Kenwood KR-V8010 A/V Receivers

KR-V8010

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
jk ansari   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 15, 2015]

i have kenwood kr v9080 av receiver the main power supply transformer repair, the transformer has supply multi voltages so i want a circuit of power supply or the model of transformer or how many output voltages to give re active the receiver

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
DB Valencia   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2002]
Strength:

Solid construction, high power

Weakness:

Poor sound, too much distortion

This is a perfectly adequate receiver, which has served me well since around 1992. It is very solid and reliable, and has survived 3 moves with clumsy movers and all. The only thing that doesn't work anymore is the volume control adjustment on the remote control. Now I have to drag my butt up from the couch every time I need to adjust the volume. My wife says that this alone is not a justification for upgrading my system. I bought this unit at a time when I couldn't afford a really nice system. It is definitely a good value for your dollar, but if you demand excellent sound quality, then you should go with a Denon or HK. I have listened to other Kenwoods - even higher end ones - and they just don't sound as good. I have to admit that this receiver has some nice features and a lot of power for the money, but you know the old adage - you get what you pay for. The sound quality just isn't that great. There is too much distortion, and it's hard to get a good sound, even with a 7 band EQ. The surround sound delay is okay, but if the sound is distorted, then what's the point? If you are on a budget then this is probably the best receiver for you, especially now that you can get these used for probably $100-200. Otherwise, go with a brand like Denon or Harman Kardon.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Tsachi   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 2000]
Strength:

Powerful DD sound

Weakness:

Poor sound when playing stereo
Clips for speaker wires
No DTS (not very inportant)
A lousy remote controller

I bought this one from a dealer for a very good price.
Watching a movie with this receiver is a big fun and it gave me lots of hours enjoying DD films.
Watching "Saving Private Ryan" with it is unimaginable.
BUT, play a CD, and after 2 seconds of listening all you will want to do is turn it off. IT'S HORRIBLE!
A super poor sound. The treble is OK, but mid-range and low-range are simply bad. The bass is not clear, the voices of the singers disappear somewhere inside its circuits and trying to control the treble and bass (which cannot be done while in DD mode (!!!)) makes it even worse.
I'm now using a pair of Eltax Liberty 3+ as front speakers and it made the sound a little better than the old speakers I had before, still, it sounds bad.

Let me put it this way, if you intend to buy a cheap receiver for HT ONLY, then go get it!
BUT, if you want to play some quality music, STAY AWAY! This one is not for you, add some money and get a Denon or Yamaha.

B.T.W.
After listening to some new models of Kenwood (KRF-5030,
7030 etc...) I came to the conclusion that ALL Kenwood
receivers sound bad, not a speceific model.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Jean-Pierre Neels   Audiophile [Jan 22, 2000]
Strength:

Neutral 'clear' sound, ideal for listening to e.g. classical music.
Midnight function (only AC-3) to limit the volume peaks at night e.g. when watching movies.

Weakness:

To soon to tell

Setting:Receiver Kenwood KRF-V8010D Dolby digital [AC-3] ($675)
Speakers: Front Kenwood KL6060D - 5 way 6 speaker 22Hz-22KHz ($690) - Bought in '85, but still very good quality
Rear Kenwood LS300G - 2 way 2 speaker 45Hz-30KHz ($500) Center JMlab COBALT CC20 - 2 way sealed system 65Hz-23KHz ($400) Active subwoofer - none for the moment

Regarding the amplifier part: I normally use the stereo mode for listening to CD, radio… and AC-3 mode for DVD, and my overall perception of this Hi fi component, is very positive so far.
The tuner section: the extra functions RDS - PTY, EON, PS, RT are 'nice to have'.
Remote: a multi functional tool, with a, to be programmed, option to use this same remote to handle your VCR e.g. Panasonic, TV e.g. Sony, etc. including 3 Macro play functions (combine up to 20 remote functions in one macro).
I must say that the KA-5020 amp, has a warmer sound, when using the same speaker set… but maybe this is due to the temporary absence of an active subwoofer.
And it would also be nice, regarding the remote, to add the possibility of a Sony DVD (I use a DVP-715, via optical input).



Similar Products Used: Kenwood KA-5020
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joeseph Carson   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 05, 2001]
Strength:

Good all around workhorse

Weakness:

As to be expected, the sound quality is from 8 years ago.

Has worked great for years, but I now am upgrading to a newer kenwood model. It has a great secondary market though. I sold it for $175.00.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
trevor mcclure   [Jan 24, 2002]
Strength:

power and reliable.

Weakness:

none

no problems since 1990. huge power and great surround features.

Similar Products Used: dj equipment. never needed another receiver.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Ed   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2001]
Strength:

Worked OK for 8 years. Plenty of power.

Weakness:

Stopped working after 8 years. Not worth fixing.

This review is for the KRV 8040 model. I bought it new at Circuit City in 1992, I think. I was looking for a DPL receiver and this was the best I could afford. This is basically a garden-variety component offering all the current digital gadgets and lots of power for the money.

Overall, the sound quality and reliability (and esthetics) have been worse than the old Yamaha receiver it replaced. Several weeks ago, the unit went dead. So, I went out to BestBuy looking for a new dolby digital/DTS unit to replace it. What I found was a wall rack full of look-alike, sound-alike black boxes that I wouldn't want in my living room.

Then it occurred to me that I would be happier with good quality vintage stereo equipment than with the latest digital format surround sound gadgetry. I started with a like-new Yamaha CR-820 purchased on ebay for $85. What a fantastic piece of equipment. It performs flawlessly, looks great, and is built to last forever. Now if I can only find a nice pair or AR-3s....

Similar Products Used: Yamaha CR 300 series (1970's vintage)
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com