Lexicon DC-1 A/V Preamplifier

DC-1

User Reviews (42)

Showing 1-10 of 42  
circuithead   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 02, 2005]
Strength:

Logic 7!! Price today Decent Stereo mode; Party mode for regular TV channels is what I prefer [equal/same sound to all your speakers]; Cathedral mode is kind of cool.

Weakness:

No balanced outputs.

This has DD, DTS, and most importantly Logic 7. The guy who wrote the algorithm for Logic 7 is one of the great minds of audio. Basically it can convert a 2 channel sound to 5 back to 2 then to 7 or a 5 channel signal down to 5 back to 7. The advantage of Logic 7 over DD 7.1 is that the rear channles are discreet in Logic same and not so in DD 7.1 which is the same algorithm as DD 6.1 - only instead of 1 large speaker in the rear center you use two small to the L/R of center. Party is good for crappy signals - it will send it out to all sepakers evenly. People have complained about bass mangt for this product - but that's really not an issue from what I can see... If you go separates then you need DD and you probably want something that can put out to 7 channels. This offers 7 discreet channels - the only sound processing program to do so. They're cheap at this point. You must get version 4.0. Look, a processor processes the signal coming in - if it has DD, and DTS then you have what is out there. Logic 7, build quality and current price is why you'd buy this. No balanced outs is why you wouldn't. Easy to operate. Ilove this product.

Similar Products Used: Old Kenwood receiver
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
stevenakamichi   AudioPhile [Feb 10, 2005]
Strength:

logic7, dts, DD processing

Weakness:

It's not as transparent as a true single purpose stereo pre-amp, but hey, that's what the lex dc-1 is not about.

I have resisted surround sound forever becuase a believe a proper stereo presentation aleady has (or should have)have width, depth, hieght and a clear center image. So, with some trepidation, I made may foray into multichannel sound. It's my belief that the pre-amp/ processor stage in any system is one of the keys to great sound. I heard just horrendous sound from those all-in-one receivers that offer everything and give the listener nothing. I bought on Lex Dc-1 2.1 DD/THX/logic7, and loved it. Becuase I liked it so much, I bought another one--with the 4.0 software DD/dts/THX EX/logic7. I've experimented a lot because I'm anal like that. A few things became clear: --Speaker placement is critical --Speakers should be the same (with the same drivers or same type of speakers from the same manufacturer) --Ceneter channel can cause big sonic problems. Although they're great for nailing movie dialogue, they tend to mess up the soundstaging of the mains. Along the lines of my stereo philosophy, i tend to think the mains should be left alone for music. --Subwoofer--I've tried them, and don't like them. although many proclaim subd to be omnidirectional, I can clearly localize <100Hz sub-bass. Let me give you an example: say a producer wants a double bass drum sharply panned, L&R. If I'm in a soundfield like my 3-channel ultra-high-end car audio. I can hear this effect. Subwoofer proceesing is tricky--setting up the right low-pass frequency filter, slope, level, time-alignment, parametric EQ (Ok, go easy on this one)--so that the bass is centered in front of the soundfield and integrated with the mains. Well, in home, the subs never works out that great. And if you have bass-proficient speakers like my vandersteen 3A's, you DON"T need a sub anyway. Just my thoughts.

Similar Products Used: Audio Alchemy Digital line Controller AA Pro32 DTI with adaptive dither AA DDEV3.0 HDCD D/A AAPowerstations 2,3,3Ultra,4 Audio magic I2S digital bus cable Audio Alchemy Clearstrem powered, selectable 75-ohm co-ax/110-ohm AES/EBU cable. monster Pro 1000 AES/EBU cable vandersteens 3a ADS L1290 with PA-1 biamplifiers ADS L710 ADS 300is B&W DM602S3 Rotel RB991 200wattsX2 amp Rotel RB993 200X3 nak dragon Rotel RCD1070 HDCD Denon DVD-2910 SACD/DVD-A etc.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Blake   AudioPhile [Nov 25, 2003]
Strength:

strong tight bass Highs are crystal clear and very natural sounding.

Weakness:

no prologic 2, neo 6 or six channel imput for multi channel music, But what you do get sounds so so so good.

I've used this for more than a year now and how amazed that I a'm. I was not expecting this kind of sound from a product so old.This a 1997 model that cost 4995.00 new. It only has DD and DTS at 7.1 channels and I'm using it at 5.1 surround which is good enough for me. It has 20 bit dacs instead of 24 bit that they use on today models, But it has eight of them at Burr Brown high quallity. These dacs are far better than most 24 dacs they use on the average receiver today, also this unit sounds great with music and I mean great. You can compare this to 1000-1500 two channel pre-amp seperates. I have Yamaha, Denon, And Marantz receivers and two of them are in the garage. I use the yamaha in my bedroom. all three have AC3 and DTS, But they just can't compare to Lexicon, and two of them are less than two years old the Yamaha and the Denon. If I had the cash I would buy the new Lexicon MC-12 at 8900.00. If your in the market to buy a new a/v unit you owe it to yourself to look at high end used products, they are so much better than this new stuff ranging from 300-1500 easy. I use this unit with a Rotel RMB 1075 at 120 WPC with Van Den Hul & Tara Labs interconnects. Remember this your system is only as good as its weakiest link, spend at least 10% of what you spent on your system on interconnects and speaker wire.

