Aiwa AV-D55 A/V Receivers

AV-D55

500 watt receiver

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
dmconw   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 23, 2008]
Strength:

Strong power, this system may adjust accordingly to size and adjustments built in speakers.

Weakness:

Trying to make adjustments for example, the from DVD to MD.

I purchased this system a day ago from 11/22/08. I came home and looked at Model AV - D55 on online. I seen reviews that were heart breaking. My system was doing what some of the rewiews stated. The crackling noise throught speakers playing in DVD or CD mode, was coming from having the odb's adjusted to high. As stated in the manual, if odb's are lower than the tuner or higher than the tuner then adjust to the sound of tuner. The only way to adjust to sound of tuner is by listening and where the volume is set when in tuner mode. 2 odb is about where the tuner is set. If have odb to high for DVD or CD will make a crackling noise through one or both of speakers. Since I adjust the odb's, I hear no crackling noises.

Customer Service

The customer service i feel need to become better for finding manufacture dates for buying if used. This system I do not see date manufactured but guessing. I did not see own Aiwa website of new receivers to buy.

Similar Products Used: I have several receivers, amps and other audio, but not this high tech.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
JJJD IV   AudioPhile [Jun 04, 2004]
Strength:

3 video inputs, desent remote, looks nice... 5 band SEA is easy to adjust and sounds good...

Weakness:

Hiss at higher volumes, Function knob is just wacked man!!

Ever since selling my old reciever, a beloved JVC RX707, I have been using this reciever. Up until now I did not know that it was rated at 150Wx2 but do not believe it... Much like cheaper power supplies found in a pc, what is the rating and what is the real time output are sometimes never the same... Tonally, this reciever does not stack up to my old JVC... My Infinity SM152s start to hiss the second the volume is turned on, and gets louder as it goes up. I guess I am pretty critical, for the JVC was almost hiss free even at higher volumes... Also, I get a slight thud as I turn on and off either the unit or the speaker selector. No biggie there I guess being this is a reciever on the budget end and. The T Bass is a decent feature, but in my opinion adds too much in the mid bass, causing it be abit muddy and sloppy. At 2 or 3 settings in it is way too much bass (unless the neighbor is getting on my nerves!!) (: Again, I am being too critical. The remote is decent and I like the 3 video inputs as well as the switching of the video out of the monitor. The function knob is kind of a pain if you want to select a source but can be done from the remote painlessly... The reciever looks pretty cool and is ok in terms of the quality of it's casing. I don't know, I really miss my JVC but hey, for 70 bucks this is a no brainer!

Similar Products Used: JVC RX303 JVC RX707
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
jaylo1081   AudioPhile [Oct 25, 2003]
Strength:

Fits into my shelf perfectly with a clear veiw of the *DOLBY* symbol.

Weakness:

sound and power

The AV-D55 would be a great product for its price range, but when you advertise a Lexus with a BMX price tag there will be questions. Featuring the 5.1 capability was great and let’s not leave out the variety of DSP options backed by an outstanding 500 watts per channel, what more could you ask for. Once again reality comes into play and “all that glitters is not gold”, first up 500 watts per channel. After being presented with the concern of hearing loss with my previous receiver, 500 watts per channel was welcomed with open arms. To this day those 500 watts are still being questioned, especially by my (Orbit-QX2T) surrounds. Up next; defective DSP circuitry or design, There is definitely an issue here. Lets face it when you are introduced to a product bearing the *Dolby* symbol quality of sound reproduction is without a doubt a must. Unfortunately with the AV-D55, I can’t say that Aiwa had it’s priorities in order. There is definitely a problem here, after doubting the 16 gauge monster cable and then finding out that wasn’t it? It was off to the RF cables, hey we love Aiwa so why not replace all your cables to find out the problem still persists. As the aged saying goes “It’s not you, it’s me”, and as every person has felt after finding out “this time it really isn’t me, it is you”.Now being over whelmed with the feeling of being enlightened, but yet plagued by one question and one question only……….”what to do now and who has the answer”. Aiwa if you’re listening your consumers need your help!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Nick G   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2000]

Great reciever. Got it at best buy on sale for 159 and it sounds great. Built in GEQ and T-Bass are very great a lot better than traditional bass and treble controls. Very clean clear sound with little or no distortion.100 wattsx5 in surround and 150wattsx2 in stereo.Very good deal,my friend bought a sony 100x5 from best buy same week and is gonna take it back and get this reciever. All around i give it a 5 best reciever for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RoboCop   Audio Enthusiast [May 31, 2000]
Strength:

Value price, clean sound, nice display, plenty of power, DSP, good ergonomics.

