Harman Kardon AVR 235 A/V Receivers

AVR 235

  • Dolby Pro Logic I and II: 40dB
  • Dolby Digital: 55dB
  • DTS: 55dB
  • Signal-to-Noise Ratio: Mono/Stereo 70/68dB

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
budman   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 01, 2009]
Strength:

the avr235 "s powerful amplifier uses tradiyional harman/kardon high-current design technologies to meet the wide dynamic range of any program selection

Weakness:

just that i cant use the logic 7 surround modes wen i play music onley but its ok just wen i play music onley one bad thing that"s all sounds good at ferst but the surrouns speakers start to clap !!!!!

my harman / kradon avr 235 audio video home receiver mint!!!!! i love it"sgot all the feters you want in one and all you need!!! you will love it to do you love moves i do wen i watch a movie in real surround sound i use the optical digital or coaxial digital from my dvdplayer to the harman/kardon avr 235 "s optical or coaxial it alot beter then analog i dont do analog you will missout on the best !!clarity high quality clear sound iv got paradigm" cinema ct"s the ultimate in sound for music and home theater to day so get your harman/kardon audio/video receiver power for the digital revolution so use optical or coaxial it sound like your in the movie freken sweet !!!!you wont konw wear the sound is coming form in dolby digital 7.1 chnnel when the avr235 is in dolby digital mode is selected there are additional settings available for the night mode the night mode is a feature of dolby digital that preserves the dynamic range and full intelligibility of a movie soundtrack while reducing the peak level. this prevents abruptly loud transitions from disturbing others, without reducing the sonic impact of a digital source the night mode is only available when specially encoded dolby digital signals are played is that freken!!!!!!!! sweet ?? or whut

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Blainethemono   Audio Enthusiast [May 06, 2006]
Strength:

Superb Clarity. Lots of reserve power @ low/high volumes. Sweet lines. Reputation follows itself.

Weakness:

Better Manual

I used to sell HK car amplifiers years ago. One thing cool about the HK amps was their reserve power capacity. They were ALWAYS underrated, power wise. That measly HK 260, 2 by 30 amplifier, with its HEYUUGE heat sink, (supplied with enough current), would hold its own with amps twice its rating. Its CONTINUOUS power folks, NOT peak power. RMS RULES.....

I ran a Phillips 795 receiver for about 2 years, and it never could drive my Polk LSi-15s to my satisfaction. It would clip out.

Enter the AVR 235.

WOAH!!!!

I have pissed my nieghbors off on more then 1 occasion.....

Similar Products Used: Phillips, Onkyo, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
accastil   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 23, 2006]
Strength:

everything

Weakness:

none found yet

balanced sound. massive punch. lots of power. aesthetically beautiful

Similar Products Used: marantz, pioneer, yamaha, rotel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
GVR   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 21, 2005]
Strength:

Looks good Excellent in 2channel stereo

Weakness:

Remote Manual

After 7 years of running with a Yamaha AX895 integrated amp and DSPE492 processor i wanted to upgrade. I mainly listen in stereo audio but wanted some of the new processing of the AV amps for music DVD's and movies. After listening to some AV amps in 2 channel stereo they just didn't compare with my old Yamaha. I decided to go with a Yamaha RXV-657 and use my integrated as a power amp. I went to a friend of mine and hooked it up and it sounded terrible in stereo mode. We then connected his Sunfire amp on the pre-outs but it was still not good. His Denon 3805 alone sounded better. I returned it the next day and bought the HK 235. What a difference ! just the sound that i was looking for. I connected it to my NAD C272 that i bought the same day and it is perfect. I can describe the sound as open. Not to bright and defenitely not dull or hollow like the Yamaha. Very impressed with the HK and very dissapointed with the new Yammies.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RXV-657
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
point_and_shoot   AudioPhile [Sep 30, 2005]
Strength:

Asthetics, crisp, clean, detailed, musical, AMP. Pricepoint. Easy to read display on receiver itself.

Weakness:

Manual a bit confusing, I didn't buy it earlier, ----NONE----

I had a wierd opportunity to get this receiver. The situation is too long to explain here but I was using a Denon 1804 just prior to this receiver. When I unpacked the Harman Kardon and hooked it up I was completely amazed. My previous receiver was rated at 90 wpc and this one was only rated at 50 wpc. The odd thing is that the Harman BLOWS away my previous receiver. Even better, it does this for (I paid less) less money! I could not be more happy. In addition this receiver looks better than anything on the market in my opinion.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo, Harman Kardon, Denon, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
K.C.   Casual Listener [Aug 25, 2005]
Strength:

*Great sound quality at low volumes (where I use it most) *Surprisingly configurable for the $ *Neat-o on-screen display *Looks cool *Lots of inputs

