Denon AVR-1600 A/V Receivers

AVR-1600

Dolby Digital A/V Receiver • 60 watts per channel • Composite video switching, 3 inputs, 2 outputs • Pre-outputs, Left, Right, Center, Sub

User Reviews (35)

Showing 1-10 of 35  
jude   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 13, 2012]

when i start the power on button only the standby red light is on....no display is comming.pls suggest me what to do...have taken to some service guys but could not solve the problem...

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
James Taylor   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 27, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent 5 channel stereo.

Weakness:

Power supply.

Unit sounds great, but mine didn't hold up. While listening at 40% of volume for approx. 10 minutes, the power transformer gave out. I removed the transformer and disassembled it. I found a blown 2 amp fuse in the power supply. Of course i'll have to purchase a new one for approx. $125 online. I think it's sad that Denon can't build a better product than this. A 2 amp fuse; not a circuit breaker or something you can access. Sad.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Steve   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 14, 2000]
Strength:

Low price, low THD(only .08% in surround mode), ease of set up

Weakness:

only wire clips for rear speakers, no major weakness

I bought this product for 420 CAN dollars ( it was reduced from 750$ to 420$). Its 60 Watts per channel is enough for me since I have a small room. I was hesitating between the JVC rx778 ( and rx 888) and the denon since they were in the same price range. The jvc had more power ( 5x100w) but a much higher THD, and because of DENON good reputation for home theater receivers , I finally opted for the avr-1600 ( sound clarity is awesome). IT ROCKS! I just can't beleive what a 60 watts per chan. receiver like this one can do! The 5.1 separation is superb, but since it is my first dolby digital receiver I can't really compare it with other brands. The 5 ch. stereo DSP mode is perfect for listening to cds. I recommend using a subwoofer to anyone bying this product; mine is the Energy e XLS10'' and it shakes the whole house! My system: Denon avr-1600 receiver, Pioneer DV-525 DVD player (optical hook up), Panasonic VCR, Sony KP-48S65 television, Energy XLC for center, XL-25 fronts, bose 201 IV rears, Energy XLS-10 sub ( monster interconnect 201 THX sub cable), monster cable for speakers. I would recommend the avr-1600 to anyone who needs a good quality Dolby digital built in receiver and is on a budget like me.

Similar Products Used: jvc rx778, old pioneer vsx-305 (only dolby PRO-LOGIC)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Henrik   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 17, 2000]
Strength:

Sound Quality
Looks

Weakness:

Remote

Great price
Great performence

Works perfectly with my bookshelfs and subwoofer, plenty of power for smaller rooms. Cool surround modes and great dolby dekoding.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Daniel YU   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2000]
Strength:

Price, sound clarity, 5 channel stereo

Weakness:

Poor remote, no DTS

Sound quality is great with my existing speakers(inferior quality, relatively). This might be improveed after these speakers were upgraded. I hooked this unit to my vcd player and played only dobly-prologic mode because I am still searching for dvd player in the market. It is a winner when compared with The TEAC. The price range is the same as Pioneer VSX-508 but AVR 1600 is definitely better.

Similar Products Used: Teac, Pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Luc Belliveau   [Jan 14, 2000]
Strength:

Sound Quality, Dolby Digital sounds amazing.

Weakness:

Small remote, no number pad for TV channels. Also would be nice if remote would light up.

I bought this receiver about 4 weeks after I purchased me Sony S330 DVD-Player. I realized that my DVD had a great picture quality, but I wasn't getting the full affect of DVD's without the Surround Sound. I shopped around for a receiver, I looked at Sony, Technics, JVC, Pionneer, but I wasn't sure of what I wanted and needed until I heard the sound of the DENON AVR-1600. It sounds great, I have Mirage AVS-200 speakers with a Mirage AVS-500 Subwoofer. I find the detail of sound and clarity is trully amazing for the price if this receiver. I highly recommend this product to anybody looking for a quality product!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kurt S   Casual Listener [Dec 08, 1999]
Strength:

Nice Smooth, Open Sound, Spectacular Value!!!

Weakness:

Remote, no DTS,

This is a nice piece of work by Denon!I got this for only $280 at Netmarket! Has a great open sound compared to my aging H/K AVR10. Just beware of the remote. after two weeks of use it wont let be get into the DSP setup. If only it had dts, but what do you excpect for $280. This is a great bargain!

Similar Products Used: (none)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
ZkiiFreak   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 19, 2000]
Strength:

A LOT of power. Easy to use. Flexible. The Personal Memory PLUS.

Weakness:

Does not have DTS, but I knew that when I bought it.

First of all: You may think I'm nuts buying this reciever at this price, but all consumer electronics are expensive in Denmark.

But compared to other products available at the same price in DK, this is the best. Very clear sound, a lot of power.
The bass is a little flat, but I think this is because of my crappy speakers (Eltax).

I haven't used to surround part of it yet, because I don't have any surrond-speakers or center. But what I heard of it when they tested it for me at the retailer, it sounded pretty good compared to the price.

Similar Products Used: NAD Amplifier, Pioneer crap
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Sean   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 30, 2000]
Strength:

Low cost on clearance

Weakness:

You get what you paid for. Can't believe that retail use to be $400. The remote!

You guys weren't joking about the remote. It's like a Toys R' Us product or something that comes with a Happy Meal. That is the reason i'm returing this reciever and holding onto my Sony. The sound of the Denon wasn't bad at low volumes. It kind of sounded like my parasound amp, but it ran out of steam real fast. If you crank the bass knob and volume up, you can here what 60 watts can't do.

Similar Products Used: Sony DB830. Parsound amps.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Peter   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 28, 2000]
Strength:

Flexibility of surround settings, delays etc. 5-chan stereo mode. Memory of settings for each input (Memory-Plus).

Weakness:

remote, Euro 1600RD version has no switched mains outlet

This receiver was chosen over offerings from Yamaha (595a)and Pioneer. I was pleasantly surprised at the comprehensive control over DSP settings (delays, room size) and ease of surround setup (distance to listening position etc. rather than delay times), individual control over rear speaker levels. Not bad for a low end offering. The sound is certainly crisp and clear. The power output is quite adequate for my application. I listen to a lot of music as well as video and it certainly does not compromise the traditional music qualities. It is good to hear the satisfying "clunk" when switching to stereo only mode as the relays bypass all the processing section.

The 5 chan stereo mode is a major feature and brings to life many stereo only CDs. I am not concerned about the lack of DTS (a rather moot point in PAL regions as there is rarely room for a DTS soundtrack alongside the PAL video and DD tracks). Read Adam Barrat's discussion at http://moviesoundpage.com/msp_dddtsdvd.htm

The remote is comprehensive but the buttons are very small and many functions are remote only , but I suppose this is normal). The Memory Plus feature is extremely useful as the complete settings are remembered for each input (including volume, surround setting, delays etc).

In summary I think this receiver is remarkable value at its price point, the flexibility in the theatre mode settings is clearly from its more expensive siblings, and the music quality is uncompromised.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com