Kenwood VR-4080 A/V Receivers

VR-4080

A/V receiver with Dolby Digital and DTS

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
vintageaudio   AudioPhile [Jan 24, 2009]
Strength:

Ease of operation
Large displays
multiply audio video hookups
Clean sound
Lots of power
Lots of surround features
hook ups for 2 sets of speakers and surround speakers plus sub woofers.
Can use as a bridge amp to power each set of speakers or use the internal amp.

Weakness:

Remote is hard to use at first.
Not enough optical in and out
Does not work well with older audio equipment

I bought this audio video to upgrade my older amp that was mainly used for audio. The vr-4080 is a powerful amp. It has clear crisp sound and power to back it up. It has most of the common input and output hookups. There are also speakers connections for RCA and wire. The controls are easy to use and easy to understand. The surround sound is excellent in my opinion. The display is large and easy to see. The unit smart looking and has smooth lines. It has a built in cooling fan that keep the unit cool during hi output operation. I have operated the unit at full volume for hours without any problems. Overall I would say this is a fine AV amp. It is a little behind the times concerning optical input and output Some of the newer dvd's and cd's can not make full use of their features and capabilities. This unit is well suited for the person who is able to make full use of is power and sound capabilities.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
schless   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 06, 2006]
Strength:

versitile
lots of clean power
clean looks
smooth controls
good amount of IN/OUT (except optical)

Weakness:

no DVI
no HDMI
no Component Video
Only two Optical and two (?) coax inputs

Bought this online auction new numerous years ago (BEFORE EBAY was popular), wanted a surround sound with a mating cd-jukebox with netnamer (hooks to PC and internet) and lots of other features. This unit has served extremely well over the years, and only now in 2006 have I run up against the problem of not enough optical inputs (who would have seen so many sources coming like DVD changer, CD changer, HDTV, XBOX360, TIVO-satelite etc).
FOr more punch from the system I have two additional amps and powered sub woofers. It doesn't just rattle my windows it rattles the neighbors windows with nice clean crisp sound. no clipping or noticeable (to me) rolloff.
Remote is a bit tricky like people say, and now with all the new devices around might not have the codes in it for the latest gagets.
Just for a little old school I have a Kenwood Linear turntable also. People barely believe that an LP is playing such highs such lows ... a LP in excellent condition sure can sound good too.
May have to upgrade to a VR5900 for the additional inputs sometime - and this one will head to the bascement TV room

Customer Service

never needed them
web site no longer has the manual online
web site no longer has the CD-changer net namer software

Similar Products Used: sony
denon
jvc
pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
lithgow   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 08, 2002]
Strength:

Sound, looks, functionality, features, quality, cooling fan, and did I mention sound?

Weakness:

the need for a college course to learn the remote. I didn''t realize learning remote meant what the user had to do.

I purchased this receiver from eBay for $225 as a return buy, not a used item. The problem was the remote''s LCD screen. Since I purchased this from a non-autherized dealer, there was no warranty. Since Kenwood realized the unit was under 2 years old, they still replaced the remote at no cost. This speaks very highly of Kenwood. Now, on to the receiver.....I have now had this unit for 6 months and absolutely love it. I used to use JVC and even Onkyo, but no more. The clarity of the music and the sound is amazing. I used to thing with my old ears that I wouldn''t be able to tell the difference between a $100 system and a $5000 system. This system changed my mind. As for the previous review, I had similar problems with the remote and the base. After reading more closely to the manuals, I realized that this was user error. Once I set up the RF antenna correctly, and realized that the settings for each imput device can be saved separately, the system worked great. Base is ground and house shaking during movies, but it can be backed off for CDs and any other music you may have. The features are very good also. It has 2 ac plugs in the back. This is nice for people who have cd changers that do not have the ability to turn their cd player on or off. It has binding posts for all speakers and digital imputs and outputs. (the 4090 does include more) I also like that the unit has a cooling fan. It helps a great deal with overheating. I also like how it auto recognizes digital sources. (ie dolby digital as opposed to DTS) One minor complaint is the binding posts are too close together. One other minor complaint is the remote. If you loose it, or it dies, be prepared to pay well over $100 to replace it. It would be impossible to access all the feature without it. The remote, to say the least, has a steep learning curve. Unfortunately, unless the whole family is willing to invest in learning the remote, (good luck), you will never be able to really use it as a universal remote. But once you learn this remote, it makes complete sense, but so does Calculus, I guess. I strongly recommend this unit, especially now since it can be had for such a low price. List is $850, but it can be had for less than half price on the auction sites. You should not beleive just one review, good or bad, so look at all the reviews before you decide. Good l

Similar Products Used: Sony, JVC, Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Daniel Berry   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 06, 2001]
Strength:

Remote, Versitility, Sound modes, Construction, Overall power, Price, Warranty.