Weakness:

*Remote could be better *Generates lots of heat, even in idle

I purchased the AVR 235 as my first AV reciever since 1995 (that's right, 1995 - it had some rockin' Dolby 3-channel surround). Needless to say it was quite a step up. I did a BUNCH of research before buying the 235 - as I always do before shelling out 100's of $ for something. Everything I read seemed positive, so I went for it. I have friends and family members with HK equipment, and I've always been impressed with how good the stuff sounds. In my experience, the AVR 235 is no exception. It sounds excellent - even at low volumes, and with my relatively lame surround speakers and tiny sub. So don't be frightened by it's comparatively low watts/channel rating. It sounds much clearer than many high-powered systems I've heard. Also, I found the on-screen controls to be quite convenient and easy to use. Of course, I'm upgrading from a 10 yr old receiver, so on-screen anything is downright high-tech. The 235 seems to cover about every surround format I'm familiar with, and is fairly configurable with regard to individual speaker volumes, crossover, etc. For the price, I was amazed I could get as much functionality as I did from Harman Kardon. I'm hard-pressed to find anything lacking in the AVR 235 - at least for me. But, then, I'm not a very demanding listener. I suppose the remote could be laid out a little better. The really common functions, like on/off, input select, and volume are easy to use, but the more advanced features are all crammed into the bottom of the remote, and for some reason I always fumble around a lot when I'm trying to find the "mute" button. The only other caveat I'll offer is that the AVR 235 generates A LOT of heat - which you can tell from it's specs. I believe it burns over 100W just sitting there. I felt it necessary to install a small fan in the back of my entertainment center to keep it cool - which worked like a charm. With a little airflow, it stays nice & cool in there. Overall, I'm really pleased with the AVR 235, and would recommend it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Nich   Casual Listener [Jan 19, 2005]
Strength:

High Current Receiver (More Power) Clean Sound and warm

Weakness:

none so far

I got this receiver mainly of all the raves and reviews that HK have. I was curious of the high current will compare to a normal wattage receiver. Before I bought this I was running Yamaha RXV1400 to my Axiom M60ti; which sounded good but not as clean as the HK235. The 235 tamed the M60's brightness. I found the bass management is better than the RXV1400 as well. I also love the fact that I don't have to crank up the volume way up to have a clean sound; I guess this is where the high current have an advantage to normal. I like the fact that its also 7.1 and comes with logic7, Prologic IIx etc. The built quality on the HK is top notch as well, the knobs are a bit cheap for my liking compared to the solid knobs of the RXV1400 but I can live with that. All I know is HK made an excellent product for its price.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RXV1400
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jimbro   AudioPhile [Jan 14, 2005]
Strength:

Power, sound, appearance, abilities, price.

Weakness:

Buttons hard to read.

This littel receiver, for the money, is great. Clear sound, plenty of HK power, pretty easy to use, though probably a little tough for the first time user. I have an HK AVR 210 also, so I have a little experience, since they're both very simiar setup wise. The only gripe is no illumination on the programming buttons, coupled with really small button labels which baffles me, since these will be used the most. Of course I'm 42, so deteriorating vision plays a role!! What I Have grown to love about HK is the mp3, wav, flac, shn & ape decoding that it does through my pc. I have both hooked up to my pc, and control my music through the entire house( 5 pairs of speakers ). This, IMHO, is VERY COOL! I'm not sure if other products do this, but if you collect mp3's and live shows the way I do, this is for you. The price, to me,was excellent for what I got. This really is a great receiver. Also, it's a really good looking unit.

Similar Products Used: Denon, HK
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
KingGeorge   AudioPhile [Jan 09, 2005]
Strength:

see above - i haven't seen anything that beats it, not that i have seen many lately

Weakness:

at this price, none

Great Value. Last time I TRIED to buy 500 - 1000 switcher/processor, Was 3-4 yrs past. I took them all back, very dissatisfied with the quality. I am happy to report thyat this is a keeper, far superior to anything that I tried way back when. Stereo pre-amp is very good. Full featured dsp. optical, coax, and component inputs/outputs. Excellent all speaker x-over capable.

Similar Products Used: onkyo/pioneer/carver/sony/denon/
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
richman   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 03, 2005]
Strength:

Sound fidelity 5.1, 6.1, 7.1 support. Almost every surround format available. Surround volume set-up through remote. Many A/V inputs. Most bang for your $!

Weakness:

Surround format switching a little confusing. Rated 50 watts per channel at 8 ohms. Probably best to use 8 ohms speakers!

Harmon Kardon seemed to have better sound than other A/V receivers. It was nice to have 7.1 support, although I'm currently running 5.1. This model added new features at a great price. I ordered it before HK website listed it. Price included shipping!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com