Denon AVD-2000 A/V Preamplifier

AVD-2000

Dolby Digital Decoder/Processor

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Quagmire   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2002]
Strength:

Slim, simple design. Compact remote. Setup is fairly easy. Plenty of digital inputs. Defeatable Dialog Normalization circuitry. Above all else... the sound.

Weakness:

The unit does run hot, but so do many receivers. It does not have a stand by mode to turn on and off by remote. Although the defeatable Dialog Normalization feature is very nice, it must be reset each time the unit it powered up.

I've owned the Denon AVD-2000 for several years now and initially I purchased the unit to upgrade my DD ready receiver to being fully DD capable. It worked great in this capacity, but over time the receiver slowly got pushed out and was replaced by a good quality multichannel amp: So I use the AVD-2000 as an HT preamp directly connected to my multichannel amp. There are limitations when using the unit this way, but I believe the sleakness, simplicity, and above all else, the sound quality when connected directly to an amp far outweighs these limitations. The unit has plenty of digital inputs (two optical, two coax, plus RF for laser disc) an optical digital out, plus a discrete 6-channel analog input for connecting other processors/decoders (DTS) or a DVD-A/SACD player. Other nice features are: Cinema EQ, a setting to dim or turn off the display, and the ability to turn off Dolby's Dialog Normalization. This function, which is fairly unique to the AVD-2000, definitely improves the sound quality of Dolby encoded material, bringing it nearly on par with DTS. I also like that you can adjust of the volume and lay over the Cinema EQ to devices which are connected to the discrete analog input. The main limitation is the omition of at least one analog input, primarily for VCR. I used a seperate DPL processor connected to the discrete inputs on the Denon to get around this limitation, but afters awhile I realized that since we began buying and renting DVD's we seldom even used the VCR anymore. Since it is my only remaining analog source, I made the decision to remove it from the audio portion of my system and connect it directly to the television so that my daughter can still watch her blasted Barney videos. For us this is a perfectly acceptable trade off. The unit does run warm as others have mentioned, but I've always provided plenty of ventilation and it has never shutdown or given me any other problems. For the $200 that I paid for it, I could not be more satisfied. When used to upgrade a DD ready receiver as it was designed, the unit performs flawlessly. But in my opinion, using the AVD-2000 directly with good seperate amplifiers really allows the full potential of this little gem to shine through. This is one peice of audio equipment I can honestly recommend without reservations.

Similar Products Used: Technics SH 500, Sony SDP 800
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nathan the Limey   Audio Enthusiast [May 01, 2002]
Strength:

Good points... Totally silent (no background hiss) in DD mode Very quiet decoding for Pro-Logic, minimal background noise 5.1 input is volume controlled + channel adjustable (not a direct bypass), as DTS/DVD-Audio processors have no volume control Cinema Re-Eq to tame extreme action films Stereo phono line-level out, basically the Denon can also act a DAC from DVD-to Integrated stereo amp (analogue) 5 channel stereo mode is OK. Plenty of digital inputs- 2 coax, 2 optical, 1 RF for LD. Digital output (optical) Stereo, Pro-Logic/DD & each DSP mode have their own channel adjustment volume - put stereo to 00dB, Pro-Logic to +12dB Switched outlet for plugging in a DVD player or DTS processor Switable 110/240 voltage.

Weakness:

Bad points.. Looses Dialogue Normalization setting on switch off. Have to create a macro. When left & right are set to small, centre cannot be set to large. Rears are not configurable to large/small, only on/off Gimmicky & crap sounding DSP modes (Jazz, Rock, Matrix etc) Don''t use em anyway. Gets warm in UK climate, might overheat in very hot climate. No Analogue inputs to decode from VCR- not bothered. Looses DD bitstream when navigating CERTAIN DVD''s- Akira & Shrek. Re-finds audio when clicking on "Play Film". My Sony Digital out has some blame for this. Replacing with a Pioneer DVD fixes this problem. Not exactly good in Hi-Fi use. Use a good CD player & pre-amp instead.

Decoding chip is a Zoran, DAC''s are Burr-Brown PCM59 & PCM1702''s The volume control range could have been more, at -- it''s muted, 40 is one click up, 00 is maximum. I have taken the PCB board off, turned upside down & drilled between the ventilation holes under the heatsink so more air can flow upwards. Noticed a slight reduction of heat on the top-panel. I haven''t got the Pop like Chris below. There is a relay which mutes the output, perhaps his poweramps revert to full power (with no sound) when no signal is detected? Anyway, there is no problems like that with mine (Audiolab PX poweramps) Chris, set Stereo setting to 00 so it''s no so loud at minimum volume. Even though the bad points are numerous, they''re very very minor. 4.5 starts overall. 1 star because it''s no longer made! I use it purely for upgrading my Sony DVD player DAC, Pro-Logic + DD DVD films. I have a Hi-Fi CD, Pre-Power & Poweramp purely for stereo. I prefer the hard switch as they are more robust and it''s not in standby all the ti

Similar Products Used: Other similar products owned- Harmon/Kardon ADP-303 DD processor. HK & Denon have more or less identical sound quality, however Denon outperforms the HK in the features. Cannot compare Harmon or the
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Shawn Clark   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 31, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent quality.
Great sound.
Nice surround options.

Weakness:

Runs EXTREMELY HOT.
Mechanical power button. Can't turn on and off with a remote!

I got this unit s few months back. Still working fine. I was going to dump it about a month back, and just use the built-in decode in my Sony 530 DVD player. No way! I noticed a significant drop in audio quality with the built in decode in the DVD player. I have 2 problems with the unit right now.

