Denon AVR-2400 A/V Receivers

AVR-2400

User Reviews (45)

Showing 1-10 of 45  
mark   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 09, 2009]

love this system i got it from my step dadd after he passed an it is amazing i havent seen it lack in any way the only problem is i need to get better speakers the ones ive got exept my definitive audio speakers cant hang with the volume i turn it up and they hold on until i get to around -20 when the sound begins to destort
but still bugs the naighbores lol :) drounds out my enoying nephews to just crank it up and they cant speak loud enoph to bug me

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ben   AudioPhile [Sep 09, 2002]
Strength:

Built tough, never overheats (unlike sony) reliable, powerfull, good looking, LOUD LOUD LOUD

Weakness:

Like anything is perfect....

Ok I have had the AVR-2400 for as long as I can remember. I bought it 4 or 5 years ago for $799. Originally I had it hooked up to a pair of Paradym home theater speakers but I didn't like the sound, it wasn't full enough I suppose, so I went to a music store and shelled out over $1,700 for 3 pairs of Alesis studio monitors. What I ended up with was a godly stereo from H***. This thing rocks. It hasn't been turned off since I bought it (over 5 years ago) and it will still piss the neighbors off:)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
lonnie coffey   AudioPhile [Sep 06, 2002]
Strength:

sound

Weakness:

remote

I really like my 2400 denon one problem I`m having. My center channel go`s in and out I`ve checked everything out but it still comes and go`s.Has anyone had or have the same problem????

Similar Products Used: nad
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Judoff   AudioPhile [Jun 14, 2002]
Strength:

Accurate and responsive sound. A phenomenal bargain.

Weakness:

The remote is big.

After hearing a great deal about the Denon family of AV receivers, I decided to acquire a used one for my guest room. While the AVR-2400 was overkill for a 19 x 22 room, I wanted all of the other features. I started by coupling the receiver with my old Bose 301 speakers. These tired speakers suddenly sounded bright and crisp. After connecting a subwoofers, rear speakers and a Toshiba 309 DVD player, I put it to the test with True Lies. The seperation was astounding. The power to all 5 channels was precise and accurate. The entire experience was beyond pleasing, it was thrilling. This could be the best $200 I have spent on audio.

Similar Products Used: NAD 761
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nelz   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 13, 2000]
Strength:

Clean power, excellent Pro-Logic decoding

Weakness:

lacks bass, flimsy banana plugs, will switch itself on after power blackout.

This unit replaced my Yamaha RV901 which was not 5.1 upgradable. Except for FM reception and ergonomics (for which Yamaha is noted) the Denon is a much better unit. However, at first the sound seemed too bright in stereo, as it also did with my Yamaha, but either I have grown used to it by now, or the burn-in has mellowed out the AVR2400. (I have a tile floor home which doesn't help.) Initially I had to add area rugs, etc, and work on speaker selection and placement. My Infinity RS-3 mains on stands resulted in a better match than even some higher end speakers (B&W, Energy). I am quite happy with the sound now. 5.1 channel sound is great, as it is in Pro-Logic, but both would benefit with matching center and rears. As stated above, the unit will switch itself on after a power blackout, but this only happens if it is powered off using the remote (standby mode). Setup is:
-Infinity RS-3 main
-Yamaha ND-AC141 center
-BIC Venturi rear
-dual Yamaha YST-SW80 subs

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RV 901
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ian   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2000]
Strength:

For the price, no serious complaints.

Weakness:

All of the dsp modes sound nearly identical. this was the case with my last denon as well, but as you can see i went with denon again. very reliable.

ive recently played around with Nakamichi and will be buying one of their receivers next time around. The sound is much more pleasant to the ear.

Similar Products Used: nakamichi av300
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Saabchow   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2000]
Strength:

sound, flexibility, features/cost

Weakness:

no s video and composite compatibility

This is a great product if you have dvd with an onboard decoder. I have a toshiba sd3109 and they are great together. got it from ebay at $ 276 last year. Higly recommended.

Similar Products Used: sony strde-525
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Tony E.   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 1998]

I puchased the AVR2400 back in May. I then got the Tannoy Arena surround system. But Tannoy subw didn't come with a built-in amp. it comes 2 6in subs. To this day I can't get the bass sound that I want, Why?? And when I connect my CD player to the 2400, the sound was not as clean & crisp, so I bought an EQ fit and the sound improved somewhat. Did I do the right thing??

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Ken Gilmore   an Audiophile [Jun 07, 1999]

I've had good experiences with Denon CD players (I have one which has been playing 24/7 since 1990) but the AVR-2400 was my first Denon Reciever. I got it new for $227 at ubid.com - an excellent price. ($253 with shipping)
But I'm not keeping the AVR-2400. Simply put, it does not sound nearly as good as what I currently have (an NAD AV-716 Pro-Logic reciever). The Denon will accept a 6-channel input from my DVD player and deliver crisp, clear DD sound on movies. But it sounds a little thin, to my ears, even with 2 powered subs (yes, it was set up correctly). With music, the Denon just can't touch the NAD. This is more a testament to the excellent sound of the NAD than a knock on the Denon.

I'm sure the Denon stacks up well against other mass-market recievers, especialy when you consider the price I paid. But for now I will continue to watch DVDs in Pro-Logic. I will lament not being able to hear 5.1 channel movie sound, but I can live with that, for now. What I CAN'T live with is lesser quality sound on all my music. I have a feeling there is an NAD Dolby Digitial reciever in my future :)

I still give the AVR-2400 3 stars. It is a heck of a reciever for the price, especially if you use it mainly for home theater. With music, it is clear and listenable (not harsh at all), and probably an upgrade compared to most Japanese recievers. Just don't expect true high-end sound.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
DavSan   an Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 1999]

My System...Denon AVR-2400 Receiver
Denon 460 CD Player
Eosone 200 Front Speaker
Eosone 300 Rear Speakers
Eosone 350 Center speaker
Eosone 912 Subwoofer
Panasonic DVD 310
Panasonic L680 LaserDisc Player

I've had this setup for about a year and the Denon 2400 meets and exceeds in sound quality and Bass management. There have been complaints about the way it distributes the bass (80hz crossover) to the subwoofer. If you have a precise, high quality subwoofer, the 2400 will blow you away. The sound is warm and crisp for music and movies. For movies in DPL or DD, the sound is simply awesome. I've owned a Pioneer and Yamaha, and they were both a little too bright sounding for my taste. Not everyone will like the Denon, but if your looking for an execellent entry level receiver or system, try the 2400. The 2400 has been discontinued, but you can find it at www.ubid.com for around $200-$300, a good deal considering it was $799 brand new. One negative is no optical inputs, other than that it would get a 5 star.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 45  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com