Denon AVR-1603 A/V Receivers

Denon AVR-1603 A/V Receivers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[Jul 13, 2018]
vjayam


Strength:

Mass sounds easy set up good display panel

Weakness:

No hdmi no usb no Bluetooth

Price Paid:
100
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2003
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 05, 2018]
vjayam


Strength:

Fantastic receiver sooo cute

Weakness:

With out hdmi

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 06, 2011]
leshonchristen
Casual Listener

it sounds greate butt it just doesnt sound like the techwood 200 watt 7 band 2 tape deck 10.0 channel receiver my pro studio speakers came with from american... the denon avr I just got so i gotta see wats gone happen in the future so far so good...it also has two different types of music modes one mode has a greate soundin bass line for todays music bt the other mode sounds is greate for old dusties and thats A problem I want both modes in one..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 24, 2011]
M.Beier
Casual Listener

After reading audioreview I decided to go for this receiver.
it has strenght but also weakness, I bought one second hand, its an old lady, I've had a hard time getting optical-input 1 working, frankly I ended up giving up and swapped to input2....

sound is great, I bought this one for ~80$, it was therefor about same price as a new headphone amplifier, and I do not regret, it powers my Sennheiser HD280pro and make them shine like they've never done before, the 64 Ohm is no problem for the receiver.

I paired it up with a pair of second hand Dali Blue 1001 Concept, and the total sound at first made me quite dissappointed, then I played around, and what I ended up with...
The DAC of the receiver is nothing compared to what any sound device from computers are, even onboard sound from computers beat the DAC by miles, a simple XFi from creative would be ashame ruining by letting this receiver try to make up for it.... "Direct" and adjust from PC, not "stereo" and regulate on receiver, very important lesson...

I might have to chance my point of view next month or so, as I intend to get either a sub, or some floorstanding speakers, I simply cannot accept the low frequency capabilities of 5" middle/bass membrane.. Looking for some 8" floor or a simple active sub.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 09, 2009]
torgeir
Audio Enthusiast

I choose this one after a blindfolded test... verry good indeed, to my surprise it produces great sound in combination with a bose 5.1 surround speakerset - single type. it has beaten a lot of other brands while listening blindfolded.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 06, 2005]
Dino A
Casual Listener

Strength:

Good sound processor, solid low freq reproduction with good mid and high

Weakness:

Might be sounded bright for some people but still softer than other product I auditioned,

After almost 3 years using it, I still satisfied with the sound quality from the AVR 1603. A friend of mine just bought AVR 1705, which carries/uses newer techno parts compared to AVR 1603. Frankly speaking, I was planning to upgrade the 1603 to either 1705 or 1905 however after comparing 1603 with the new AVR 1705, I found out that I still liked the sound of 1603 and decided to keep it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 30, 2004]
jburkett
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very very clean power, Build quality, Ability to adjust the subwoofer output and all other channels with the remote. (Very simple)

Weakness:

If I have to list a weakness it would be the frequency response of the rear channels in 5 channel mode. Most listeners will probably never notice.

Denon. This is a nice unit for those in the $400 price range. It puts out very clean audio at high volume. I have read some reviews that state this unit is not powerful enough for large rooms, but I think it must depend on the speakers. I use the Infinity primus 250 towers, the Infinity entra 2 sub, JBL northridge surrounds, and a optimus center. (I know, but it sounds pretty good!) This set up can get very loud. There are a couple of items that I sometimes wonder about,,,Some music seems a tad flat on the top end, but I can't tell if it is the source or the reciever. I hear music at times that is not flat at all. I truly think that this reciecer broadcasts exactly as it recieves. The other issue is that I don't think the surround channels get the exact same frequency in amplification as the main channels do. I say this because my JBL's sound like they are more responsive when hooked up the the front channels. (This is in 5 channel mode) It is not extemely noticable however it makes me wonder if it truly is "all channels driven from 20-20,000khz. I say all this, but I don't want to be too critical because it is a very nice unit. It produces music and decodes 5.1 as the recording engineers intended you to hear. I think the remote has been laid out nicely. I have used some of the onkyo remotes and feel lost when trying to find the volume control. You won't regret buying this unit. The quality is very very good.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo, Harman Kardon, JVC,Yamaha

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 05, 2004]
Michael999
AudioPhile

Strength:

Smooth clear sound for All home theatre Detail Price

Weakness:

Runs out of power No onscreen display remote isnt learning Sound is flat for most music NO pre-outs

I purchased this receiver as my entry to HiFi and it performed fantastic for what i wanted, i loved it, it was a good purchase and i still think it performs well given the price. Though if i had to go back i would not purchase it again, reason being is it no longer what i want, it is a good entry level receiver but cant really be upgraded in anyway due to no preouts. I am upgrading soon as it just doesnt cut it for music an more and i cannot upgrade the power with poweramps. so i am going to purchase a NAD amplifier as it is far more musical and has preouts and is also high current. If you want an AV amp for a small room and use mostly HT then this amp is great for you. But if you are after an Av amp for Ht and music equally in anything bigger than a bedrtoom then go to something bigger with some upgrade options.

Similar Products Used:

Marantz, NAD, Harman Kardon, Yamaha.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 25, 2003]
AH786
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound/build quality, features, inputs/outputs are excellent considering the price of this reciever.

Weakness:

Not enough power for medium-large rooms.

Probably the best DD/DTS reciever for the low end of the market. The sound produced is clear and neutral. It also reveals alot of details and is more laid back then most budget amps. The amp has 5ch stereo and allows you to have a crossover of 80, 100 or 120hz. Both of these features are very useful.

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha RXV396, Yamaha DSPAX620, Yamaha DSPA2, Sony STRDB940

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 22, 2003]
pumpitup
AudioPhile

Strength:

SOUND,SOUND,SOUND BRAND NAME connectivity! it even has optic infront!! ease of use

Weakness:

no logo of DOLBY,DTS onscreen

DENON,what more could i say??i never heard the true meaning of home theater,just about now..when i brought home my 1603,in replacement of my pioneer!! when i connected it(about 15mins bec easy to setup)to my wharfedale speakers the very first time i hear my surrounds shouting out loud,clearly,you can hear every detail,i tried it on movies,cds,anything you could ever imagine!! its like having a best friend who never turns you down!! now i believe in DENON, so from now on theres only 1 AVR brand for me to trust..DENON!!by the way i also auditioned YAMAHA,ONKYO,PIONEER.. i kinda like the onkyo also,but lacks connectivity(optical ins)

Similar Products Used:

PIONEER

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com