Similar Products Used: Played with Krell which is really good , Mac too warm for my blood, Mycormic sounds really good and Sunfire good stuff
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Raymond Smith   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2000]

I must agree with Brandt, Lexicon Logic 7 beats every other digital effects mode out there that I have heard. I'm not sure I would rate this PREAMP up with a Yamaha RECEIVER, but I too have heard the strange and weird effects that sometimes occur with Yamahas DSP modes (no matter how hard die-hard Yamaha fans try to defend it). A better comparison would be with the Parasound, Theta, or Meridian pre-amps. But at this price range they all sound extremely good on both music and HT and it just comes down to nitpicking.


I also agree that the DC-2 doesn't make much sense if a DC-1 is available. They are essentially the exact same product with only a few connector differences. I think the DC-2 retails for $4000, and a used DC-1 is now around $2500. $1500 does not justify a DC-2 IMHO. I'm not quite sure where Lexicon is going with the DC-2.


I don't think though that there is too much of a difference between the MC-1 and the DC-1 though. You have about 1/3 more connectors on the back, an RS-232 port, and some blank expansion slots. The video switching is broadcast quality circuitry. The biggest difference in sound is the independant DACs and the signal to noise ratio. As far as I can tell, the software is exactly the same. The MC-1 retails for $6000. The $3500 difference is pretty hard to swallow on those grounds.


I quite like the Theta products. Meridian is of course fabulous, but too expensive for myself. The parasound 3500 is a very nice unit as well.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 09, 1999]

The Lexicon DC1 is a fine product, but I have one serious complaint: WHY isn't DD standard on a processor of this caliber? Otherwise it's a fine processor, but prone to tweak abuse (which I seem to do more often then I like).

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
Gerardo Soriano   Audiophile [Jul 22, 2001]
Strength:

Great surround modes, future proof, the best pre-pro ever made.

Weakness:

Very sensitive to poorly recorded stereo music CDs.

The 1rst time I auditioned one of this babies was at my friend's house. Back then ( 1994 ) was the very well acclaimed CP-3 Plus. It was love at 1rst sight. I could not believe the vast reproduction of sound that I was introduced to. After 6 years of selfly neglecting my persona from pure, crystal stereo and surround sound reproduction, I finally got my hands on a DC-1 DD,DTS version 2. There was no looking back. I had enjoyed every minute of it. My system came to life. Believe me, I'm not putting my previous system down ( Onkyo TX 919 ) but when it comes to pre-pro, there's no comparison. I always felt the Onkyo felt short when it comes to reproducing the lowest note of the audio spectrum ( subwoofer ) but my Lexicon gave it all to me just the way I always wanted it, tight, dynamic and clear no way near clipping zone. You guys out there might be thinking that it's a bit early for me to be reviewing this amazing piece of equipment giving the nature of the time I had spent with it but I can not help it. I really have to give the Lexicon a perfect score.
Lexicon, If your listenning, keep up the good work!

System:

Lexicon DD,DTS,THX version 2
Pro Scan LD player
Toshiba 3108 DVD player
Sony ES VHS player
Panamax Line Surge
(3) Carver 35 THX amplifyers
(5) NHT VS2 speakers
(2) HSU Research Power subwoofers
Mounster & Audio Research speaker cables & in-
terconnects

Similar Products Used: Onkyo Integra TX 919, 1rst THX certfied Home theater receiver.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gordon   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2002]
Strength:

Clarity, delicacy, crispness, setup options, volume handling, remote

Weakness:

Haven't found any, but I'm still in honeymoon period.

Oh, so THAT'S what it's supposed to sound like! That was my initial and now lasting impression of this wonderful unit.

Now, granted, there was a lot of room for improvement from using my SR-7000 as the pre/pro. But I wasn't prepared for the full measure of the upgrade.

For movies (75% of use), small details I've never heard before are effortlessly revealed, and sound for powerful scenes arrives quickly and emphatically. I have it paired with an Oulaw Audio 750 5-channel amp and this makes for a great pairing. (Considering move to Sherborn 5-channel amp, though. I can never leave well enough alone.) Bass is far tighter, but this can also be attributed to my new Hsu Research VTF-2.

For music, the exaggerated warmth of the Marantz (which I generally prefer to cold presentations) is gone, and reproduced with what I assume to be the music's original intent. Like in movies, the Lexicon reveals small details in music that I didn't know were there. (Some of this could be attributed to my Bohlender Grabener speakers with super-fast planar tweeter and aluminum cone woofers. GREAT speakers, available for a steal on Ubid these days.)

As you can tell by now, I'm thrilled with this purchase. My unit came with everything but DTS, which I've never been all that impressed with. Also had the upgraded software and remote (both courtesy of 4.0 upgrade.) I dealt with a terrific guy called Steve Herrala of www.soundvideo.com, and got this for peanuts.

