Pioneer VSX-49TXi Elite A/V Receivers

Pioneer VSX-49TXi Elite A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

THX Ultra 2 Audio/Video Receiver with i-Link

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Feb 20, 2017]
Alan Chisolmwell
Audio Enthusiast

I agree with other posters whom have said this unit is garbage. I Bought used on Ebay for 400$ and I thought that was a steep price and felt funny about paying that much for it given the sound output issue and what a waste of time and money. Total waste of money!!! I think the seller was a scammer who knew that the item did not have sound output and was trying to pull a fast one. Luckily I contacted ebay and they made him refund the $$ after he wouldnt not respond to my messages (He didnt even want the receiver back, what does that tell you???)

There was never any sound output. The unit seemed to function and go through everything properly, but I saw that these specific units have issues with sound output over the years. I "took a sledgehammer" to this unit and went and bought the 47 TX and am very happy with this unit. No issues whatsoever with the 47TX and its seems like its the exact same receiver?! But funny if you look Pioneer Charged about a grand more for the 49 TXi, and all that was included on that was some I-Link?! Avoid this unit at all costs, its a problem. And Pioneer calls this a flagship receiver, shame on you pioneer for making 1st class garbage. I wouldnt pay 20$ for this POS.

I saw the other day someone was selling a 49 TXi on Ebay for 780$ LOL LOL! I guess he's just waiting for a sucker to come buy the broken garbage unit.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 14, 2016]
John
Audio Enthusiast

These units are Garbage. This unit has some issue with the main board that gives it the dreaded "no sound" or sound only on B channel in direct mode (opposite of stereo). I cannot believe what a POS this is I had 3 of them all with the same problem. It seems like this should have been a recall with pioneer. I would recommend the 47TX(49 TXI's little brother) over this any day as Pioneer used a different chipset in the 47 TX that does not have the problems the 49 TXi has. Pioneer charged 4000$ for this back in 2002. What a joke. Its a nice receiver when it works, but a word to the wise, get the 47 TX, its a much better performer and the 47 TX DOES NOT have the sound issues that the 49 TXi has, and has basically the same parts, minus a copper back panel and that I-link garbage that noone uses. (yes, pioneer you failed miserably on the I-link fad. It caught on almost as fast as the minidisc did...HA HA)

Heck you can go into a goodwill and find these for 20$ with no sound. If you find a remote for it (touchpad) hang onto it. Someday those will be obsolete and worth hundreds. Plus you can use the touchpad on the 47 TX.

If you want good advice and want a 49 TXi, take my advice and get a 47 TX. They are much better and 100% more reliable.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Apr 25, 2013]
mike krmpotic
Audio Enthusiast

I recently purchased this unit on e-bay for a decent price.It is in mint condition,however the left front channel has no output.It came with all accessories.The remotes glass was shattered.case with ups still pending.I have read the manual 3 times over and I cannot find anything on being able to adjust the front balance,just in case I am doing something wrong.i don't want to take it in for repair just yet.i have tried everything.switching speakers,wires.i tried switching the jumpers.does anyone have this unit with a functional remote that can verify that there is a balance control on the remote.if the unit is fine I don't want to waste the money and look pretty stupid at the same time.i do feel the channel is out.but need verification.thanks

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 26, 2003]
PDS
Casual Listener

Strength:

Sound and build quality

Weakness:

Gets very warm.

Simply a wonderful sounding receiver. I am running it with Cambridge Soundworks Newton T500, MC150 and M60's and it is great.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 27, 2003]
jllx
AudioPhile

Strength:

Inexpensive (relative to other companies' "flagship" products High power/current (ignore the review below)...I have tried this with 4 and 6 ohm speakers, and never had a problem with any shut downs or performance problems... Auto input switching Great Component video switching

Weakness:

The i.Link setup is a little complicated if you are using an i.Link product with it, and this is not made clear in the manual.

