Onkyo TX-DS939 A/V Receivers

TX-DS939

THX 5.1 Dolby Digital Reciever

User Reviews (42)

Showing 1-10 of 42  
headdex randy   Audio Enthusiast [May 24, 2014]

ik heb deze onkyo tx-ds939 integra in 2011 gekocht voor 400 euro 2 jaar geleden. ik moet eerlijk zegen wat een beest van een versterker en het geluid is net zo helder als in een goede bioscoop mits je er de goeie speakers voor hebt ik zou hem nooit meer inruilen voor een andere av receiver pre out uitgangen zijn ook geweldig ik heb er een eindversterker aanhangen waar ik 2 subwoofer op heb aangesloten van ieder 700 watt r.m.s een hele goeie bass weergaven net zo goed als in de bioscoop en de meetmicrofoon is ook er handig om je speakers op de kamer af te stellen ik hou van mijn onkyo tx-ds939

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jn   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 16, 2013]

tell my friend is this onkyo tx-939 is in good condition let me know please i want to know,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Omar Becdach   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2000]
Strength:

Excelent Sound, Great versatility, Lots of Inputs, Good Looks, Reliability.

Weakness:

No Balance control, Remote could be better for a unit like this, Tuner quality NOT that good, No DTS.

Even without DTS this Onkyo model is a good choice. Before buying the 939 I tested others in the same price range and could not find anything better. The Denon and Marantz came close, but that's it..only close. One of the things I love about this unit is its flexibility, by offering so many inputs that you switch to by simply pressing one button. I hate those round knobs that you have to turn to find and connect to the input you want. Overall, I am very happy with this purchase and will recommend it to anyone looking for a good quality and feature loaded product.

Similar Products Used: Before I had separate components
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
ehud zaken   Audiophile [Jan 18, 2000]
Strength:

upgrading DTS to your 939

hi
i bought my 939 with DTS CARD inside
i think that the 939 is one of the best receivers
that are in the market today.
and the DTS is best way to listen to music.
the sound in DTS is outstanding.
you can see my review in the bottom from the 1/5/00.
but i don't think that you should spend more money to
replace your receiver just because the DTS when you can just
upgrade it with DTS CARD .
i think that just like the shop in my country did it ,
there are a lot of shops in the world that can do it.
i am recommending to you to ask this question in the
DTS WEB "http://www.dtstech.com/consumer "
but if you want the name of the shop that i buy from
it's "http://www.topaudio.co.il/topaudio "
the language in the web is hebrew but in the bottom of
the page it's in english, you can ask them in english.

thanks
and i hope that i was useful

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Amit Datta   Audio Enthusiast [May 03, 2000]
Strength:

Versatility in handling various inputs, ability to play for extended sessions, great looks

Weakness:

complicated to set up, no separate output for bi-wiring the front speakers

* tremendous power handling capability

* terrific feel of "punch" when watching dvd's in comparison to other brands owned by friends

*the only draw back being, the need of adequate experience or knowledge to set the system up

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ehud zaken   Audiophile [Jan 05, 2000]
Strength:

great clear natural sound,dolby-digital,ac-3,pro-logic,thx,
locasfilm cinema re-eq,midnight-theater,learning remote,
dts,36 dsp modes,mrx(multi-room),great look,6.1 ch ready.

Weakness:

the remote look is very cheap,
the price in israel is very expensive.

hi
i purchasing my reseiver "onkyo integra" tx-ds939
european model in champagne ,150w rms x5ch in israel
before 9 months.
i buy it with dts card inside and 6.1 channels ready.
i purchasing it for 3814$us instead of 4166$us (that's the
price in israel).
the sound in stereo or dolby pro-logic is the best,better
then the denon 3200 or 5700, and much better then the yamaha
dsp-a1.
in dolby-digital the onkyo is the only one,much better
then the denon and the yamaha.
in dts the music decoding is fabulous and it have another
18 dsp mode over the original 18 dsp mode, total 36 dsp's.
i didn't noticed any different between the onkyo and the
yamaha.
in the yamaha the different between each dsp mode is bigger
but the truth is that i like to hear the music without any
dsp mode.
i have one question abuot the thx: does the dvd has to be
a dvd with thx decoding to hear the music in thx,or it's
enough that the receiver has the thx decoding?

i think that it's a best-buy

my set includes:



receiver: onkyo 939 integra dts in champagne 3814$us
dvd: sony dvps-7700 multi-region in champagne 2143$us
tapedeck: sony tc-ka6es dolby b,c&s in champagne 666$us
speakers main: b&w 603-s2 in black 1550$us
speakers rear: b&w 601-s2 in black 700$us
center speaker: b&w cc-6-s2 in black 750$us
and the subwoofer:mirage ms-12 in black 5750$us


bye

Similar Products Used: before i purchasing this receiver i tasted some :
yamaha dsp-a1 , denon 3200 and denon 5700.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
c. brandt   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2000]
Strength:

great functionality & sound

Weakness:

no dts, but it doesn't really matter... most digital media is coded in ac-3, not dts. also, the remote is ugly but works well.

got a great buy on a 939 because onkyo will be upgrading the model soon. (adding dts)

this unit is built fabulously. The sound is fantastic, especially in HT. Full THX certification.

on-screen setup is easy to use. there is a great deal of flexibility in audio/video hookups.

love it!

Similar Products Used: onkyo tx-ds777 (thx select)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
omer zadikevitch   an Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 1999]

I THINK THAT BEFOR YOU LISTEN YOU NEED TO LOOK AND IF EVERYONE LOKED AT THE INSIDE OF THE 939 WILL ANDERSTEND WHAT A PICE OF WORK THIS PRODUCT MEEN'SIT STARTS WITH THE TEORIAL POWER SUPPLY AND THE YOU SEE THE PLASMENT OF THE ELECTRONIC CARDS INSIDE YOU CAN SEE HOW THE 939 IS SAPERATED TO TWO PICES INSIDE
ONE ALTH FOR AMPLIFICATION AND THE ATHER FOR PROCESING AND TUNER AND VOLUME CONTRALL
THE ATHER THING YOU NEED TO DO IS TO LISTEN 10 10 10 10 10 NO COMBINATION LIKE THAT (ALL IN ONE BOX )CAN SOUND LIKE THAT AND ONLY THE HI-FI SAPERAT COMPONENT CAN COME TO IT
SO ANY ONE THAT THINKING OF ALL IN ONE IT IS ALL IN THE 939 OR YOU CAN WHAIT FOR
IS BIG BROTHER THE TX-DS979 6.1 AND DTS
GOOD LOK

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Steve Mato   an Audio Enthusiast [Aug 24, 1998]

The last review from DAVID REWALT did an excellent job describing this incredible piece of audio electronics. Run and buy one today! (though I _really_ wish you could scan the FM band from the remote, and not just jump from pre-set to pre-set.)
Steve Mato

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Steve   Audiophile [Jun 05, 2000]
Strength:

Quality construction, layout, & parts for the money

Weakness:

Runs a bit warm. A few more digital inputs would be handy.

I just picked up a second 939 unit for a song. The 989 didn't appeal to me too much. I think the 939 will tide me over for 1 to 2 years until I see how the DVD-A and SACD formats unfold along with their final digital interfaces.
The 939 is a great unit for a receiver, and works well with my Legacy speakers. Down the road I'll add on a nice 2 channel amp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 42  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com