Onkyo Integra DTR-7.1 A/V Receivers

Integra DTR-7.1

6.1 Channel THX Surround EX Digital Receiver

User Reviews (68)

Showing 1-10 of 68  
Terry Orcholski   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 24, 2012]

I have been buying high end receivers for over 30 years, I bought Integra's DTR 70.2 a year and a half ago, It's now in the shop being repaired for the fourth time. This has been the most unreliable receiver I've ever owned. I was an Onkyo supporter for years, I went to Dennon for years then found out about Integra, that was a bad day, I wish I never bought it.
My recommendation is Don't buy, these are crap.,
My Sony 5.1 I bought in 1999 125 Watts x 5 still works perfetly never been repaired I'm going back to Sony again for the second time.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
stobbes80   AudioPhile [Oct 16, 2003]
Strength:

Clear detailed sound. Lots of power. Looks very nice with the silver knob. Sleek looking. Very high quality. Worry free which harmon kardon is not. Great sounds for movies and above average sound for music. Nice remote. I am used to it after owning an onkyo in the past. Glad Onkyo uses the same remote over the years.

Weakness:

Sound can be to bright when listening to 2 channel music mode. Could be my speakers but I doubt it.

I really enjoy the 7.2. It has lots of power to meet all your needs and desires. The quality and reliability are A+. My first unit was the onkyo 575 and I beat it to death using infinity preludes PFR's with a infinity HPS 500 sub. I enjoy onkyo/Integra and am a loyal customer. I do think the sound is clear and warm, but a little to bright in the mids and high. Sounds kind of tinty some times. I am using the Denon 2800 dvd player with it. I am also using top rated class A speakers such as the infinity intermezzo 2.6p and the intermezzo 1.2 powered sub but the sound is a little bright. My harman kardon avr 7000 sounded a little better with music but that was 1600.00. I guess the retail on the 7.2 was 1300.00 so simalar in price. I really enjoy the thx mode, the onkyo really shines in thx and DD 5.1. I use the infinity interlude IL 36 C and the infinity IL 10's for rears. I also enjoy the remote it is easy to use. I havent had a chance to use 7.1 but some day may. Keep up the good work. I am so pleased with onkyo may buy the onkyo 595 for my bedroom because of its quality and clear sound.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo 575, Harmon kardon avr 7000, Pioneer elite tx36.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Frank   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 12, 2002]

I love it! I watch a lot of movies and they sound great. I'm looking to upgrade to the DTR 9.1 and DPS 9.1 for more options, any advice?? Is anyone interested in buying my DTR 7.1 and DPS 7.2 I currently have?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
rt2e   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 21, 2002]
Strength:

THX Plus everthing else this is a Sound Tank!!!!

Weakness:

You Have got to be a Snob user to find something wrong with it

Integra is the best gear you can buy for the money...If you are not a super store shopper you know what I mean!!! And not ready for the Esoteric Stuff...Yes this is the Rolls Royce of Onkyo... Those Snooty Brands can be a rip as far as I"m concerned, especially when some of them cost 3-4 times more thna the Intergra DTR series...But Yes I understand that another mans passion can also be a nother mans poision!!!But I enjoy the Meat And Potatoe Stuff Out there when it comes to electronics. Not the Best but better than the super store crap!!! Ihave to eat also... I have always found that you can find some terrific gear in this price range that can go head to head with the "SNOB" Brands!!! And the DTR 7.1 Is the best I have owned....It has been replaced recently with the 7.2 I just was luck to find a Demo Unit If not would have bought the 7.2...Big Sound For Little Bucks..

Similar Products Used: Onkyo Pioneer Sony Toshiba Sony "ES" Hitachi Teac Tandberg
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Nguyen   Audio Enthusiast [May 17, 2002]
Strength:

Very well defined Dolby Digital, Good stereo mode, very powerful at low volume.

Weakness:

Remote,the remote is under engineering.But the DTR 7.2 came with optional CHAD, which is a must have !!!. Hard to configure.

I bought the Integra after some serious listening and compare it to other mid-range receiver such as Yamahan and Denon. I have a buddy which own an Denon 3802. When listening in the stereo mode, the Denon and Integra are extremely well matched in term of clearness, and tight bass. Denon is a 7.1 which offer 105 watts and Integra is 6.1 only have 100 watts. I choose the Integra because of design and the THX certification. If you looking for a receiver in the range of 1000-1200, Integra DTR 7.2 should be seriouly consider. System use in testing Boston VR975 Boston VR920 Definitive tech SPTL15+ Boston VRMX Pioneer Elite DV 37V Monster Power HTS 3600

Similar Products Used: Denon AVR 3802,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
kingsfaninsac   Audio Enthusiast [May 12, 2002]
Strength:

THX ,VERY GOOD DSP MODES, BUILT LIKE A TANK ,POWER, SOUND QUALITY

Weakness:

VERY DIFFICULT TO SET UP ,ON SCREEN CONFIGURATION IS A LITTLE DIFFICULT TOOK AN AUDIO BUDDY TO GET IT SET UP PROPERLY.

