Onkyo TXSR500 A/V Receivers

Onkyo TXSR500 A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

ONKYO A/V RECEIVER, 65WPC, DOLBY DIGI, DTS, 4 S-VIDEO IN => Model TX-SR500

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 31  
[Feb 15, 2004]
Just1n20
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

quality amplification, connectivity, simple universal remote, ProLogic II.... and the PRICE

Weakness:

Speaker terminals are close and do not accept banana plugs. but for an average price of $299, this is nothing to complain about.

After spending a lot of time researching for a receiver i came across this one, it was going to be the start to my home theater and im glad i chose this one. I found it on ebay refurbished for a lot less then new. after a year of use for home theater and music, it was a fine choice. Even though it is only rated at 65watts/channel. t works quite well with my room size [12'x12'x8' bedroom] and with my klipsch speakers. DTS and DD sound great. it was easy to setup and has much better design then the Sony STR-DE485 that i bought my brother for his birthday. Sound compared the sony is a no brainer. Onkyo just has better quality amplification even though it isn't as powerful. There are plenty of connections for my DVD, XBox, N64. I love the ProLogic II, great for gaming. for basic start to home theater, this receiver is perfect.

Similar Products Used:

Sony STR-DE485 Setup: Onkyo TX-SR500 (Receiver) Klipsch SF-2s (Mains) Klipsch SC-1 (Center) Cambridge Soundworks S300s (Surrounds) SVS Model 25-31CS(22hz tuned) PartsExpress 200watt amp(temporary) Sony DVP-NC655P DVD Changer Microsoft XBox + Nintendo 64 Sharp 27U-F500 Flat-Screen TV Better Cables Silver Serpent Cobalt Cable Interconnects Acoustic Research Component + Optical

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 14, 2004]
Frank Butler
AudioPhile

Strength:

Nice display Easy to use Well labeled speaker outputs & labels. Banana plug friendly

Weakness:

Poor sound quality

After damaging one of my amplifiers in an unrelated incident I decided to try and go cheap and use just a basic receiver. Egad, the sound quality is terrible on this unit. I am getting my HK Citation amp fixed and going back to separates and taking this receiver to the fire station to use there. Of course, I may be biased as my system was and will be again composed of separates, a B&K AV1030 dolby digital preamp and (3) HK Citation 22 amplifiers (200 watts per channel each). If the sound quality is acceptable to you, then I haven't seen any problems with the unit.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo TX-SV70 Pro B&K AV1030 preamplifier

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 31, 2003]
Chrienboy212
AudioPhile

Strength:

>Large Capacitors >High Currency Amplifer with WRAT technology >Speaker and Sub adjustments >Plenty of inputs >Large Heatsink >Durable Aluminum body; looks and feels solid and durable- VERY HIGH QUALITY

Weakness:

I feel that Onkyo could have supplied a better antnenna for FM reception, however, given the fact that you get so much for your money with this receiver, that is the least of my worries.

When I bought this reciever I had also considred a Pioneer rated at 100x5 that was selling for $199.00. I stayed away from Sony because a friend of mine said that pushing them to hard can blow out the amps. I wanted something that could take anything from Bach to Zeppelin. Although I play electronic and rock muisc the most. I am pushing two Bose 301 Series V speakers and a 10" Powered Optimus Sub with this receiver. One word...EXCELLENT. Pure,Powerful,Clean, Digital Sound at it's best. I use this reciver day in and day out. It's hooked into my computer via the Digital Coax and I play mp3s through it; It brings audio to life. I am 22 and this receiver has survived many parties with much abuse. Purchase one and you will not be disappointed. Purchase some Bose speakers with it and it will be even sweeter. They rate it at 65x5, however, numbers aren't everything considering that it can be heard over 700 feet away from my apartment -outside! Too many good things to name about this unit; Large capacitors to boost audio performance, Huge Heatsink to disipate heat created, moderatley heavy, so you know it isn't cheap either. Very well built. Definately will buy another Onkyo if and when this one wears out.

Similar Products Used:

Phillips, Pioneer, Technic's

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 22, 2003]
Dan Briones
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very clean sound and more than enough power for home theater. Can control volume for each speaker.

