Adcom GTP-760 A/V Preamplifier

GTP-760

Surround preamp

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
blantto   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 02, 2008]
Strength:

Sound quality both in surround and 2 channel

Weakness:

Generates a good deal of heat. Doesn't have 7.1 due to age.

When I first got this thing I was amazed at how good it sounded. I figured I would wait a while to write a review though, because this thing generates alot of heat I figured something would break on it. Its been more than four years and with two kids at home this thing still sounds as good as the day I got it and nothing has broken on it. I have not even thought about upgrading to 7.1 because this thing does its job in surround so well and even when I listen in two channel mode for music I can just melt into my chair and be part of the music. Was a bit scared about the heat thing at first but, obviously built to withstand that. Love it, and the wife does too.

Similar Products Used: Parasound, Harman Kardon, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lspellens@yahoo.com   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 08, 2005]
Strength:

Excellent, quiet, clean sound through all audio and visual inputs. Remote works effectively.

Weakness:

Switching between DTS and other video modes is slow. The vertical red lights indicating whether mode is DTS, Dolby Digital, 5-channel, or 2-channel are far too small to detect across a room. Far better would have been a clear LED or LCD display, where the input mode--CD, DVD, Tape, etc.--is indicated.

After one month in use, the GTP 760 went completely flooey. The volume control would shoot up uncontrollobly and had to be turned down manually to prevent a dB blast loud enough to blow up my Vandersteen speakers. Fortunately, Adcom fixed the contoller and the unit has worked perfectly every since, now for 3 years. As sound to me is the most important aspect of a preamp, I am happy with the unit's quality. As there is no built-in phono section, I use a Graham Slee Gram Amp 2 phono preamp, hooked into the CD mode. My CD recorder uses the Tape mode.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
levir   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 19, 2003]
Strength:

I would admit that DTS and Dolby Digital decoding works the way they should and nothing more if you can pass through the noise.

Weakness:

Background noise. Cheap electronic components.

This Adcom GTP 860 is a piece of c***! I upgraded from Adcom GTP-760 and thought that I will get a better cleaner sound. I was wrong! This amp is not as clean sounding as the previous 760 model. There is fairly noticeable amount of background noise on all channels. I am so sorry that I have invested money on this. It's garbage! There are other pre-amps out there that is cleaner sounding and has more certifications at this price point.

Similar Products Used: Adcom GTP 760.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Levi   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2003]
Strength:

24Bit processing. Smooth 5.1 channel. DTS/Dolby processing. Simple to use and operate. Style and looks.

Weakness:

I could hear hiss when I put my ears next to the speaker but this is not pronounced when listening to my movie or music. Runs on the warm side when you touch. Not very many weaknesses compared to the strengths.

I got a great deal on the Adcom GTP 760. I have been waiting for this preamp and now I got it! This is the best sounding av preamp for the price. This preamp works great in conjuction with my Adcom GFA 7500 5 channel amp. This preamp replaced separate Denon AVD2000 Dolby Digital decoder and my Millenium DTS decoder. The 5.1 channel separation is very smooth. I could hear details that I have not heard before. The 24Bit processing helps here. As for music, I use the on board DAC converter. I am happy to have bought this preamp. Although it is not perfect, the price is right. I could be happier with a Parasound or B&K which cost double the price I paid. I also auditioned the Rotel's latest pre-amp but was not impressed. sorry. I would recommend this pre-amp for the bargain hunters and for the audio enthusiasts.

Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon AVR80 THX, Denon AVD2000, Millenium DTS decoder, Auditioned: Rotel, Parasound, Outlaw.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dylan Arriaza   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2003]
Strength:

Great price, great looks

Weakness:

Only one optical input when forwarding chpters on a CD or DVD, the first second or two are lost while the unity looks for the signal (strange)

I like this unit. For the price paid, you get lots for your $$. I've had it approx 6 months and it took some time to break in. Nice features include 5ch stereo from 2ch recordings (great for parties, Jazz club sound is quite real, good remote that is brightly backlit. I didn't get any of the humming that I have heard so much about. I'm a firm believer that the most influential component you can add to your system is ampliphication. Don't skimp....it makes all the difference to have lots and lots of power. I picked up a Sunfire 200W x 5 and my Infinity speakers sound great.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Sam N   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 16, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound! Great construction! Its an Adcom!

