Denon AVR-3600 A/V Receivers

AVR-3600

5 ch. Dolby AC-3, ProLogic, 90W x5 ch

User Reviews (45)

Showing 1-10 of 45  
william   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 08, 2015]

I have a bran new unit never used. 04-08-2015 mlnascar2@outlook.com Make an offer.
Denon AVR-3600

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
YOOPERGUY70   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 12, 2010]

I HAVE 350WATT JBLs WITH 15" WOOFERS UP FRONT,165WATT 8" SONYS IN THE REAR AND A 200WATT 6.5"WOOFS CADENCE CENTER AND THIS RECEIVER CAN PUSH THEM TO THEIR LIMIT WITH POWER TO SPARE!AND CAN RUN THAT WAY ALL DAY WITHOUT A PROBLEM,JUST MAKE SURE YOU GIVE IT PLENTY OF BREATHING ROOM BECAUSE IT CAN GET A BIT HOT IF YOU DONT..HAD THREE DIFFERENT YAMADOGS (THE LAST OF WHICH PUT OUT SLIGHTLY MORE POWER ON PAPER THAN THIS DENON)AND THEY ALL WOULD SHUT THEMSELVES DOWN WITHIN MINUTES WHEN I'D TRY TO PUSH THEM THE SAME WAY!KEPT THINKING I HAD A BAD SPEAKER OR CROSSOVER OR SOMETHING,MUST HAVE CHECKED MY WIRING JOB 20 FRIGGIN TIMES UNTIL I BOUGHT MY 48 POUND BEAST FOR 86.OO BUCKS OFF E-BAY AND HAVEN'T HAD THOSE PROBLEMS SINCE.
THE ONLY GRIPE THAT I HAVE IS THAT IT DIDNT COME WITH THE REMOTE AND YOU NEED IT TO DO ALMOST EVERYTHING INCLUDING MOST THE SPEAKER FINE TUNING & ADJUSTMENTS AND THEY'RE ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND,SO FAR THE ONLY ONE I'VE FOUND WAS FOR 99 BUCKS USED ON E-BAY!!!I DIDNT BUY IT!SHOULD HAVE, BUT I HATE TO PAY MORE FOR THE REMOTE THAN I DID FOR THE RECEIVER!
CAN'T WAIT TO SEE HOW THIS SOUNDS WHEN OR IF I EVER DO FIND A REMOTE......
REVIEW BY:YOOPERGUY
FOUND A REMOTE,AFTER DOING SYSTEM SETUP THIS THING SOUNDS EVEN BETTER AND LOUDER THAN BEFORE!!!!!LOVE THIS RECEIVER EVEN MORE NOW!!!!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jim cancil   Casual Listener [Feb 26, 2007]
Strength:

Punch.

Weakness:

Complicated beyond my needs.

This is my srcond one. For the price, this is heads above the Onyko I used at home and the new one is replacing the Yahama
at my office. I'm not a serious listener but I can tell the difference. ..now I have to get better speakers for work.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
job   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 22, 2003]
Strength:

Power is ample. Lots of inputs. Very durable.

Weakness:

Nineties vintage. Owner's manual is sketchy.

This august it will be 5 years since i purchased the Denon 3600 av receiver. The most notable aspect of the receiver is the durability... Denon builds them to last.I've owned 5 different receivers and the Denon is the longest I've kept. Power reserves are ample. Sound quality is smooth. I recently added the Reference Series ( rc3 ) from Klipsch to the left right and center. This addition really brought out the capabilities of the receiver. I run the tone controls on flat, however, at high volume the treble is a little bright.The receiver is carrying a vcr,cassette,cd,dvd,satellite receiver,turntable,wireless headphone amp.36 inch tv,and last but not least a reel to reel deck. All possible are wired s-video,monster,and optic. Speakers on front are the Klipsch RC3, infinity sub and Klipsch rears.I'll probably keep this receiver indefinitly,however,my next upgrade will be seperates that is if i can wear out the 3600.

