Aiwa AV-D77 A/V Receivers

AV-D77

* 600 Watts Total (5 x 120 Watts)* * Built-In DTS & Dolby Digital Decoders * S-Video Switching (2 In/3 Out) * 3 Digital Inputs (1 Coax/2 Optical) * DSP with 30 Presets

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Fortunato Baclit   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 24, 2002]
Strength:

>>30 DSP settings - So nice to listen to Gloomy Sunday song by Sarah Brightman when the DSP is set to "Church" sound. >>5 Customized EQ settings - Aside from built in EQ settings. Was able to reproduce good sounds from my mother-in-law's 20 year old audio tapes. >>Karaoke Function - My wife and her folks feel like their family is musically inclined when they come around singing and praising theselves. Good thing I have a huge headphone which I use to my tiny digital radio during these times. >>BBE feature (high freq. enhancement)- Good reproduction of cymbal sounds especially when a huge metal horn tweeters are used on front speakers. So nice to watch rock concerts.

Weakness:

>>Not all functions are accessible on front panel. Others are in remote control, vice versa. >>Very heavy and weight is concentrated at rear left side. >>You need to press two bottons at the same time (Shift+up/down) when tuning to radio stations. I Don't feel comfortable using two hands on a remote control.

Power is overkill for my small room. Shakes the whole house everytime my 4 year old daughter plays her M2M CD. I'm a little concern on thermal issue because it heats up the room after just 5 minutes of playing. Not sure if this is a specially designed function for cold weather countries so that you won't be needing to turn on your heater while watching movies. Tried to put a tiny DC fan on top and seems to be fine (better do something before it's too late). The unit now looks cool even for a very little airflow. Another unusual for this model is the surround speaker impedance. It is rated @ 8 Ohms minimum while most surround speakers that you can buy in the market today is 6 Ohms. Luckily, I was able to read the whole specs before buying a speaker set. I might end up celebrating new years day in mid of October.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Greg Cordier   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 05, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound for the money. Enjoyed it a lot for the two years that it was working.

Weakness:

Blows up and goes BOOOOOMMM!

Enjoyed the AV-D77 for almost two years before it gave up the ghost. Just made a "pop" noise one day and refused to come back to life. Authorized AIWA service center said it would cost $175 to repair, so I opted to go with another unit. I now have a Yamaha 5560 and am very happy. The happy ending to the sad story of my AIWA death is that I purchased it with a platinum VISA a little under two years ago. The VISA has an enhancement service that doubles your manufacturer's warranty (up to one additional year). They will repair an item for up to 70% of the original purchase price, but I came in a little over 70% so VISA is refunding me the entire price of my purchase! Never thought I would love a credit card company. Thanks VISA! I love my new Yamaha!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
bob   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2001]
Strength:

NONE other than it is cheap

Weakness:

amplifier, sound, remote, construction

Wowo what an over rated peice of junk.
600watts for 3 seconds before it meltsdown
I bought it because of the price and refused to listen to the salesman who said it was not as good
It refused to push any speakersa of substance at all and the sorround feidls were weak and after 6 days the amp channel blew

Similar Products Used: Sony, Onkyo,JVC, Harmon Kardon
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Seth   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 20, 2001]
Strength:

SUCKS!

Weakness:

SUCKS!

Amp blew out a week after I bought the thing. Sent it to Aiwa to be repaired, a month later got it back and the amp blew again! Ended up returing it for the money back! Igonre the review I gave eariler! THIS THING SUCKS!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
b boyd   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2001]
Strength:

with my pure digital mp3 coax hook-up from my amd1700+ it rocks my whole house

Weakness:

speakers that inc. were cheezy at best. i drive mine at about 150watt each on the front (Mgelectronics brand out of new york) the stock units DONOT do the recv justice

i love the live 2 and 3 settings. loose the remote and you are stuck not all features can be accessed via the frt panel. anybody got a remote for sale cheap? bill

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan   Casual Listener [Apr 11, 2001]
Weakness:

Tiny sides, heavy.

Another burnout. This one flashed and popped, sending up a little plume, as soon as it was turned on for the first time. I got a second one but was not particularly impressed with the speakers so I took it back. Considering the price, it's probably a good deal but I decided to upgrade to a Denon.

Similar Products Used: Denon 1801
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Craig   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 2001]
Weakness:

Terrible sound quality for both music and movies. Remote is limited and about the size of a skateboard. Pretty much everything but looks, which are still just okay

I purchased this as a part of the HTD-777 home theater package, most likely because I am getting frustrated with all of the researching. OOPS! I do not know about the amps blowing out like on the other guys, but the sound reproduction for both music and movies is terrible in all modes. I played around with independent speaker volumes and every other trick I could think of. The sub, although it does contain an independent volume control, is muddy and distracts from the overall (poor) sound quality. Also, the remote is monstrous big and cannot perform many functions on any other component. I tried to like this system, I really did, but even my wife wanted me to spend more money on something better. For those of you who are pulling your hair out searching for a good sound system, trust me, do not "settle" for anything less than what you want, even if it means waiting and saving.

Similar Products Used: a little bit of everything from many different price ranges
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Seth   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 20, 2001]
Strength:

Great sound, Good amp, LOTS of input possibilities

Weakness:

REMOTE!

Great receiver! Have yet to have any major problems. My only complaint is the remote. It brings a surfboard to mind. Even I with big hands sometimes need to use two hands to reach the buttons! Another problem with the remote is that it will ONLY control Aiwa DVD players. That kinda sucks since I have a Panasonic. But this is a great begginner and intermedit receiver!

Similar Products Used: Sony, Technics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com