Harman Kardon AVR 300 A/V Receivers

Harman Kardon AVR 300 A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

Stereo Mode: 60 watts per channel into 8 ohms Surround Mode: 50 watts per channel into 8 ohms Dolby Digital and DTS processing

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 85  
[Jul 09, 2011]
ariel parcutilo guibincan
Audio Enthusiast

This Item really solid workmanship and satisfactorily quality sound reproduction.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 01, 2010]
lancescape
Audio Enthusiast

I recently found the HK "service bulletin" fix for the AVR300's DTS issue. For those of you who are handy with a soldering iron, links to the full service manual and the tech bulletin are below...

http://vcomtech.net/electronics/amplifiers/HarmanKardon/hk2000-02rev1.pdf
http://manuals.harman.com/HK/HOM/Service%20Manual/AVR300%20sm.pdf

The two SMD resistors that must be swapped are very small, requiring a precision iron, but it can be done and it worked for me. These 33 ohm resistors can be found on ebay ($1 for 20). I believe regular 33 ohm (1/8 or 1/4 watt) resistors would also work and may be easier to solder. Good Luck.

*The service manual also has instructions for fixing the phantom volume behavior as well (replacing rotary encoder).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 21, 2009]
gaber222
AudioPhile

I really like this unit. I primarily use it as a preamp, but do use it to power my Pinnacle P5.5 center and my Pinnacle surrounds. I use the pre-outs to connect to two RB-980BX amplifier run in bridged-mono. Before I did all of that, I used this unit to run a simple 2-channel system. That is when I noticed how nice the AVR300 really is. Lots of power and very nice sound. I have had no issues with DTS like other users. No issues at all with any other features. The unit is very simple to control via the remote. I think this might be one of the last quality units produced by HK. And since I don't see myself ever going to a 7.1 system, I don't think I'll be replacing it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 19, 2005]
Smooothzzs
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

High current of 35A giving bags details for it's 60watts stereo power. Same goes for attack and explosions in movies

Weakness:

Looks, components used and undetachable power cord (which is modded with AFA Aphrodite power cord)

After running in sound really smooth out for stereo. Seperation in both stereo and movies are top class with heart-pounding action movies making you don't lose grip from your seat. With a little quality-capacitor modding at the analog and power supply stage for the stereo channels, I manage to sparkle details, air and emotions to the stereo section giving it superior controls on bass, warmer mid and highs' extension. Overall a solidly- built, tube-like sounding, high-current receiver which just need a little component and power cord modification.

Similar Products Used:

AVR-4500

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 14, 2004]
ojsbronco
AudioPhile

Strength:

System Cranks. I think im going deaf...LOL!! J/K

Weakness:

I don't like the DTS problem at all, when i called HK customer service, they didnt have a dealer in my area and told me to ship it to them. When i asked how much it would cost to fix all i could be told is that they work for 60$ and hour. Well that dosnet cut it and i think ill be switching brand names. The guy Tony Carbone also told me that my 800 machine was old to them!!! I guess i need a job at HK then i could spend a grand every year on a new machine?? whatever. Also when you listen to a dvd, if you notice the comercial spots in the dvd...what happens is the audio switches off and on real quick, sometimes long enough to miss part of a sentence.

I bought my AVR 300 to replace my Kenwood reciever home theater system. I purchased it and immediately knew i needed better speakers. So i bought a set of cerwin vegas for the front and center and mirage for the rear. Man this sounded awesome, i love listening to my movies cranked and this measly 300 watt system blew the kenwood 500 watter away. hookups were great on the rear of the receiver. I was happy!!! Until the dreaded DTS problem arose....i played and played around, finally i after about a year and a half of this problem i bought a new dvd player figuring my old one was the problem. Well it wasnt. I mean its not that great of a deal but for an expensive receiver you would hope for better. I only use dolby digital now because i cant stand the static in the DTS mode.

Similar Products Used:

My kenwood receiver may not crank as loud, but atleast everything still works.......10 years later!!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Dec 28, 2002]
logan mike
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

GREAT SOUND LOTS OF HOOK UPS GOOD PRODUCT

Weakness:

PHANTOM VOLUME AND REMOTE COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER

I THINK HARMEN AND KARDEN HAVE GOOD RECIEVERS EXCELLENT SOUND AND MAKE GOOD QUALITY PRODUCTS THE ONY THING I CAN FIND WRONG WITH IT IS THAT THE VOLUME IS PHANTOM IT TURNS UP AUTOMATICALLY AND DOWN ITS ONLY HAPPEND A FEW TIMES I JUST RESET IT AND IT DOESNT HAPPEN AGAINIVE HAD IT FOR ABOUT 3 YRS AND IT HAS HAPPEND MAYBE 5 TIMES

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Dec 24, 2002]
Richard Klages
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great Sound (still sounds the best)

Weakness:

No DTS (works for about 10 min.)If this reciver had the reliability that I have enjoyed in the rest of my home theater equipment it would rate a :6!/5 in both catagories.

My AVR 300 has just gone in to the shop due to the well documented DTS problem. Like others I belived my troubles were the result of an early model DVD player. After replacing that unit with a Pioneer Elite DVD player the problem remains. Called Harmon customer service and they immeditly autherized repair at a local shop. Customer service:5/5. Can't say I would buy another Harmon just for that. Have owned many other brands and have never had a problem. Hoping Harmon will eventully replace this unit as they pleged they would if it proves to be un-repairable. If not I will be looking for a new DD/DTS unit and looking much more carefully (not likley at a HK).

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha, Pioneer, Sony, NEC and Denon home theater recivers.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 09, 2002]
maclaen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

EVERTHING BUT DTS.

Weakness:

DTS!!!!!!

WELL I HAVE A BIG PROBLEM WITH THIS RECIEVER. I''VE HAD IT FOR TWO YEARS AND THE ONLY THING THAT HAS GONE WRONG IS THE DAWM DTS MODE. MAYBE TWENTY MINUTES INTO A DTS MOVIE A CRACKING NOICE COMES FROM ALL SPEAKERS. I LIKE EVERYONE ELSE THOUGHT IT WAS MY DVD PLAYER. NOT THE CASE. THEN TWO WEEKS AGO MY UNIT WENT INTO THE PROTECTION MODE. NOW I''M PISSED. FOR ONE I TOOK IT TO A SHOP FOR REPAIR AND THIER PRICE FOR FIXING IT IS $130. I HAVEN''T PAID FOR ANYTHING. BUT MY WARRENTY IS UP AT FUTURE SHOP AND I''VE EXPLAINED TO THEM THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS. I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE THEM FIX IT OR REPLACE IT. BUT I THINK I''M GOING TO GET SCREWED AROUND. IF ANYONE OUT THERE CAN HELP ME OUT PLEASE LET ME KNOW. THANKS, AND GREAT WEB SITE.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 04, 2002]
shendry
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clear sound. Great looking. Lots of inputs and outputs.

Weakness:

Sounds a little cold, as said by another reviewer. The connection posts look ugly and don''t accept spades.

I traded in my old NAD stereo integrated amp for this AV receiver. I found it generally great for both classical music and movies. More power than the NAD 712 I had, and drives my KEF Q35 more smoothly.

Similar Products Used:

NAD 712

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 02, 2002]
makko1120
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

great sound an clarity no more speaker hissing or hums

Weakness:

power an component video input

sounds great could have more power but compared to a mini home theatre system i was using this is great no hissing in my speaker any more sub sounds much better i had a poer amp for just my sub woofer no i use that for the multi rom function for putdoor music listening,

Similar Products Used:

denon,pioneer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 85  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com