Onkyo Integra DTR-7 A/V Receivers

Integra DTR-7

THX Select Certified Receiver. Dolby Digital, DTS and Dolby Pro-Logic. 105 watts per channel.

User Reviews (40)

Showing 1-10 of 40  
GO INTEGRA   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2012]

I love my Integra DTR-7.7, PAID $440 on craigslist. It sounds great, it has good tight bass, not boomy bass. It has clean refreshing highs, and powers any speaker I throw at it, not to mention it has many many features as well. That's pretty much all you need to know.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeremy   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 25, 2012]

Great Product. Sound is amazing, I've found it to have extremely good bass, the person that said it has no bass, no offence but you must not have set it up right, or you might have gotten a dud, mine has plenty of bass. This receiver is great for home theatre and music, I have no complaints about it and have had it many years now with no problems. Everything is quality about it, not to mention that it is still up to par with functions of modern receivers, i.e.. although not many it does have two HDMI inputs and 1080p HDMI output as well. It also just feels quality i.e. its made of metal not plastic!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lee Vitalone   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 21, 2011]

I've had this unit 12 years, only issue is noise from center channel occasionally. For the poster who said it has no bass, Read the manual!!! gat a pwrd sub.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
pbwatts   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 08, 2004]
Strength:

looks good....nice remote....about it

Weakness:

no bass...very harsh sounding....muddy and not very detailed...for a supposedly top notch 105 watt receiver, this thing fails miserably...horrible sound

I have a TX-SV515PROII(1994 model) that I've used the last seven years. The sound is incredible...so I figured I'd get the Integra and upgrade...HA!!!!!! whatta joke...Onkyo has gone, apparently, down the tubes...this receiver sounds like crap....no bass, very harsh(muddy)...not the Onkyo sound I know...I tell ya, if all home theatre receivers sound like this, I'm sticking with my '94 Onkyo(rated at 80 watts..and much louder than the Integra at 105)....even if it is only Pro Logic...A salesman at Tweeter told me Onkyo quit making good receivers after '95....he's right...I would recommend you find an Onkyo receiver from this time period(ebay) if you want REAL sound for your music...otherwise, you'll be ripped off

Similar Products Used: yamaha rxv-3300(couldn't stack up either)..Denon (nope)...Sony ES (not even close)
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
geespot   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 22, 2003]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Pile of crap.

Been in the shop 4 times for different things - amp section bad, processor would only play in Direct mode, digital input board bad, and display went out

Similar Products Used: Marantz SR-8200 Pioneer Elite VSX-27 Yamaha HTR-5590 McIntosh C-24
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
mike   AudioPhile [Mar 16, 2003]
Strength:

east to use look at the rotel rsx 1065 before you by this

Weakness:

hiss hiss hiss it sounds ok

its a average sound

Similar Products Used: everything but rotel
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
mike scalice   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2002]
Strength:

thx dd dts

Weakness:

none

its a onkyo should i say any more

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Howard   Audiophile [Feb 15, 2000]
Strength:

DTS, THX, Non-negative feedback amp, 5 channel stereo mode

Weakness:

none at this point


Current setup:

Speakers:
Front: Polk RT2000P
Center: CS400
Rear: RT55

DVD:
Pioneer: 525

CD:
Onkyo XXX

Tape Deck:
Onkyo TA-YYY

I have studied extensively on this site before I made a purchase on DTR-7. There are a lot of reports on hiss and
hum for Onkyo's product. As an EE major enginer for 15 years, I know something is not right. First, an audioable
hum from a new receiver and a good company is very very
unlikely to happen. If that happens, check your ground
loops. Many times hum can be solved by adding a three-
to-two lead adapter to your power plug. This will remove
the grounding to the Earth but that is another story.
So don't blame the receiver if the ground loop in your house
is not done right.

Second of all, hiss do exist in semi/tube equipment.
This is the thermal noise and cannot be avoided. In my case, with no input connected to the unit and turn the volume to maximum you will hear something from 2 feet.
With input the hiss become louder this is because noise from the source add up to it.

