Denon AVR-3200 A/V Receivers

AVR-3200

(See reviews)

User Reviews (130)

Showing 1-10 of 130  
David   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2016]

GREAT AMP / AVR and still kickin' the Paradigms in the pants like the first day they met 20 years ago. You Go Denon!!!!

Thx
GOODTUNES

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
William   Casual Listener [Feb 27, 2011]

The denon AVR 3200 was a huge waste of money. I should have just bought a cheap $200 Pioneer or something. The left channel only works about 50% of the time and the reset doesn't work. For the amount of money that this thing cost it should never break. Of course the salesman at Ultimate Electronics convinced me that it was the thing to get at the time, as it has S-video switching, a feature that I have never used. Spending a lot of money doesn't always equal quality.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
D'Artagnan   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 23, 2010]

I usually don't blog but feel inclined to do so since I've owned my Denon 3200 since Sept 1999. Paid $900.00 as demo from United Audio/ Tweeter. I have no complaints whatsoever other than now I could use a couple of HDMI inputs. Coupled with M&K 750 THX Series it simply rocks. Whenever I upgrade I Denon will be my first choice.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sticky2k7   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 07, 2009]

This amp is the best thing ever, ive got it pluged in to spekers that are way more power demanding than the amp can give and it dosnt even brake a swett doing it and it spends all day evey day at 90% output, its loves it and ive got 1300whatts conected to it and a 250whatt sub, and theres never bin a problem at all, god knows wot i could conect to the more powerfull models.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan Sz   Casual Listener [Aug 19, 2009]

I bought this Rcvr-Amplifier in 1999 for $1500 and basically paid retail. It was my second amp ever.

I used it in a basement hometheatre system with a 65 inch widescreen rear projection TV that never saw anything better than an interlaced component video DVD player or a laserdisk player.

Needless to say, running the AC-3 digital audio from a Japanese imported laserdisk of The Phantom Menace was an ear-popping experience. Running four Cerwin-Vega 400W speakers in four corners and a small center channel, the surround sound experience was inspiring. Total immersion. The sound was amazing. Crystal clear and with power to rock the house. This was in 1999, well... 2000 actually.

I used the amp every weekend for two years then put it in storage. The only problem I have is some coax digital sources are always tripping the overload indicator a problem that still occurs today.

I'm looking for my next Denon amp. They make great products. Ignore the review by the guy who bought on used and it blew up. Mine is 10 years old and still working.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
flynavy   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 31, 2004]
Strength:

Variety of inputs clear bass and highs

Weakness:

its a stretch to call the remote a weakness, but thats all I have as a weakness

Had a couple of average quality AV units from Pioneer and Onkyo, but my best Pioneer crapped the right channel a month ago so I started shopping. Found this on Ebay and the price was so good I couldn't pass it up. I finally got all the speakers hooked up and all inputs filled. (both satellite TV and Digital Cable, DVD, VCR, and 2 CD players). This thing rocks! Runs my Infinity fronts and Bose rears with fantastic clarity! I have a low end sub that I was thinking of upgrading, but I'll wait to see what it does with this Denon. I shopped for others at Best Buy and CC, but never heard anything close to this one for the money. It retailed for 1200 new, so I was psyched to get it for under 200. the remote is a little user unfriendly, but thats a small price to pay for the fantastic denon sound. Bottom line is you can't overload this thing, its a workhorse, I have every input plugged with something and it cranks fantastic sound from them all. I only gave it a 4 for value becaue I don't think I would have dropped 1200 bucks for it new.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
morgansklee   Casual Listener [Aug 23, 2004]
Strength:

Crisp clean sound Nice bass No distortion

Weakness:

None

I purchased this product off e-bay about 5 years ago and couldn't be happier. Although I'm not much of a movie watcher, I use this receiver primarily for music and video games. Very crisp sound and a decent amount of base. I used to own Infinity SM-125s and the sound was ok but the speakers were just too big and required too much power for the receiver. So I decided to upgrade to a better brand of speakers that required a little less power. In my opinion, for the money, Monitor Audio's are the best speakers on the market. I have the silver 6's for my front and center channel and a B&W 12 inch sub that blows the roof off my apartment. My rears are kinda weak however, Advents. When I get some money I'll definitely upgrade to M.A. rears to go along with the rest of my system. The only trouble I've ever had with the receiver was completely my fault. Like a dumb ass I once plugged a space heater into one of the power outlets in the back of the unit. Not surprisingly it quickly blew a fuse. But I was able to replace it with no problem. I highly recommend this unit to anyone who appreciates crisp sound and nice base with no distortion.

Similar Products Used: Monitor Audio Silver Six Fronts Monitor Audio Silver Six Center Advent Rears B&W 12inch Sub
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
King James   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 14, 2004]
Strength:

Decent set of features/options for the time/price

Weakness:

Receiver blew up trying to play a SACD at -20 volume! Volume control on remote ultra slow. Incompatible with other Denon products! (DVD 3000 does not work with it) Poor build quality (across their entire line)

Was rated at the time (1996) as one of the best 'bang for the buck' DD receivers. It was solid but not spectacular, ending last weekend (1/3/04) with a bang (and flame and smoke) as it repeatedly clipped trying to play a SACD (Stones - Out of Our Heads) with the Volume at -20 (if you have this receiver, you know this is not that loud) eventually culminating in a bolt of lightning coming out of the back and lots of smoke. It is now a boat anchor. I will not be purchasing Denon products again (DVD-2000 crapped out 2 months ago, just up and stopped working)

Similar Products Used: Carver Marantz Outlaw
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Nolan Ryan   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 11, 2003]
Strength:

Clean and true sound. and especially for the action movie seems like I was in movie theater. For music are good as well.

Weakness:

None

I was trying to build a good surround sound system. One day I visited electronic stores, I tested their system in a sound room. I had listen a lot of systems. I was satisfied with this Denon Model AVR-3200 get a long with Energy Speakers. So I built my system the way I like it. Even since I have this system, I've never like any other systems. it just can't compare.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2000]

I recently bought the 3200 trying to get Denon quality at a budget price. I was looking for a DTS encoded receiver at first but found this one for a good price and the reviews on this site swayed me into buying it. I assumed by reading the reviews that all I had to do was buy a DTS DVD player and plug it int the 6 channel inputs and I would be off and running in DTS. I've since been told that DTS DVD players are digital out only and the signal still needs to be processed before it plays in DTS. Without it being encoded, it will play basically in a Pro-Logic mode. Is this true and if so, what good are the 6 channel inputs designed for future expansion? Are there any processors I could buy which would do this or should I just sell this thing before I even hook it up and buy a DTS receiver? Any clarification on this point would be greatly appreciated.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 130  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com