Sony TA-E9000ES A/V Preamplifier

TA-E9000ES

SONY PRE/PROS

User Reviews (362)

Showing 1-10 of 362  
1Inventor   AudioPhile [Nov 12, 2008]
Strength:

- Build quality (weight, components)
- Looks sexy (custom woodsides relly add to it)
- DSP flexibility - 2 sub/center pre-outs, EQ, Subwoofer distance
- Gold plated connectors

For $350.00 used, its a steal.

Weakness:

- 3 Cinema DSP chips bad
- runs hot! (no, nothing is wrong with the unit and it is well ventilated.
- LED screen beginning to go bad.

I have been wanting this preamp for quite sometime after my 333ES receiver's digital circuit quit on me.
It has excellent build quality after inspecting the units innards, excellent capacitors and components. I listened to it for a good month prior to performing mods to improve the sound. I received the unit with the early version 1.10 and was pretty disappointed at the sound. It was harsh, gritty and was way less than what I would expect from a flagship pre. I immediately went out and purchased the cable and upgraded to ver.2.10. Now were talking...plus the added features from the upgrade. Smoother, silkier and better highs.
I wasn't satisfied with a couple of things with this unit so I decided to do some mods;

- Upgrade stock 18 gauge power cable to 14 gauge
- Use better power connector
- line entire chassis with copper cloth (shield)
- place copper cloth on digital chips.(EMF/RF)
- place damping material in strategic areas
- surround entire transformer with copper cloth.
- Added Oak Side wood panels ( really looks cool )

Needless to say it is a much quieter unit with better backgrounds and more detail.
- clean

Similar Products Used: SONY STR-V333ES, Sony TA 2000ESD, Onkyo, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
wayne nielson   AudioPhile [Jan 20, 2003]
Strength:

Music sounds great with "live house". You must balance the rear speakers properly, though.

Weakness:

remote is next to worthless.

Excellent multi-use preamp. I packed away my Van Alstine! For those reviewers of the Sony TA-E9000es who say it does not record analog....yes it does. I've been recording off of FM and records for awhile. You must remember that this unit does not convert digital to analog! Hook your CD recorder or Mini-disc recorder to the analog output, look for "rec. out"!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stevie D   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 06, 2002]
Strength:

The 9000ES has many features that are built in for noise and emi reduction.

Weakness:

It does not do DTS-96/24 or have 6-channel inputs.

I have recently been doing some camparisons between the Sony TA-E9000ES and the new Sony STR-DA4ES and 7ES Receivers. Looking under the hoods of these models tells a great deal about their build quality. I am in the middle of writing an extensive review about these units, and sometime in mid-September, it will be posted at www.audioholics.com. In the mean time, there are a number of other great articles there that are worth checking out.

Similar Products Used: Many Others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
drramsey   AudioPhile [Jun 14, 2002]
Strength:

Firmware updates, build, gadgets.

Weakness:

Remote, phono section, 2 channel sound, EQ for tone adjust, no bass or treble pots.

Well, I will start by stating that this a splendid looking unit(i have the gold). It performs the HT functions well. It does sound much better than most of the others I have heard. The Krell HTS II is a cut above, but is in another price bracket. The remote is a stretch at best (eats batteries) and has limited uses. The one way remote included in the firm ware updates is much better. But, to truely make the most of the unit you need to spend another $300~$500 for a pronto or other quality remote. If you think that this rather pricey processor will give you top shelf sound, you will be dissapointed. It is a good performer by HT standards, but I still have a true class A 2 channel system. In fairness, I do not think you can expect theunit to perform 2 channel function at a level much beyond average. The HT functions, and sound are rather good for this type of sonic enjoyment. The board at www.ezboard.com/faussiedvdandhtforum is amust stop for owners of this unit. Great support and set up tips. This unit does not allow for the use of phono to cd or tape recording (I also found that a mm cartridge works best when using the phono section). The unitas at EBAY and audiogon are your best values. I would not purchase new again. The is a bank of 5 EQ settings to choose, this is your only bass/trebble adjusts, other than turn over ect.

