Marantz SR-18EX A/V Receivers

SR-18EX

DIGITAL SURROUND RECEIVER

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
TJ0099   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 24, 2007]
Strength:

POWER...CLEAN...A BEAST....

Weakness:

NONE

Well, after owning this beast now for 5 years as the original owner and originally powering Klipschorns for front's and Hersey II's for rears with a KLFC7 for a centre and Velodyne FSR18, it has more than enough power, and to think I was going to run 5 MA700's off of it and use it as a pre-amp, why? I still run Klipsch Heritage up front with LaScala's and the rest, best AV Receiver I have ever had, next best was early 1990's and the Pioneer VSX-D1S, and there was a brute!

I don't care for 7.1, quite happy in 5.1 thanks...doin well....Merry Christmas Everyone....or Happy Holidays...your guess....

Similar Products Used: 1990's Pioneer VSX-D1S or VSX-9900S
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Catznjamma   AudioPhile [Sep 10, 2003]
Strength:

Seamless detailed sound quality, user friendly.. Took minutes to set up!! EASY EASY EASY.///

Weakness:

NONE

I am in the business and have done quite a few installations.. This Receiver is one of the finest on the market today.. When playing a CD it sounded as if my customer had purchased krell equipment.. We also tested it with home theater and felt as if we were in a movie theater. Great Product AAAAAA Product...

Similar Products Used: Marantz SR9200
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SeanM   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 19, 2002]
Strength:

Truly brilliant sound quality approaching if not matching that of separates. Excellent remote. Beautiful looks (gold model) that will not date.

Weakness:

Doesn't have DPL II, Neo 6 if you really believe that this is worth the sacrifice in sound quality?

I finally received this unit after a couple of months of searching. I am extremely happy with this receiver : It looks fantastic (gold), sounds brilliant, and has an absolutely phenomenal remote. This is a major improvement over the DSP-A3090 which was already pretty impressive. Surround effects now steer so much more precisely and sound so much more natural and unforced. No offence to those who have chosen otherwise, but I am glad that I "made the break" from the bells and whistles home theatre components. I found that all that is really necessary is simply Dolby Digital, DTS and Stereo. With this unit, you get the benefit of brilliant separates quality sound instead of the bells and whistles. Very similar sound quality to my PM84 MarkII. Couldn't be happier...

Similar Products Used: Yamaha DSP-A3090, Yamaha DSP-E1000, Yamaha DSP-A1000, Marantz PM84 MarkII
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fredou   AudioPhile [Apr 13, 2002]
Strength:

-VERY powerfull -VERY musical -DRIVE the most demanding speakers -SOUDSTAGE is exceptionnal

Weakness:

-VERY deep and heavy, need a new cabinet -THE remote is too heavy (one lb)

This is the best receiver I ever had in my life. The sonic representation is beautyfull. This amp is very very powerfull, then you get crisp clear sound with alot of bass, but not a boomy one... All the connections you need is on the back of the baby and all is in gold.

Similar Products Used: Marantz SR-7000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bubba   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent sonics, powerful amps. Able to drive very demanding speakers. There is absolutely no need for seperate amps 99% of the time. I own two of these babies - one in my music room and one in my home theater room.

Weakness:

These are very deep - may have problem sitting in some audio racks.

Fantastic Bargain - Buy one and you won''t have to upgrade for years.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer VSX-D3S, Onkyo DTR 7.1 THX, Outlaw 1050.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Neil   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 09, 2001]
Strength:

Clean High Power, 2 Channel music, HDCD, Many Inputs

Weakness:

Can be costly

Initial thoughts: I compared this unit to the B&K 307 and the Denon 5800 and ended up buying the Marantz SR18EX. All 3 units were excellent, with the 18EX and the 307 being better in 2 channel. I would of been happy with either unit but was able to get a better deal on the SR18EX.

This is as close as you can get to seperates. I wanted a receiver that was stellar in 2 channel as well as home theater. I enjoy the sound of this unit more than my proceed pre/anthem mca2 combo and no comparison to the HK 2.0/2.1 combo I had. The 307 was similar also. These high end units have closed the gap to entry/mid seperates in one convienent box. Sound is more robust than the SR7000 I used to have, not as warm, much more nuetral and dynamic. I find the tremendous performance increase warrants the tremendous cost difference.

