Denon AVR-2802 A/V Receivers

AVR-2802

Dolby Digital, Dolby Pro Logic II & DTS ES Discrete 6.1 A/V Receiver

User Reviews (100)

Showing 1-10 of 100  
Terence Parrish   AudioPhile [Oct 05, 2012]

Yes I do consider myself an audiophile (you see in a word, an audiophile is a lover of audio). Audiophiles are generally thought to be persons who have and spend an unlimited amount of $$$$$ on their equipment, and some of them are fortunate enough to be able to indulge themselves. I was not born in those circumstances, but I do have "golden ears". I am a 59 year old African American, I drive a forklift in a wharehose in Balto, Md. Since the age of 12 I have tried to improve on the sound quality of our family's t.v., stereo, and anything that played sound. Being an avid reader of all types of audio video mags. and listening to sound systems of friends who had low to high end systems, I knew "the sound" I was striving for. To get to the point, I ran my left/right surround (low level outputs) into a yammy receiver, rxv495, This extracted a center surround, and the left/right, and I used the extracted "rear" as height surround. In 2012 I saw the avr2802, that I read so much about in a pawn shop, it went for $159.00. I have a samsung bd player with 7.1 analog audio output going to the 2802 analog inputs, the yammy controls the left/right/center rear as well as the effect speakers. This setup yields 10.2 channels of beautiful audio by way of the analog inputs on both the yammy and the denon combined, or 6.1 through just the avr 2802. My vinyl never sounded better (Coltrane, Miles, Rollins, etc) SACD's through my Sony (multi as well as 2 channel). As you can see from my review, it does not require $$$$$$ to acheive high quality sound!!!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
fran browne   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2009]

i have a denon av surround reciever avr-2802/982 and would like to sell it but don't know for how much??? HELP!!! if someone could give me a ballpark amount that would be great,if not direct me as to where to go on line to find out. thank you for your time.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chief Wiggum   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2005]
Strength:

This unit is OK if you don't have speakers that require something more to get the full potential out of.

Weakness:

Sound is very tinny and thin.

I bought this reciever when I was in college and had some cheap JBL's with big woofers. It sounded good for parties but now I have some better speakers, Paradigm Monitor 7's and it sounds very lifeless and thin. I replaced it with a NAD T753 and the NAD puts this unit to shame soundwise. No comparison. The NAD is much more open and lifelike. Also it is only rated at 70 watts per channel while the 2802 is rated at 90 per channel but the NAD is actually much more pwerful. I used to think Denon was good stuff until I got out of college and now have a little more money to spend on AV Equipment. After I bought my Paradigm's I auditioned recieversd and separates from NAD, Rotel, Arcam, B & K, Anthem, and Sunfire. Denon can't hold a candle to any of these brands which can be had for the same price as some of Denon's upper tier stuff or even cheaper. IMO Denon is mass market junk that is nowhere near audiophile.

Similar Products Used: Rotel, NAD, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
posta   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 16, 2005]
Strength:

great 4 movies light music use claen sound great pre amp

Weakness:

if used alone mids could be thin highs alittle harsh not to powerful

good 4 the money but if you could a separte apower amp like a rotel 1075 this compo will in fact will kick any rec. at any price by far. You would have to buy denons new flagrec. $6000 I say it graet 4 movies only but could be a beast if used as a pre amp iuse B&W 602 s3 they need power more than what the 2802 gives you

Similar Products Used: HK,Yamaha,Rotel,pioner,onkyo none touch denon, except Rotel which is far better in sound and quility
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
eganemjr   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 06, 2003]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Personally, not high enough current for stereo. I enjoy listening to music at high levels which is why I added the power amp. I also bought a pair of Polk Audio LSi Series speakers in which their nominal impedance is 4 ohms.

Awesome Home Theater Receiver. I have used this receiver for over a year and I still love it. I have added a Rotel power amp for the two front channels to listen to stereo. I bought this receiver to replace a Digital Sony which was a piece of junk. Nothing better at this price and I auditioned plenty.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Sony, Denon, Rotel, Polk Audio, B&W
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SBIGYNK   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2003]
Strength:

EVERYTHING EXCEPT REMOTE

Weakness:

REMOTE---BUY A NEW ONE

FANTASTIC RECIEVER FOR THE PRICE. EVEN BETTER THATS ITS DROPPED ABOUT 200 DOLLARS IN PRICE. POWERFUL CLEAN SOUND. I'M USING KLIPSCH SB-3'S AND KLIPSCH CENTER-RC-3II AND SOUND IS AMAZING. I'M SURE THERE IS SOMETHING BETTER OUT THERE BUT NOT AT THIS PRICE. I DO AGREE WITH EVERYONE ON THE TERRIBLE REMOTE, SO I WOULD ADVISE TO GO TO E BAY AND LOOK FOR A DIFFRENT ONE, THATS WHAT I DID AND GOT THE REMOTE FOR THE 3803 THAT RUNS EVERYTHING LIKE THE ORIGANAL REMOTE. THE INSTRUCTION BOOKLET COULD BE BETTER TOO. I'VE HAD THIS ABOUT A YEAR AND A HALF TO REPLACE MY SONY STRD????-FORGOT THE MODEL # AND IT BLEW IT AWAY.

