Harman Kardon AVR8000 A/V Receivers

AVR8000

HARMAN KARDON A/V RECEIVER, 110WPC, 7.1-CH, THX ULTRA, DTS-ES, LOGIC 7 => Model AVR-8000

User Reviews (30)

Showing 1-10 of 30  
tayman1975   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 29, 2009]

I bought the hk avr 8000.Great sound awesom power bought broke down after owning for a 2 year limit.Only 2 speakers work for sound know and the others are making a thumping sound when turned on.Also all the optical settings dont even work anymore.I took it to 2 electronic stores to get it fixed and both stores can't figure what's wrong with it.They talked to hk dealer that is located 2000 miles away from me and they said if sent to them there still could be a possible chance after i get it,it still might not be fixed properly.I paid $4000.00 for it and only got 2 years out of it.Don't waste your money and buy something cheaper.The amp is to safisticated for any one to fix.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
John Guttierres   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 26, 2006]
Strength:

Good, clean, crisp sound. This unit is peppered with options.

Weakness:

Heavy but expected from a unit in this caliber.

When I saw a Harman/Kardon AVR7200 in one of my neighborhood stores, I fell in love with it especially with all the inputs in the back. I've been looking on eBay for a good deal on the HK AVR7200. Then I came across this AVR8000. It was listed "AS IS" by a company that sells for individuals on eBay. It was a good deal but "AS IS"? I had to take my chance!!! The unit came while we were moving in to Colorado Springs, so I could not test it right away. I had sleepless nights thinking about this receiver. Finally after a couple of months, I installed it. I was waiting to exhale and had my fingers crossed until I can hear audio....EUREKA! It works. Because this is as is, no remote came with it. I hunted down for it. HK does not make it anymore. They offred me a "replacement". After much research, the remote is actually for the AVR 7200. I found one on, where else, eBay. After much haggling with the seller, he sold it to me for $65.00-brand new.

I am driving a pair of BOSE 901's series VI for the front (that I bought for $280.00 from an old lady). My surrounds are Bose AM7. I coupled this AVR8000 with a Technics SE-TX200 (power amplifier 100 wattsx6). I know it's a shame, I am looking for an HK PA4000, though.

I am very satisfied with it. The sound is crisp and you could actually hear the singer inhale before he sings his lines. I am recommending this receiver to anyone who is thinking about buying an HK.

It is heavy but what do you expect from unit that has its tranformer taking up 1/4 of the space? I am now going Harman Kardon all the way. I will just have to keep looking for my deals on eBay.

Customer Service

Haven't been used yet. I hope never in a bad way.

Similar Products Used: Technics SA-TX50 THX Certified.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matthew Tahon   AudioPhile [Dec 13, 2003]
Strength:

Sounds great!!! and quite a lot of bells and whistles...the price...$2,000 list receiver for $950

Weakness:

It seems like H/K was on the verge of something great, but they did not take enough time with the final parts (remote) to bring it all together. Programming a remote is perhaps a task with which the average consumer approaches with great dread...so when you end up with a remote that is designed and not fully functional it makes for a very dissatisfying experience. Another slight note of caution...the receiver gets very hot..but I knew this ahead of time and I know that a lot high end amps get hot because they operate in class A...so I usually equate heat with good amplification...it's all okay as long as the heat is disipated properly...so don't put the receiver in a cabinet with no room to vent properly.

