Onkyo TX-SR503 A/V Receivers

TX-SR503

  • Dolby Digital EX
  • Wide Range Amplifier Technology
  • 192kHz/24-bit DACs
  • 2 sets of main speaker outputs
  • Low-impedance amp design
  • 30 AM/FM presets

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
D.G.   Casual Listener [Mar 22, 2009]

Finally a receiver I can totally relate to. Yes I know it has a few years on it but she just blew a brand new Yamaha clean out of the room. Does she have all the latest gadgets ? NO! Does she have tons of power and plays beautifully?Yes!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mconn   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2007]
Strength:

Power, looks, flexibility, control.

Weakness:

Remote took a little getting use to, less intuitive than Sony.

Bought to replace a Sony a/v reciever. I had always had Sony/Tech/Sansui and was a little skeptical about changing. Not to worry..it's been outstanding and came highly recommended. An aboundabce of features. The remote took a little getting use to but is becoming more intuitive. Seems to deliver more power than my previous Sony which was rated 30 wpc higher. Love the different play options. Great looking too with panel having all the controls of the remote. Would like an EQ.

Customer Service

none needed

Similar Products Used: Sansui, Sony, Technics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
DaveJ   Casual Listener [Aug 01, 2006]
Strength:

Near excellent sound quality. Ease of operation.

Weakness:

It is best to do most set up and tuner operations at the receiver. The remote operations are somewhat limited. A couple of more connection options would be nice. NONE of these weaknesses are significant.

The Onkyo TX-SR503 replaces a Pioneer that decided to act up on me after only three years. I found the Onkyo at Circiut City as an "open box" item. Considering the price, I checked it for trouble and found nothing obvious. I bought it, took it home, hooked it up and found no obvious problems. Being slightly familiar with Onkyo, I thought that I was buying something a little better. That's pretty much what I got.
The sound quality was much better than the Pioneer. The Onkyo sort of reminded me of some high end audio systems that I've heard in the past. The tuner did its job very well. FM reception was better than I expected. However, most tuner operations must be done at the receiver. The remote only tunes in stations that are programmed into the tuner's station storage. Most set up operations are also best done at the receiver instead of the remote. This receiver could have used a couple of more spare connections for those with lots of sources, but I found that easy to work around. Despite these "weaknesses", this is a very simple receiver to operate. Yet, the sound quality is near excellent. Overall, I am very happy with this receiver. Now let's see how long this one last.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood
Pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
fleto   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 13, 2006]
Strength:

Good solidly built receiver with plenty of power for it's size (i.e., a nominal 75 watts per channel).Option of banana plugs for speaker cables is great.Multi use remote a plus.

Weakness:

Difficult to set up for the beginner.I needed someone to help me,and I've done this before.It could be a product of all new stereo equipment,but nothing is ready to use out of the box any more.I for one miss those old days.If using bare wire cable for speaker connection,not much room to work.I recommend using the banana plugs.

I've used this model about 3 months now only to discover that Onkyo has come out with a new model this year,the TX SR 504.However,from what I can tell the basic receiver is the same,only the tuner section is different.So,here goes:this receiver is a good powerful little receiver.I say little because it is listed at 75 wpc.However,although only listed at 75 watts per channel,it supplies full power for any movie watching or cd listening.The sound is clear and full without distortion.The bass sounds crisp and clean and the treble clear and true.Bass and treble can be adjusted to suit ones needs.Surround sound movies sound wonderful played in any of the DTS modes.And,for those of you who watch old classic movies,you can get a surround sound effect with either "all channel stereo" or "all channel mono".This feature also works for those of us who listen to old classic mono recordings that wouldn't ordinarily use the surround speakers.This is a nice plus,in my book when playing cds of classic performances.The remote is nice,in that you can use it to control your cd and dvd players once you enter the approipriate code. I would recommend this receiver for the beginner and enthusiast alike because the sound is wonderful.I have Klipsch speakers and this receiver has no trouble dirving them at any volume.I say enjoy this fine receiver.

Customer Service

I needed to contact customer service with a few questions about setting up the receiver.Onkyo was prompt and helpful,although I finally figured the problem out on my own.However,at least they were responsive.

Similar Products Used: Various Sony receivers
Various Onkyo amps and receivers
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
bbruin91   Casual Listener [May 23, 2006]
Strength:

remote is easy

Weakness:

remote guide does not contain my cable box listing

Sounds nice after 3 trips and 20 days in dealer repair shop.
One day there is a hiss coming from left rear speaker, even when volume all the way down.
1st trip to shop: they replace a fuse based on Onkyo Service Bulletin. Take it home and noise is still there. Take it back to repair shop.
2nd trip: Repair shop says they cannot reproduce. Take it home. Noise still there.
3rd trip: I had to bring my Bose speaker system to their shop and demonstrate the noise for them. Oh yeah, now I hear it!
Brilliant!
Needed a new transistor on the rear speaker board of unit.
Nice! Unit not even 3 months old and parts are failing?
I am a newbie to stereo components and these are just made for us I guess......
Good Luck but think twice.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
sagerp   AudioPhile [May 03, 2006]
Strength:

almost everything (for this price).

Weakness:

no hdmi but what do you expect for 300

Hello, lets get down to it.Well lets start with the good i realy like the setup of this reciever it intuitive and simple i also like the amount of inputs component and 3 optical at this price range!The menu is somewhat cumbersom but averall easy to navigate and the remote is like every onkyo remote and just makes sense (really everybody should follow onkyo ).Now sound wise it leaves alittle to be desired in the lower frequencies but what do you expect fr 300 bucks the mids and highs are top notch for its class and youd be hard pressed to find one that sounds better at double the price.If youre looking for a good moderatly priced reciever that doesnt have hdmi inputs then this is the reciever for you, get off the internet now and go buy one.

Similar Products Used: polk everything cept sub which is klipsch. dvd player and tv dont matter only sound.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Dana_McCann   AudioPhile [Dec 04, 2005]
Strength:

DTS 96/24, DTS-ES, DTS, Discrete/Matrix 6.1 DTS Neo:6, Dolby Prologic IIx Dolby Digital Ex, Dolby Prologic II, and Dolby Digital. 3 Optical and 1 Coaxial Digital Input. 9 Digital SoundField Processing Modes

Weakness:

No On Screen Display

This Receiver opened up my Speakers. I played the Incredibles in THX mode on this Receiver, and felt as if, I were a part of the movie. My SACD's have come to life with their full richness and vibrancy.Didn't expect it to be this good. Don't be fooled by the 75w per channel, this means nothing .

Similar Products Used: Sony, Kenwood, Panasonic, JVC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dgjr   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 07, 2005]
Strength:

7.1 & DPLX.

Weakness:

NONE

This is an excellent receiver,although it a low end Onkyo. I thought about buying a Yamaha, but Onkyo price & performance was awesome. This is my second Onkyo unit. The first one I had was only DD ready. This one has it all! Save your money to buy gas. Buy the Onkyo TX-SR503 now.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo Yamaha Sony pioneer kenwood Harmon Kardon Sherwood
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com