JVC RX-8010VBK A/V Receivers

RX-8010VBK

· 120 watts x 2 min. RMS, both channels driven into 8 ohms from 20Hz to 20kHz with no more than 0.08% THD · 100 watts x 5 min. RMS, into 8 ohms, 1kHz, 0.8% THD · DVD Multichannel Audio Compatible (5.1 channel analog input and 5 separate amps) for connection to existing and future multichannel sources such as DVD Audio · LCD Multi-Brand A/V Remote Control (VCR/TV/CATV/DBS)

User Reviews (28)

Showing 1-10 of 28  
monsterfish   AudioPhile [Jan 06, 2011]

This receiver started out impressively - awesome DTS and good dolby digital, it's performance in stereo was excellent in the "direct" mode but rather artificial and wanting in the normal mode. It performed well for the first three years THEN the unit was having volume control issues then just "went out" all of a sudden and took the right front speaker with it [thanx jvc] of course NOW the protection unit kicks in - and the unit will not fire up even with no speakers or inputs connected. so on a cost per year basis it's a rather expensive paperweight. I am very dissappointed w/ JVC and surprised by the magnitude of the malfunction. I still have a phaselinear setup and a marantz 3353b that are about 40 years old and have never failed - why can't JVC get at least 10-15 years out of one of their supposedly "flagship" models?

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Scotty462   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2010]

You know, it has been 4 years since anyone has posted a review for this thing on this site. Shoot, JVC doesn't even make receivers anymore. But, I just have to comment on how competent this thing is. I mean, I bought it just after its release for $350, and here I am 9 years later, still using it. At purchase I had a 5 disc JVC CD changer hooked to it with RCA's. Now I have an XBOX 360, Panasonic BD-35 blu-ray, the same JVC CD changer (sturdy bugger), cable box, HTPC, and much of the time an Ipod hooked up to this thing. IT STILL WORKS PERFECTLY!!! I would say that I have gotten my money's worth out of this box, and if it failed tomorrow I would walk away impressed. Bravo JVC. Sounds great (had an old hand-me-down integrated amp prior to this, and the JVC to my memory was much more clear and dynamic on my paradigm monitor 3 v2's). I bought it at 19 years of age, and it is still going strong at 27.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nba4life2k   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2004]
Strength:

4 fronts at the same time, tons of inputs

Weakness:

none

This receiver is absolutly amazing. I love this receiver because it does everything that I want. It has a ton of inputs and has good power. Plus you can have 4 front dpeakers on at the same time which is what I like the most

Similar Products Used: other jvc receivers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott Ribnicki   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 16, 2003]
Strength:

Just about everything for the price. Clean sound, good dispersion

Weakness:

- When the Owner's Manual tells you to leave space above the vents for cooling purposes, it means it! - After a year and a half, I just never grew to like the remote layout. Too complicated and messy. Buttons don't stand out from one another and you find yourself endlessly hunting for the right one. I never really used it. - The DD/DTS center channel drop out. Obviously an entire xx10 platform issue that hopefully they've ironed out in successive models.

This is a followup to my January 2001 posting. First of all, thank god I'm not crazy. Nowhere in these postings does it mention a very definite glitch in the digital processing hardware where the center channel just drops completely out of the mix. While watching DVDs in either DD or DTS, the 5.1 surround suddenly and inexplicably switches to a 4 channel surround. To correct the problem, you have to pause the DVD and resume play. It doesn't always happen and seems to be about every third movie or so. Very weird. I was going back and forth trying to determine whether it was my JVC DVD player or the 8010 receiver and was still not convinced until I was reading the reviews for the 9010vbk. There are many many postings regarding this glitch with the 9010. It's always nice to know other people are sharing your pain since the glitch appears to be indicative of the entire xx10VBK platform. I guess it doesn't really matter for me anymore due to some recent problems I've had. Read on... Other than that, the reciever was working flawlessly until I blew it up last week. I'm not sure if I can blame JVC on this one. My wife and kids were away for the weekend and I was playing the life of the bachelor for the first time in about 2 years. I had the stereo cranked and, I mean cranked. I think the volume indicator was on like, 82. Anyway I'm listening away and suddenly, the music just kicks off and when I open the cabinet up, all of my components areas hot as a driveway on a summer day. I could fry an egg on the receiver. Now, you may ask, why can't I completely blame JVC? Well, it's due to the way I have my equipment arranged. The receiver was sandwiched in between the rack shelves in my cabinet with little room for heat sink cooling. I guess I just fried the thing, literally. So, given the fact that I think I caused the problem, I'm only going to lower the overal rating down one notch and, that's for the DD/DTS center channel issue. I have decided to continue with JVC and recently put an order in with CDW.com for JVC's latest 80xx version, the RX-8030vbk. Now the middle of April, it hasn't been released for sale yet so, I'm anxiously awaiting its arrival. It's supposed to have full 6.1 decoding cabability, CC circuitry for cleaner sound and a lot of other higher end features. For the price of $319.88 it can't be beat.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo 515Pro
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
steven   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 21, 2002]
Strength:

Ease of setup and array of inputs

Weakness:

thd a bit high, though for the price, thd be damned!!!

