Onkyo TX-DS575x A/V Receivers

TX-DS575x

DD/DTS receiver 5 x 90W/CH at 6 ohms 5 x 70W/CH at 8 ohms

User Reviews (156)

Showing 1-10 of 156  
karister   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 2007]
Strength:

Ease of use, very sturdy, clean powerful sound and overall a great home theater system.

Weakness:

Bulky remote, other than that none.

Excellent unit with ample power and great connectability. It's a very clean looking receiver and sturdy construction, and heavy. Never had any issues whatsoever. I really have come to enjoy the clean powerful sound, and I do use a SUB so no complains about bass issues.

Similar Products Used: Harmon Kardon / Yamaha / JVC / Carver
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LARRYJW   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2003]
Strength:

This is so simple to use. Set up, & remote are great. I USE mine, & I do stress it, it has held up great.

Weakness:

I wish it had pre-outs so I could add a monster amp! Bass adjustment is at 100mz? Who came up with this idea. My SANSUI {YES I Still Have My Baby, G7500} adjust at 50mz. 100mz makes little differance.

I can't beleave I have not posted a review for mine. I bought mine in 2001, & I USE it 7-days a week!! It is cranked at least several hours 1 day a week {my day off}. It was great for my smaller former living room, but I moved & now have a 680 sq. ft. den W/vaulted ceilings. This had plenty of power before. One thing I have noticed is that the sound does not penatrate the walls like my Sansui. I ran both W/same speakers, wires, CD, same song, & adjusted volume with spl. meter. The Onkyo was audible 10' from the porch. The Sansui reached to the side walk. This was about 14' more? Maybe not scientific enough, I don't know. I still love it.

Similar Products Used: Sansui, pioneer{old pro-logic crap}, My brother-in law's Onkyo, thats why I bought mine.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
tgjohnson69   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 17, 2003]
Strength:

Powerful at 100Wx5 Channels DTS and Dolby Digital Solid construction Nice Front Face Interface

Weakness:

Could use a few more inputs.

This receiver is just plain solid! All the reviews I read prior to my purchase said the same basic thing. The unit is one of the best built, for the money. It has a terrific array of features. The power is clean, crisp and plentyful. Basicly, the only bad thing I could find was that most people didn't like the remote. Heck! I love the remote. I am oh so glad that I found this unit and I highly recommend it to anyone on a budget who is looking for a nice audio/video receiver.

Similar Products Used: JVC, SONY, Harmon Kardon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Terje   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 17, 2003]
Strength:

THE BASS! PRICE! QUALITY! Remote control

Weakness:

it doesn`t go loud enough!! inputs( only subwoofer pre-out) NOT good enough for my cerwin vega v12f`s

The info which stand about it is wrong.It has 5x100watt in 6ohm, not 90w.THATS TRUE!! It has a open sound but it doesn`t play loud enough.The bass is tight, maybe a little warm sometimes, but good overall.The midrange is thin and the upper frequence could be harder, not so warm and packed if you know whar I mean. I WILL HAVE TO BUY A NAD C370.....

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
amaralda   Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 2002]
Strength:

In order to give a good idea of the strengts let`s separete in topics: 1-Genaral construction: From this point of view I think it''s an Tank, really heavy duty construction, really big heat sink , aluminium front and the buttons remember my Hp calculator ready for punchs! 2-Power: Plenty of power, if you want to compare specifications reading manuals is better to choose real competitors, ask good dealer that he''ll give you some directions. 3-Sound Quality: Accurate and crispy really pleasant, to tell the truth I''ve never heard any better! 4-Connections: Out connection do they work. 5-Front panel: lean and precise 6-Remote: Fantastic, I don''t even believe that it cames for free!

Weakness:

1-For the price the competitors offer a screen menu. 2-Too much sensitive to tension variations in the electical line, I''ve to add a line filter to avoid humming.

First time I heard about this receaver was in a show room, I have to confess that I got very impressed far the best in store, but I really wasn''t intending to pay US$480 on it! I purchased it just before it run out of production and paid the fair US$370

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Denon, Harman Kardon, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
mustang50   AudioPhile [Mar 11, 2002]
Strength:

My system consists of: onkyo 575x polk cs400i center polk rt1000i Fronts polk fx500i surrounds velodyne cht120 sub polk psw350 sub sont 50 disc cd changer tredex dvd player rca 36" tv digital cable rca vcr and lots of monster cables

Weakness:

could not find one yet after a year and a half

This is a great reciever. I agree with many of the reviewers on this site about the pros and cons of the reciever. Think of it this way if you wanted to hook it up to a computer or have more digital options you would be paying so much more money. Personally I have not used the Re-eq but the late night front effect is trully a god send, considering I work midnights and my roommate works days. To clear up confusion on how loud this reciever can get... there are two ways to set up the volume one is relative and it is the volume with the negative numbers. I use the opposite and the volume goes from 0 to 80. this doesnt represent the decibel level the reciever is playing at if it were we would all be playing it at max volume and blowing up our recievers. So if 80 is the max volume then 40 is half 60 is 3/4 and so on ... I find that the power band is smooth all the way up to 60 and I begin to worry that the reciever will crash and burn though it shows no signs of what so ever that it is working hard. It stays cool and clean at all the volumes I have played it at. 5 ch stereo is awesome this is one of the selling features for me. I swear it is like being at the club at my house when my friends and I are partying. I have pissed off many neighbors until I started to invite them to the parties....then everything is just fine... Well all around a best buy ...would recommend this to anyone and everyone.

