Harman Kardon AVR 65 A/V Receivers

AVR 65

Audio / Video receiver 325-W Dolby Digital/DTS Receiver

User Reviews (256)

Showing 1-10 of 256  
bobbob   Casual Listener [May 22, 2014]

HK 3390 left channel failed after 5 years. Also, never had the volume a true 80 watts p/channel should deliver and does deliver in my Yamahas. Bought HK due to perceived quality, but short life, inadequate volume, odd controls, sparse controls make me a "never again' buyer of HK products.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Trevor Silkstone   Casual Listener [Nov 22, 2012]

I bought Harman Kardon 3390 receiver this product in july 2010
as part of a hi fi system
It only gets used occasionally, but recently it stopped working. The retailers say it is five months out of warranty and has had fair ware and tear!I am informed It will cost more to repair so I should buy new.
I asked how long are these things supposed to last?
They wont tell me.
Harman Kardon don't want to know.
I had a technics HiFi for 20 years no problems
I have an RGD radiogram 60 years old still working. A Sony mini HiFi in the kitchen, on all day long 10 years old no problems.
What does that say about Harman Kardon products?

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Ace123   AudioPhile [Sep 09, 2009]

A/V 65 still cranking good. Simple to use.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Thurston baker   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 27, 2009]

I bought this used at a pawn shop. The surround is kind of complicated but testing the sound is good. There are too many inputs and its sort of heavy for the year it was made. The digital is a plus but the wattage output is lacking and disappointing. It just stopped putting out sound July 09. Purchased and Onkyo with similar wattage capabilities and far less complicated at a far lesser price new. Liked it while it lasted way over priced, bought for $375.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Alan Jones   Casual Listener [Feb 05, 2005]
Strength:

Clean Sound Good looks

Weakness:

Poor value for $ spent Breaks easily Costly to fix Riding on their reputation

I bought this product based upon the strength of the brand reputation, sound quality and value for price versus its competitors. Much Internet research was done as this was my first serious AV system. I wanted to get things right. I didn't. The quest continues. Harmon Kardon is unforunately off the list of contenders. Their quality is poor, customer service is suspect and parts replacement pricing is outrageous. Time to go with other alternatives like Arcam, Rotel or Nak. I used to like Onkyo but my research says that their quality is lacking except in their creme de la creme products. I liked my HK for the first 2 years but then the HK FL8350 CD player broke, which was only used on high holidays and other special events. Then one day I wanted to play a favourite movie and the DTS feature wouldn't play. My local repair shop quoted a mere $500 to fix this slight malfunction. Next the the dog ate the remote. Ok he only chewed off all the luminous buttons. My wife said go to Radio Shack and get a $30 replacement. I said "Nay" this is a HK it does not deserve the insult of a RS generic remote. I went to get the real deal. Well... $175 later I got my real deal. Unfortunately it was the AVR65S not the AVR65 remote (which is not found anymore, except in Middle Earth) So I had to dismatle my new $165 remote, take out the circuit board and replace it with the circuit board from the original remote. Thank God HK makes remote control cases strong enough to survive the chewing exploits of a Cairn Terrier. But I digress. The sound of the HK was very clean and satisfying, I just wish they made a product that would last longer than 5 years. I don't blame the loss of the remote on HK but why can't they make product that don't break after minimal use.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba DVD ISD speakers (Built in Kelowna BC) Great value
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
mingchiliu   Casual Listener [Nov 06, 2003]
Strength:

various AV output

Weakness:

reliability is not good, don't buy it

The sound is not so good. It is dark not bright. The reliablity is not good, after 1.5 years use. Center channel die and constant hum noise is increasing. Plan to replace it

Similar Products Used: no
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Barney Rubble   AudioPhile [Mar 17, 2003]
Strength:

mentioned above

Weakness:

Not on par with names like NAD, Adcom, Rotel.

This is as very good receiver that got some negative reviews due to reliability very early in the release of the unit. As far as I can tell, the reliability was a quality control issue with the first batch of units. Mine has never had a problem, does not make noise and is of very solid build. The sound is very good, above the crowd of mass market components, and is very solidly in the mid-fi market, above the likes of kenwood, sony, onkyo, yamaha, and below names like NAD, Rotel, etc. Actually, for the price you can get them now, it is an excellent receiver. I guess that fact that it's underrated can be your benefit if you buy it used.

Similar Products Used: NAD, Adcom, Rotel
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
joetay1234   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 25, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound

Weakness:

Sound going on and off after 15 mins into the CD

I got this unit from my brother who bought it in 1999. He was complaining about the problem with the sound going off. He had it repaired but the problem is still there. I connect it up to a CD player and the front speakers only and the sound began to disappear, intermittently, after 15 mins into the CD. I called the service center recently and they say that it must be because the components are old and failing.(I cannot believe that, since HK is suppose to be a quality product!A Rotel unit which cost me $295 was still working fine after 6 years before I gave it away) I have read a few reviews that says this problem is quite common. If any body can tell me how it can be repaired, please do let me know. Thanks very much in advance.

Similar Products Used: Rotel, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
tystik68   Casual Listener [Feb 12, 2003]
Strength:

programability

Weakness:

quality and customer care

Initially I really liked the Harmon Kardon product, it came highly recommended,and had a very reputable name to me.I enjoy my music, but dont listen very often, which is why I am writing. The unit is nearly 4yrs old, but I had it playing music less than 20 hrs, when while watching a dvd the unit went into protect mode.Call to HK. Even tho the warranty had expired I thought I would give them a chance to make it right. They didnt. I took it to an authorized service center where they replaced a 1-5v regulator??? for $100.00.Kool. No. It did the same thing again a week later and here i am with a large expensive paperweight that HK wont stand behind. Does anyone else have a similar problem? Aside from the defect?? I was extremely happy with the AVR65, it sounded as good as my old onkyo or better and had all the inputs I needed.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
hertzsae   Casual Listener [Feb 09, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound for the price

Weakness:

I got a dud

Bought this for my parents. It sounded great until we ran into the sound gap problem watching DVD's. Sometimes, it wasn't just a gap, we wouldn't get any sound for a few minutes and had to turn the reciever off. Up until the problems my parents were blown away by the sound. We returned it and I'm looking for another deal.

Similar Products Used: AVR 220
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 256  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com