Weakness:

I don't have any for this unit.

This unit is worth every penny. You get plenty of options to satisfy all of your listening preferences. The sound is clean and can be very loud if you choose so. My listening/viewing room is 23'x 13' and this Onkyo has more than enough power to fill it up with great sound(my volume level is set to around 62 for movies). I use it for watching everyday television also. The remote is a little funny looking but it works with my Hitachi TV, JVC DVD, and JVC VCR so I can't complain too much. All in all this is a great addition to any home theater that you will not be dissappointed with.

Similar Products Used:

Sony, TEAC

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 11, 2003]
Yaohui
Casual Listener

Strength:

sound quality good looking

Weakness:

remote

I am currently in high school, and I bought a system few months ago, which consisted of a Onkyo TX-SR500 receiver(referb),a Onkyo DX-C380(referb), Monster Cable digital fiber optic, Monster Cable XPHP speaker cable, and a pair of Polk R30 speaker.This system oringinally cost over $1000, but I get it luckly for under $500.I think this receiver is strong, smooth, good looking, and has very good quality sound. My father has been around hi-fi for more than 20 years, and he said this receiver is really good in sound quality. And I am very happy with tis receiver, it's the best receiver for under $300, and once you listen to it, you would not choose anything else.

Similar Products Used:

old Aiwa receiver

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 08, 2003]
J-flex
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Pure, clean ONKYO sound!

Weakness:

Remote sucks, but so does every remote control that comes with a receiver. By a touch screen remote from best buy for $99 if you can't deal with it!

This receiver is sooooo smooth! I have it connected to acoustic research bookshelf speakers and every time I turn it on I break into a big smile! Forget about the 65 watt power rating, this thing pumps out the sound with almost no distortion even at high volumes (foundation shaking volumes). Movies and music both sound great. You can't go wrong with this receiver!

Similar Products Used:

Sony Aiwa

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 10, 2003]
aaon anderson
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

allaround good performer for the price

Weakness:

remote

wow. this is a great starter piece of kit. have it hooked up to a pair of jbl s38's and it sounds awsome with bogth sacd and dvd audio. im one of the lucky few gto have them both. truly enormously dynamic with the right cables(ive spent over 350 on cables alone)igt doese movies justice as well, and is ok with standerd redbook cds as well. itg would be greagt with lp'sif i had a better phono preamp to, but currently i dont (long live analog!!!)i cant spell that, all well, im only 19 mosgt people my age dont know what that word is...lol.

Similar Products Used:

pioneer' yamaha

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 22, 2003]
larry
Casual Listener

Strength:

Great sound, easy to use remote, easy setup, clear instructions, good price, maybe the best unit out there for under $300

Weakness:

A good starter unit. For a full high level system I think you should get the Onkyo Tx-Sr 600 or higher

I debated between the Onkyo TX-SR 500 and the Denon 1603. The comparison was using Bose Speakers. I found the sound between them to be similar. I chose the Onkyo primarly because the Denon remote is counter intuitive and confusing. The sound quality of the Onkyo is excellent. I think the 65 watt rating is low The Onkyo seemed as powerful as the 80 watt Denon. The sound from cd's is one or more qualitative levels above my old Sony STR-DE315.

Similar Products Used:

Sony Str-De315

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 20, 2003]
johnny 5
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

its good

Weakness:

remote is really really ugly and tacky, feels like some kmart brand

its good

Similar Products Used:

teac, sony, yamaha

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 17, 2003]
George Montana
AudioPhile

Strength:

Sound Easy of use Price

Weakness:

Remote control

Dynamic receiver that can cope with almost anything. It can cope with all different surround modes and its technology promises excellent performances. A real treat thanks to its clarity and transparency. The TX-SR500E has one of the smoothest sounds around, whether in two channels or five. In multichannel, sounds are both solid and lithe, a rare partnership in AV receivers. It may not be the last word in detail, but the sound is warm and rich. Onkyo has put a lot of effort into making this amp user-friendly. And in the complex and often cumbersome world of A/V amps, that alone makes it worthy of praise.

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha, Denon

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 31  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com