Similar Products Used: sony AIWA
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
martin robson   Casual Listener [Jan 31, 2002]
Strength:

nicely built unit, 5 year waranty,plenty of power for the
average sized room, great remote

Weakness:

none

I have had my TX-DS575X for 15 months, and i still sit there in awe at it's great sound and power. the power has never gone past half volume( not while i'm there anyway).
D/D is a wonderful thing...and 5 channel stereo for the TV
CD's and video (i hav'nt used the other DSP's ).I have run monster cable to the front speakers, and also to 4 speakers
to the entertainment area outside 30 meters away(B speakers)
and still have plenty of power to hear the music over the
drunks. I have with my system -:
80 CM sony trinitron flat screen tv
JNL DVD
SONY EZ77 VCR
JBL S38 front speakers
JBL S Centre speaker
JBL control CM42 rear speakers
yahaha YST SW320 subwoofer
Its a great thing to have in your home, don't let the wife talk you out of it. Do get a subwoofer, it makes all the diference. You feel the dinasaurs coming before you hear them.

Similar Products Used: sony, yamaha, ect
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
David W   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 10, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound(clean and clear)even at high vol. Plenty of digital and s-video inputs. Clean and clear sound even at high volume. Solid build, this reciever could easily sell for $700+

Weakness:

No front a/v inputs (not important) A little more power would'nt hurt

I researched this reciever for 2 weeks before making the purchase. I had considered the Sony 945 and the Denon 1801.
The Onkyo in my opinion was the right choice for what I was looking for. I wanted a good quality, great sounding reciever with plenty of expandability for a reasonable price. And of course DD and DTS does'nt hurt. Thanks to the reviews here at AudioReview.com I am very happy with my purchase.

Similar Products Used: None worth mentioning
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff Grimes   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 08, 2000]
Strength:

DD/DTS
Awesome Programmable Remote
S-Video Switching

Weakness:

Remote's narrow/weak IR beam ??

I recently upgraded to a large screen Toshiba TV...It came WITH a satellite dish, and a second room receiver. Plus the DVD player I already own. The TV has 2 S-Video inputs on the back, I needed 3. Needed Receiver offering S-Video switching.

The Onkyo 575x was the most-for-price option offered at ABC Warehouse.

Hooked up easily, very straightforward. Sounds AWESOME. Considering I have JBL entry level speakers in front and 25yr old Thrusters for rears that says quite a bit.

Albiet most of the benefit is DD/DTS vs. old Pro-Logic setup...but this receiver plays older (read low sensitivity) speakers at louder than our typical HT listening levels. This receiver also brought my $120 KLH Subwoofer to life...What a difference...I knew I bought it for something... :)

The remote, well, its 99% awesome. Backlit, learnable...NOT UNIVERSAL, learnable. Universal remotes use codes to pre-program SOME of the units functionality into the "universal remote". This functionality can range from full to play/pause/stop...grab other remote "off:

The Onky remote allows you to teach ANY button, any FUNCTIOn from the device's remote. I now have FULL functionality (including menu's and config stuff) for the following:

Sony S330 DVD
Onkyo 575x
Sony SLV-795 HiFi VCR
Hughes Gold Satellite receiver
RCA 4120 Satellite receiver
Sony 5-disc carousel CD changer
Toshiba, Cinema series TV.

My only complaint (and I believe its the Onkyo remote) is the beam or range of the IR signal. I have 8 macros available, and doing things for the sat receivers is VERY difficult reliably...Sometimes the "on" works, sometimes it doesn't...This makes it difficult to make it simple for SWMBO. Since it might be glare off my audio cabinet, I won't downgrade the Onkkyo..yet!

Small complaint, I could spend $40 and buy an IR repeater (asI did to control the RCA sat receiver from another room in the house,

Overall, VERY pleased with purchase...Excellent functionality, great remote....

Similar Products Used: Replaces OLD Sony Pro-Logic receiver...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
New Onkyo fan   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2000]
Strength:

Solidly built, lots of features, magic remote, 5 year warranty.

Weakness:

Haven't found any yet!

Spent quite a few hours "demo-ing" this unit, eventually took speakers in too-had heaps of grunt and had to upgrade my old speakers to some new Cerwin Vega's (cheap) 'cause the old ones wouldn't have lasted too long hooked up to this baby!! Couldn't believe the difference in sound running in pro-logic mode as compared to my previous receiver. Put on a DVD and ran it DTS-unbelievable. Highly recommended, the 575x model certainly puts an end to the well documented hissing problem in the previous model. Solid and well built, plenty of inputs/outputs, no distortion, Fantastic remote, backed by a 5 year warranty = definitely a best buy.
5 channel stereo is great, thought it might be a bit gimmicky but well worth it.
I Love it!

Similar Products Used: First dd/dts AV Receiver, previously Kenwood Dolby Pro Logic AV
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 156  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com