Panasonic SAHE200K A/V Receivers

SAHE200K

Panasonic Home Theatre A/V Receiver - SAHE200K/ High Current MOS FET/ DLP II, Dolby Digital EX & dts ES Decoders/ 300 Watt x 6/ 192kHz 24-bit High Quality Audio D/A Converters/ Illuminated Universal Remote/ Black Finish/ Available End Of September

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
readyl   AudioPhile [Oct 25, 2004]
Strength:

Power, sound quality, price, input and features.

Weakness:

remote design

This is the best receiver I have heard in its class. I wanted plenty of power without paying thousands for extra features, inputs and outputs I will never use and dont need. The SA-HE200k does what I need it to do. A powerful 130 watts x 6 and more than enough inputs. The sound is clean and smooth. The remote could have been designed better. However, the remote does get the job done. I have not had a problem with heat. The fan works properly and quietly. There are enough sound field modes to drive you crazy. You may not use all of them. The sound quality is superb and is better than some high-end receivers. DTS, prologic 1 and 2, Dolby Digital are all right there and sound excellent. This is truly an awesome buy. Why pay hundreds or even thousands for fancy bells and whistles that you will not use when you can purchase this at a resonable price and get excellent sound quality and features. You don't have to sell your arm to have great quality but you also can't go cheap. This is a great receiver.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AD Barksdale   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 14, 2003]
Strength:

Ease of hookup. Remote (didn't have to read the manual to get going). Very versatile for older analog and newer DTS audio/DVDs. Good thing I didn't listen to them in a dealer before I bought it. Easily worth upwards of 2000.00 in my humble opinion. I have heard some of those systems and they don't sound like this one. One of the best buys on the market.

Weakness:

Kinda heavy, but so is anything else in this category. Doesn't cut off automatically. Could be a heat problem if not addressed. Not for kids to play with.

I had spent $$$ on a JVC BVK 9010 audio receiver system that just wasn't easy to use and I felt it just wasn't performing in concert with my Pioneer Elite TZ F700's ($3500/pr retail). Something was missing. Enter this system...Wow! What a sound. Easy to use. Incredible sounds never heard before. My Golden Retreiver runs through the house looking for the sounds. Exceptional, Clean, Clear, & Crisp highs, mids, and lows.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Sony, Toshiba, JVC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dogtear1   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 22, 2003]
Strength:

Sound clarity for the buck. Expect to pay alot more anything comparable.

Weakness:

The set up, the control over the surround fields and modes are somewhat confusing even when you read the book first (duh). I listen to alot of live performances, and the treble and bass can only be adjusted in the 3 channel stereo mode which was very weird. However, in the surround modes, one may change the speaker settings + or - for the center (mid-range) and sub-woofer (bass). Providing a good audio recording source, the treble need not adjusting. DON'T lose the remote or you lose half the control capabilities.

I decided upgrade my dinosaur sony pro logic receiver after several years of superb use. I painstakingly researched not only the new receivers, but the Dolby Digital technologies as well. The Panasonic SAHE200K has everything that I want as far as the prologic II, 6.1, Dolby Digital-EX DTS-ES, various imputs, displays, overall appearance, and the price was right. In addition, the SAHE200K is pushing more than enough power output to my old Bose 6 series II speakers that sounds surprising crystal clear at high volume levels. I use a Bose VC10 center and a polk 10" sub. I am very pleased with the SAHE200K purchase. In my opinion, this particular receiver has no competition and stands alone as the best reciever on the market today surpassing all in its class.

Similar Products Used: All of the newer ones...i.e. harmon, onkyo, sony, kenwood.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Aklak   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2003]
Strength:

Panasonic's Flag Ship with many extras, will accommodate all your analog and digital needs - one of the few receivers with a turntable in.

Weakness:

The remote could be better, a little more user friendly, but OK after you get use to it.

Decided on this receiver after comparing against similiar featured receivers from various quality companies, and have not been disappointed. Plenty of power to support home theatre/stereo applications with the analog and digital inputs/outputs to meet the needs of most and then some. Add to that the latest Dolby and DTS decoders that add a centre rear channel, you just can't beat this receiver for the price. The instructions and set up I found simple and have no complaints with the various surround modes. Bass and Treble controls are accessible through the remote. Is there anything better out there? You bet, but be prepared to take the jump to a THX equipped receiver for a lot more $$

Similar Products Used: Pioneer Elite
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 30, 2003]
Strength:

ve but I figured I could always return it. Well I will not be returning it and my JBJ's sound as they should.