Similar Products Used: None similar. All others 400.00 to 500.00 range.Marantz, Sony, Yamaha.......
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
RDL   AudioPhile [Aug 20, 2002]
Strength:

110 watts x 5 output rating into 8ohms Massive transformer(high current, low load capable) Solid construction(all 50 pounds of it) Denons 5ch stereo really takes advatage of my rears full music range capability Pre outs for an ext power block

Weakness:

No DTS. No Ext Inputs for future signal formats(DTS, DVD audio)

I just recently replaced my Yamaha RX-V2090 reciever with the Denon AVR-3600(no DTS model). I run the the reciever with a pair of Paradigms Studio Ref 100's(mains), matching Studio Ref CC, and a pair of Paradigms Ref LCR 450's in the rear. I use Paradigms PW-2200 12 inch sub for that added kick on movie soundtracks. The first thing that I noticed is that the denon had a softer sound(the same softer sound noticable in a tube amplifier). This characteristic really adds to the smooth sound of a rich jazz, or blues recording. This denon has no problems dealing with the low load charateristics of my Studio 100's, and has a very large power reserve for hi dynamic movie recordings ( or HDCD recordings ). Denons 5ch stereo DSP mode allows for the full use of my expensive and fully capable rear speakers. All in all, the Denon AVR 3600 is an amazing purchase(for $750) for any audio enthusiast, and for that matter any audio phile. I would definatly purchase a denon receiver again.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RX-V2090 Yamaha RX-V990 Denon AVR-3600
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lee Parnell   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 14, 1998]

Tested this unit against the Yamaha 2092. The Denon showed me like many timesbefore how much cleaner it sounds compared to Yamaha units in its price range.
The Yamaha had interesting DSP modes, but I prefer plain vanilla, non candy
coated sound. The Denon's superior amp was quite evident when listening to
the stereo mode also, and build quality was much superior. I'm not putting down
the Yamaha, I just think it comes in second place when compared to this receiver. The Yamha had more cool toys to play with, but the Denon definetly
sound better!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Richard   [Jul 13, 2000]
Strength:

Build quality, digital sound reproduction, easy to program

Weakness:

House guests, my Crown Royal and Beer don't last as long as they did before the 3600 arrived!

I listened to a bunch of receivers and separates. The most bang for my buck was the 3600. Its built like a blasted tank and coasts through 5.1 digital movies with ease. Now that DVD Audio is out this machine is awsome, it drives my 5 B&W speakers with increased power and decreased distortion. My friends and even relatives come by for more than food now, I am pumped!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 06, 2000]
Strength:

Great all around receiver, sound, power

Weakness:

manual, remote, limited digital inputs

I bought this receiver used from my local dealer....all I can say, what a deal in the under $1000 range! I've been saving for separates but just finally broke down and bought an intermediate step because the sound from my prologic reciever just was no longer acceptable to me for music or movies. But this Denon sounds so good that I may postpone the move to separates for a few years! It has ample power and sounds really smooth. Ability to bring out the sound quality in my CD's in both digital and analog is wonderful...so much so I may be revising my favorites list. Movies in 5.1 are excellent; I don't have a subwoofer but the LFE channel redirected to my mains is not a problem (I have Mirage OM-8s and their powered subs can handle the bass). One of the nice things about the Denon is the natural sound to voice...there is no coloration to music vocals or speech....you can really forget your listening to a receiver and just enjoy the music/movie. With the advent of 6.1, there will be lots of good deals on 5.1 receivers; I've listened to a lot (Yamaha, B&K, Pioneer Elite, Onkyo) and this Denon is one of the best. You can't go wrong with it; just get a knowledgeable friend to help you set it up if you're not a hobbyist because the manual is about the worst I've ever seen.

My system:

-Denon AVR-3600
-Mirage OM-8s (these can also be had a great discount now!)
-Mirage OM-C3 center
-Bose Model 21 surround(old but competent bookshelf when Bose still made normal speakers, will upgrade to OM-R2 or OM-12 ... ideas?)
-Pioneer DV525 DVD/CD
-JVC Hi-Fi VCR
-heavy guage coppy wire with banana plugs

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, JVC
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
David   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 1999]
Strength:

Great sound, built like a tank

Weakness:

no 6ch input for future upgrade

Definitely a well built amp! Dolby Digital performance is top notch, a great value for the money! And to Tom McClary's comment below re: getting separates for the same money... last I checked, the Adcom GTP-600 pre-amp is only Pro-Logic smart*ss. And the GFA-6000 amplifier doesn't even deliver the same wattage all around. Therefore, you CAN'T get similar separates for the same money. Do your homework before posting any comments.

Similar Products Used: Nak AV-10
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike C.   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 1998]

I agree with Lee about the Denon AVR-3600. I got an open box from Tweeter Etc.,in mint condition for $999, what a steal!! The quality of this amp is outstanding. A+ Denon!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 45  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com