The unit never strains or sounds distorted. I have never had the the peak light turn on (had it with the sr7000 go on)yet even when cranking the volume. I also have outstanding, inefficent speakers (85db) in the norh marble 9.0. Mt speakers have never sounded so good with any amp/pre or receiver than the sr18ex. I will post a more in depth review once the unit breaks in and the novelty period is over. But off the bat, this is one high end piece that sounds great. You get what you pay for.

Similar Products Used: Owned or in home demoed most $800 - $1200 receivers. For comparison with the SR18EX the B&K 307 & Denon 5800
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Norm   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 09, 2001]
Strength:

Clean power and sense of "you are there realism".

Weakness:

none

Folks this is a wonderful piece of equipment. I auditioned many of the high-end names and found the Marantz SR-18EX to be up there with the best. I'd challenge any of the high-end snobs to a double blind comparison. Anyway if you haven't heard this receiver you're in for a treat!

Similar Products Used: Adcom, Custom modified Dynaco among others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   Audiophile [Aug 23, 2001]
Strength:

power, sound quality, seperation, features, build quality

Weakness:

7.1 but no amplifiers for the extra two channels, for all the money spent you wouold think that it would have 7 descrete channels

This thing was 60 pounds, and sounded awesome. once it was set up i didnt want to stop listening to the unit. The looks of the unit are great also. i wish you could shut down the unit without hitting the power button on the remote. but other than that i love it. its real easy to use too. the seperation between channels is amazing, music sounds very very good. the tuner picks up everystation. overall this unit is great i reccommend it to all

Similar Products Used: Marantz sr-8000
rotel
Harman Kardon
Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JP   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 23, 2001]
Strength:

Clean power, Ease if use.

Weakness:

Heavy, Big

I did research on my new HT Receiver for months. I wanted to replace my older Denon 2600, still worked great, but I wanted Digital inputs, component video switching, DTS. After all my research, I settled on the Denon 4800. I loved my current Denon, and didn't need a 7-channel amp, so this seemed like a logical choice. I went to a HT shop to listen, and really liked the B&K. The B&K sounded much better than the Denon, but with less features, which I don't giving up for better sound. I went to another store for more listening, where they had my speakers (Tannoy Saturn 8LCR), and the salesman recc'd the Marantz. I again listened to the Denon and B&K, no comparison, B&K much better. I then did a blind test with the B&K and Marantz. After several music tracks, I picked the Marantz. With the Tannoy 8's, the Marantz sounded fuller and wider. The B&K sounded a bit cleaner, but the sound was flat. The Marantz had a wider soundstage and was brighter. It was a tough choice, so I went to Home Theater, where the Marantz definitely sounded more alive, I just enjoyed the sound more. With the Marantz having a few more features, and a much better remote, and a better price, I went with the Marantz. The setup was real easy, much better than my old Denon. The hard part was figuring out where to put it, since it wouldn't fit in my A/V Cabinet, had to install above the TV. The Remote is great! I finally have 1 remote that does everything, which makes my wife happy. Plenty of power, very easy to use. I am very pleased with the purchase, all I want to do is listen to music now, can't pull myself away! I don't think you can go wrong with either the Sr-18EX or 307, but out of these 2, I couldn't find any other receiver that sounds nearly as good, not Denon, HK, Onkyo, Pioneer, Yamaha, etc. In highly recc the SR-18EX.

Similar Products Used: Denon 4800, 5600
B&K 307
Onkyo, Pioneer Elite
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
DD   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 02, 2001]
Strength:

NA

Weakness:

NA

Hi, I'm considering purchasing a SR-18EX and I have a few questions for the SR-18EX owners out there:

1. Does the current model include Pro-Logic II decoding? I've noticed that the new x200 (7200, 6200, etc.) series of Marantz receivers include this. It would be nice to have for older VHS tapes that aren't on DVD yet.

2. If it doesn't have Pro-Logic II, is the SR18EX upgradeable to support this?

3. What is the subwoofer crossover slope of the SR18EX set at? Is it user adjustable? (I'm asking because the new top-end Denons allow this and I'm also curious if Marantz does, too...it would be nice to have)

4. Does the SR-18EX correctly pass 480p,480i,and 1080i signals without degradation?

Thanks for any help you can provide,

DD

Similar Products Used: NA
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com