Weakness:

Bass, Remote delay, Could use more digital inputs.

The system: Kenwood VR-4080, Sony Digital Satelitte, Phillips DVD 940-AT, Sony ES CD, Sony VCR, Definitive Technology Speakers- BP2002 (mains), CLR1000 (center), UIW (surrounds)

OK, guys, I've read your recs below. I've had this rcvr for 6 weeks now, and it's NOT a 5 star product, except where value is concerned. The bass is too weak, I've gone back to my built-in subwoofer amps after testing. There's no optical input for satelitte, there is one for dvd. (Threre is coax digital input for both, however.) The receiver is a little slow to respond to input from the remote... not a long delay, but annoying. The remote is very versitile, but it won't do everything you want. I still reach for my dvd remote at times. The manual leaves a lot to be desired.

On the good side, this rcvr is one h*ll of a value. Teamed with a good (powered) subwoofer, it will rock the neighborhood (and I mean a BIG neighborhood!). I hear no distortion, hiss, pops, etc. Pleasing sound in the right system. Remote will work (almost) any device as long as you're not performing oddball functions, and it will work through cabinet doors (even wooden) with the optional remote mice. It interprets DTS, Dolby Digital, Pro Logic automatically, and tells you which mode it's receiving. There are enough sound 'modes' for me, although I'm not a big fan of those. There is a mode to raise the volume of spoken voice and decrease bass for nighttime family use. I have looked extensively, and there is no receiver anywhere near this price range with a comparable feature/performance mix. There is also a 3-year warranty, if you're not too lazy to mail the registration. I'd buy again in a second!

Similar Products Used: Tried several, researched extensively. I'm not sure there is one simular, for the price.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Roger   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 10, 2001]
Weakness:

RF remote a little fickle sometimes although It does control my whole system. Wish I had 5 channel music (denon)

Contrary to what the reviewer before me said, I have not had a problem w/ low sub output. I am using the energy take 5 w/ 8inch sub and get great output. I have the gain almost all the way down. I cant complain at all about this unit. For under 400 bucks, it is a great value for getting into home theater. Pair it up w/ the take 5's and you have an excellent value home theater for under 900 bucks....hard to beat.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha 795
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
CHAD   [Aug 06, 2001]
Strength:

GREAT LOOKING UNIT, EXCELLENT POWER AND THD (0.003%) RATING. VERY CLEAN RECEIVER, PLENTY OF DIGITAL OUTPUTS.

Weakness:

BINDING POST ARE A LITTLE TROUBLE. REMOTE TAKES SOME GETTING USED TO.

PERSONALLY I FILL THIS IS A VERY GOOD RECIEVER. I WOULD NOT PAY MRSP FOR IT AT A WHAPPING 850.00 IF YOU LOOK ENOUGHT PLACES YOU CAN GET ONE UNDER 400.00. IN THAT PRICE RANGE IT STANDS ALONG. IT'S SOUND FIELDS COULD BE BETTER AND REALLY DONT CHANGE THAT MUCH. POWER IS GREAT AT 110 X 5. IT ALSO HAS GREAT BASS RESPONSE. FINALLY IT LOOKS AWESOME!

Similar Products Used: SONY, YAHAMA
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Dominick   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 08, 2001]
Strength:

Sufficient number of audio inputs, clean sound, RF remote

Weakness:

Binding posts hard to access w/o banana plugs, step-thru remote, lack of back-lit buttons on remote, skimpy manual

Nice clean sounding unit, for the price I couldn't find better.

The remote appears quite versatile in that it will control numerous pieces of gear, but I would have preferred instant access to certain regularly-used functions (especially bass/treble/loudness) rather than having to step through numerous choices to access them. I may add an EQ to have instant access to tone control. It also appears that if I lose the remote or don't have a set of spare batteries on hand for it I will be temporarily screwed - the front panel could use more controls. On the other hand, I haven't been able to spend a lot of time getting to know the unit yet so I may get over these things once I learn more.

