Harman Kardon AVR 335 A/V Receivers

AVR 335

  • Dolby Pro Logic I and II: 40dB
  • Dolby Digital: 55dB
  • DTS: 55dB
  • Frequency Response at 1W (+0dB,–3dB): 10Hz – 130kHz

User Reviews (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6  
Chip   Casual Listener [Jan 21, 2016]

I bought my AVR 335 in 2005, over ten years ago and it has been durable as Hell, has never broken down, and has delivered consistently high quality performance. My only complaint is I wish it had more power in 7 channel. But, ten years ago it was a pretty expensive unit and I wanted quality! Now, my ears are prone to distortion at high decibels so I need sound clarity even more. My AVR 335 gives me the cleanest sound, period!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
treboose   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 10, 2008]
Strength:

Great sound, 7.1 is very accurate, price is good, slick disign

Weakness:

There is no true 7.1 audio in this reciever. It does 5.1 and 6.1 audio BUT it converts everything to a 7.1 seperation from a 2.0, 5.1, or 6.1 source. wich sounds amazing and accurate

This is my first real HT system. And let me say that I couldn't be much happier. I've had this reciever for 3 years now and have not had any probems at all.
I work for diectv and I see allot of tv's and av reciever's all the time.(and install them) so I know what's crap and what's great. And let me tell u that the avr 335 is a fantastic reciever.
Its easy to work with. It has a digital display that lets you know if all speakers are on and what type of audio source is coming in. It also converts all audio into 7.1 wich is a big plus for me.( does not do true 7.1 audio such as from blu-ray movies)
All in all Harmon kardon is the way to go.

Similar Products Used: Awia, denon, sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
dpl2008msw   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2008]
Strength:

The system was fantastic for the first couple weeks, when it actually worked properly. I had the four speakers hanging about 10' with 11' ceiling. The room was 15' X 18' with two large opennings, each being approx. 8' X 8'. This configuration could have been a nightmare trying to configure the settings and delays to get every thing in sync., but the HK EzSet microphone was placed in the center of the room and configured the system for me.

Weakness:

As mentioned above, the receiver only worked properly for approx. two weeks. The power would not always come on. Sometimes if I pressed random buttons on the remote, the AVR would power up, but sometimes it wouldn't. I made sure all the wiring was properly connected, unplugged and reconnected the AC power cord, and did a complete system reset by holding down the Tone Mode button for five seconds, which were all suggestions from the Troubleshooting Guide.

The only research I conducted before my purchase was finding the lowest price for a new and complete Harman Kardon system because I knew, or at least believed, HK was high-end AV equipment.

Customer Service

I actually bought the AVR 335 as part of a home theater package from B&H on 02/17/05; the complete 7.1 channel system was $1,300. I returned the AVR 335 and received a refurbished one about 45 days later. It would not power up as soon as I removed it from the box, it was missing the plastic cover pieces that conceal the inputs on the front of the unit, and it was missing a footpad. I sent this one back and recieved 2nd refurb. model approx. two weeks later. This one also did not have the plastic covers, but it had all 4 footpads and IT WORKED. This refurb. AVR worked for several months until one day it would not power up. I checked the wires and tried to reset it, but still got nothing. On 01/24/08 I received my THIRD refurbished unit. I does power up, but I wonder if it's even worth the trouble of reconnecting everthing to see how long it will take for something to go wrong with it. I may just sell it to a pawn shop and buy a Denon or Yamaha.

Similar Products Used: This is my first surround system; I have a Kenwood Stereo Rec. that I ran VHS movies through for several years. That receiver still works perfectly and I use it outside in my shop.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
INANNAE   Casual Listener [Jan 19, 2008]
Strength:

None. Even looks cheap.

Weakness:

All. Since it doesn't work I can't rate its performance other than to give it a "0". But it looks cheap and since it's manufactured in China I can only say you get what you deserve from China. So goes Harmon Kardon.

I received this model in January 07 from Vance McCall via e-bay for Harmon Kardon. It is a reconditioned model with full factory warranty. When I first received it I was too busy and traveling to hook it up. Matter of fact it wasn't until September 07 that I got around to installing the unit in my system. It kept cutting out in stereo and in surround. I had it disconnected and the old AV30 model reinstalled. Mr. McCall never sent the paperwork to register the unit and never sent the receiver receipt (invoice) so I could register it and doesn't answer calls. It doesn't work at all now. So I am being forced to have an outside service center take a look at it at my expense. It's definitely the LAST Harmon Kardon product I'll ever own. The AV30 I had for 15 years cuts in and out itself but it works enough for now. I'll now look at a DEON or PIONEER.

