B&K Components AVR307 A/V Receivers

AVR307

Dolby Digital ® , THX ® , DTS ® , 6.1 Surround, 7.1 Surround, Surround EX ®

User Reviews (49)

Showing 1-10 of 49  
beny. krasner   AudioPhile [Jun 26, 2010]

Best of the best receiver ever build for a maximum quality of sound you can ask for take it to the Bank
Love it use it enjoy it. 5 ****** STARS.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Zino   AudioPhile [Apr 22, 2005]
Strength:

Fabulous with music and video. Plenty of punch at the low end and very natural, detailed sound with the right source equipment. Can listen to two different sources in two different rooms simultaneously. Has enough setup options to fit any room, and is actually NOT that difficult to configure if you take your time. It's really a computer with a honkin' big amp connected to it. Upgradeable and beautifully made.

Weakness:

Very, very heavy. Slightly complex setup. And can somebody tell me WHY the speakers don't cut off when I plug in the headphones? I can't find that in the manual! Can get warm even in standby, and sometimes unit itself 'buzzes' when left in standby mode for long periods, though no noise whatsoever through speakers... very quiet there.

Bought new, in box, from a former B&K dealer who was only doing custom home-automation installs at from that time. It's been solidly reliable and sounds great. Watching movies and listening to music through a Denon DVD 5900, a very musical, detailed source, is very satisfying. The B&K has plenty of power for my speakers... they have 12" woofers and are very warm and capable for old ones. The bass response shakes the house, literally. "Subwoofers? We don't need no steenkeen subwoofers!" Yes, there are the 'clicks' between modes but they don't bother me... probably to protect the circuits from pops, and sounds impressively powerful. Proper programming and setup is critical. I suspect that some of the less-than-flattering reviews simply hadn't sussed out the proper settings. I had that experience and really had to study the manual but it's well worth it. I've never heard another home theater receiver that comes close. Decidedly upper-middle-fi and a pleasure to own. I'd love to know how to turn off the speakers when I listen on the headphones, though!

Similar Products Used: Vienna Acoustics speakers, Jolida, Micro turntable, Sony CD changer, Denon DVD, Victor S-VHS, Sony DAT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
bmarcinczyk14   AudioPhile [Aug 20, 2004]
Strength:

The manual was pretty nice and the reciever was alot easier setting up than the Denon

Weakness:

Sounded unreal and muddy compared to the Denon

I was looking for the best reciever on the market that sounds the nearest to seperates. I went to the local tweeter center and thats when I heard about the compation between the B&K AVR 307 and the Denon AVR-5800. I then decided to audition both of them. I have a seperate home theater and stereo set up. So first I decided to audition the musical side of each reciever. So I unpacked the Denon first to hook it up to my D38 Proacs. I was pleasantly surprised by how clean,open, and transparent the sound was. Although it didin't sound quite as good as the Classe seperates I usually use for my Proacs, but good enough for a reciever. I was particularly impressed by the AVR-5800's deep, tight, and well-defined bass. After I turned of the Velodyne sub and ran the proacs with no sub, the 5800 had no trouble driving these high end loudspeakers. Then once I was finished with the audio side of it, I hooked it up to my B&W home theater system. I used the Star Wars DVD as a test. The voice the AVR-5800 produced through my B&W center channle was amazingly real. And when playing Saving Private Ryan the AVR-5800 made it so you really felt like you were in the middle of the fight sence. The explosions were very deep and clear. Now for the B&K. That reciever just didn't give me that same enviorment the AVR-5800 did. The musical side sounded very muddy when running it with my proacs. And the movies just were not as real as the 5800. The explosions sound harsh and had very little extent of bass. I am now very proud that I decided to go with the AVR-5800.

Similar Products Used: AVR-5800, Theta Casablanca 2, Yamaha RX-Z9
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
mileysubet   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 17, 2004]
Strength:

The 307 is a solid built Reciever

Weakness:

none

They should put a review for the newer AVR 507 on this sight.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer Recievers Bose(oops) Boston acoustics Axiom M80ti
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
mt10425   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 21, 2004]
Strength:

It just sounds great without sounding gimmicky or mechanical

Weakness:

cost

It's a great receiver. I just sent it in for the upgrade ($465.00) which makes it an AVR 317. Buy the Denon if you must or any of the mass-produced massively marketed equipment that stress effects and wizbang glitter but you won't find a better receiver. B&K stresses the music and expands from there. Mine is a perfect match with my Tannoy speakers. Of course the Synergistic Research Active Master Coupler P/C also helps bring out the best.

