Onkyo TXSR600 A/V Receivers

TXSR600

ONKYO A/V RECEIVER, 80WPC, DOLBY DIGI, DTS, 5 S-VIDEO IN => Model TX-SR600

User Reviews (56)

Showing 1-10 of 56  
wumpy   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2004]
Strength:

Excellent Sound Great Price (Especially now) Plenty of connections Excellent Universal remote. Works for everything.

Weakness:

Cheap "B" channel speaker connectors. What were they thinking? Remote not backlit

I have owned this reciever for almost a year now and I have not regreted it once. The 600 has performed flawlessly since I took it out of the box. It has great sound, very crisp and clear in both music and video sources. I also have read people complain about the audio level and having to have the volume above 60 to get any sound at all, I can now say that this is all due to either the source or the listening enviroment. When I lived in my old house I had the same problem, it was a carpeted room with very high vaulted ceilings and open spaces. My room now is wood floors, high ceilings (not vaulted) and more of a closed room. I have had to decrease my normal listening volumes, the reciever has proven to be very powerful indeed. Hookup was easy and sound right out of the box was pretty good. After adjusting a few of the audio fields it was stunning. If you really want to get a feel for the system throw in a dvd like LOTR Two Towers and crank it up! Wow, the DTS and Extended audio is amazing. If you are up in the air between another reciever and this one don't stress yourself, buy this one.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
rob   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 26, 2003]
Strength:

smooth dynamic high current power

Weakness:

lack of preouts

I have been so pleased with with this purchase that I am now an onkyo fan. I had a onkyo 575 as my first dd reciever and was not all that impressed. I noticed that some have complained about the volume having to be at 50 but for me with well done sound tracks such as the two towers between 35-40 is loud. this machine is very dynamic soundtracks and is also much smoother with music than other onkyos i have heard. I would have loved to get the 601 but for $250 less the 600 has greatly exceeded my expectations. If you can find one at a similar price snatch it up because it is a steal.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
croseiv   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 25, 2003]

In short this is a superb receiver for the money. Onkyo has made a fantastic product.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Techuser   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 20, 2003]
Strength:

Clear and crisp Sound, Power, 6.1 surround output ability, learning remote with macro function, connectivity, easy to set up and use...

Weakness:

Not backlit remote, not video upconverting but that is just one more cable to connect, nothing to worry about.

First time you set up a HT? you want to have a nice 80W/ch Receiver with all the nice things: Dolby Digital, DTS, DTS ES, 6.1 output, low distortion, a few inputs to connect your cable box, PS2 and DVD and outputs for your TV. But, you don't want to spend too much, uh? well my friend this is what you need: ONKYO TX-SR600. Even if you are an experienced enthusiast, this receiver ROCKS!!! Everybody says you need a sub...well if you want to watch movies you need one...but come on...this unit is extremely well built, the speaker connectors support almost everything, it has multichannel input (5.1), and lots of power...If this does not convince you wait until you press a button of the remote with the macro function and your DVD will be on, then your TV, then your receiver...and the DTS mode too...ALL with 1 single button...What else do you need? In the segment, there's nothing comparable for the price. I almost forget: It sounds great! Accurate, Clear, The sub explodes with just a bit of volume...Just the right thing for me. Forget about Denon's pricy 2803 or 3803, or Yamaha's unaccurate recv's. I got this unit hooked up to my Acoustic Research HC5 System and it moves as you would not imagine...

Similar Products Used: Denon 3803, 1803 Yamaha RX-330 JVC initial HT Series Sansui Stereo Recv
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kale   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 15, 2003]
Strength:

the dollar value is awesome the power is intense it sounds great it's easy to use

Weakness:

the 80 hz crossover means a powered sub is a must for good bass

When purchasing a receiver there were a few deciding factors I was looking for. Price, useful features, and POWER. The Onkyo TXSR600 exhibits all of these features in a very practical easy to use receiver. 80 watts per channel is tons of power for my towers add a powered sub and your system will become very impressive. 6 - channels is a very useful feature when trying to enjoy the latest overpriced blockbuster. And the sound this amp puts off is truly very clean and very easy to listen to. Anyone with a set budget and looking for a nice amp for the money should keep this one in mind. ( it should be cheap now the new ones just came out )

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [May 22, 2003]
Strength:

Sound quality. User Friendly. Excellent 2 channel enhancement processing. Learning and pre-programmed remote. Front analogue/video and digital optical inputs. 6.1 capable. On screen display. 5 year warranty.

Weakness:

Surround mode not switched with input selections. Low volume level instability. Needs illuminated remote. No on screen "labels" assigned for inputs. No leads or FM antenna included.

