Onkyo TX-DS474 A/V Receivers

TX-DS474

Dolby Digital receiver

User Reviews (48)

Showing 1-10 of 48  
nick lord   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 29, 2002]
Strength:

That it sounds a whole lot louder than it realy is.

Weakness:

If you have any static at all don''t turn it up as loud as you usualy would

My onkyo txds 474 has such a clear and perfect sound.It is a good receiver for virtualy anything you could possibly think of hooking it up to

Similar Products Used: onkyo m282 105-watt''stimes two chanel''s.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob   [Jan 22, 2000]
Strength:

Sound quality.

Excellent value. Great sound for both music, broadcast sound, and particularly on Dolby Digital DVD's. The unit was easy to set up and balance the sound to the room.

Similar Products Used: Several earlier Sony models, best forgotten.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Don   Audiophile [Mar 24, 2000]
Strength:

GREAT Sound, great Features, ease of use and ONKYO quality

Weakness:

Remote is not universal

This is one hell-of-a unit! Great digital sound! Great Stereo Sound!...I was reading the reviews and they say that there is a hum in speakers? I have no hum ( prob cuz I have nice speakers) they say u get no bass? ( Again, lack of good speakers and/or subwoofer.

I have had pictures fall off walls cuz of bass. I have had stuff come off shelves when I am rock'n. Stop reading this and go out and buy one! I give it 4 stars for lack of a good remote.....boo hoo

Similar Products Used: ONKYO TX-SV525
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mtman   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 16, 2000]
Strength:

Clear sound. Individual speaker adjustments, including Sub and Center.

Weakness:

Manual could be a little clearer. Remote is useless; can't read half of the lables.

This was my first venture into the DD world. The Sony was Pro Logic. Connected a DD DVD (Toshiba) to it and watched Twister. Sounds were just fantastic. Will take a awhile to tweak the system but that's one of the nice things about it, you can tweak all you want. I do have a good powered sub, a center and some old 300 watt 4 way speakers that can still move the furniture around and I found the Onkyo was up for it. The unit does get pretty warm but doesn't seem to be effected. For anyone wanting to get into DD without selling the farm, this is a very good reveiver to start with.

Similar Products Used: Sony, JVC, Kenwood, other older stuff.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Nils   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2000]

Just adding to my previous review, now that i've "runned it in" in my system. (also, i wanted to be able to win the dvd-player which i still haven't got myself to buy).
This Onkyo box, in my opinion, is absolutely worth everything i've paid for it.
I am starting to get annoyed by the bass from my dalis now, it is there allright, but the reciever doesnt seem to have the power to correctly control the two 10 inchers. I am considering selling these speakers to buy a pair smaller floorstanding speakers and an active sub, I am convinced this will fix my bass problem. I am also considering other options, like letting the reciever handle mids and treble, and connect an external amp for bass. This is not as easy as it sounds, first of all the reciever dos not have any pre outs (which, by the way is the biggest flaw to this reciever) second, i would have to reconstruct my speakers, which are not bi-wireable...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian   Casual Listener [May 08, 2000]
Strength:

Quality, Price and Sound

Weakness:

Remote

Have used this receiver for a little over two weeks and have been very happy. It's currently hooked to a set of Energy Take 5's w/ 8" sub and have not experienced any problems. Have been extemely impressed with the sound even at low levels. This receiver has replaced an older Technics Pro-logic and what a step-up.

Purchased from NetMarket for $190.

Highly recommend this receiver!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
charles alphonse   Audiophile [Jan 03, 2001]
Strength:

good sound,good bass,for 55watts she seems to put out more power than that.

Weakness:

lack of inputs and outputs.

for the price i paid you cant go wrong.it is also built strong. 21.LBS

Similar Products Used: denon,av1100
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jerry   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 29, 1999]
Strength:

low price, power of receiver

Weakness:

remote

this receiver is great for the price. it certainly has enough power to fill my small living room. in fact it's a little too much power. i'm constant having to set my volume at a negative volume and not sure why some people says it lacks the power. maybe my room isn't as big. even with my negative settings, it can be heard outside of my house so this has definitely enough power. i just didn't like the remote as it isn't a universal one. i have to use too many remotes just to play some dvds. i have to admit, i've checked out the harmon kardon receivers and they are excellent but this one definitely isn't that bad for its price.

Similar Products Used: harmon kardon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 09, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent value, great sound and power.

Weakness:

A few technical problems described below

This unit has been exceptional in value in performance for the past month. I have however, had a problem with it. It seems once or twice a week, I will turn it on and there will be power and perfect display, but no sound coming from the speakers, not even a hum on +18 turned to analog sources. If I wait about 30 minutes, it is usaully fine. This is a serious concern, and am not sure what to think since it is not mentioned in any other reviews. If anyone else has had this problem, I would appreciate any feedback.
Overall, it performs very well, considering the price I paid.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Adam Sickmiller   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 10, 2000]
Strength:

Very clean sound, accurate dynamic reproduction.

Weakness:

A hum exists when cranked up--unnoticeable if you're actually listening to music at that volume though (rather than just turning it up w/no sound to see if it hisses)

I would definetely recommend this receiver. I am very satisfied with the sound and price (I paid $250 at circuit city and it came with free speakers)

Some people have said they thought it didn't have enough bass. I would imagine those people did not set it up right...you have to specify if or if not you have a subwoofer (default is yes)

Similar Products Used: $400 Sony of some kind
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 48  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com