The tuner appears to be decent enough in terms of grabbing a signal, but another peeve is the way preset stations are accessed - when scrolling through presets, if you switch functions and then return to the presets you are forced to start at station 1 again - a real pain in the ass when you have 40 presets. Even my cheap Aiwa mini system has a better memory than that.

Since I've sold my old gear and am building a new system from the ground up, I haven't yet used any of the video features, only the tuner and a CD player with 2 pairs of Infinity RS3s. Music sounds great in a relatively small room, but I've noticed that when turning up the volume, the bottom seems to drop out precisely at -30db...I'm not sure if this is a defect or if I need to make an adjustment, but I would appreciate any advice if someone out there is familiar with this.

The manuals are pretty much useless, experimentation is probably your best bet with this unit. If you are looking for plug-and-play I would suggest looking elsewhere. If I had a bigger budget to spend on my system I would have bought another Onkyo. This appears to be a nice receiver at $350, but if the low-end drop-out problem can't be resolved I will definitely consider this receiver to be a dog, then dump it and go back to Onkyo.

Similar Products Used: Replaced old Onkyo Integra components, circa 1985. Looked at new Onkyo.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Michael   Casual Listener [Jul 20, 2001]
Strength:

Performance; Style; Cool Remote; Power; Easy Hook-up; Many Connections; Price!!!

Weakness:

Subwoofer Output.

To start off with, I am no expert when it comes to A/V equipment. I like what I like and I buy products after review on sites like this. I am not rich but I like quality.

That being said, I love the Kenwood vr4080. The unit looks good, but more importantly, sounds good. With enough inputs to keep me busy and enough power to keep me happy, this unit will be a good starting point in my new A/V system.

The remote is great in my opinion, and its ability to communicate with all my other components has made me a "one remote" kinda guy.

The resaon why I am not rating this as a 5 star value overall is due to the poor bass output. I thought that it was due to my subwoofer, but looking at other reviews here, I see that it might be a problem with this unit. I am going to write to Kenwood and see if they have any insight on this problem. If I receive a response, I will post an update at this site.

The receiver is hooked to a pair of Wharfedale 300's as main speakers and a 120 watt subwoofer. The sub lacks power, as mentioned before, but the 300s sounds crisp and clean. These main speakers are not the best, but I like the rich, full sound given.

Next up is some surrounds and center. Look out 5.1 because here I come.

I was fortunate enough to get this unit at the low price of $247.50 plus $32.00 in shipping. Quite a bargin.


Similar Products Used: New to higher end A/V
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
CHAD ROBBINS   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 13, 2001]
Strength:

Plenty power. Great looking unit. Very clean sound

Weakness:

Dsp Modes are useless.. remote could be better

I GOT THIS ONE AT A REALLY GOOD DEAL. THE UNIT WAS PURCHASED FROM A PERSON THAT BOUGHT IT NEW AND REALIZED IT WOULD NOT DO WHAT HE WANTED IT TO DO WITH HDTV? ANYWAY I really like the way it has brighten up my speakers compaire to the Sony receiver I had before this one. 110x5 is awesome also. Kenwood's only knock is its crappy dsp modes. These are a waste of time and effort put into this model. Other than those I am really pleased..

Similar Products Used: Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Alex D   [Jan 10, 2002]
Strength:

Clarity, remote (once you get the hang of it), power.

Weakness:

Wish had more optical inputs. Only CD and DVD.

Awesome unit for the price I paid. Crisp highs, and better than average inputs. I have this driving all Klipsch speakers, RF-3's in the front and can I say that people who complain about bass output, obviously have their speakers to blame. I have glasses shaking off the coffee table watching DVDs on -35dB with my 440w Klipsch KSW-12. Only real complaint I have is the lack of optical inputs. Only has 2, one for DVD and one for CD. Unfortunatly I have just got an XBOX with the AV pack which has dolby digital optical output. My dilema, where to hook it up? I ended up hooking the S-Video to the Video1 jack and then the optical to the CD1 input. You can fool the receiver, by selecting Video 1 to get picture and then selecting CD to get audio. The picture will remain from Video1.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Denon, Onkyo, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com