Harman Kardon AVR 25MKII A/V Receivers

Harman Kardon AVR 25MKII A/V Receivers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 69  
[Jun 07, 2010]
kentucky1974
Audio Enthusiast

I am very happy with the HK receiever. It has a saftey feature that most should have if you hook up wtong it will shut off. It is very clear and loud, since i run a DJ business its great. I wouldnt own anything but a HK receiver or any other product unless a HK. it isent hard to hook up and very simple to use. If you want a good receiver get a Hk, it far surpasses a kenwood, sony, or jvc. I would recomend this to anyone looking for a good reliable, loud clear receiver. I would also like to say its the best electronic purchasev ive ever made. So get a HK if you want a good receiver for Djing, surround or everyday listening.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 26, 2002]
SPKBUILDER
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

For me: dependability, and the ability to dim the face plate so that my room is totally dark...

Weakness:

No lighted remote.... that would have been the icing on the cake..other than that after all these years - no real complaints, no break downs... nada..

This product has been wonderful.. never a problem... just constant use.. the last two years i have left the receiver on all the time so that it''s ready to go when i am. I mostly listen to music and the presentation that this receiver provides as a preamp/amp is wonderful.. i have just recently purchased seperates so the receiver has taken a back seat except for the theater part of my audio/video room.. All in all i have more than gotten my monies worth out of it and still carry the warrenty on it hoping that it will crap out on me, and Circuit City will total it and give me an allowance on an- other product.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 19, 2002]
Dasher
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Value. HC Simplicity

Weakness:

$$ new Resale value: this depends on how you look at it!!

John, don''t cross wires: EVER. Don''t power up uless you''ve checked! Sour grape a bad company do not make.......

Similar Products Used:

nad, rotel and yamaha

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 13, 2002]
Eddie Simon
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Quality of sound is excellent. Makes a great home theater system. High output of sound.

Weakness:

None

I am very pleased with my Harmon Kardon AVR25. The quality is excellent and I would recommend a Harmon Kardon to anyone who is looking for a top of the line receiver. I also own an Onkyo receiver which is also a good system but between the two systems, the Harmon Kardon is a better system than the Onkyo.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo, Pioneer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 16, 1997]
Gary Rodriguez
a Casual Listener

First of all i purchase this receiver for 349.95 at Circuit City. It was a floor model. It did not have a scratch on it. I could not believe my luck. I have been waiting to buy one for awhile, and this turned out perfect. I have a pair of Infinity 2000.6 which sounds perfect with this receiver. This receiver can really crank out pure sounds. I have always owned either Sony product, or Onkyo and Technics but this blows them all away.
On movies it was perfect with great surround sound, good vocals and never grating to the ears. I watched three films in a row and there was never fatigued. I recommend this receiver to anyone who appreciates good music at a great price.

Unbeatable!!!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
[Jan 09, 2000]
Cruel
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Warm sound in 2 channel. If you like experiment with cd's than the unit has Cool Theater and Stadium effects if you play with the separate volume controls. I like the separate sub out, and line level inputs for laser disc.

Weakness:

Tuner has poor reception, but in its defense I do live in a crappy area for radio reception.

This Receiver is much better than the HK AVR20 I have been using for the past two years. More power, cleaner sound although that surprised me as the AVR20 should have been very similar in sound quality. The only similarity is in the over-all cosmetics of the units. I picked up the HK25 MII used for $150 and after spending less than an hour listening, and a few movie clips(esp the Matrix) I retired the AVR20 to the spare room as a door stop. If your looking for a good Pro-logic unit than this is a good deal for under $200.

Similar Products Used:

KH AVR20,Pioneer VSX-D308

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 28, 2001]
John Woodington
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sounds great and doesn't get too hot.

Weakness:

Radio is a pain to work. Some functions are only accessable via remote. NO PROTECTION WHAT SO EVER!!!!!!!

