JVC RX-6500V A/V Receivers

RX-6500V

Dolby Digital/DTS receiver

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
damanneal   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2003]
Strength:

Price, ease of use, power, styling.

Weakness:

No component video switching, no 5.1 input.

I bought this at a great price from a guy in my aparment complex who was moving, and had also coincidentally upgraded to a new Harman Kardan setup. I thought, hey for 25 bucks, how can I go wrong, you know? I have had really good luck with it, powering my system with no problems. I have no issues using the sub as others have reported, maybe it was an issue on earlier models. I often run it in two channel plus sub mode, as my main speakers are smaller bookshelfs, and sound better with the reinforcement of the sub at the lower end. Overall, a good entry level receiver, unless you are a person with more than four or five components, you should be pretty happy with this, and it will serve you well for your first few years of home theater. The only reason I will probably upgrade is that I work at a retailer where I get discounts and I want something with 5.1 input so I can fully enjoy SACD and DVD-Audio.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Yamaha, Denon
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
indyblake   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 23, 2003]
Strength:

Price, special effects, clean power.

Weakness:

Not very user friendly instruction manual, doesn't drive the sub-woofer in surround mode at all (defect), partially functional equalizer (defect), noise when listening to FM in surround mode (defect), can't listen to rear speakers unless surround is enabled.

I purchased this receiver to replace an aging Pioneer unit that lacked modern surround sound capabilities. In non-ProLogic mode, it performs very well. Plenty of power to drive my new Bose 301s, and a pair of older floor speakers. I recently upgraded to surround sound by purchasing a pair of rear speakers, a center speaker and a 10" sub woofer. Once I had everything setup, the sound field definently changed, making DVDs sound more like what you would expect at the cinema. After reading the manual a few times, I think I've finally figured out how to adjust levels, delay, subwoofer output etc. But the sub DOESN'T WORK in surround mode!! And if you try to listen to an FM radio broadcast, you get static and very low volume levels. Additionally, the built-in graphic equalizer only allows adjustment of hi & low frequencies, not midrange.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
JASON   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 06, 2000]
Strength:

PLENTY OF S-VIDEO AND DIGITAL AUDIO HOOKUPS. EASY TO UNDERSTAND AND SETUP. UNBEATABLE PRICE

Weakness:

NO A/C OUTLET IN THE BACK(VERY ODD). GETS ALITTLE HOT.

THIS IS THE BEST RECEIVER FOR THE BUCK. NO WAY WILL YOU GET THE OPTIONS OF THIS ONE FOR A BETTER PRICE. I CAN'T SEE WHERE THEY SCIMPED ON ANYTHING BUT THE A/C OUTLET. ITS DDS AND DTS. IF YOUR STILL LISTENING TO PROLOGIC BECAUSE OF THE PRICE THAN YOU NO LONGER HAVE AN EXCUSE. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED

Similar Products Used: PIONEER 8 YRS OLD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason McNett   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 25, 2000]
Strength:

lots of s-video and optical. low price.

Weakness:

there is no ac plug in the back

This receiver has everything you would expect from a $600 receiver , but I got it for $250 at ABC Warehouse. It made a perfect centerpiece to the home theatre system. Its DD and DTS and has the s-video and optical hook-ups for the rest of your system. Not to mention the 5.1 speaker and sub hook-ups. Its great for movies and music. I had no problem hooking it up and the on screen display is easy to understand. It doesn't get real hot which was one of the reasons I went with the JVC insted of some of the others in that price range. If you want to step into the new millenium of home theatre systems and still have some money left over to by some DVDs than this is a good choice.

Similar Products Used: 7 yr old pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian Scatlein   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2001]
Strength:

lots of inputs/outputs, plenty of different modes, nice look, good power

Weakness:

you have to turn it up quite a bit to get loud sound, but most 2000 model receivers are like this because of new amps, gets a little hot if you have it on for a long time

good receiver for the money, gives you everything you need, digital sound, dts, surround, etc, for the price its at, its a steal

Similar Products Used: kenwood, sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
John Parris   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2001]
Strength:

Easy setup/operation, decent sound quality

Weakness:

Runs pretty hot (understandable at 100W x 5 RMS, though), limited a/v inputs, more (see below).

I bought this reciever as a replacement for my old Memorex Dolby surround amp. There was a huge mix up and some money problems, so I had to purchase this model refurberished instead of a NEW JVC RX-9000, but I'm probably better off saving that extra cash, because I plan to upgrade to an Onkyo sometime this year.

There are three big problems about this unit that arent listed above. Some of them could be due to this being an older unit (might have been fixed in later models) or because it was refurberished, but they are at least noteworthy.

1. Noisy center channel (this is the big one). I get a somewhat muffled, staticy sound from my center speaker. At first I thought this was due to the speaker itself, but I tried out 4 different speakers, same results. I think all the JVC recievers have this quality, because the results were the same on my father's RX-6000VBK (purchased NEW from Circuit City). And my Pinnacle center speaker seemed much more rich in my friend's Sony STR-DE845 and even his Aiwa 5.1 minisystem (suprise).

2. Digital input allocation. The way the input assignment is set up on this unit, there is only one combination where both CD and DVD can be set to the optical inputs. Not a big complaint, but I enjoy rearranging my home theater to face different ways and I often find myself pulling the entertainment unit out and getting back there to switch the optical inputs after everything has already been moved around and set.

3. Lack of 5.1 input. I recently purchased the JVC XV-D723 DVD Audio/Video player (excellent, highly reccomend), but I am unable to use the DVD Audio features because my reciever does not have a 5.1 analog input. The DA Converters in my DVD player are also much better than those in my reciever.

This reciever is pretty decent-sounding (except for the center channel, in my opinion). It would make a pretty nice addition to a low-end or mid-end home theater, but since I'm employeed I'll be upgrading my whole system. Not to toally bash it, it has faithfully served me (even refurberished) for well over a year now with no loss in quality.

Similar Products Used: Sony STR-DE845, JVC RX-6000VBK
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Vince   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 05, 2001]
Strength:

Bananna clips, S video inputs, power, DTS, Price, digital sound, DSP modes.

Weakness:

Analog sound sucks, manual useless, remote.

Got this one on sale at Circut City w/ free speakers. Should have gotten the Sony. I like the sound from my DVD player, but in analog my 12 inch nice new SUBWOOFER WILL NOT WORK. I have checked and rechecked my settings. I purchased another sub because I thought it was BLOWN, but it was NOT! I can only get my sub to work good in the "live" mode and then I have no CENTER SPEAKER. However, like I said all is well in Digital/DTS modes.

This receiver is driving me CRAZY. I have an email request to JVC and I'm waiting on an answer. I will update based on their response.

If this problem is native to the design, I will get rid if it!

Similar Products Used: Kenwood, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Smily   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 27, 2000]
Strength:

Price! Price! Price! I only paid $200 for this system and it was brand new. Enough power to drive any speakers and all (even unnecessary gadgets) are included.

Weakness:

Pre-set for radio is very difficult to use. Idea is good, but it is not practical.

For $200 brand new, this is a purchase I can be proud of. RX6500V comes with all kind of features, some of them I will never use, in a decent sized package with nice design.It doesn't have the name of Yamaha and it doesn't have popularity of Pioneer, but JVC provides a solid performance which I realy enjoy.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha - BMW of amplifier. Pioneer - Honda of amplifier
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com