I need to quit buying Harman Kardon products. While this receiver sounds good and seems to perform well there are a few things that just leave me with a bad taste...The first item is the hum from the center channel. Which, yes, is not heard until you are close to the center channel speaker, but if the THD measurements are the same for all three front channels and I hear nothing from the right and left speakers, then I should not expect to hear any hum from the center channel speaker. I have talked to tech support about this and was told that it was an acceptable amount of hum since I had to be close to the center speaker to hear it. The hum is not at all noticeable while playing music or movies, but I wonder if some how it doesn't rob me of some amperage or hurt the audio quality in some way. The number one problem I've had is the remote. Not only is it the worst button lay out I've seen it also doesn't work properly. I can't get it to learn one function of my satellite remote. I can get it to except a code that works for every function but the "enter" button, but without being able to use the "enter" button it pretty much is useless for satellite duties. The video 4 and 5 buttons are not capable of having learning commands under them, even though the manual list them as being available. And, you can't enter any codes under the video 5 button selector as well. I called tech support and they are sending me a "third" remote, this one is supposed to be from their avr7200 receiver, so I have higher hopes that this might resolve my issues with the remote. I also was one of the unfortunate souls that had the volume problem with an AVR80...There is no sort of panic like that which you experience when your listening to your audio system and all of the sudden the volume cranks to maximum right out of the blue!!!..You rush to the remote to try to turn it down, but it continues to ramp up the volume...so you have to shut it off...I wonder if H/K would replace my Dynaudio 1.3SE's if they were damaged by that? Oh well...I didn't want to find out and the problem was sooo intermittant...I called tech support back in 2001, but they played dumb...I did later find out that H/K had acknowledged the problem and would fix it under warranty...Don't ask me why I went ahead and purchased yet another H/K product...I think the quality of the sound and the great price I was able to get were the main contributing factors....But..the time that I have wasted with tech support and the frustrating attempt at trying to program the remote, has me wanting to never buy another H/K product and to forewarn others of the bad design and engineering that seems now to be rampant at H/K....but oh the sound!...If you already have a good system remote or an extra $100-$200, then I whole heartedly recomend this receiver at this price point.

Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon Avr 80 JVC RX950V
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 04, 2003]
Strength:

Power, Price, 7 channel decoding, config parameters, multi zone, looks, weight( this is actually good, people seems to complain about the weight but heavy receivers are usually sign of build quality and no fans to worry about).

Weakness:

5 channel amp, will need to invest in two channel amp once I sell my DSP-A1

This receiver is everything I expected from it. Plenty of power, built like a flagship receiver. Lots of in's and out's. Logic 7 seems to be the surround of choice, I have not use ProLogic2 or other DSPs because Logic 7 sounds so good. OSD is good, but nothing fancy. Configuring the receiver can be quite teadous since you can configure each surround modes to different settings, changing speakers configuration, channel level, plus other settings differently. Multi zone (audio and video), Component video(high bandwith), EZ-Set (not really usefull since I use a Radio Shack sound level meter). I'm replacing my Yamaha DSP A1, which I loved very much, it seems like I always need to get the latest in surround technology. The DSP A1 is being used as a power for the 2 rear chnnels until I sell it. Its such a shame to be using the DSP A1 as a rear channel amp. Remote is ok, but I'm using a Marants RC5000 so I haven't used the remote that much. This is a great receiver, I would of purchased the AVR7200 but Harman has not built the AVR7200 like a flagship receiver should be built. My assumption is they will bring out replacement flagship receiver built like the AVR8000 is. THX ultra cerified, gold plated connectors, massive torroidal power transformer, dual power supply. I had bad experience with HK products before, this is why I purchase a 5 year waranty ($95). This is a great receiver, at the price I paid for it it, it is probably the best receiver I get right now. I paid $1600 CAD.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha DSP-A1, HK 7000 (only for a month), others
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tjwjr75   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 11, 2003]
Strength:

thx and logic 7 modes are unmatched for movies and music.Super clean and crisp sound. Puts it out like it was recorded

Weakness:

none, I am very pleased. You have to give it some space, It gets a little warm. Its about an inch too deep for some entertainment systems

I got it for a steal at an auction ending at 3:00 am. I have it with 7.1 all Infinity Interludes speakers Hooked up to 65 inch hd projection. I have to watch all movies and listen to all music over again.It is a wonderful experience.