1. Runs EXTREMLY HOT. I have had the unit actually shut-off before due to high heat.

2. Unit has a mechanical power button. You cannot turn the unit on or off from the remote control. Very annoying.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Ebeneezer   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 23, 2000]
Strength:

It costs less, sounds good, has a useful 5-channel stereo mode, and the remote is convenient.

Weakness:

Dolby Digital ergonomics suck, won't turn off with remote, and runs hot.

I like it. I wanted something cheap, simple, and not too bad sounding that I could use separate amps with. I think Dolby Digital HT preamps should be considered somewhat disposable, given the rate of change in the market. So, I really didn't want to spend much. Also, I like the remote a lot. I really hate big remotes with lots of buttons. I just can't handle dealing with so many buttons. My complaints: 1) can't turn the thing off w/ remote. I use a Parasound scamp to handle this job, 2) Runs way hot, so you can't stack anything on top, 3) I don't like the dolby digital automatic switching, because most of the time you wind up defaulting to Pro Logic (which I think sucks big time), or sitting there getting constipated making up its mind whether it can go into Dolby Digital or not. Sometimes I have to power it on and off because it gets so constipated. But I set the default so that it never goes into Dolby Digital just to circumvent this flaw, but that sort of defeats the purpose of having a DD preamp anyway. Oh well, that's life after only spending $300.

Similar Products Used: sony prologic receiver, creek obh-12
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
thestryder   Audiophile [Apr 23, 2000]
Strength:

Not bright very smooth sounding

Weakness:

Remote sucks

Recomended for anyone who is seeking a high end product for mid-class price. The electronics in this unit are the same as those used in Denons high end gear. Very nice!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
peter karlsson   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2000]

i have bin using it for bouth dvd and cd`s and it sounds
great. it delivers a smooth sound filld with details.
I`m using it to control my two amps, ROTEL,1090THX
ROTEL,985THX. the 1090 powers a pair of Dali 450 and the
five chanel 985 is biampt on the rear Dali 350`s the remaining chanel powers the Dali sc-5 center.
speaker cables and conectors from tara labs.
it truly sounds great.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Levi   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2002]
Strength:

High Performance for less $, Lots of optical and coax inputs. CAn interface with all processors, preamp or amp. REmote controlled.

Weakness:

None.

This is a great sounding DD processor. I have no problems with it so far. This processor is very clean sounding with great stereo separation that can rival some of the most expensive processors out there. This is also great if you have a portable Mini CD that requires an external digital output. I lucked out on ebay on this.

Similar Products Used: HK
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 13, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent DAC performance, price, generous input/output connections

Weakness:

runs hot, not fantastic as a preamp

I'd highly recommend the AVD-2000 to anyone who is trying to put together a high-performance home theater on a tight budget. I've used this thing for about three years now and as a dolby-digital processor it is really first rate. I've compared it head-to-head in my home with a B&K Reference 20 ($$$$) preamp-processor and the dolby digital performance is indiscernable. I also had a Sony STR-DE915 receiver and that thing sucked in both amplifier performance and channel separation in DD or ProLogic mode. The AVD-2000 blows it away.

This unit does run hot like others have said, but I've never had it shut down on me. Where this unit really falters is in use as a digital stereo preamp - although I don't think it was really intended to be used that way - the stepped volume control's lowest setting is not low enough if you have really sensitive speakers, even with modest power amplifiers. Also, going from the lowest volume setting to no volume just switches off the outputs and causes a loud, audible static POP! to blast through your speakers. Not exactly refined.

That said, this unit really shines as a DAC / processor. Audio CD's sound much smoother and clearer when using this as an external DAC than with the internal DAC in my Panasonic CLD-D406 laserdisc/combi player, my Panasonic DVD-A310 DVD player, or with my NAD CD player for that matter. Also, as I've said, this thing has outstanding dolby digital performance, and my relatively cheap home theater kicks ass over systems my friends have that cost many dollars more. They are all jealous (couldn't go the way I did due to the spousal acceptance factor of my system being very low as it is complicated to use). If you want a stand-alone DD processor for me this is definately a no brainer if you are on a budget.

For the record, my system consists of:
6 Klipsch KSB1.1 satellites
1 M&K MX-125 Mk II subwoofer
3 Adcom GFA-535 60 w.p.c. amplifiers
1 Denon AVD-2000 DD processor
1 Panasonic DVD-A320 DVD player
1 Pioneer CLD-D406 LD player

Similar Products Used: Sony STR-DE915, B&K Reference 20 (borrowed),
DAC's in various other source components
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dean   Audiophile [Nov 12, 1999]
Strength:

Smooth sounding DD playback. Easy to use with a very detailed manual.

Weakness:

NONE

Purchased this to add to my lexicon to attain DD surround. Incredibly smooth DD sound with little noice. Voices and rear channel sound impecable. For this price you can't beat this product.

Similar Products Used: Denon AVP-8000, Lexicon CP-1+
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Karl   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 1999]
Strength:

Low cost to me. Excelent sound quality. Fairly easy to use and understand.

Weakness:

Limited sound fields, but they are not necessary.

The Denon AVD-2000 is an excelent Dolby Digital decoder. I saw the unit in ads in Stereo Review and other such magazines for $500 plus; I was lucky and purchased it online at www.ubid.com for $127 with shipping. Granted the unit was refurbished, it was still a great price. The unit itself is very sleek looking. It is very easy to understand, as long as you can program a VCR clock (very simple). I have it hooked up to a Yamaha RX-V592 "DD ready" reciever and the sound is amazing. With JBL fronts, a B&W center, and some old pair of Realistic (Radio Shack) rear speakers, this units makes my home theater sing.
I would recomend this decoder to anyone whom needs one to experience the Dolby Digital wave. HIGHLY RECOMENDED!

Similar Products Used: Sony STRDE-835, Onkyo surround units
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com