JVC RX DP10VBK Dolby Digital DTS Receiver A/V Receivers

RX DP10VBK Dolby Digital DTS Receiver

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
ArtGriggs   AudioPhile [Jul 12, 2012]

I purchased the JVC RX-DP10VBK in December of 2006 - it has been in regular use ever since. It was an upgrade from an earlier JVC AVR. The RX-DP10VBK has proved to be an excellent home theater and home audio component. Its audio quality is superb and readily competed with my high-end Carver components, which I then sold. Given how complex home theater can be, this AVR makes it as easy as possible to setup and adjust. I have both analog and digital sources connected and it remembers your settings for specific inputs like CD, DVD/Blu-ray, Phono, etc. as well as its DSP settings relative to those inputs. [ Note - The RX-DP10VBK was introduced just before HTML came into play. In order to see Full HD 1080P Blu-ray video images, I run the HTML signal direct from player to the HDTV and use an optical (TOSLINK) cable to process the digital audio Dolby HD/DTS/THX signal from the player thru the JVC.] I have had no issues with it and have no plans to replace it. When introduced, the RX-DP-10VBK retailed for $1,700 and was compared in reviews with Denon's best $1,800 AVR with the JVC being preferred for its sonic quality. I totally agree.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tulga   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 17, 2010]

RX-DP10VBK wow
i bought it from vann clearance about 500 in 2007. now 3 years enjoying clean loud sound. this days so many hdmi receivers came up. this year i bought couple of them test it next to RX-DP10VBK. very next day send them back to store. it is just too good. i promise myself i'll never replace it until this break.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Classical Avenger   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 29, 2007]
Strength:

Really, really clean and powerful sound. Great interface design.

Weakness:

Sound is perhaps a little "dry" to my ears. Only 3 crossover adjustments (80, 100, and 120Hz) Only one coaxial input. Noise floor is only about average...low yes, but could be lower.

Wanted to put in a good word for this unit. Got it on closeout from vanns.com, and have it set up at my parents house in a large, high ceiling room for music and home theater. Very powerful and clean sound even at high, I mean really high, volumes. Kudos to the engineers of this unit as it is one of the most practical and logical designs I have ever come across. For example, there are separate EQ settings for each input, including the 5.1 channel analog inputs (a very, very rare feature). There are separate level settings for all the inputs. All settings are remembered for each input when you turn it off(even EQ or Line Direct).

Similar Products Used: JVC RX-DP20VBK
Yamaha RX-V1300
Yamaha RX-V3300
Sony STR-DA3ES
Sony STR-DA4ES
Sony STR-DA3100ES
Sony STR-DA1000ES
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim Nuss   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 28, 2003]
Strength:

Checkout its features/componentry...What more do you need?

Weakness:

None

Bought this highly featured A/V Receiver in June 2002 to be the central control and audio signal processor for my HDTV/Surround Sound home theater system. Since it was JVC's "flagship" model I took the chance that they had done right by its design and component quality...despite my son's warnings about JVC quality/reliability and his preference for Yamaha based on his extensive knowledge and experience with home electronics. I loved the appearance design and it had all the right highend electronic features for a price that compared well with competitive brands of similarly featured "flagship" A/V receivers. This is a complex control center and took me awhile to figure it out but once I did I am delighted that I own this product. It exceeded my cautious expectations and has operated flawlessly for its first year in my home theater. I can even upgrade my system, which is very ample as is, without having the need for upgrading this A/V receiver.

Similar Products Used: This is my first A/V SS receiver. I used a Pioneer receiver in my stereo days.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
timmers   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 07, 2002]
Strength:

all

Weakness:

none

I work at sears and I had a kenwood VR510 Wich was a great unit and this came on clearance for $900.00 So naturally I made the switch and let me say It was well worth it. I have Paradigm Speakers Fronts: Mini Monitor Center: CC370 Side : ADP170 Rear : Mini Monitor Sub : PS1200

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Christopher Huffman   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 06, 2002]
Strength:

THX-EX Ultra 7 Discrete amps DTS-ES Support CC 24bit/192k DAC HDTV Capable component switching Dolby Prologic Headphone

Weakness:

Heavy, Heavy. It was hard for me to get it 6' up into my rack even with 3 guys.

