Harman Kardon AVR 510 A/V Receivers

Harman Kardon AVR 510 A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

A/V receiver with Dolby Digital and DTS

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 126  
[May 06, 2018]
baddad


Strength:

Analog bass treble and balance Salt Lake power to the rear channels full frequencies for my vintage 12-inch woofer stereo speakers

Weakness:

If you are 5-10 develops a helmet about 5 years and same for All These Guys these days just not quite the HK that was made in the United States

Price Paid:
000
Model Year:
2002
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Oct 23, 2015]
Richard
Audio Enthusiast

Does anyone know where? of If I can plug in a turntable??

Thanks

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 18, 2008]
shadowice
AudioPhile

Strength:

Looks

Weakness:

Horrible in getting their produce fixed. 9 months for the DVD player.
Life span is short.
The worlds worst souce switching.
Sup-par performance. Lack of detail in sound.

The worst electronics purchase in my 38 years on this planet.
The 510 is a very nice looking amp, but it is UGLY on the inside.
Started off with the first 510 power supply dying the first day. Received a replacement from the store immediately.
The following years were pretty good. Then just within the past 4 months the death of an amp started.
The worst thing possible. A low hum showed up - no matter if anything was playing or not - always a hum.
Next the switching started acting up. Play a DVD - input selected to DVD - NOTHING. Choose something else and then go back and finally it would click in.
Of course one thing that irked me was the initial playing. The receiver would take its sweat time in playing your source. So you never actually hear the very beginning of - well - anything.
So I have let it take a dirt nap. Purchased an Onkyo (less then what I bought the 510 for). And found that the Harmon was horrible.
Stay away from the junk.
p.s. The 5 disk DVD also had troubles. The store was useless also.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo TXSR505
ASL stereo valve amp

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 12, 2005]
cctw
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Performs like it should.

Weakness:

Only complaint--volume knob(don't use)

I've read some of these reviews to my dismay. I've had only one problem with my receiver which is the volume knob. When I go to turn it up or down it usually goes up and up. The volume is now adjusted only with the remote now. Other than that, I am totally satisfied with the performance and quality. It runs my ns1000's just fine. I'm looking to expand my system and look forward to seeing how much more it will do for me.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 28, 2004]
TVornhagen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Loud, clear, clean sound. It seems bomb proof to me (so far)

Weakness:

remote

I think from reading all of the other reviews that at some point Harman Kardon must have had a quality control issue. This condition may still exist. I guess I have been lucky because I have never had a problem with this unit, and I have put it under considerable stress. I have Axiom M80ti's connected to it. They have a lower impedence (4ohms) which pushes the amp much harder. It has never gone into protection mode even after hours of use. I did mount an external fan on top of the unit, which comes on when the unit itself comes on. Even so, I have cranked it up to levels probably not meant for human ears for any length of time and it still works perfect today. I am a little disappointed with the remote. It's ugly and initially it was a little hard to figure out. It does well with movies (especially DTS) also. It is always unfortunate when someone has a bad experience with a product that they expect to perform well. I feel from reading some of these other reviews that I dodged a bullett.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 10, 2003]
WalkinDuce
AudioPhile

Strength:

Returned calls as promised

See review WalkinDuce, Audiophile, from Tennessee After 8 weeks of waiting I called HK head office to complain. They contacted the service center and returned my call within a few days saying that the parts were in the shipping process. After another week passed I called the service center and was told no parts were received. I called HK and spoke to a supervisor and told him all that had been going on . He said he would check in to it personally. He returned my cal the next day and told me that they were out of the 510s and would send a better unit after receiving the old one back. I called the service center to have the old unit shipped back. A week passed and I called the service center they said the unit was shipped out a week ago and it should be back at HK. A call to HK and no unit .HK had heard the same story from the service center. HK said they were shipping out the upgrade unit next day air with a little bonus for the trouble. Well I am wondering if the hole problem wasn't with the service center in the first place. The unit arrived as promised and WHAT a BONUS!!! If this is this guys definition of "little" I would like to be on his "BIG Christmas List"! Any way it was worth the wait and phone calls. Thanks Harmon Kardon Dan Day

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 09, 2003]
jupe jones
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sorry, can't think of any.

Weakness:

Simply does not work despite three trips to the Svce. Center.

An update on my AVR 510. I got it back after eight weeks of waiting. It ran fine! for about 10 minutes. Then, Voila, no sound out of the right front speaker. Hook up the ol' Realistic: everything works fine (HK blamed other components in my sound system). I called HK and they said that I should ship it to another "premier" service center in Calif. at my own expense. I have wasted enough time on this garbage. I am getting a Denon reveiver next.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo, Yamaha, Realistic

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 05, 2003]
WalkinDuce
AudioPhile

Strength:

As others have said "Went it works and when you have it"

Weakness:

"Went it works and when you have it"

A couple of months after purchasing my unit and my bragging rights to friends and my brother (who tried to get me to by a ONYKO like his that he still has) died down so did my unit. First was the memory. The unit would not hold speaker settings. Then the FM .I was only receiving sound from the right channel. Then the joy in having a new Home Theater Amp, which is setting in a repair shop 100 miles from home where it has made a new home for the past seven weeks! To save from hearing the “ I told you so” I have been avoiding my brother for the past seven weeks! In light of all this I had to pull out old reliable a 6-year-old Radio Shack (Pioneer made) AVR. After the pain of hooking all the speakers and components up I realize that the sound, clarity and DD 5.1 separation coming through the Klipsch was well worth the trouble .Is there still a problem with the unit ? If so could I get a replacement ? I have told the repair shop of this problem . I hope that this matter can be resolved , I have run out of excuses to my brother. Thank You Dan Day

Similar Products Used:

"Old reliable"Optimus STAV-3690

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 22, 2003]
ralph deen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

build quality sound, features.

