Marantz SR9200 A/V Receivers

SR9200

Marantz SR-9200 THX Ultra 7-Channel Digital Theater Receiver

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
Marco wood   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 03, 2017]

very very pleased with this Marantz receiver haven't had a receiver do better than this one and sounds the cleanest at very high volume this receiver is set apart from others when it comes to quality thanks Marantz!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shayne S   AudioPhile [Nov 11, 2003]
Strength:

Warm, deep, rich sound. Good build quality. Ample power. Great remote. User friendly setup.

Weakness:

Nothing?

Indeed I would love to have two separate systems. One dedicated soley to music, the other for home theatre and less serious music listening. However, that being financially impossible for me, I need to focus on a system that did both successfully. Over the past 7 years I have auditioned dozens of digital A/V receivers and owned three (Yamaha RXV 2095, Yamaha DSP A1, Marantz SR 9200) My focus always is on the reproduction of 2 channel music. I find nearly all the recei vers in the $2500-$4500 range will do the DVD thing just fine. As long as they've got good bass management capabilities your movies will sound great on every one. It is in the music department where, I feel, alot of them fall short. I have owned my Marantz SR 9200 for well over a year now and I'm still more than satisfied. In fact it keeps sounding better. I believe that if you use decent cables and components, it will sound like it's worth three times the money. The build quality is excellent. The setup menu is among the best I've seen. SPL and bass management calibrations are made quickly and accurately. The remote is nicer and seems a higher quality than some remotes that come with more expensive receivers. The RS232 port on both the SR 9200 and its remote make it possible to customize and upgrade with new software through your PC. For a big home theatre job like the Marantz SR 9200 is, it sure delivers a warm richness and clarity when representing music. Smooth, full bodied and powerful is how I could describe it. I'm sure this would improve if I was able to use higher quality components and speakers than the one's I am currently using. Until I buy a separate music system, the Marantz SR 9200 does the job admirably. I use: Receiver: Marantz SR 9200 CD/Recorder: Marantz DR 4050 DVD: Marantz VC 5200 Upsampling DAC: Musical Fidelity A3-24 Main Speakers: JBL S312 Centre: JBL S-Centre Rear Surr: JBL S38 Centre Back: PSB Alpha AV Sub: PSB Subsonic 5 Cables: Kimber 8TC (mains) Kimber 4PR (rest). Sub cable: Monster M351. Also using Goertz Purl Silver analog interconnects from the upsampler to the CD transport.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RXV 2095. Yamaha DSP A1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BISA   AudioPhile [Mar 20, 2003]
Strength:

Lots of power, exelent soundstage and warm like marantz does.

Weakness:

None.

Very good AV receiver for all taste. Listen to stereo music or home theater is wonderful and nice.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
randy maale   AudioPhile [Mar 16, 2003]
Strength:

Ease of use, I can't say it enough! 4 component video inputs, most of any receiver on the market.

Weakness:

Remote! It is very annoying. Way too many pages to go through just to go from satellite to DVD.

Having moved on from my older SR880 to the new Marantz 9200, all I can say is WOW! This receiver is amazing. It handles every sound field there is and does so extremeley well. You can set the audio to "auto" and forget it, or you can tweak the crap out of it and have fun. The setup menu is a snap. The sound out of this unit is perfect. It is clear, crisp and astounding. It handles video with equal applomb. Best of all, Marantz really knows how to keep things simple. The receiver is not overbearing, nor is annoying by adding a myriad of useless sound fields. System: Marantz, 9200 Klipsch Reference surround sound speakers Mitsubishi PD5010 Plasma Monitor (by the way, I highly recommend this over ANY other Plasma. I've had two so far.) Toshiba Progressive scan DVD

Similar Products Used: SR880 Yamaha RXZ1 Denon 5803
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Raj   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 28, 2002]
Strength:

Clean sound and imaging. Lots of power. Great for 2 channel music too. All the theatres features I am likely to use.

Weakness:

I wish it would go automatically into analog mode if an incompatibility is detected in the digital mode.

Have had this receiver for 6 months now and I am very pleased with ...Got it hooked upto Infinity Preludes...Using Nordost Flatline speaker wires and Nordost Moonglo2 interconnect. Music is very warm and clear..Great imaging...It does tend to bring out the flaws in CD's...For movies, it has enough power to make my house shake and some....So, I don't think I'll reach the limits without the neighbors wondering what is going on...CS5.1 is great for music too depending on the type of CD played.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Luis Morales   AudioPhile [Jul 25, 2002]
Strength:

Good for music and better for movies

Weakness:

So far nothing bad in this one.

Very good amplifier nothing best to this one so far.

Similar Products Used: Sony STR-675 and Onkyo TX-DS787
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
aprib   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 10, 2002]
Strength:

Very musical and natural (Excellent Preamp/Processing stage...great with both movies AND music) Elegant Looking Remote Great buy!

Weakness:

Nothing major...sometimes glitches happen during speaker setup (where the cursor would not move, have to turn off unit and back on) but thats all (you're not likely to change speaker setup all that often). No glitches operationally so far. Remote takes a lot of juice from batteries (understandable, as it has a LCD and backlight). No other complaints.

