Denon AVR-1602 A/V Receivers

AVR-1602

Dolby Digital, Dolby Pro Logic II and DTS A/V Receiver

User Reviews (51)

Showing 1-10 of 51  
chai piang chong   Casual Listener [Mar 04, 2016]

Recently i seldom use my DENON AVR-1602. Yesterday, i found that the panel DISPLAY not displaced and the " ON / STANDBY " flashes at a high rate.

According to the manual book, this is due to speakers terminals are short-circuited, block the ventilation holes or the unit is operating at continuous high power conditions or inadequate ventilation.

I disconnected all speaker terminal and open up the cover and switch it on, the device still has the same problem. Can anybody help ? TQVM

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
levinhhung   Casual Listener [Jul 14, 2007]
Strength:

powerful

Weakness:

Picky with DVD player

This is very impressive HT sound if ....... you find the right DVD player
when I change DVD player from Panasonic to Toshiba , the sound was more open, more clear , impactful.. well suited for movie

Customer Service

Quie good realibillity
never bring a Denon to service

Similar Products Used: toshiba hd dvd player
Celstion F series
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Dino A   Casual Listener [Jan 12, 2004]
Strength:

Process the digital sound beyond my expectation as casual listener (first timer in multi-channel surround sound field)

Weakness:

A bit on the remote. But what a heck! I'm buying the unit for listening the surround sound, not to play around with the remote!

Best for the price paid!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Blake Schroeder   Casual Listener [Jan 09, 2003]
Strength:

great sound, fairly easy to use.

Weakness:

Manual is a bit of a pain

I love it. Does everything I need it to do(so far).

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
L D   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 08, 2002]
Strength:

Value, quality, and improved HT by a thousand fold.

Weakness:

Awful remote control. Saved a $150 from purchasing the AVR 1603 and spent a $100 on a Sony RMAV3000 lcd remote control to use for the entire system!

Can I say, "I love this product!" It was extremely easy to set up and the signal distribution to each channel is outstanding. I had a VSX 409 Pioneer before this and could not get much from the surrounds. Now with the Denon, I hear everything so clearly from each speaker. The Denon produced such clarity for my dvds and cds it made my inexpensive speakers sound better than they ever have. Check out Blade 2, Lord of the Rings, and Toy Story 2, and Star Wars, Episode 1 and you will know what I mean. If you like the ability to accentuate your surrounds like I do, this receiver will definitely help. I debated between the Yamaha 5540 and the Denon AVR 1602 based on features and price. The Denon won by reputation for overall quality, although the Yamaha had a ton of features.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer VSX409
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
jfpilon   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 17, 2002]
Strength:

price; easy to read from afar display window (10 feet away); 5 minutes set-up; A/B front speakers

Weakness:

Just not enough power; Yukky remote;

Yeas the remote is scrap (I changed it for a 7-in-1 from radioschack). Yes it lacks power! But for the price paid (649 CAN$), it's quite good. It's really friendly and easy to set-up and use. As for the small center and rear, if you have such good speakers, what the heck are you doing with that receiver??? It's entry level for pete sake!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
parkerbink   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 11, 2002]
Strength:

Denon is a stand up company Sounds good auto digital/analog sensing

Weakness:

Poor design lack of digital inputs/outputs,

This unit sounds great has ok ergonomics and looks good This unit belongs to my girlfriend, 12 days after the two year warranty expired so did the resistor others have talked about which causes the unit to go into an infinite reset loop. I found an authorized repair shop and they refused to accept the unit, said go to Denon. Luckily my girlfriend works literally across the street from the West Coast region office of Denon. I called, explained the situation and it was repaired in ONE DAY!!!

Similar Products Used: Harmon Kardon, Sony, Yamaha, Kenwood, Macintosh, Carver, ect
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
levinhhung   AudioPhile [Sep 06, 2002]
Strength:

clear sound

Weakness:

as above

I am here just to mention about the weaknesses: 1/ 1602 doesn't allow to set the center and rear speakers as LARGE which is very bad for owners who have good center and rear. 'cause of this contents of under 80 Hz are routed to the SUB ouput !!! and then you have to hear the LFE and center & rear bass from the same SUB!! 2/ 1602 doesn't have pre out for LEFT RIGHT CENTER this means very hard to choose a sub , and may be only Rel 1802 offer you a very wide choice of subs I mean all brands in the market. You'd better to buy 1802 or 1803

Similar Products Used: this is the first
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
elio62   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 24, 2002]
Strength:

Grande suono !

Weakness:

telecomando un pò complicato.

Ottimo prodotto

Similar Products Used: -
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Omri Levi   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 18, 2002]
Strength:

Sound , Dolby PL 2

Weakness:

Lacks at least one more Optical Input Very Bad Remote ergonomics

Great Product , amazing clear sound , very friendly to use and tune. most of the function can be set from the remote Dolby PL 2 is nice with TV

Similar Products Used: Sherwood RVD 6095R
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 51  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com