JCV RX554VBK A/V Receivers

RX554VBK

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Harley   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 17, 2000]
Strength:

cheap, moderatly powerful, great controler

Weakness:

time to correctly setup, no ac-3 chip, it's a JVC

For the money this amp is exellent! OK, it's JVC, but acetone can wipe off the logo. This is the amp you want to start a system with, your not blowing your cash but your still getting a good amp. So far it's been reliable, it has the six channel anolog but it is only $250cdn.You won't go wrong buying this amp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
R ick   Casual Listener [Jun 05, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound quality,discrete outputs ,ample power,ample bass,tons of features,bargain price.

Weakness:

Does not like 4 ohm speakers.

Great amp ,ample power.Also has a very good ,crisp spound.All yhough not Dolby Digital ,has a very good P ro logic surround proccesor and discrete amplifier.Overload protection protects agains accidental shorts or too low impendence speakers. Remote can do almost anything you can on the front of the amp itself.Ssounds far clearer than a medium quality Pioneer like the VSX-405.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer vsx-405
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eric B.   Audiophile [Nov 27, 1999]
Strength:

Ease of Listening ability and the bass adjust feature.

Weakness:

It's just to good!

This is the PRODUCT FOR tOM LEHMAN!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe F.   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 09, 2001]
Strength:

Decent sound for the price, remote is great,

Weakness:

No seperate bass / treble controls, not Dolby Digital

Bought it open box at Circuit City, it does everything I need it to do (in a small room) works best with a decent powered sub...although I will definetly upgrade when i move to a lerger room.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
deadmike crazymike drunkmike   [Sep 14, 2001]
Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

NONE

i bought this shist for $2000. what a rippoff! GODIT!

Similar Products Used: COOKIES
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
1
dan   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2000]
Strength:

good sound quality

Weakness:

no dolby digital, and no tape monitor(for eq)

It was easy to set up, the controller was hard to get accustomed to but it fits like a glove.
This is a good buy I paid 170$ at Rex and I am not unhappy with my purchase.
this is a great receiver and should not be looked over

Similar Products Used: technics sa-ex400
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
eric   Audiophile [May 03, 2001]
Strength:

Decent power,(100wx3,50w back, in surround mode), sub out. Reliable.

Weakness:

No e.q.(factory presets)

Have had for 5 yrs. Can't believe people say there's no power. You can always use more, but I love my 400 watts.(+ my 200w sub helps too. The neighbors know when I'm home! I will upgrade to digital eventually, but for now I'm happy. And I'm happy w/ my JVC cd and dvd player as well.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tom   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 1999]

This is a great product for use a a stereo reciever. It has more than sufficient power at 100w per channel. Lots of inputs give you versatility. The preamp sub input is a definite bonus. I picked this baby up for $130 at Rex TV. I like this reciver it is a great buy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 22, 2000]
Strength:

Inexpensive, Versitile.

Weakness:

No direct tone control knobs for bass and treble.

I have used this in my small theater for a year. I found it at Circuit City as and Open Box buy for low dollar. It has worked great for me. I just wish I could have better tone controls (like an equalizer or bass and treble knobs) than the stupid strict SEA presets.

Not to rip on JVC, but my next reciver will be a good Pioneer.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Al Cirino   Audiophile [Apr 17, 2000]
Strength:

Many Acoustic settings, tone settings, inexpensive, Compu-link connections to other JVC components, easy to use remote

Weakness:

Operates only one set of speakers at a time, no tape monitor, though I rigged a technique that ables me to use an equalizer with no problem, hard to operate FM tuning mechanism, rear speakers have hi-end distortion.

I enjoy the RX-554V receiver, though I have an additional remote by Sony for volume, source select, and power, the Compu-link system works with my JVC tape deck. I paid only $123 for it at Sears as a floor model. This receiver is versatile, and can compete with Sony, Technics, and Pioneer and usually win based on price. I use the Pro-logic setting most of the time, but occasionally use the Theater Acoustic sound when I need more rear backround effects. JVC has always made me feel confident as a consumer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com