Similar Products Used: SONY (BLUH)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Herb   AudioPhile [Jul 05, 2003]
Strength:

1) Better musicality than expected. 2) Very good (as compared to Rotel RX-975) with horn and piano based Jazz from Red Book CD’s. 3) Great Dynamics as compared to Rotel. 4) Terrific Sound Stage even with 2.1 speaker setup. 5) Excellent with digital TV (via analog input) and DVD’s (via analog input). 6) Digital input compatible with Sound Blaster Audigy Sound Card. 7) Movie/TV dialog handled very well even though I do not have a Center Speaker. 8) Very good FM Tuner (reception and sound) and acceptable AM. 9) Runs cool. 10) Great Build. No “pop’s”, clicks” through speakers as unit is turned on/off or sources changed.

Weakness:

1)Needs a subwoofer for good bass (even with music). Won’t recommend with a 2.0 speaker system. 2) Archaic remote control. 3) Need TV to complete speaker setup. 4) Confusing (but complete) instructions. 5) Can’t entirely control unit from just remote or just front panel. 6) No longer can be considered an "audiophile" when using this unit !!!!

Problem: 1) Looking for a “home theatre” replacement for my “stereo” Rotel RX-975 while it was out for repair. 2) Must be musical (smooth) and listen able for long periods with Red Book CD’s. 3) Must match B&W DM-604 S2 Floor standers and REL Q150E Subwoofer. 4) Must match Denon DCM-380 CD changer. Solution: Found Denon AVR-2802 during Memorial Day on sale at Crutchfield Online. Summary: I’m sure there are better A/V receivers but I’m sticking with this one because it matches my B&W / REL speaker combination so well. And, the price, $600, was right during the Memorial Day Crutchfield sale. Side Note: Found that during in-store tests, the Denon DRA-685 & DRA-395 “stereo” receivers would be a great choices for people with 2.0 speaker systems.

Similar Products Used: Summary: I’m sure there are better A/V receivers but I’m sticking with this one because it matches my B&W / REL speaker combination so well. And, the price, $600, was right during the Memorial Day C
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rusty B   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 29, 2003]
Strength:

Great Sound (warm and detailed) Built Strong, Nicely Designed.

Weakness:

Video switchings a bit of a walk.

What do I like about this receiver? I can basically echo what was said here. Sweet clean fulfilling sound. I took this to a buddy's house and hooked it into his SACD player and new Energy C9's (tower speakers). Wow, Pink Floyd-Dark Side of the Moon sounded amazing, what a treat to listen to. Then we tested T2 in 6.1 DTSES and the soundstage was wide while the dialogue was pin drop clear even at low volumes. Dolby PLII is a revelation, and I want to repeat what David from Atlanta discovered, PLII Music with the tweaked Dimension (try 3 or 4), Center (4) and Panorama turned on sounds amazing. Infact it's all I use for cd and tv now. Yah the remote is kinda squarish, and you have to get up to switch the video if you want to listen to a cd and read the news(if you know a workaround please inform us), but I must admit I have never been happier with a piece of audio equipment. The only time I opened the manual was to check what ADFM means; I admit it is in technogeek, but try Outlaws ICBM (bass management unit) manual though to become dumbfounded smartly. Gear: Denon 1802 Energy C5's-front Bose AM7's-center and rear (although I'd hate to admit it here)

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RXV 995 with Energy C2's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nomar   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 22, 2003]
Strength:

Sound quality,premium components, lots of I/O, future proofed. Excellent channel separations. multi-zone capability, component video inputs & out. 7.1 channel preouts. " Made in Japan ".Two sets of front speaker outputs for bi-wire set-up, but shared on amplification and keep both A/B switch on.

Weakness:

Top cover is of mild steel quality. Non-removable power cord.text display and color not proportional in its big window. As an architect in profession, i'm more concern on proportion and color coordinates. typical japanese plastic feet. Remote not on it's category. Binding posts are closely spaced if you're using barewire,so I have to invest on all banana slugs.