Weakness:

on screen display would be great

The sound is great; in sterio and in 6.1 Easy to use as far as high end recievers go. I had an Onkyo for about 2 weeks but was soon convinced that my JBL S312 speakers should sound better. I took the Onkyo back to Circit City and took the advice of one of their employees and bought the PANASONIC. My responce to concidering a Panisonic was negit

Similar Products Used: onkyo yamaha kenwood sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
joedarkness   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 21, 2003]
Strength:

6.1 Channels Dolby Digital-EX DTS-ES Discrete, High Current, remote control glow in the dark.

Weakness:

No on screen display. Difficult instruccions.

I combine this receiver with Bose Acoustimass 16, and extra center channel speaker, and i get a Top of the Line HT! I prefer this receiver before the Onkyo TX-SR600. Powerfull, a lot of extras and exelent sound.

Similar Products Used: Technics Receiver,Kenwood A/V Receiver
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MIKELE   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 03, 2003]
Strength:

HIGH POWER OUTPUT,A LOT OF RECEIVER FOR THE MONEY,PHONO INPUT,TAPE MONITOR

Weakness:

EASY TO OVERDRIVE THE AMP, NO BASE AND TREBLE CONTROL IN THE SURROUND MODES,HARD TO UNDERSTAND MANUAL,CAN'T USE AN EQUALIZER IN THE SURROUND MODES EITHER.

THIS IS MY FIRST PANASONIC RECEIVER. I WAS LOOKING FOR A DOLBY DIGITAL RECEIVER TO REPLACE MY PRO-LOGIC ONE. FOR THE MONEY THIS HAD EVERYTHING I WANTED.THE PROBLEMS FOR ME WITH THE SURROUND MODES HAS TURNED ME OFF ABOUT THIS PRODUCT, AND I AM CONSIDERING BRINGING IT BACK AND JUST KEEP MY PRO-LOGIC RECEIVER A LITTLE LONGER. IF IT DOESN'T BOTHER YOU, IT'S A GREAT BUY.

Similar Products Used: HARMON KARDON AVR20 ll
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
yev   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2003]
Strength:

Price, power, sound

Weakness:

None for the money

It’s not easy to find a decent receiver for under $500. For me it came down to this Panasonic and Onkyo TX-SR600. I had them both for a month. They both have pros and cons. Onkyo has exciting 3D imaging, but Panasonic has very natural surround effects when all speakers blend together (Onkyo sometimes makes each speaker "visible"). Panasonic sounds a bit better (at least more natural) than Onkyo with digital sources with good soundtracks. However, Onkyo works better with older DVD movies and stereo surround sources. Panasonic has pretty deep and precise bass (even with 6.5” speakers and no subwoofer), but Onkyo has even deeper bass (although it is somewhat muddy and less defined). Panasonic heats up more than Onkyo, but Panasonic's amp feels a little more powerful. Besides Panasonic never gets too hot – it cools down when necessary. And in a retail store $30 will buy you 3-year extended warranty. It looks like Panasonic would be perfect in a large room and for people who mostly use the receiver with digital sources. Onkyo has other processing and sound advantages (especially with analog sources), however Onkyo’s price is $100 above Panasonic. It's really hard to decide between them because they are in the same class. They both deserve 5 stars in $500 class. I myself can’t decide yet. Equipment: Fronts: BIC America DV736 (modified) Center: BIC America DV62CLR Surrounds: BIC DV62B DVD player: Panasonic DVD-RP62

Similar Products Used: Onkyo TXSR600, Kenwood 4080, Onkyo 555
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stu   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 29, 2002]
Strength:

All of the Digital and the Discrete and Matrixed 6.1 (surround modes. Very clean, uncluttered appearance. More than enough inputs of every type(4 optical inputs!). Surround Back pre-outs. Simple controls (once setup is finished) Tons of power, more than I'll ever need. A free surround back speaker and DVD included! Its a gimmick but I'll take 'em

Weakness:

Setting this reciever up was confusing and time consuming. Thank heaven I only had to do it once. The owners manual is little help for the impatient. 130w x 6 THD is 0.09% Though even at high volumes I could not make out any distortion. Small front display, with no on-screen display The remote could have more features. Owners manual does not adiquately explain how to take advantage of 6.1 surround modes. I may be old fashion, but there is no treble and bass control.

I work for a popular consumer electronics company and have heard plenty of high-end and garbage A/V recievers in my days. This one by far gives the most bang for the buck. Honestly, I'd never believe Panasonic could put to market such an excellent product. The entire SAHE series is loaded with value and performance. My SAHE200 crushes my previous recievers Onkyo 595 and a Denon (I've long forgotten the model # and the lackluster experience). When I look at a reciever three things come to mind, features versus price, future upgradability, and sound quality. This one has them all. I could not find a better reciever in the $400 to $500 price range.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com