JVC RX-6000V A/V Receivers

JVC RX-6000V A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

Dolby Digital/DTS receiver

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 45  
[Jul 26, 2010]
Mike
Audio Enthusiast

I had this receiver for about 9 years now and never had any problems with it. It is loud enough for any sized living area, and was my first receiver. I think the center channel could be clearer but friends and family can understand everything just fine.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 11, 2009]
jstoddart
Casual Listener

i jave had this unit for five year and never a problem. good sound for cd and music. i have my dvd player connected and play every dvd throught the receiver.

Customer Service

had provems with sound when i first setup the unit. support was quick and very helpfull in resolving the problem

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 25, 2003]
alex
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

price

Weakness:

center speaker and sound quality

A very bad buy, the real center output distorts the sound, terminator sounds like daffy duck. No realy for movies the center is very important, al the voices come throug the center speaker, and if it's not ok it is realy bad. Also the music sounds bad. after 2 months i brought it back and they checkt it at jvc, even up the review report by the reveiver and still it came back saying nothing was wrong and i should use better cables. I had used the best very bad service JVC ! But i could traid it in for a RX-8000 which was very good and then you hear the diference !! Wel it has also some this but works for me. (sorry for my spelling

Similar Products Used:

RX-8000

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 15, 2003]
J
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Plenty of power, Ease of use.

Weakness:

not enough optical hook ups

JVC RX-6008V Reciever, Plays Radio, DVD, and CD's with good quality. The cables that you run makes all the difference. If your running cheap cables then your not gonna be satsified. I have cheap center and rear speakers but good mains and the sound for home theather is great, the center is alittle weak but can be modified. Plenty of power enough to piss the neighbors off. Optical is the way to go.

Similar Products Used:

Sony, Yahama, JVC

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 21, 2002]
Zac Nickey
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good price, good looks, great build quality-this thing has gone to hell and back and still runs fine, great 2 ch stereo sound, easy to figure out how to work.

Weakness:

Center and rear channels are fairly distorted, especially in PL, cheap remote.

I love this reciever although it is not a very high quality reciever. This thing is a tank at 250 dollars. It is mildily loud. I am running Cerwin Vega LS-12s. It gets decently loud. PL sounds bad unless you are listening to a DVD. DD sounds good and DTS isnt bad. This reciever sounds very good in stereo operation. The rear channels are weak because in surround sound, they are mainly for effects. Unless there is a person speaking off the viewing area of a tv or unless there is background noise, there should not be dialogue. In other terms, the majority of the time, you shouldn't hear anything out of the rear speakers. I bought a 900 dollar Denon AVR-3300 and it was a POS that overheated and shut down (Design flaw error by Denon). I returned it and I am still running my hardcore JVC. LOL. This is the recievers near 3rd year of being run everyday. Its made it through countless movies and parties. I will probably buy a JVC RX-9000 if they are still available, but I will still run this just to see how long it runs.

Similar Products Used:

Kenwood, Older Denon, Marantz

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 10, 2000]
Todd
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Cosmetics are good, very good display, excellent remote (small and simple.... hate big elaborate remotes that require 8 hands to use).

Weakness:

Questionable power routing. It states 5 x 100W (RMS) but doesn't sound like it. The rear speakers have very low output in surround and in DSP modes. For CD listening, if you connect rear speakers as second set of front speakers, you lose half the power to your front towers (not good!). Not a very clean power (0.8% THD is high!).

You get what you pay for.... maybe. Not sure if my poor review is attributable to JVC or to low-end receivers in general, but this definitely is low-end.

Similar Products Used:

First time buyer... definitely upgrading

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 05, 2000]
Eric Amos
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Outstanding lighting display, excellent sound once you program correctly.

Weakness:

Very complicated to learn how to set up. I*m not the smartest person around, it took me a couple of weeks to set up right, I got very frustrated.

I am using ar318's as main, ar216's for rears and ar225 for center. Ido not have subwoofer yet, but I am very happy with the clarity and depth of music.

Similar Products Used:

onkyo, sony

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 05, 2000]
Ron
Audiophile

Strength:

Has DTS and Digital I paid just under 200.00[ new].I have this in my garage hooked up to a JVC xl148 5 disc c/d player and 2 top of the line Niles [indoor outdoor]OS20 speakers and it sounds great in straight stereo.This receiver is about as basic as it get's,the added features of a digital out [optical]was a nice touch.I will never use any of the other functions are jacks since I am running the analog out's from the receiver to my c/d.My home theater system is seperate based,Krell,Marantz,Elite,Dunleavy, you get the picture!!!!

Weakness:

For what it offers NONE!!!!!!!!

A steal for 200.00 I am not a JVC fan EXCEPT for there camcorders but this is a good,well built, and has enough outputs and a couple of in's to satisfy most people that would enter the home theater fray.Have to give it 5!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used:

Sony ES in family room [2cd home theater system]

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 25, 2000]
Fatboy Roberts
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Cheap..fair number of features and options.

Weakness:

center channel is weak, sound is kinda harsh

First foray into the wonderful world of Dolby Digital/DTS. Only had about 200 to spend, and it came down to the Kenwood 407 and this one. Liked the way I could tweak every little option on the JVC better, so I went with that. I got it home, it was pretty easy to hook up, and was pretty pleased. The center channel dialog was distorted sounding, tinny, as if I'd been listening to the sound effects through some guys boomin car system, and then he switched it to an AM station. But I figured that had to do with my center, which was kinda small. Got a new center, and it sounded the EXACT same. The repair guy said everything was reading out like it shoulda been. So that was that for the JVC. While I enjoyed the ability to really customize how the speakers sounded and whatnot, the sound quality was just not very good. The bass was flat sounding, and the channel separation was VERY rigid. Things didn't seem to pan as much as they just jumped from one side of the room to another. 2 channel stereo was pretty good, however, but the sub wasn't quite sounding right, regardless of how much I tweaked it. My next reciever, however, made the problems with the JVC that much more apparent. I wouldn't recommend this reciever to anyone.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jan 06, 2001]
Todd
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

dolby digital and dts for small price

Weakness:

power power power

Ok this receiver CANNOT be 100 watts per channel. I bought this thing from circuit city and hooked it up. Boy was I disappointed. I like to listen to audio fairly loud and this was not the receiver for me. You have to crank it practically 75 percent of the full volume to rumble the house. The sony 845 rocks the house at about 30 percent. Also the rear channels could barely be heard even when i pumped them up + 10. Stay clear of this one. Save your money and buy the sony 845 which i got for 249 open box at circuit city!!!!!

Similar Products Used:

sony 845

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 45  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com