I have only had the Onkyo TXSR600 tuner/amp for around a month. I looked into Denon and Yamaha but was basically persuaded by word of mouth and magazine reviews. I purchaesd a Jensen SPX-17 Sub woofer at the same time. Initial impression was excellent, the demo in the store was amazing with only small satelite speakers and my Jensen sub woofer tested with Ice Age on DVD on LCD projector. Since setting up, I have found the quality of sound to be simply stunning. The Onkyo is the first real DTS amp I have had the pleasure to own and the difference from the analogue surround is amazing. DVD and CD's played through the optical connection on the DVD played are superb with only the neighbours being a little less than impressed. I have Jensen centre and Kenwood surround Speakers on telescopic stands which fill the effect brilliantly. On screen display is easy to use and functional but the sound is muted on some adjustment settings making it slightly fiddly. I do find the various audio/video input selections would be more friendly if they could be assigned with an on screen label when selected. I have found the surround modes don't change with the input selection making it necassary to manually change it each time you select a different device. As I purchased the TXSR600 to be used in a relatively small area, the power is ample. I do find the lower volume settings restrict the surround effect, moving to the centre speaker only and the sub woofer output drops off enough to allow the sub to go to standby while the volume is still at an easily audible level. One thing I noted which may or may not be something everyone thinks about. This amp puts out a lot of heat. I made vents in the rear of my cabinet to allow circulation and ensured there was 2 inches above the amp casing to the next shelf to allow cooling. Not sure how much heat is normal but on hotter days without ventilation the unit would be sweltering. I may look into a small fan powered by the AUX switched power supply on the back of the amp as the glass door on my cabinet is pretty much airtight allowing only venting at the back. As with many of the high end amp units, this one is fairly large. I found it to be a little wider than the rest of my equipment and a lot deeper. Luckily it just fitted where I wanted it. Sounds like I have put this amp down in some ways doesn't it ? Not so. As my first real digital cinema and pro logic 2 experience goes, I could not be more impressed. The 5.1 effect from an analogue 2 channel device (in my case VCR, TV, CD player) with the pro logic 2 function is quite dramatic, made even more so by a panoramic effect option ... but of course noticably different from the DTS settings of the DVD. This unit is awesome and will last me for years to come as I cannot see myself upgading it again. Next up, LCD projector !

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Gvan   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 06, 2003]
Strength:

Well built and fully featured. Excellent quality sound.

Weakness:

None to speak of.

Contrary to some reviews, this Onkyo 600 home theatre receiver has more than enough power. I crank up the movie ATOC between 55 and 65 counts on the volume control and it breaks the house down. Like all receivers, you have to have a powered sub when watching home theatre. By itself without a sub power is still very good but not great. Put in a sub and wham! you have tons of power and output. Info screen is informative and unit is well put together. Totally recommend this product to anybody in this price range. Model 700 by Onkyo is not needed.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo 700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
xqr74   AudioPhile [Feb 16, 2003]
Strength:

Too many to list.

Weakness:

No REC Select option. (to watch/listen to one source while watch/listening to a different source). No Phono input-however, I am using my old receiver as a subwoofer amp and phono preamp at the same time.

The 600 is a great unit. In case you're wondering, the 'rear-center' definitely gets used by all the current 5.1 discs. Dolby D EX & DTS-ES both do a great job of matrixing 6.1 sound on the SR600 Onkyo. Dolby Surround is taken care of by Pro Logic II or DTS Neo:Cinema. But what about all our plain stereo sources??? Well they get the 6.1 treatment too with Neo:6 (my fav), Dolby PII, All Chl Stereo, and some other DSP spaces. I have enjoyed a powerful Denon analog Pro Logic Surround system for years before finally stepping up to digital. I didn't expect this dramatic improvement. While the available soundfields aren't all that configurable compared to the high-end receivers, they sound pleasing with little effort - mostly auto-detected by source. The remote has Learning capabilities. Nice layout. Well balanced & not too light. Movies and music sound incredible on this machine and will impress all your relatives on the holidays. Be sure to check out the DVD-Audio & DTS Music discs that really make this unit come alive. Don't worry about the loud thing- you can 'tune-the-dial' to your liking by cranking up (or lowering) all the input 'intellevolumes' i.e., if you want it to be REALLY LOUD at only 30, for instance, turn everything up to +8 or 9db in the setup menu. Or perhaps you are worried about the 3 yr old turning the dial so you change them all to -8db, your choice. HDTV Ready. Someday.... Buy the 600. Then go get Gladiator and Star Wars. Have fun. Highly Recommended!!

Similar Products Used: Denon AVR-3000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John L   Casual Listener [Feb 07, 2003]
Strength:

Too many to list.

Weakness:

I agree with some, that there are not enough digital input signals. I have a vcr, dvd, satellite, laptop and a video karaoke... but I can settle on analog for a couple of connections.

Comparing models between Onkyo, Yamaha, and Denon, Onkyo came out to be the best choice. I was opting for a Yamaha but an acoustic/electrical engineer told me about the flaws of Yamaha. Most people complain about the setup but even for a casual listener, the setup was not too bad. Unlike others, I did not have the problem about not hearing any sound below the 50 level. When I'm watching a movie late at night, I always listen in the 30's volume level.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
raycor   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2003]
Strength:

DPII, DD EX, DTS ES, strong bass even at the lower volume. Nice FM reception

Weakness:

liveness for dsp's are not enough for my taste. sound is being muted when you access the menu esp. when you calibrate each speaker channel or speaker distances. Sound is decrease from FM mode or cd source to DD and DTS, you have to adjust the intellivolume for each source to level the sound output between digital and analog sources.

Just brought the sr600 last week and got a huge difference sound between my late Yamaha rx-v620 receiver, although the Yamaha was only PLI and 5.1ch receiver. Good separation in all channels at DD, DTS, PLII mode. Enough power to drive my polkaudio bookshelf front and surround speakers. Strong bass output in the sub channel. Crisp, clean and balance sound almost no hiss sound when you turn the volume at max.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha rx-v620
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 56  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com