Denon AVR-1700 A/V Receivers

Denon AVR-1700 A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

Home Theatre Receiver (w. Dolby Digital)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 43  
[Apr 09, 2018]
usa_circle


Strength:

Superb sound warmy like tubes and old scool, not like modern cinema amp.

Weakness:

none negatives from me

Price Paid:
650$
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2006
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 18, 2014]
RICK HARRIS
Casual Listener

NEED TO FIND OUT HOW TO GET THE STANDBY LIGHT OFF, STEREO DOES NOT PLAY ANY SOUND. CAN SOME ONE TELL ME WHAT THE PROBLEM IS THANKS ?.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 12, 2003]
hawkton
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

superb build quality low price sound quality

Weakness:

lack of digital inputs (2 coaxial + 1 optical) no DTS decoding infrequent digital signal processing problem (as mentioned in review summary)

Purchased the unit 5 years ago and it is still working fine. The building quality is superb, like all Denon receivers. Dolby Digital was the reason of purchase. 5 channel stereo is the best feature of the receiver. I really have no complaints about this receiver. It has bannna post connectors for speaker connections. The sound quality is very good for its price. The only thing worth mentioning is that when the input digital signal changes format, it doesn't always recognize the signal. For example, I connected my computer's coaxial output to it. But every now and then, when I start to play DVD movies on my computer, I get no output. When this happens, I just turn it off and back on again. (you may have to wait 1 or 2 seconds)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 27, 2002]
Fred Bush
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sounds Like it has more then any 70 watts. more like 180 watts no Distoretion.

Weakness:

MANUAL DOES NOT EXSPLANE THING'S CORRECTLY

This Reciver Has realy freaked me out. I didn't like it at first but when I learned some of it. It's the best I've ever owned. cut back on all of your effect levels and volume controlls and notice how it clears up more each time you cut back. cut back on all levels the reciver has . Jazz -mono- games-matrix and other.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 11, 2000]
Hamid Baluch
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excelent stereo sound separation, Good base and overall sound

Weakness:

Instruction Manual is hard to follow.

I purchased my unit from ubid.com for $307. Great deal. I did not know what to expect. I knew that Denon made good receivers but my only interest was Dolby Digital and I did not expect much from this unit because it was not your top of the line (AV5700) Denon. Boy that I was surprised. This 70W X 5 blew away 105 W Poineer with no trouble. The sound quality and distortion compare to Poineer was un believable. It is missing S video but for the price you can not do any better. I will recommend this to anyone who really want a high end receiver to at least listen to this one. Forget about Poineer, Kenwood or even Yamaha.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer vsx5700 AV receiver 105W X 4

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 06, 2000]
Ronald
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Build quality, need design

Weakness:

can't find them

from the first moment i got this reciever, i was impessed of his quality, 5 channel stereo is realy cool either you are listening to a audio cd or watching tv, it realy sounds cool. with ac-3 build in is watching dvd's on my denon dvd2500 and listening to my Eltax Spere speakers is a fantastic adveture, i don't understand the complains about the remote and the manual, nothing to be scared of.

Similar Products Used:

avr600/a pro logic technics

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 17, 2000]
Tony Fan
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

5 Channel Stereo, Looks, Performance, Digital Inputs, Build Quality

Weakness:

No S-Video, No DTS, No sleep timer, Remote??

This is an excellent receiver for its price.
5 channel stereo is awesome!!
Not too many receivers in its class match its performance level. Have been using it for over a year now. Wish it has sleep timer and DTS decoding. Lack of S-Video is not a big problem since video noise is not noticable. The only problem worth mentioning is that the AVR-1700 seems to have a little sensitivity problem with the coaxial output from my SoundBlaster AWE 64 Gold. Sometimes, it doesn't pick up the digital signal from it. Other than that, I have no problems with this unit.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 04, 2000]
Steve
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great DD, optical and coax outs
can turn off or dim display for movies

Weakness:

Small display

Excellent sound in Dolby Digital. I hooked up an average DVD player, with Atlantic Technology 270.1 and was blown away. Really like the 5 channel stereo DSP mode. The rest are the standard gimic live concert type things that every company throws at you. The 5 independant channels(DDSC) helps acheive rich sounds at all channels. It seems as though the rears are powerful enough to move up front. Don't be fooled by the 70 watts. It is the same receiver as the AVR 85, and that is suppose to have 85 watts. One good receivers wattage is relative. I have a 110 watt JVC 884 DD receiver at home and the diference in sound quality is amazing, especially in Dolby Digital. The rears are so much cleaner and more full than the JVC. BOught through dealer on net for 319. It wasn't the 260's or whatever deal some of these guys bought, but it was a hell of a sale. Extremley happy with purchase.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo 556, Yamaha 795, JVC 884

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 10, 2000]
richard
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

warm, accurate sound with good soundstage

Weakness:

bass response while playing cds

I recently purchased this product and have been disappointed with the bass response playing cds. Has anyone had this same problem and is there a quick fix? I am only running a pair of front speakers and have them at the "large setting" and have turned off the surround, center channel and sub outputs. I too think that the manual is worthless. Otherwise, I am very happy with the receiver and at $299 from the Good Guys, I feel that it's a good value.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 23, 2000]
Al
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

5 Channel Stereo Mode
Dolby Digital
Warm Overall Sound

Weakness:

Poor Headphone Amp Section
No DTS

I purchased this receiver over a year ago when I was looking to upgrade my Technics Dolby Pro Logic receiver with a Dolby Digital one. I auditioned it with some Yamaha receivers and found it had a warmer sound which I like. I found the Yamaha receivers to sound brighter. I've used this receiver for over a year now and use it mostly in Dolby Digital mode while watching DVD movies. I use the Energy Take 5 speaker system and a Yamaha subwoofer. I think this system sounds terrific with movies. I also listen to 5 Channel Stereo mode with CDs which gives it a fuller overall sound. I don't find any need to adjust the tone controls.

The only bad thing I found out about this receiver is that it has a very poor quality headphone amp section so I use an external headphone amp. Overall though, I think this is a very good receiver and will audition other Denon receivers when I upgrade.

Similar Products Used:

Technics
Pioneer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 43  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com