Weakness:

Maybe a little expensive if you dont get a deal online, I mean, $1,800 bucks is not cheap!

After having owned an Adcom GFP-555II for many years, finally decided to make the splash into the AV world. After much research I decided on the Adcom 760. I had some fears, as the vintage Adcom I owned was made in the good ole USA, while the new Adcom's are now made in China. Well, after having spent 8 weeks with the Adcom, I can say I made the right choice! WOW! What a sweet sounding pre-amp. I have a 12 year old CD player with optical outs and when I hook up the Adcom and use its internal D to A converter, my CD's seem reborn!! And then there is the Dolby Digitial!!! If you own this pre-amp you MUST purchase the Eric Claption dvd, Live in Hyde Park. The sound is UNREAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Plenty of hook-ups and switching, back lit learning remote that is easy to use and just sweet sound! The construction is good and the unit is easy to use! Kudos Adcom!!!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: Rotel, Denon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Duke   AudioPhile [Sep 15, 2002]
Strength:

Esteemed pedigree Excellent construction Simple design Outstanding sound Fully featured Very neutral imaging

Weakness:

Runs a little warm

Best sounding AV preamplifier that I have heard for under $3,000. If you are considering an AV reciever in the $2-3,000 price range, junk that plan and purchase the 760 and a good 5 channel amplifier!

Similar Products Used: B&K, Parasound, Denon, HK
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian Brunner   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 14, 2002]
Strength:

Terrific soundstage in 2 channel stereo mode. Dual zone, dual source (nice feature) and the 5-channel stereo mode is a big plus for when you have a few people over and you wish to disperse sound evenly throughout the room. Solid construction.

Weakness:

Runs a bit hotter than you'd expect from a pre-amp.

Outstanding AV-preamplifier!! The Adcom GTP-760 has been a flawless performer from the moment I first turned it on. Easy to use, loaded with everyday USABLE features and most importantly, the sweet, nuetral sound of Adcom. The Adcom D/A converter is top-notch, the construction is solid and the ergonomics, though plain, are well thought out. My system consists of: Adcom GTP-760 Adcom GFA-585 front channels Dahlquist DQ-30i's mains Adcom GFA-7300 for center, rears and zone 2 room speakers. Pinnacle Classic Gold center channel Pinnacle Classic Gold surrounds JBL L1 bookshelfs in zone 2 with a Yamaha EQ-70 providing equalization for ONLY the bookshelf speakers in room. Velodyne FSR-15 running between the pre-amp and the power amp. Vvelodyne FSR-12 running off of the pre-amp for 5.1 All Monster cable Z-series interconnects. HK-DVD5 dvd player. HK-CDR2 cd recorder. Adcom ACE-515 line enhancer. 36" Toshiba FST Super Black TV

Similar Products Used: Denon, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bert Ira   AudioPhile [May 30, 2002]
Strength:

Sleek looks. Ease of use.

Weakness:

Broke down within 3 months. Not good for such an expensive product.

I was shocked at the UBid price considering the unit ran for $1700.00 elsewhere. It sounded good for a while, then, at three months, it just up and died. No fuse problem. It was acting strange before that and was getting stuck on modes that wouldn;t produce sound. funny thing is, I replaced a Harman-Kardon signature 2.0 and put it back into action noticing that the sound was many times better than the Adcom ever was. Much clearer and cleaner with the Graeber-Bolenger speakers. I was I plan on following up to let you know how Adcom customer service is, but I plan on keeping the 2.0 in line.

Similar Products Used: HK 2.0
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Bill Ullum   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 14, 2002]
Strength:

great sound quality, looks

Weakness:

poor video section,slow detection of audio formats

I have had 2-GTP 760''s and 1-Gtp 750 I hade problemswith the video sections in all of them,I would like to know if anyone else has had this problem.I really liked the sound quality of the Adcoms but had to send them all back Warning Beware of Mudah store on ebay He did not refund the whole amount ,said unit worked perfect. I find that hard to believe still working on getting the rest of my money back there are a few bugs in the Gtp 760s such as the volume control jumps and is''nt smooth,the onscreen grapics are terrible, and prcessor is slow to awitch modes and you miss the beginning of music tracks.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha 5250 used as preamp, Maranz Av9000
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com