Pioneer VSX D607S A/V Receivers

VSX D607S

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
mg196   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 17, 2004]
Strength:

Jillions of features Warm sound easily stands up to more expensive competitors

Weakness:

No DTS max speaker-wire gauge is 12

After doing a bit of research I purchased this for a pittance, $80 on Ebay. Yeah, it came w/out the remote, but I was able to pick that up for $90 from on online dealer. So all told, this baby cost me less than $200. This has been the perfect addition to my home theater. I have a VCR, turntable, PS2, TV, DVD, and cassette player running into this and have never had a problem in terms of handling-power. I find myself using only a fraction of its total features, but that's a plus in my book - leaves room to expand the possibilities at a later date. It sounds wonderful, whether its pumping out my mom's old CSN&Y LP's or the crushing DVD brilliance of the Matrix. No, it does NOT have DTS, but the Pro Logic is fine for me right now. Remember, this IS an older machine. For the cost, this receiver is at the top of its class. It outplays many of the more expensive rival brands and holds its own against the others. It is a tremendous bargain and well worth the search!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kicker91   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 01, 2002]
Strength:

Clarity of sound, Clarity of picture, more then ample wattage, ease of use, price, digital inputs.

Weakness:

tends to overload at times,2 wire cilps in the rear have become disloged and broken, the rear clips will not allow more then 12 gauge wire,

Great reciever sounds great LOVE IT! With the broad base of differing music styles that I choose to listen to, at first I was rather concerned as to the quality, dependibility and clarity of an older reciever. I was shockingly surprised as to the quality, construction and clarity. overall I rate this product better then even many onkyo systems on the market as of today.It comes supplied with more wattage then could ever be sainly put to use. Over all this product is more then capable of reproducing any and all frequencies that are within the human range. This reciever makes any music sound simply delightful, from Bach to Vilvaldi to modern music such as Out of Eden, One Nation Crew just a few to name a very few. I am rather pleased with this reciever. Especialy considering how much I saved, I was told that this particular piece costs upwards of six hundered dollars.

Similar Products Used: technics, sony, sharp
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cliff noneofyourbuisness   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 13, 2002]
Strength:

lots of features

Weakness:

lots of features that are never used because they are lame and digital picture from dvd and psx2 are wavy and not weak sighnals going to speaker

not bad but far from good

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
Mike Lacombe   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2000]
Strength:

Lot's of gadgets for smart people only.

Weakness:

You must actualy be a real audio enthusiast that can read the manual and understand the functions.

O.K. Kids,here's my opinion,First of all, if you have no idea how to read the instructions,understand and operate
the functions of any a/v receiver then go buy an idiot
proof mini-system.Second,have some real speakers and don't
expect to shake the whole house or you should be buying
dance club equipment instead.Third,look at the price of
what your buying and expect that much sound.You won't
feel so bad.Otherwise,it helps to be rich and shop with
your ears and an unlimited budget.
Overall ,Pioneer makes a very clean and powerful unit
that has plenty of punch,clarity,functions and features.
I use Paradigm Moniter 7's and Mini-Monitors.Canadian
speakers kick butt and my neighbours hate me.Trust me
the sub output works fine if you READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!
As far as my buddy Chris was saying,We both suffer from
a common problem,crappy low voltage 110 that the amp
sucks out of the wall so hard the streetlights dim.
I think we need to look into a continuity booster?
I'm no electrician and would love to hear the solution
to this power sucking problem.
Anyways,if you think Pioneer receivers are no good then
e-mail me and i'll tell you what your doing wrong.
I bought this amp before i considered d.v.d. and i now
need video-s connection,otherwise this is an excellent
purchase for home theatre.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
André Pinto   Audio Enthusiast [May 28, 2000]
Strength:

clarity, good separation

Weakness:

100 watts per channel do not match RMS measurement

i bought pioneer vsx-d607s more than a year ago, and i was very pleased with the low cost and good performance, but in the beginning i used to listen the receiver with low power speakers (5x70w). I bought more powerfull speakers recently to match the 100 watt output from the vsx-d607s, but i noticed from an article, that pioneer uses a different measurement, to specify the power output. Now, i know that my receiver is les powerfull than my speakers!!! Vsx-d607s has only 65watt per channel. That suchs!!!!I woud like to know if anyone that submitts reviews here knows about it!!!!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
cris howell   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 18, 2000]
Strength:

price , clear sound , full featured

Weakness:

no 5 channel stereo

this is an excellent receiver specially to those who are starting to create their own HT system. Of course a Denon, ONkyo etc would sound better BUT please consider the price. Considering its quality and affordability, you'll surely get your moneys woth.

Similar Products Used: denon , onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Will   Casual Listener [Apr 14, 2000]
Strength:

Price and good all around performance

Weakness:

would have liked a fan in it

Well.. i got this about 8months or so ago off of ubid for $225 shipped. There is no receiver for that price that can compare. I mean ya might not get dts but oh well dolby digital is good enough for me. Clarity wise, the think can really push my system. I kinda have a variety of speakers and it makes them all sound good. My current setup is:
Sony ssmf 515's for front (only good speaker sony has ever made)
Jbl arc 30's for rear
infinity bu120 subwoofer
and infinity cc3 center channel.
I can get my entire system loud enough to bother neighbors several houses down. And the best part is that there is no hiss or distortion. Idiots who posted before need to learn how to operate the damn thing. Pretty easy if ya ask me.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
john hayes   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2000]
Strength:

clarity, flexibility, price

Weakness:

none as of now

I haved used this product for more than a year now and so far has been performing very very well. I pity the other reviewers, maybe they were not able to drive this receiver so well because they dont know how to make the necessary combinations/adjustments setting of the unit. I tried to purchased another unit (additonal) unfortunately i wasnt able to find one. I tried the new VSX 508 but i was disappointed with its performance. 100watts x 5 ? i dont think so, maye 50 or 60watts only. The VSX 608 doesnt perform well either. The front panel display starts to dim when setting the volume to 11 o clock. Both lacks the clarity that Pioneer receivers are used to. Considering also the price, i think this is a very good buy.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer VSX 508 / 608
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bosho   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 1999]

I was quite happy with the 607S as a Home Theater only reciever(I paid $199.)until the Dolby Digital IC started malfunctioning.The darn thing would start poping in and out of DD mode(creating poping sounds) about 1 hour into a DVD movie.At first I thought it was the DVD disc.The local repair shop was totally unable to figureit out and even had to use MY DVD player(running for hours)to notice the problem.They gave up on it and I returned it for a refund.I have heard rumors about Pioneer using cheaper IC's than industry norm.I hope the rest of you have a good warranty!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
John   an Audio Enthusiast [Apr 22, 1999]

I purchased this receiver about six weeks ago and have been pleasantly surprised. I got it for $299 which was the reason I bought it. I had considered going a step up to about $700 for a Denon, but I could not pass up this deal. The setting up of the receiver takes just a little getting used to. The output for the sub is a vast improvement over the speaker outs I had been using on my old receiver. As far as I can tell, you cannot get output from the sub unless the front speakers are set to small, which is a downside because I have decent front speakers. The sound has been great. I don't have a dvd player yet, but hope to in a couple months, hoping I don't run into any sound problems.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com