Similar Products Used: high end sonys,kenwoods and mid dennons
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brendan Jansen   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 02, 2003]
Strength:

Smooth sounding, detailed imaging,sound stage very tall wide & deep, sustained and not-harsh at high volumes. Lots of great features that you already have read about. Logic 7 and THX make this the one to get, especially considering the price

Weakness:

My back !!

Fantabulous Sounds especially in THX-DTS for LOTR-Extended

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
HARMAN   AudioPhile [Jun 01, 2003]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

None

Great reciever for a great price. Getting a flagship reciever for under 2 grand canadian is an absolute steal. This baby has plenty of power, tons of inputs and just sounds super clean.

Similar Products Used: Denon, Onkyo, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lance   Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 2003]

From day one I have been unable to get this unit to work. HK must not have great faith in the unit if they have already retired its production and made its the AVR7200 the flagship (a simpler and less costly model). My unit is presently back at the manufacturer and the fate of my listening is uncertain.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
CMARANTZ   AudioPhile [May 27, 2003]
Strength:

Size, looks, power, sound quality

Weakness:

Can hurt your back lifting this puppy, and she gets quite warm.

I have already wrote a review. But just wanted to mention some more things after playing around with the 8000 for awhile now. This HK has so much power. The HK is very warm sounding, and for home theater or music it is very transparent and enveloping. THis puppy is very big as well. I like to watch movies with THX engaged, I think it opens up the soundstage and just provides a slightly cleaner sound. The looks of this reciever are amazing as well. With the lights turned down in the room, the lights from the HK really bring a smile to my face. I would defintely buy this reciever again. I have owned marantz, denon and yamaha previously. But now I am a HK fan for life. They build fantastic products.

Similar Products Used: Denon, Yamaha, Marantz, Onkyo, NAD, Sony, Pioneer Elite
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
big delicious   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 26, 2003]
Strength:

-Tons of clean,warm power. -All the inputs I need, 3component, 4 optical. -Looks, classy and gaudy all at once. I love it. -Gold contact terminals -Option for 7.1 upgrade, if need be. -Great analog sound, no digital sizzle. -You will lose the desire to upgrade your speakers and subwoofer. I can't believe these are the same speakers I was using before. -Thanks to the bad manual, there's tons of extra goodies and settings I'm coming across on my own.

Weakness:

-Poorly laid out manual. -Awkward remote, I'm using a universal learing remote anyway. -Massive size 8.5 by 17.5 by 21. Weakness? measure your entertainment center. Mine just fits with the back panel cut to size. -Unit gets pretty warm. I put a tiny sharper image fan behind it for peace of mind since I drive the poop out of this receiver.

Purchased this receiver having never heard it, but took my chances by going with the general opinion of reviews on this site. I've listened to just about every other receiver carried by Good Guys, Circuit City, and local audio shops, and I can honestly say now that I have finally found the receiver to cure my lust for more power(tons), more clarity(crystal), and more warmth(are those tubes?). I actually purchased a refurbished unit from an authorized H.K. E-Dealer and purchased a 5 year extended warranty for a mere 59 dollars more(H.K. doesnt warrant products not sold from unauthorized on-line dealers. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I first heard this monster pump out the best sounding mp3 to analog conversion I have ever heard. I cant tell the difference between cd and mp3(192 kbps or higher). Next I put on the matrix. This behemoth just obliterated the Denon avr3803 I had been using before. Bullet shells falling on the floor sounded crystal clear with pure definition, no harsh digital sizzle from my tweeters. Sound stage-gigantic, my towers which previously sounded a bit boxy, disappeared into the side walls, my center channel dropped about dead center into my tv, and the surrounds that were 9 feet to either side of me sometimes sound like they're right behind me. This is a 5.1 receiver out of the box with outputs for 7.1 expandability when used with additional receiver or power amp, but this receiver nails 5.1 so well, I don't need the additional speakers. With the 85 amps pumping into my towers, I'm not so sure I need my 15 inch Velodyne subwoofer anymore.

Similar Products Used: Denon, Onkyo, Yamaha, Rotel, NAD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 30  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com