I'm not normally moved to write online reviews but this time I will. This is because I am simply amazed at the quality of the preamp/processing stage of my SR-9200. I use to be a straight stereo guy, believing that I would lose too much Sound Quality in a HT setup (unless you go for the top stuff like Theta, Lexicon, Proceed and the like) so with great reluctance I started my search for a reasonable HT system to combine with my existing stereo components. I'm not going to go into great detail about how great the sound is, except I was very surprised to find that the quality of music that the SR-9200 preamplifying stage produces is not at all far inferior to my normal stereo system. I don't know and won't assume how similarly priced Denon, Onkyo, Sony, products sound but I do know this: you should be MORE THAN HAPPY with how the SR-9200 reproduces not only movie sountracks but also music. The music I listen to for testing was among others: Jennifer warnes - The Hunter Bob James/Earl Klugh - Cool Lisa Ekhdal - When did you leave Heaven Andrea Bocelli Rebecca Pidgeon - The Raven My Equipment (you may question some of the choices but here goes): DVD: Pioneer DV-S838A Receiver: Marantz Sr-9200 ...feeding for the front Left and Right channels a pair of... Amplifier (Fronts): Blue Circle Audio BC2 monoblocks Front Speaker: Proac Response 1S ...also fed from the Sr-9200, for the center channel... Amplifer (Center): Classe Audio Seventy ...Bi-Amping into the... Center: Paradigm Reference Studio (bought this because of all the good reviews here, thank you Audioreview!) ...Rear speakers fed directly by the SR-9200... Rears: Celestion 700 All interconnects and coax are Van den Hul the First and center speaker cable Van Den Hul CS-122 and Vampire for Fronts and Rear spkr cable. I previously had the SR-9200 feed my Sonic Frontiers SFL2 preamp before going to my monoblocks (so I can attach my SFD2 and CD Transport) but honestly the difference between playing from my DVD player and the Transport is not as earth shattering as I thought so my DAC, transport and preamp is sitting on the side gathering dust in preference of my DVD player and Sr-9200 (I'm crazy I know, but it's a testimony to how good the SR-9200 is, and the Pioneer DVD player).

Similar Products Used: Have listened to Denon AVR-3802, Marantz Sr-5200, Sr-19 and a smattering of other Denons, Sony, Kenwood Receivers (though cant say the Sr-9200 is best among these coz I have not done A-B test with my
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [May 14, 2002]
Strength:

Easy set up. Clean power. THX format - for home theatre do not dismiss its usefulless. Not many DVDs are stamped THX but try it on any Dolby Digital signal and you''ll be satisfied. Nice remote.

Weakness:

Power output seems weaker than 130 watts per channel.

THIS REVIEW IS ALSO FOR THE SR-8200. Excellant A/V receiver. I compared many and almost ended up with the Onkyo 797. I was willing to gamble with Onkyo''s quality control because I could get one for $750; in fact it was only Onkyo''s unending back order that prevented that unit from becoming part of my home theatre set up. Now I''m happy I was forced to spend the extra $. Marantz''s product quality is never doubted and it has decent, clean out-put although its power rating, 130 watts for all six channels, seems higher than what is actually being delivered. Nevertheless, it goes louder than I would use so this is a moot point. Most input comes from a Pioneer Elite DV-47A and the Marantz is driving M&K''s 750THX system - with the 350THX sub. It all works very together.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Yosh70   Audio Enthusiast [May 05, 2002]
Strength:

Never out-of-date with the ability to update; Touch screen LCD remote; Power ratings very close based on what I have heard before.

Weakness:

No x-over setting; nothing much else yet:)

NOTE: This for the SR8200. After trying numerous 2/3/5 channel amps on my old Denon receiver, I knew that more power was necessary. But I wanted PL2 as well as DTS-ES and to spend $$$ on an amp AND a pre/pro, well, lets just say that I have to eat too! An older but still new Denon 4800 was in my sights until I read about the SR8200. Upgradability, 120W X 6 channels, PL2, DTS-ES, a touch-screen remote that most would say is very impressive and lets not forget THX! Even tho I''m still figuring this baby out, I am very impressed with the sound and imaging it produces. My DVD concerts never sounded so good!

Similar Products Used: Denon AVR1801,AVR1000; Paradigm Studios Panasonic DVD; Monster cables
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
lowkey   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 03, 2002]
Strength:

THX cinema is as good as you could expect out of an av receiver. Power is strong and clean. remote control is a touchscreen learning device.

Weakness:

None so far! Fool around with this baby and you want be disapointed.

This review is for the sr8200. It has plenty of power for my needs(120w*6}ands sounds very clear.This unit has all the extras-dolbypro II, THX select, cs(circle surround-is awsome}and is upgradeable for future technologies. Also, the remote isthe best i ever had!

Similar Products Used: yamaha rxv 3000, denon 3802, integra 8.2, denon 4800 all good receivers but if you want great stereo sound and even better home theatre, well you better check out marantz!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com