Sound: The sound from this unit is incredible. My wife owns a pair of golden ears who cannot tolerate any ill-produced sound. I upgraded the speakers from M&K to Polk back in December. Then after that music from the Polk was terrible to a point that she keep saying this is horrible.

It is so bad that I hauled the speakers back to The store for a refund. Then the store manager politely asked me to bring my vintage Luxman amp for a comparison. That actually pin-point the problem. Luxman A-502 was produced in 1981-1983 time frame using "dual beta"
technolgy. The sound is clear but with a mechanic flavor.

This deficiency was somehow covered by M&K. In the store we listened to a number of receivers and Onkyo /Denon came out on top. The manager said Denon has more build quality problems and he suggested DTR-7 for $925. So I brought back the combo home and setup the system and BINGO!!!
Nice mellow sound from the polk. I especially like the
5 channel stereo mode. In fact, a number of AAD, ADD CD that I considered should throw away before now all sounds OK to very good because I use the optical output from the old Onkyo CD player and feed it to DTR-7.

My wife is also very pleased about the purchase and stop complaining about the sound quality. Technically, I think
Non-NFB Amp increase the slew rate and decrease the TIM
distortion which improves the reproduction on most of our
beloved CDs (opera, concerto, classical rock).

DD and DTS mode are new experiences also but we have not turn the volume up too much (for the kids). This is why midnight mode is so useful.

Conclusion:

Audio technology is evolving all the time and yes, you do get what you paid for.

Similar Products Used: Denon, Yamaha, Pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
johnny audiofile   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2000]
Strength:

gobs of clean power,remote can run everything & 3year war.

Weakness:

if you can find one let me know.

I have to say,that this is one sleeper of a reciever.
anyone considering the onkyo777 should buy the dtr7 instead.
why,because for the $ 100.00 price differance you get.
1.gold jacks instead of silver
2.3-year waranty instead of 2-year.
3.multi room,multi source out jacks added.
4.the power cord on the dtr7 is 3-times thicker and is
detachable exactly like the one that comes with computers.
5.onkyo themselves state,that the inside guts are of a
much higher quality over the 777.
6.the integra is to onkyo,like elite is to pioneer.
I had the top of the line elite vsx29tx,and I can
honestly say the integra dtr7 offers so much more.like,
turning on/off the front ch. reverb,28 dsp modes,adjustable
bass&treble mode outside of THX,the vsx29 locks out all
tone controls exept for 2ch stereo,movie-theater referance
level display on the volume,inteligent volume to match all
sources dbs,adjustable LFE level db gain seperatly one for
DTS,DOLBY DIGITAL and DSP MUSIC MODES,and last but least
is power,what people dont khow is that pioneer rates the
vsx29tx at 6ohms to fool you into thinking your getting a
120x5 watt amp,when you are realy getting a 100x5 at 8ohms
look for yourself in the vsx29tx owners manual.by the way
the integra dtr7 pumps out a hefty 135x5 into 6ohm.onkyo
just wants to be honest and tell you its 105x5 into 8ohms.
if you can find this reciever buy it,its a winner.

Similar Products Used: pioneer elite vsx29tx onkyo777
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 21, 2000]
Strength:

Sound quality, features.

Weakness:

Component inputs (but will probably go directly to monitor anyways)

I thoroughly enjoy my Integra DTR-7. I have owned Onkyo receivers in the past and they have proven to be solid units. I chose it over the Denon for two reasons: one, the Denon really fell short on dolby-digital (and unfortunately there is a lot of material still in this format);two the sound seems to be more powerful. By the way, no hiss.

My only regret is with the dealer NOAV. I was told I would get a receict or invoice as proof of purchase (which the Onkyo warantee requires.) But even after two phone calls and several emails - no response. I hope that I will never need warantee work, but aware of the issue if you are dealing with NOAV.

Similar Products Used: Denon AVR3300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 40  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com