Similar Products Used: Sony ES, Marantz SR-19
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
groundzero   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 20, 2002]
Strength:

Everything except for that a sub doesn't work in direct mode. Plus my salesman gave me a copy of the BK Suite program. Price: no better deal out there for any reciever of this caliber.

Weakness:

Not too many know of the brand. That's actually a good thing.

This thing rocks!! I demoed the Denon 5803 which costs more at the same time in a blind test. The salesman switched between the two recievers and asked me which one was the better sounding unit and it was the B&K. So far its only hooked up to some B&W cdm 1NT and a velodyne sub for stereo use until I get my M&K 150s. Compared to the Rotel amp that was connected to the B&Ws previously, the sound stage has opened up quite a bit and greater detail is revealed. Gear: AVR 307, B&W CDM 1NT, Monster Cable, Panamax 5100, Sony es changer.

Similar Products Used: Denon 5803, Rotel,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sweetness   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 2002]
Strength:

Customeizeability, including having presets for most of the input devices, 40+ favorite options, xover cutoff on the low end, customizable bass and treble responses, clean sound reproduction.

Weakness:

150 watts sometimes is not enough. Price does not include the computer to receiver cable. No 120v out (just a 12v trigger out for amps), had to upgrade my power supply from the Panamax 1000+ to the Panamaz 5100 to use the 12v switch for amps.

This is truly a high quality unit. The sound reproduction is incredible. I demoed several of the other high end systems, including the Denon 5803 and the top of the line Elite series and this sounds crisper and cleaner than the other two. The setup is not simple, however, some patience and using the OSD really help. Once you have gained some familiarity with the menu system and the options, the setup and maintenance is very user-friendly. The cost to a little more complex setup is the more features and customize-ability.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer Elite Rcvr
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
bob jones   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 2002]
Strength:

Build quality, sound, upgradable.

Weakness:

Setup is complex but once set up it is a breeze.

Absolutely wonderful receiver with an amp section capable of driving low impedence loads with ease. Direct mode on stereo sources is very good. Better than many separtes I have heard. Can upgrade next year to new software and DACS since new Bk receiver comes out next month.

Similar Products Used: Denon 5800 and 4800, Outlaw 950, Yamaha 2095
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
eyedox   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 15, 2002]
Strength:

1. Capability to listen to 2 sources in 2 different rooms.

Weakness:

1. The unit does not have the separate amplifiers ready at time of shipping for playing a separate source in another room. You have to open the receiver up and do this yourself. 2. The clicking when changing sources. Not a BIG deal, but a minor annoyance.

The AVR 307 has been a real nice receiver overall. I have found it sounds very good for 2 channel music as well as movies. First of all, I am re-discovering my CD collection while listening in 2 channel stereo mode. It helps that I also recently upgraded my speakers to Monitor Audio Silver 9's. The combination of the two really come to life. Many CDs that were recorded in 2 channels sound very good when you play them in 5 channel surround. As far a movies, my last receiver was about 6 years old and did not have Dolby Digital capability. So the AVR 307 blows it away, especially with DVDs. I felt the AVR 307 offered alot for the price. You have to start shelling out alot more money to get some noticable difference. I'm very happy with my AVR-307... and my wife is happy that I have a receiver that won't need replacing for many years. (Now I just need to convince her about the big screen TV).

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RX-V990
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lionel Remigio   AudioPhile [Jul 03, 2002]
Strength:

The best one in the market

Weakness:

None at this time

Well ..I posted long tima ago a reviw for this amazing equipment and the purpose now is not for a review. But I need to say again that this is the BEST equipment I ever heard. My setup is as follows: Martin Logal Ascent Speakers Krell CD Player CD-201 DAC MBL Gold Link III with 196Khz sampling. Amazing combo!!! I need somebody who can tell me from where I can download the BK Suite software since the guys at B&K don't want to give the software to me and my dealer ( Sound Advice in Miami, never heard of it!!!) Can somebody e-mail me the soft in a zip file, please or tell me from what site I can download the file? Thanks Lionel in Miami

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 49  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com