LOOKED AT DENON,ONKYO,MARANTZ,YAMAHA AND ARCAM.AFTER LISTENING TO SEVERAL RECEIVERS IT CAME DOWN TO THE ONKYO-797 AND THE INTEGRA-DTR-7.1 MAINLY BECAUSE OF THX CERTIFICATION. WAS GOING TO BUY 797 ON EBAY BUT THERE A LOT OF FACTORY REFURBISHED-UNITS OUT THERE. SO I DECIDED ON THE DTR-7.1 BECAUSE OF QUALITY, BOTH SOUND AND BUILD ARE UNMATCHED BY ANY RECEIVER IN IT''S CLASS. IT DOES EVERYTHING YOU COULD POSSIBLY EXPECT A RECEIVER TO DO.BOTH MUSIC AND HT MODES ARE TOP NOTCH FOR A RECEIVER UNDER $1200.

Similar Products Used: KENWOOD-1080
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Francis   Audio Enthusiast [May 07, 2002]
Strength:

Build quality, power

Overall I''m quite satisfied with the unit. Power is more than enough even for a medium size listening room (20 ft X 25 ft). The DAC surprised me, for stereo listening I used to connect the analog output of a Pioneer DV-525 to an audio input on the 7.1 and then I connected the PCM output of the DV-525 to one of the coax digital input of the 7.1, the sound is now much more detailed. Even the bass output for music listening is fairly good, the 7.1 has no problem driving Paradigm Studio 60 (which are known to be hard to drive). I''m sure audiophiles would bash this unit for music listening but to my ear it''s quite OK and comparable to my NAD C370 integrated amp. On the home-theatre side I''m also pleased with the unit. I mainly use "straight" DD or DTS for DVD listening (no DSP), decoding is pretty good,nothing to complain about on this side. For TV, the "ALL Channel" stereo mode is interesting. Again the power is more than enough, this unit has no problem handling "heavy audio" scenes (at ref level, try the scene in Fight Club when part of the plane is ripped off and everything goes flying...I felt like I was on the plane). My only complain is regarding the high''s, at loud volume level, they sound quite harsh and aggressive but this might be related more to the Studio 60 (metallic tweeter). I would be curious to pair this receiver with Monitor Audio Silver 8i which to my ear sound softer with better imaging (although lacking the low end punch of the Paradigm Studio 60, I guess a good sub combined with the 8i would be audio heaven for me).

Similar Products Used: Carver HTR 885.1
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
A-Hol   AudioPhile [Apr 05, 2002]
Strength:

2 Channel audio is excelent. So far it''''s great.

Weakness:

If you can say the lack of ES discret or PL II is a weakness that''''s what they are. Personally I really don''''t miss either of them.

Here is the story, I have paradigm monitor 7''''s as fronts, mini monitors as rears, and a cc-370 as a center. I had a Yamaha HTR-5460 that I picked up new for 300 bucks a few months ago. My parents bought a Denon 1082(3802) a couple weeks ago and I hooked it up to my stuff to see how it sounded. Well it sounded great so I decided to look into getting a new reciever myslef. I went out today and bought a Integra 7.1 and a Marantz 7200. Came back and put a couple Cd''''s in and played them on the Yamaha in 2 channel stereo, then hooked up the marantz. I''''ll tell you what I was not impressed with the marantz at all. It still had that bright, thin sound that I was trying to get away from with the Yamaha. Then i hooked up the denon and listened to how much better the denon was over the marantz. I then hooked up the Integra and listened to it in 2 channel stereo. I''''ll tell you what the Integra and the denon were extremely close to each other. The Denon had somewhat more of a pronounced midrange and the Integra was a litle more pronounced in the lower treble. So from what I could tell you can''''t go wrong with either of these recievers. I stuck with the integra because I like the design of the box itself better.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood Pro Logic Sony (will not buy another sony product)! Yamaha 5460 Marantz 7200 Denon 1082 (3802)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
A-Hol   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2002]

Can anybody tell me where I can get this for a good price?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
boep   AudioPhile [Mar 01, 2002]
Strength:

evrything

Weakness:

difficult to set up

overall...simply the best.

Similar Products Used: onkyo 787
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 68  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com