I was waiting for an Outlaw Audio 950 preamp, but when this baby showed up on Audiogon, the wait was over! If your budget is around $1500-$2000, you simply HAVE TO consider a used DC-1 or DC-2, many made avialable by Lexicon's trade-in program.

To use a much-travelled phrase, the Lexicon DC-1 is all good.

My equipment:
Toshiba TW5781 HDTV
Lexicon DC-1 4.0
Outlaw Audio 750 5-channel amp
Bohlender Grabener X-series cnter channel and towers
Phase Technology Teatro Surrounds
DirecTivo Satellite
Toshiba 5700 DVD
DVDO iScan V2 (very helpful in making TV broadcasts watchable)
DH Labs T-14 speakers cables
Bettercables Silver Serpent RGB, Component, and S-Video cables
Bell D'Ogetti stand
Intermediate ears (but constantly upgrading)

Similar Products Used: Nothing truly similar, but have used Marantz SR-7000 as standalone and later pre/pro w/Outlaw Audio 750 amp.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob McLeish   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 20, 2000]
Strength:

some of the best home theater I have heard even better on stereo compared to other solid state I have heard

Weakness:

none that I have found

I had an onkyo dtr7,also tried high rated sherwood pre amp. then came the DC1, WOW my home theater came alive. I bought this from a store in delaware called Overture for 1900.fully loaded,( ver 4.0 DD DTS EX )after several lost bids on e bay. my system is as follows: fronts B&W 603s center 2 B&W 602s side by side behind my screen sides B&W as6 rears B&W 602s my amp is anthem MCA5. I would recommend this unit by lexicon to anyone, you will not find a better sound for the money. the only unit i heard that was sightly better was the krell system,but the differance was slight. I think all around its the best thing I have heard. reminds me back when the only stereo was mac. I give it 5 stars 10 for value

Similar Products Used: Sherwood pre amp
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brendt   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2000]
Strength:

Logic 7, very large level of customization

Weakness:

Orange display (can dim it though), not much else.

For hime theatre buffs...WOW. This has to be one of the best deals going on the market right now. If you get one of these that was manufactured with the 24-bit DAC's and it has version 4.0 software, then you have an IDENTICAL sounding pre-amp as the DC-2. The only thing the DC-2 has is a few more inputs (and the DVD is labeled DVD on the front instead of VCR).


Is the extra few inputs worth $1500-$2500? I certainly don't think so.


In fact, this is very similar sound to the MC-1, although the MC-1 admittedly does have MANY more advanced features (especially in video switching), more inputs, and there is a slight improvement in overall sound due to the superior components and methods used. Worth an extra $3500? Not in my book.


The current DC-1 version 4.0 has to be one of the best steals in home theater today. I feel the parasound is slightly better if you prefer music-only and are not interested in home theater. Even with music though, the Logic 7 is spot on. I've owned a Yamaha 2095. If there are any morons out there who think the Yamaha DSP modes are equivalent to Lexicon's Logic 7 I simply have to laugh. Lexicon's modes are a real step-up from Yamaha's and do not display ANY errors or strange echoes, etc. that I have heard in other DSP products.


TV...Movies...music...they are all presented flawlessly in Logic 7. The vocal enhancement is nearly perfect and the voice NEVER strays throughout the room. Instruments are where they are supposed to be. Lexicon's idea of the side-speaker being the most important speaker is 100% true in my listening tests. The side speakers perform BETTER at extending the range than Yamaha's 7-channel mode.


As you can tell, I'm a home theater buff, but I do listen to music quite often. I'm exceedingly pleased with this pre-amp. I have noticed that it is slightly less detailed than other pre-amps. I have compensated with appropriate cables and slightly repositioning my speakers.


Summary...for $2000-$2500 I can't think of a better sounding, more configurable pre-amp with an absolutely flawless presentation for all media. It's a steal and is identical to what you'd get with the DC-2 (minus some connections) for $1500 less.


5 stars for value...heck, this pre-amp was over $5000 two years ago and is completely updated with DTS, THX, and EX/ES surround!


5 stars for overall...it has performed flawlessly for me. No clicks...no pops...no strange problems with DSP modes...flawless.

Similar Products Used: Theta, Acurus ACT-3, Sony 9000ES, Parasound
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audiophile [Jan 31, 2000]
Strength:

What a great buy. Everyday I turn this piece on I find another thing to like about it. Never mind George Mills review about Logic 7. Hey it is ok thx wanted us to have 7 channels now also. Go figure could it be that Lexicon is ahead of its time. I got surround ex and all all my other mdoes updated for $100. Man what a deal. Tha da converters work great for music and listening in 2 channels sounds too boreing after hearing music logic and party modes. A must buy for a home theater lover.

Weakness:

Buttons on the front pannel often have problems.

What more can I say but great sound in dolby pro-logic and dolby digital. Real clean sound for music. The cross overs work great with my m&k speakers. The only thing I can say bad about this piece is that the vcr button sometimes doesn't respond when it is pushed in. The new remote is great it is about time they made a back lit remote. THe on screen menues make setup a breeze even for a person that doesn't know anything about hometheater and unlike yamaha you can assign your digital ins.

Similar Products Used: Denon 3600, yamaha 3090, denon 5700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 42  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com