This is by far the best receiver I have used in my current system. One should read the reviews under the 49tx as well, as the only difference between the 49tx and the 49txi is the firewire/i.LINK attachement, as far as I know. Not only that, it is also the most convenient, easiest to set up, most aesthetically pleasing, and easiest to use receiver that I have owned, and I have used MANY. From the VERY easy and thorough manual (I think Pioneer deserves an award for the manual---it is truly a work of art. I've never seen one from a Japanese product that is this well done) to the "higher than 160 W/channel" sound, this thing is a godsend for anyone looking for an "all in one". I made a promise to myself after years of excess using Krells, Classe's, Conrad Johnson's, etc... (and going nearly bankrupt in the process)---that I would ALWAYS buy a receiver in order to be more REASONABLE in my hobby (my wife agrees with this edict), and so, I have not used separates since 1995. The first time you turn this amplifier on (after following the manual to connect to your Monitor and speakers), you are guided through a lengthy and VERY useful setup process which sets your preferences and your speakers using an (INCLUDED) setup microphone (which has a very long cord, BTW). Once setup, the receiver is VERY easy to use and has a wonderful sound. The remote is VERY easy to use (my wife figured it out without any assistance, and she complains about all my equipment being so complicated). From Bach Organ works by Koopman, to the Police's Synchronicity, to Miles Smiles to "The Game" by Queen...all sources were handled with aplomb. And, I could not detect any significant distortion before hurting my ears upon "turning up to 11"!!! All in all, Pioneer has found its way back to true respectability with the newer Elite line. I had been disappointed in the past by their products, and was reluctant to try this one, but I'm extremely glad I did. It blows away the Onkyo, and is MUCH more musical and easier to use than the Denons...

Similar Products Used:

Denon AVR-5800/5803 Harmon Kardon receivers B&K 507 Yamaha RX-V1 Onkyo 989

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 02, 2003]
GmcG
AudioPhile

Strength:

Everything in one piece, not "colored" sound, great i-link feature, MCACC is superior in comparison to any other receiver from competitors.

Weakness:

No coaxial output (only optical), transcoder from composit to YPbPr is not excellent

I absolutely don't agree with review no.1 - I use this receiver with 4 Ohm M&K THX 150 system (the original sub exchanged to 350MkII) and surround speakers are in tripole mode (impedance goes down to 2.6 Ohm)... it never shuts down even at the highest power ... that should be the problem of Bose speakers! I've found the info in internet that http://www.whatvideotv.com/testbench/index.html it can produce 235 W at 4 Ohm ... continious power! (AX10 (European version, VSA - amplifier, VSX-receiver)=49TX - output to speakers the same as 49TXi) This receiver is a real gem for me.

Similar Products Used:

Harman Kardon AVR-5000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 19, 2003]
omarbec
AudioPhile

Strength:

Good looks, lots of features.

Weakness:

Amp not high current. At this price bracket it should be.

For the price, I thought I was getting everything. Of course, if you use this unit as a preamp, you do; lots of flexibility. However, the amplifier is not high current, therefore if speaker impendance drops at anytime below 6 ohms you have a problems, the unit shuts down. I have Bose speakers which are mostly rated at 6 ohms and if I use the 49TXi at high levels for an extended period of time (more than 10 minutes) it shuts down. I had the Onkyo 989 before and never had this problem, the Onkyo's amp is High Current. I'm thinking about returning this unit, unless I buy a good external amplifier or higher impendance speakers and I'm not willing to go for the extra expense.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo TX-DS989

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Dec 10, 2002]
Till
AudioPhile

Strength:

Practically everything so far. Especially if compared to its competition for price.

Weakness:

A second component output would have been nice. Otherwise, too bad it doesn't mix and serve drinks during the performance.

Refer to my looong review on the 49tx/txi forum: http://pub106.ezboard.com/faussiedvdandhtforumfrm24.showMessage?topicID=407.topic

Similar Products Used:

This is my first AV-Receiver but I've been an audio-freak for 15 years so I know what to look for in any hifi-related component.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com