This little guy is awesome. I got it to augment my mini theatre and it has done that with relish. This was an open box item so I had to set it up with no manual. Not a problem. Got all my dital devices hooked up along with the satellite receiver and vcrs and I love this machine!!!! I have a sony STR-DE835 which this puts to considerable shame just on the sheer amount of inputs. I'll be tweaking the sound for a few days to feel it out more, but right now, I'm a happy puppy. Sorry for all the cats out there trying to make it too complicated. It isn't that hard, really. Patience and planning ajead of time.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Pioneer, Mitsubishi, Sony ES, Technics, Denon, Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob   Audio Enthusiast [May 25, 2002]
Strength:

Had clear sound

Weakness:

It died

I purchased it in8-2001. In early feb. 2002 it died. shipped back to factory in March. Today's date is 5-25-02. still no receiver. When it worked it was ok. with the way jvc is there may be better choices

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
DslainteC   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 12, 2002]
Strength:

Inexpensive for the features, clean and quiet, great inputs and connections. Great functionality at a great price!

Weakness:

It makes my friends angry when they realize that this unit is just as good as their higher priced receivers.

I moved into my new house about a month ago and was ready to create my own little home theatre set up. The 8010 has surpassed my expectations. It provides lots of clean power and is very intuitive to use. I can''t help but chuckle while reading some of the reviews on this site. Some people couldn''t see the large ohm selection switch on the back, some people can''t read the manual properly. It''s funny how the receiver gets blamed for their mistakes. I have been very impressed by the surround sound this thing puts out. I have listened to many other higher-priced units and their sound doesn''t exceed this unit to justify their higher price. One thing I was worried about was the component switching. I''ve seen units that snap, crackle and pop with every switch. However, this unit changes from satellite to DVD to VCR without a sound. It is so smooth! I am also impressed by how well it detects the type of signal being input. I pop in a DVD like Gladiator and select DTS sound. The menus come on and it reads "ProLogic". As soon as the movie starts it slides right into DTS mode. Same with DD. I will echo what many others have said about the quality of inputs and connections, especially the digital connections. I use it primarily for HT/TV stuff but any music I''ve put through it has been very sweet. If I paid $500 - $600 for this unit I wouldn''t complain about it''s quality or sound. I can''t imagine why I''d need to buy another receiver, except for a new type of technology. For now - and the foreseeable future - this baby will give me a solid and high quality sonic experience. Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used: Sony, Pioneer, Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
horace   Casual Listener [Apr 03, 2002]
Strength:

many

Weakness:

slow moving volume knob

i bought this for 204 on ubid .it was going to be a garage stereo,i ended up using it for my main stereo when my new technics sada10 went in to the shop.when i got the technics back and hooked it up it became the garage stereo-it sounds like dung compared to the jvc.the technics was supposed to be the better of the two(bi-amp vcga mosfet ect) this was a side by side comparison with 2 different sets of speakers a pair of warfedale emerald 97s and a pair of definitive bp6. if you want a mechanical sounding reciever the technics is for you, no matter how you use it it has a very tinny sound(sounds like dung) the jvc when in the direct mode sounds very nice the jvc has a 5 channel stereo mode too that when you use the built in eq also sounds nice if customer service means anything too you buy the jvc-technics service is so far beyond horrible it cant be described-my buddies jvc died it was fixed in 10 days its took technics over 4 weeks hands down the jvc is the better unit for the money they cost about the same(technics was15 $ more) the technics might be the most over rated reciever here- i bought mine from the reviews over the jvc what a mistake. these are bolth new units not b-stock so if your looking for a new reciever buy the jvc-

Similar Products Used: yamaha570-technics sada10n
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jljohnston   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 18, 2002]
Strength:

Many connectivity options, smooth operation

Weakness:

Intermittently noisy Dolby processor; clicking noises when adjusting volume through rear speakers

At a "budget" price, JVC delivers a great many features, adequate power in a nice package.

Similar Products Used: Philips FR960; Sony ES
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Roger Donald   Audiophile [Aug 03, 2001]
Strength:

Many features, sound quality.

Weakness:

Power

This receiver has many features that are important to make it very user friendly. It remembers the soundfield you were on the last time you selected the input (very important). You can have different channel levels for each soundfield. The volume is very precise (I sometimes had to get up and manually adjust my Sony's volume to find the perfect level). Banana jacks instead of terrible spring clips. On-Screen display is nice especially if you want to hide the receiver in a cabinet.
It has very good sound quality for an inexpensive receiver. The bass output is less than my Sony and overall the power is lacking. I would suggest sensitive speakers (91up).
the 5 channel stereo soundfield sounds great for music
since I prefer to fill the room with music and use all my speakers instead of just two. The rest of the soundfields sound good and are not overdone.
I doubt if anyone would be dissapointed with this receiver.

For Bob uliss,
THX is just a quality control to ensure that the particular item manufactured, anything from a dvd (yes there are many, many dvd's that are THX certified) to a receiver meets the high standards that THX has set.

Similar Products Used: Denon 5800, Pioneer 506s, Sony 715
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com