Customer Service

None. Harmon Kardon won't warranty it unless they have the receipt and it shipped directly from Harmon Kardon. Go figure.

Similar Products Used: AV30
Onyko (receiver only) great product for the money
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
162db   AudioPhile [Oct 25, 2005]
Strength:

Great internal dac. Detailed, warm sounding. High current power supply Logic 7

Weakness:

It shuts off for no reason The remote takes a while to get used to OSD was a nightmare The remote isn't back-lit

This review is for the AVR-330. Bought from HK direct as a refurb unit. First off this was my very first HT receiver. I mainly used the internal dac via optical cable from my dvd player for music. I Don't have a dedicated cd player yet but I will soon. The difference I noticed was night and day. On Rage Against The Machine - Pocket Full Of Shells I could actually hear the full decay of the bass guitar, something I've never heard before using the internal dac on the dvd player. Instruments were more seperated and I could now clearly hear each instrument accurately as it was being played. I could also hear each note with accuracy on the guitar even during complex musical passages. Again, something I've never heard before on the dvd player. This is a great sounding receiver....when it was working. 6 days after I got it, it started to automatically shut off for no reason. For the money, it is hard to beat if you get a fully working model. I can't say much else about it since I didn't even get to use it for a week. HK has great customer service though. Gave me the option of a refund or an exchange, I took the refund.

Similar Products Used: Nothing yet.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
4
petermj   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 29, 2005]
Strength:

Rich, detailed, open and dynamic sound Ample of power-reserves Beautiful design Logic 7 processing

Weakness:

None essential

I bought the AVR335 as a replacement for my HK AVR 2500 surround receiver. I had thought of buying a Denon 3805, but decided to go with a Harman Kardon surround receiver. First because I really like the dynamic, detailed and transparent Harman Kardon sound, where the dynamic characteristics of every instruments is clearly reproduced, and secondly because only Harman Kardon (and Lexicon, a Harman owned company) has Logic 7 surround processing, which I find is the best surround mode to my ears. I also compared with Denon 2105, but it is obvious that the HK AVR335 has a much more powerful powersupply. Even though the AVR335 is rated at 7 x 55 wats, the max. consumption of the receiver is 890 watts. And the High Instantaneous Current Capability is rated at 35 amps. That leaves ample of dynamic headroom! The Denon 2105 receiver, in contrast, is rated at 7 x 90 watts, but the powersupply is only rated at 5.2 amps. So this means it can barely give 90 watts in all 7 channels at the same time. And in this case, there would not be any headroom left for dynamic explosions in the music. When I first heard the sound of the AVR335, I felt like I was in audio nirvana! This baby is noticeable more powerful than the AVR2500, although that receiver plays very well and quite loud. The sound is very detailed, dynamic, and transparent. And the soundstage is wide and clearly defined. I once had a mid-end Onkyo integrated amplifier, and although it had a lot of good qualities, I was disappointed with the sound with seemed rather "flat" in some way. The Harman Kardon sound feels more engaging and dynamic. Before buying the AVR335, I also had 7 speakers (Dali Evidence 470SE front, Dali Blue 8008 at the sides,Dali Blue center speaker, and Dali Blue surround speakers in the back). The last two was hooked up to an old NAD 380 amplifier. But upgrading to 7.1 surround has really been like moving up into another dimension of music! The feeling of being enveloped by sound is much stronger. I find myself listening to music in either 7 channel stereo or in Logic 7. With Logic 7 the soundstage is more focused in the front. I find that I prefer the sound of Logic 7, where the soundfield seem to be more coherent than Dolby Prologic IIx. What surprised me a bit, when unpacking it, was that the AVR335 is app. 1 ½ inch shorter in depth than the AVR2500. When you look inside the cabinet, the components in the AVR335 is much tighter packed. There is also a fan in the rear, although I have never heard it in action. The AVR335 uses 118 watts when idle, and that seems quite a lot. The unit runs very warm if not ample of space is allowed over it. I have a Onkyo DX-C380 multi cd-player on top of it, and before I elevated it about an inch, both the AVR335 and the cd-player ran very hot. After elevating the cd-player, the AVR335 seems noticeably cooler, while the cd-player still gets very warm. Harman Kardon recommends 10 centimeters, about 4 inches, of free space over the receiver, and that seems like a good advice to follow. About the appearance: the large display is very informative, and nice to look at. And the volume knob with the blue light inside of it, is very cool to look at! As a conclusion, I can say that I am extremely happy and pleased with my purchase. The AVR335 is a very powerful and extremely musical surround receiver, and I can warmly recommend it!

Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon AVR2500
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-6 of 6  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com