Weakness:

Flimsy case

Wow! This receiver really rocks. It puts out 150w x 2 in stereo mode and 100 x 5 in Pro Logic Mode. It even has a digital signal processor and a graphics equalizer. Other nice features include the ability to hook up two pairs speakers, full function remote, and Dolby 5.1 inputs. I paid $99 at Wards. Heck, I can't complain for that price. However, the case is a bit on the flimsy side. On the other hand, the front of the unit is nicely designed and constructed. Also, the unit weighs in at over 25 lbs. I have this unit hooked up to my Pinnacle AC-650 speakers and they sound absolutely amazing. I had them hooked up to a Sony 100w x 2 shelf system and they sounded like crap. This is an excellent budget receiver.

Similar Products Used: Sony shelf systems.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 10, 2001]
Strength:

this receiver has plenty of power. lots of bass when set right. this will get the cops at your door... i have the klh 15's an they are 300 watts an this stereo would blow them no problem..

Weakness:

one weakness i have found. i dont like the bass settings. the next stereo that i get are going to have nobe adjustments.

if you want an nice lookin an soundin stereo this is the one for you. but i like the newer modles aiwa came out with.

Similar Products Used: realistic
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Bryan Townsend   [Sep 28, 2001]
Strength:

Price. But I would have paid more to get what I thought I was getting but didn't.

Weakness:

Low power output. No way its pushing 100 watts per channel.
Defective DSP circuitry or design.
So far a lack of support from Aiwa.

I can not believe the number of positive reviews from people on this piece of junk. I purchsed this to complete a home entertainment/DVD/Surround sound system. From day one, the rear speakers have a crackle in them. It is almost like you are trying to drive 100 watt speakers with a 5 watt amp. I have had this unit in for warrenty repair three times in the first year. The same problem persists. I am a factory representative, selling electronic compnents to manufactureres. Some of our customers are Pioneer, Delphi, and Clarion. Even thogh I do not sell DSP chips, I am certain that there is an inherint defect somewhere in the DSP chip or circuit. The stereo mode of this unit works O.K. And I believe that is were most thepositive feed back is originating.But I do have to set the volume to around the 30 mark to get any kind of decent volume. And I am not a young head bangger. There is no way this unit is putting out 100 watts per channel. Selling to electronic manufacturers, I know the ever present pressures to reduce costs in electronics. You can buy a 32" fully loaded color TV now cheaper than you could by a basic 19" model in the 70s. But if you are manufacturing a product for surround sound, sound should be the optimum priority. I don't care how it looks, smells, or feels, the sound is the important thing here.This unit not only delivers minimum surround sound volume, but throws in a very distracting crackle from the rear speakers. As I write this, Aiwa and I are discussing some sort of "lemmon" settlement.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Chris   a Casual Listener [Sep 17, 1999]

This receiver is everything you could want. 100 watts goes to each of the 5 channels. The T-bass system gives you deep rich bass without distortion. It has Dolby Pro-Logic and is Dolby Digital and dts ready. It also has plenty of inputs to accomodate everything in your home theater. There are 4 DSP modes, and 5 geq modes that give great sound effects. Truly a bargain at any level.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2001]
Strength:

Surprisingly powerful and good sound for an Aiwa (I have had bad experiences in the past). VERY good value for the price. Dolby Digital ready (DVD player w/ Dolby decoder on the way!). Front inputs make it convienent for "quick" hookups. Powers everything from cd's to movies to video games without any sound problems.

Weakness:

No digital output. Gets pretty warm.

Recommended as a inexpensive, powerful, but good reciever.

Similar Products Used: JVC, Yahama, Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris Moore   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 30, 2000]
Strength:

Great clean power output, easy to set equalizer

Weakness:

T-Bass, needs and optical input

No matter what people say and think about Aiwa this is good receiver. Aiwa has just been stereotyped for making bad products by people who have never even listened to one. I've heard people say that this receiver produces it's power rating a clipping, HA. I can tell you that is much louder and clearer than my 70 watt Sony and it didn't produce power at clipping. The equalizer settings are very easy to set and work very well. Although T-Bass adds an almost harsh sound to the music, it causes way to much distortion and can easily blow a speaker. My opinion it should never have been included on this receiver, if it is bass you want go out and buy a seperately amplified subwoofer and leave the T-Bass off. Other than that this is a great receiver for the money and for the quality.


Chris

Similar Products Used: Sony 70x5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com