Weakness:

some components could be better no thx certification, is that bad?

This review is for the avr5000 the euro version of the avr510. Lets start of by saying that as far as reliability goes these units are at best somewhat better than the competition in some areas and not so in others. Being a tech with many years exp in audio i can say that im pleased with this units overall build and simple layout, but you can see where Harman didnt spend , such as cheaper surfacemount components etc. All audio manufactures are doing the same thing in order to stay competitive. The sound quality is good with fine detail and enough power, and Harman recievers are always rated below their actual wattage ratings ,but some features could be better .Most other manufactures give inflated wattage measurements to sell the product , but with Harman you get what you pay for, and thats not bad. I drive b&w604s3 with this unit but find myself going back to a simple 2 channel amp for real audio, (pioneer a-757) not available in north america, for music but stick with the Kardon for dvd etc. heres my equip Avr5000 pioneer a-757 B&W 604s3 front B&W surround 2 yamaha subs pioneer dvd/cd sony es deck EQ 30 band

Similar Products Used:

pioneer, yamaha, marantz, uher reference, technics, denon, bryston.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 19, 2003]
D Lynn
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

• Aesthetic Appearance • Room to Grow (many inputs/outputs) • Clean & Crisp Sound • Solid and Heavy Construction • Two-year Warranty • Friendly Customer Service—replaced defective remote pronto!

Weakness:

• Insensitive tuner, particularly in AM but also in FM. It can't function with factory antenna or amplified store-bought antennas. Requires expensive and LARGE FM/AM antenna to pull in signal. Service center replaced tuner card once, may take it in one more time to obtain service before warranty expires. • More than half the DSPs sound cruddy compared to Yamaha’s DSPs. • Noticeable drop in sound volume/output on 5-channel stereo compared to two-channel. • Must boost KSW 10 sub output decibels very high to hear the results. • Finicky operation: If you start playing a CD/DVD before selecting the right source on the AVR 510, it will not pick up the sound signal. (Remedy: Stop CD/DVD player, select correct source on H/K and then press Play on CD/DVD.) • No Phono Jack • No custom EQs. • Remote can't "learn" on Video 4. • Apparent quality-control issues during the construction of this model and several previous incarnations.

The AVR 510 was my first voyage into Hi-Fi stereo and I'm nearly 100 percent satisfied with my purchase. This unit sounds fabulous even when running through small Klipsch speakers! (Long story.) Out of all the fine features the AVR 510 offers, it has one major weakness, IMO. This is a weakness that, as far as I can tell, hasn't been addressed by any of the other reviewers here. The issue: FM/AM tuner sensitivity. Either I have been the victim of defective tuner circuitry OR other reviewers are primarily using their AVR 510s for TV/DVD/CD and haven't reported the problem. Not so with me. For whatever quirky reason, I prefer "live radio," both FM stereo & AM talk radio. Here in the LA area, I have plenty of quality stations to choose from and all are within a reasonable distance from my home so I *should* be hearing them loud and clear. The problem is, I had to go through something like six antennas (both FM & AM) AND a replacement of my tuner card to pull in decent reception. After all this, it's still lacking! The AM/FM tuner seems to be the most overlooked feature of this system. How a AV unit with an MSRP of $1,000 could end up with more static-prone AM tuner than a $4 mini boom box that I purchased as a novelty is beyond me. This is a huge disappointment to say the least! If I had to set up an AV system over again, I may have invested in components that have their own decoders, topped off with a dedicated FM/AM stereo with amp. It seems with all the bells and whistles of today's home theater equipment the basics get neglected. I can now understand why so many die-hard audiophiles recommend buying separate components for each use. This way of building a home theater/stereo setup is more expensive, but it appears to be the best way to go. Plus, if one part of a component system fails you can replace it rather than having all the functions tied into one unit upon which your whole AV setup relies. (When my AVR 510 went to a service center for the tuner issue, I didn't get it back for six weeks—I lost the "heart/brain" of my system whereas having individual components would have left me with some functionality.) Having said this, the H/K line in general still outdoes anything from the likes of Sony, JVC, Panasonic, Pioneer, Sherwood, or Teac. If your budget forces you to invest in an all-in-one AV unit, I’d still recommend the H/K series because it offers a suburb overall sound quality compared to would-be competitors. To get anything similar to the H/K in terms of sound quality, you have to go to the very top of the Yamaha, Onkyo or Dennon line, which is fine if you are willing to spend two or three times the price of the H/K to obtain such.

Similar Products Used:

Side-by-side in-home demo of Yamaha, Dennon & Onkyo. The H/K AVR 510 sounded much more natural & refined compared to the others. Onkyo sounded flat; Dennon sounded harsh; Yamaha sounded somewhat hollo

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 126  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com