I bought this receiver as an upgrade to an older JVC. I really wanted a THX rated receiver with 7 amps. Let me tell you the audio quality from this baby is phenominal. Especially with CC 192k filter enabled. I wasn't too sure about DTS-ES support. JVC does not print it on the box or on the receiver. But, the manual does state that DTS-ES is fully support and decoded while in THX-EX mode (go figure). All 6.1 channels decode just fine from DTS-ES DVD's

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David F   Casual Listener [Jul 10, 2002]

I really like it. I do love the THX aspect. Makes a big difference in my surround sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
justafishinthec   Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 2002]
Strength:

Button-lit/RF Remote, THD, THX Ultra-Surround EX

Weakness:

Weight(50lbs.)

Well, I have had my JVC for over a month now and I am still amazed at the quality of movie sounds that it produces out of my Sony front floor-standing speakers and Definitive Technology Rear/Sub/Center speakers. If your reading this, trying to decide on a new A/V Receiver, let me just give you a few things to look at! My first deciding factor was the RF remote and the Sub Room capability of the System. With my wireless headphones, I can go to any other room and listen to a CD through my headphones, while family members are watching a movie through the same system at the same time. I am sorry, but if I am getting ready to spend over $1000 dollars for a receiver, it better at least have a RF/Learning Remote. You may not believe this but there are others that cost more and use IR-Only remote. Other deciding factors were the .02 THD, high Signal-to-Noise Ratio and the On Screen Display (OSD) which made the setup a whole lot easier than I imagined. For the money, even looking at Onkyo / Yamaha / Pioneer / Kenwood, was that nothing came close to having all the features that I was looking for except for Kenwood for about the same cost.

Similar Products Used: Nothing of this magnitude!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
FransT   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2002]
Strength:

Well balanced sound in Home Theatre and stereo

Weakness:

size, only one coax input, finding the right settings takes some time

Don''t let the name JVC fool you. This product is great. Superb direct line input (analog) and smooth sound, even without the cc-converter. First had a NAD 751 and a TEAC AH-550. But good service from the dealer let me change these products for this one.

Similar Products Used: NAD 751, TEAC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Phil   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2002]
Strength:

Good build quality (no plastic parts to be found). THX Ultra Certified. Easy setup with onscreen. Great sound. Great value.

Weakness:

Hard to find, but I wish it had a 12V trigger output to excite an external amplifier if I ever upgrade.

First let me start off by saying I bought this receiver with Home Theater in mind, and boy I''m I happy! The soundfield that THX EX generates is huge! I replaced a 5.1 Kenwood amp and was somewhat skeptical how much of a difference two rear surround speakers could make, how I was wrong. StarWars Phantom Menace is incredible with spaceship fly-bys starting or ending behind you. The lightsaver battles are much more realistic in EX mode as well. I now find myself wondering how I ever got by with just 5.1 sound. Other THX EX capable movies viewed previously were also so much better with the rear speaker surround effects. Unlike its smaller brother, the RX DP9, this receiver provides 7 channels at 120RMS (THX Ultra Certified) and a learning remote that has allowed me to clear all those remotes off the table. Onscreen displays make setting up very easy. All relevant settings are saved independently for each input and DSP effect. I suggest downloading the manual from jvc.com for all the technical goodies. Also, not all decoders are built equally. The highspeed Motorola decoders in this piece produce a high quality sound that challenges more expensive receivers. As I mentioned at the start, I bought this receiver with mostly HT in mind. But I also got a very musical amp as well. I''m using Infinity IL40''s on the front and am very happy with this match. The IL40s require big power to generate bass and the RX DP10 is up to the job. Sound quality/clarity is excellent with power to spare. Most of the DSP modes are acutally usable. I suggest trying Large Hall 2, seat position 2. You now have the best seat in the concert hall with stereo separation so wide that you feel like your ears are being pulled off! Do not underestimate this receiver by the name stamped on it. I''ve owned other JVC products in the past with no issues. I had more money to spend but this receiver covered all my needs. $1600 CDN or $1000 US for a THX Ultra certified receiver is a great deal!

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RX-V3000 / V1000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com