For several hundred dollars you'd think Harman/Kardon could build some kind of safety feature into their products. With my JVC you could cross a speaker wire by accident and the reciever would shut off instantly. With HK you accidently cross a wire and you fry something!!!! I used this reciever for about 5 months and then moved it around and hooked it back up. Ran the reciever fine for 5 minutes not knowing a small wire was crossed to one of the speakers. The reciever shut off and smoke started pouring out of the top!!!!! Basic protection for something like that might cost a couple dollars to integrate but over a hundred dollars to fix when something screws up. DON'T BUY HARMAN/KARDON!!!! YES THE SOUND IS GREAT BUT IT'S TOO BIG OF A RISK BECAUSE ANY MISTAKE WILL COMPLETELY FRY THE RECIEVER!!!

Similar Products Used:

I've used JVC and pioneer before and for paid less for those 2 recievers combined than this one. I've also tried the AVR 100 too(see my review for that reciever too).

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 03, 2000]
Brad Johnson
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excellent sound

Weakness:

spring clips work for rear speakers but...

I bought two HK AVR 25MKIIs at Onsale.com in 1999 for $120 each, amazing deal. Didn't bother to hook them up until last week. I stopped by a pawnshop and found a like new M&K V7 MkII powered sub (for $140, unbelievable) and that was the impetus for finally switching out my other receiver. I should have done this as soon as I got them ;^) It sounds, in a word, great.

I'm using it with a set of Celestion SL6's, the M&K sub, JBL in-wall rears and a DCM center channel speaker. Sounds great for music or video. I'm using it in a 19x15 room and can rarely turn the volume up halfway. Speaker balancing with test tone is convenient. Haven't tried dubbing yet (two Hi-Fi vcrs and a DVD player). I use the sub out. It sounds like a lot more than the rated power, very open. The ability to turn the display off or dim is a nice touch. The remote has a lot of functionality, it would be nice if it was backlit.

I'll probably set the other one up in the bedroom when I get back in town. Should be interesting.

Similar Products Used:

Too numerous

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 06, 2000]
bob
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

great sound.

Weakness:

no sub-out

i've had my AVR25 (NOT mkII) for 4 and a half years bought it at the harman factory outlet store for $250. it's been flawless. HOWEVER --i've got an incredible infinity SSW-212 sub hooked up to it. unfortunately thru a kluge pair of RCA Ys between the front pre-outs and the MainIn(s). i just noticed that my sub manual recommends against doing this hookup. since it's an expensive sub (2X12" drivers, 300watts) am i under-utilizing it with my non-markII AVR25? any comments?
please email me. perhaps i should upgrade. thanks in advance.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 14, 2000]
Neil Armstrong
Audiophile

Strength:

The AVR25mkII is an exceptionally well built product.
It has my NASA seal of approval.

Weakness:

Spring connectors for surround speakers.

I purchased my AVR25mkII for 359.99 at Damark in September of 1997. I remember it well because the day I received I had gotten all 4 of my moulers ripped out my mouth. I would recommend that experience to anyone. Anyway as I was bleeding profusly from my I was setting up my new home theatre system because I was so excited to get it. After I had finished setting up I turned it on only to hear the most clear and well defined music my ears had ever heard.
I had bought a pair of BOSE 4001 floorstanding speakers from Sam's Club a year earlier. They have 2 6 1/2" woofers and a 2 1/4" direct reflecting tweeter. The 6 1/2's also have a bass port for each of them. I have recently purchased the BOSE VCS-300 home theatre upgrade. My home theatre setup is also complemented by an Audiosource 12" powered subwoofer, since Bose does not make any. I hosted a Halloween party in '99 with the 2 4001, the powered sub,and my brothers JBL home cinema system which has one 6 1/2 sub and five satelites with 3 1/2" & 1"titanium tweeters. There
was at least 50 people there and quite a few people thought
that it sounded as a big city Rave. I would definitely buy a Harmon/Kardon receiver over anything else on the market. Nothing else can compete in the price range. Thanks for your precious time,

Neil Armstrong

Similar Products Used:

Sharp,Thechnics,Sony,Onkyo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 69  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com