Similar Products Used: Dennon, HK,B&K, more than I should care to admit.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Stevie D   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 11, 2002]
Strength:

Supperior Build Quality; Supperior Sound Quality; Great Formats and many to choose from; Easy to use with new 2.10c upgrade and remote.

Weakness:

Original Remote was unusable; it can not record from an analog signal.

I love this processor and I am very content with it. It will be with me for a long time, as I will not consider upgrading to anything else, since nothing comes close in this price range. I have tried many other processors before selecting and staying with this unit. I am not concerned about missing out on SACD or DVD Audio, since both formats are a scam. Check out the articles written about them on www.audioholics.com and www.iar-80.com/index.html. These articles and many others made me a believer that we are not missing out on anything with SACD. My only complaint about the unit is that it appears you can not use it to record an anolog signal, such as a Phono. When you try to select Phone to another source to record to, it is grayed out. It is this way with anything that operates from an analog source. That leads me to believe you can only record in the digital domain. That''s a bit unfortunate as I was really hoping to dump some of my old Albums on Tape or CD. Oh Well, I guess you can''t have everything.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha DSP A1, Anthem AVM 20, Mondial Act 3, and others
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
ashok522   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2002]
Strength:

Build Quality.. The price is good (relatively speaking of course) Many many features Upgradeability The gold color Looks good Easy to Use (from the pre-amp itself--not the remote) Many inputs/outputs/optical/etc Sound quality of course depends on other components.

Weakness:

The usefullness of the remote is at about the same or lower grade as the multicolored AOL CD''''s you get by mail....

Had this for about 8 Months now, bought it brand new on ebay. Overall I like this unit a lot (I got the gold colored one). It is very versatile, has tons of features, and is made in Japan. Build quality is superb. The fact that firmware updates are available (unofficially) is great, I am at the latest version right now (I think 2.5 or something with the 6.1 capability)..although I personally havent noticed much difference (of course i am not utilizing any of the advanced features!) I will give it a 5 with no hesitation..Sony''''s high end products are generally superb... sony''''s lower end is another story though! The remote sucks---It looks like a really complex piece with all kinds of features except for the ones i need--it doesnt even learn (that i know of)!

Similar Products Used: None really---
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   Audiophile [Jan 13, 2000]
Strength:

Clean, detail sound


I have this product for a year. After I change speaker
cable, digital line, and power conditioner, and find this preemp better and better. Can 9000ES handle 192Hz/24bit SCD/HDCD? if not , anyone know how we can upgrade this great machine.

ATI 1505
Sony TAE 9000ES
Pioneer DVD 414
Nordost Mongloo digital
MIT T2 interconnect
DH Lab T14 bi-wired
Speaker Elac CL142

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
S Wong   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2000]

This pre-amp performance is great, but after upgrading from version 1.10A to version 1.10C I am unable to use the cross-over for Front, Rear and Center speakers on the " Setup " menu. The Setup show-up as " Front sp

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dana Hite   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2000]
Strength:

None for me

Weakness:

REMOTE;no 5.1 input;no tuner

I think of myself as a poor audiophile...I am very picky about the sound of a system, but am a student and can't afford expensive products. I have a 7 year old Carver HR-875 receiver with a Carver 705X 5 channel amp. The sound in both stereo and pro-logic was better through my 875. Crutchfield tech support said I was hearing natural sound for the first time...this is the first time I heard this explanation and it seems confusing to me. I absolutely hated the remote...it was the most non-user-friendly remote I have ever seen. I am still in search of a preamp/TUNER or a receiver with pre outs to get DD/DTS. If you have any other explanation for my experience, I would be interested in hearing it.

Similar Products Used: first preamp
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Carlos   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2000]
Strength:

HT, build quality

Weakness:

not great for music

This sony is great for home theater. It has a clean focussed sound. It looks good and is built well.

However I am disapointed in the sound.My cheap denon had more musicality. I only have version 1.10a -maybe the upgrade will help.

The biggest problem with the remote is lack of programmability. You have to get a pronto remote to replace it.

Similar Products Used: denon avr2700
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 362  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com