Pioneers a good long listen.

Similar Products Used: HK, Yamaha, Denon, as well as Pioneer models from the last three model years.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
fireflight   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 2003]
Strength:

Power, affordability without compomising value and craftsmanship, plenty of ins and outs, options, user friendly able to listen to 7.1 surround SACD/ DVD-audio ready

Weakness:

Remote is somewhat confusing - buy a universal nothing else so far

I did a lot of research going into buying my first "real" surround sound system. I listened to Denon, Marantz, Sony, Onkyo, Panasonic and others, and couldn't fine a better sound-to-cost ratio anywhere. I won't redefine everything the D812 is equipt with (you can find the specs yourself) but I have yet to exceed its limits in output, it has clarity that matches the higher end and much more expensive receivers best I can tell, has plenty component in's, allows me to listen to SACD's and DVD-audios with my Pioneer DVD/SACD player. It is easy to use, (although I scrapped the confusing remote control and got an 8 device universal remote)and is the perfect balance of affordability and options that I could find in 3 months of research...plus it looks better than the equivalent alternatives.

Similar Products Used: I tested most common brand names I could find in stores. Here is the system I finally put together for a great price: Pioneer DV-563A – DVD player Sony CDP-CE275 – 5 disc CD changer Onkyo SKS-HT510 – 6.1 surround speaker system One For All “Kameleon” – 8-device Universal Remote, touch screen
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sharpp   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 11, 2003]
Strength:

Superb quality sound that rivals some audiophile systems. All of the current DSP functions and then some. Capable of handling 7 speakers without an additional amp. 7.1 inputs and preouts (have not used or tested). Can power an unpowered subwoofer if you sacrifice the back channel.

Weakness:

Not set up to handle a turntable, but this could easily be added with a modest phono preamp through the AUX input. Does not have the the auto MCACC. No learning remote. May not power 5-7 floor standing or low ohm speakers (I don't know, I have not tested).

This is a fabulous value in a consumer line AV receiver. It has a 48 bit DSP processor and 94khz/24 bit DACs (I am unclear how many). Although advertised as having an amplifier and 100 watts per channel for 6 channels, it actually allows you to split the six channel so that you can get 7 channel sound without an additional amp. It has 7.1 preouts and 7.1 channel inputs which allow DVD/A and SACD hookups. Also, an additional Amplifier may easily be added. The sound is superb, very clean and crisp and easily rivals greater priced units from Onkyo, Denon, Harman Kardon, Kenwood, Sony and Yamaha at a fraction of the price. The stereo gives stellar reproduction and with the right speakers, you would think you had a high dollar, audiophile quality system. It also has a "direct" mode. I have it paired with some Mirage Omni 60 bookshelf speakers and use this for a bedroom system. My surrounds are RCA home theater with Linaeum DiPole tweeters. This has all the usual aray of Dolby Digitial and DTS processing modes, including ProLogic II, DTS-Neo, Matrix, Discrete, 96/24 with movie and music modes. Pioneer incorporates its own advanced DSP settings for movie, music, game, TV, 6 channel stereo and other settings. Some of these work in conjunction with the Dolby or DTS. This unit easily powers 8 ohm speakers, and I have not tested with lower ohms, but I imagine it would be fine for bookshelf speakers. The amps never seem to be at a loss for power and the does not get very hot. The only time the fan clicked on was when I tried plugging a DVD player into the power outlet on the back side. My main system is a Denon 5800, supplemented by a Carver TFM 25 for the mains, powering Final 0.3 electrostat hybrids. Suprisingly, he pioneer gives sound quality that rivals my reference system. The pioneer, with a revealing set of speakers will give you alot of the detail you haven't heard before from the music. This system does not have the auto MCACC with included microphone, but the manual MCACC is quite easy to set up, if you have a decent ear. The remote is non-learning, but easy to use and looks more egonomic (user friendly) than the learning remote included with the VSX -912. Before purchasing this, I was vascillating between an HK 525, 7200, a Denon or possibly a Yamaha. To get the same number of features, and quality of sound in these other brands would have cost $300 - $600 more. -Avoid the Onkyos, their reliability is not much better than HKs and they add to much coloration to the sound. This defintely receives my vote for a best buy. Some folks have claimed that some previous pioneers were non-musical. That cannot be said about this unit. It gives you true reproduction of the source. You may not like your source after you listen through this AVR, because you may hear the poor quality that was there all along. Chances are that the DSP can improve it. Has as many and more connections and flexibility on the back side than just about any other receiver in its price class. I am amazed that the sound is so good, in spite of using cheap home theater interconnects (a step above the standard patch cords) and inexpensive, run of the mill home theater speaker wire. The rest of the system includes a Sony DVP C660 DVD player, an Acoustic Research Center Channel Speaker and a cheap RCA slim center channel speaker for the 6th channel.

Similar Products Used: JVC AVR 6500. Denon AVR 5800. Old Sony stereo Amp. RCA home theater.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lakerssuperman   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 01, 2003]
Strength:

Strong Clear Sound Numerous Surround Modes Composite, Svideo and Component Switching Good construction, all speaker hookups use binding posts. 2 optical,2 coaxial hookups

Weakness:

None

My first system was a Aiwa box set. It was good for a starter system but it had its limits. This was apparent because my friend has a denon receiver he got for 300+. So i set out to buy a new receiver. I looked at various adds and websites. I had come to the conclusion that i would buy a good receiver with a good set of features. This was because i simply couldn't find a receiver with the list of features i was looking for. Then i found the pioneer. It is a 6.1 receiver and has 100 watts a channel. It has exceptional sound in all surround modes. In particular i wanted a receiver with DTS. This one has DTS-ES and sounds exceptional, even better than Dolby Digital. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a full featured receiver, it is better than my friends $300+ Denon receiver. One important thing. Make sure you are using a good speaker setup or you will not get the full benefits the receiver offers. And i also would check on etronics.com for it and other electronics they have remarkably low prices. I highly recommend this receiver.

Similar Products Used: Aiwa Denon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
faithnlife20   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 09, 2003]
Strength:

It has no low static sound coming from it when it is in low db like I have heard from various Sony receivers and others. It has VERY powerful sound. It has great soundfield choices and well I think its amazing!!!!

Weakness:

I didn't find any weaknesses.

I used to own a Sony 5.1 system that had an irritating low hissing noise at low sound levels . . . it also didn't have many extra features, but enjoyed the 6 channels of sound. I bought a Kenwood Dolby Digital EX receiver to get away from these let-downs and had the same problems . . . and on top of it the Kenwood had weak, horrible sound!!! Ewwww!!! . . . Then I bought this receiver and got what I was looking for. The capability to hook up 2 extra speakers and to listen to my old mono movies through ALL of the speakers!!! The EX/ES channel sound incredible when listening to EX/ES movies. I just can't stop the excitement over it!!!!! The quality is SO much better than the receivers I have owned in the past. I had no idea what I was missing out on.

Similar Products Used: Well with the system I have a DCM center channel, two Technics L/R channel speakers, and for all of my surround channels I have some cheap, but really good sounding KLH bookshelf speakers. It sounds g
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com