It was only last year when I became interested in A/V system, though I owned a ten year old Pioneer music system that still an envy of my friends when it comes to sound quality. But then Audio/Video formats have changed considerably that made me decide to upgrade despite of my very tight budget. To avoid any buyer's remores I have to do my homework by reading any available kinds of A/V mags around and scrolling the net for buyer's guide and tips on receivers. I checked out also all available models in my area and read the reviews on this site.It narrowed my list on MARANTZ, YAMAHA, HARMAN KARDON & DENON. My comments on my auditioned (I will not talk here their looks since it is of personal preferrences) : Marantz- sound quality remains as their trademark but in features Denon won. Yamaha- sound is very bright,watt/channel not equal, features Denon still a winner. HK- sound quality is good but build quality is questionable (made in China). Denon- sound quality is very musical and detailed not in your face compared to Yamaha. Six amps of equal watt/channel@ 8ohms ,features -Prologic II, DTS-Es,6.1 channel input and 7,1 channel pre-out for future format,multi-zone capability. From original plant "Made in Japan" a big plus, there is a big difference when a product is just assembled somewhere else other than their main plant, quality of some parts are compromised and made of cheap raw materials and labor to cut production cost and get big profits. Right now, I'm using it as pre/pro for DD/DTS,Prologic II decoding for for surround channels in movies. The front channels are powered by B&K ST-1400 Amp that added more punch at bottom and clarity at the top ends of my Paradigm Reference Studio 60v2 (bi-wired with Cat-5e TNT-TTS configuration). the surround channels are handled with control,eased and more detailed, the surround back channels are powered by VP300x amp. Stereo Music is fantastic to listen to, Direct mode sound depends on the quality of your recording media but my B&K aVP3000 has smooother sound in direct mode.Other DSP modes don't have much difference except the DPL-II which made my VHS movies come alive.I got gold unit but its remote is black,is it backlighted? no, Only rubber buttons that glow in the dark but the shape is an imbarassment to this model. My friend was almost shocked when he saw it. He got AVR3802 which supplied with silver color,LCD display and better shape remote. I use the flap cover as cup saucer- ha-ha-ha, Come on DENON this remote recycled from 80's models? just asking,though. Anyhow, I'm a proud owner of this piece of equipement as an entry level to my musical nirvana. I've read a lot of articles on accessories for musical improvement to attain the highest level of musical quality. I have tried some DIY projects from cloned power cord,speaker cable, anti-vibration pads, cones and CDP blocks but can't tell if there's still room for improvement for i haven't tried the original version of these gadgets.If any body out there who got extra piece or set for disposal pls.send me an e-mail.My interconnects are consist of monster cable dig-optical to DVD, S-video direct to TV, monster RCA to amp and other home-grown audio-cables, my personal favorite is a double-shielded AR S-Video cable i converted to RCA-audio cable from DVD as analog CD input to denon,A/B comparison, digital sound is more laid backed, but on this cable the sound floats on the air, has more body and you feel a chill at the back of your spine.( I don't mean that you cut your s-video cable & convert into rca, mine i got from garage sale with rusty connectors. Associated Equipments: Denon Avr2802 (A/V-Pre/pro/Amp) - 90W X 6 B&K AVP3000 (Music Preamp) B&K ST1400 (Power Amp) - 125W X 2 R&D VP300X (Power Amp) - 100w X 2 (bridgable) Technics ---- (Tuner) Panasonic RV32S (DVD/CD/MP3 player) Pioneer CTW503R (TapeDeck) refurbished JVC Hifi VCR JVC Interiart TV Paradigm Reference Studio 60 v.2 (Front) Bose 301 - II (Surround) - cone edge replaced JVC "mini sp" (Surround Back-Atom 1st choice) Optimus (Center-soon 2b replaced w/ cc-170) Monster Cable & Homegrown interconnects Cat-5e Homegrown Bi-wire speaker cables Accoustic Research & Proel SP Connectors Tripplite Power Adapter/Line Conditioner Stavol Power Stabilizer

Similar Products Used: First A/V receiver.also own B&K AVP3000 preamp,aging pioneer contempo model. audioned AVR-3802, and other YAMAHA, MARANTZ,HARMAN KARDON, NAD receivers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
shawnbrown   Casual Listener [Apr 20, 2003]
Strength:

Feature laden for the price

Weakness:

Remot is a little cumbersome, but once you get used to it is ok.

Well I know there are some real audiophile out there that quote all the proper terms that sould be used when reviewing a product. I am not going to pretend, but will give you my honest opion of my purchase of this reciever. I had been shopping around to replace my Onkyo 484 which in my opition a very entry level reciever. I had recently up graded my speakers and the Onkyo could no longer keep up. Everything I read made me feel I could not afford a Denon, as I really only wanted to spend 350-400 on a reciever. But after listening to this at my local tweeter, I could not believe the sound. Even compared to a Yamaha that was supposed to be on a similiar level. Unlike other ones i demo'd the Denon did GREAT with movies and music on a CD I brought with me. I am pretty technical, so to be honest I feel I had all the setting up and running to about 85% of were they will end being after only about 3hrs of playing around. I did this while watching U-571... The bass management is incredible compared to my Onkyo. Don't let the many features scare you away. I have yet to install the 2nd Center for 6.1, but I am so looking forward to it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 100  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com