Adcom GTP-740 A/V Preamplifier

Adcom GTP-740 A/V Preamplifier 

DESCRIPTION

Adcom preamp with dolby digital (AC-3)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 28  
[Oct 15, 2011]
HK
AudioPhile

ADCOM's Made in China is different than those yester-year Made in USA, the China made is pure garbage junk, all kind of problems, electronically, electrically and processor wise; control does not work properly and doing other things not supposed to do, sound reproductions is one of the worst kind I ever heard ... on the other hand, if you can get earlier models, those that is still Made in the old USA ... they sing and sing so wonderfully producing audiophile quality sound ... this model is Made in China folks ... save your money, forget new model ADCOM's ... either you go vintage or add more $ to your investment if you want your system to sing ...

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 04, 2008]
benellicav
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

sound is crisp and clear

Weakness:

nothing that i can see have owned it 3 years now

Despite the bad reviews this preamp rocks,,has always worked great for me..i buy only adcom products and have a complete system,,funny how only negative people post reviews...they have sold thousands of these so a few bad reviews is nothing to me,, just my opinion

Similar Products Used:

sony

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 30, 2003]
andro
Casual Listener

Adcom flat out should be sued for their lousy products.Heh heh,try sending the unit back for repair.Oh, you'll get it back alright ! Same condition.I hate this lousy company cause I cannot afford to buy another unit now and this thing is a useless black box sitting in my closet.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 14, 2001]
Sam
Audiophile

Strength:

none

Weakness:

All

I have installed(6) of these units and all of them have the same problems. It seems that they all have had problems with poping and hum on the digital inputs. The tuner is a worthless item as well, but this is true with most pre/pro combos out there. I have had several units DOA as well, and some that came back from Adcom service that were still not quite right. It would surprise me if the 750 was any better!!

Similar Products Used:

Proceed AVP, Citation 5.0,Marantz,Rotel,etc.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 30, 2000]
Todd
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

None to speak of.

Weakness:

Everything

The first unit I received was pretty much DOA. I was able to get sound out of it a couple of times. I promptly returned it to Kief's and the quickly sent a replacement unit. All seemed well with the replacement unit for about 9 months. At that point it started to forget which surround mode went with which source. It also started popping real bad when using any digital input. It then began to go completely silent. Switching surround modes or listening/viewing sources would sometimes bring the unit back to life for a little while. It would then buzz loudly from all channels irregardless of what surround mode was selected (even two channel). I contacted Adcom and they upgraded my 740 to a 750 for $100. While this isn't a great deal of money, I really felt like the upgrade should have been completely at Adcom's expense. I am very happy with the 750, but would recommend avoiding the GTP-740 like the plague.

Caveat emptor!

Similar Products Used:

GTP-750

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 13, 2000]
Robert
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound, DD and DTS are fantastic,looks, Ease of use

Weakness:

Reliability, Thumps between tracks when playing cds through digital inputs, Thumps when changing satalite chanels when fed through digital inputs, No Gain, Funny Volume, Terrible sounding dsp modes, No Five Channel input, No digital output for digital recorders.

Well disregaurd my last review My third GTP740 just died. It stopped working right in the middle of watching a movie. All It would do was light up different panel lights each time you turned it on. When I returned to the dealer I had the option of sending it back to be serviced or pay $500 to upgrade to the GTP 750 I chose the later but I feel That my original cash outlay which was a substantial amount for me should have resulted in a product which would do what it was supposed to do. If anybody out there is reading this trying to decide whether to buy a GTP 740 do not take the chance no matter how good a deal you get it is not worth it. My new 750 has more gain and does not thump between cd tracks and sat channels and seems to make up it's mind about what surround mode it should be in a lot quicker. These were my only real complaint about the 740 when it was working, so if the 750 is reliable I will be very happy, However I am $500 poorer than I had planned.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 08, 2000]
Michael Conley
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound, lots of gold plated inputs, S Inputs, 5 channel
output field

Weakness:

Tuner blows, very fragile, strange sounding DSP fields

Sold a Yamaha DSP E-300 for upgrade to this unit.
Had the unit 2 weeks and back to Adcom because Video output stopped functioning (you need this to set-up and maintain).I miss the Yamaha DSP variety of modes for audio. I haven't had the problems that others here have had. My unit is the quietest I've ever heard. The Yamaha used to fire up the Distortion alerts on my Adcom 5 ch. amp with regularity. This pre-amp never has done that no matter the volume. Always warm andf very clean sounding with no background jitters. DD and pro-logic absolutely bury the Yamaha, 2 channel is superb.Great value soundwise but questionable quality control. As soon as I saw the Made In China on the box I anticipated some problems. C'mon Adcom, have some pride..stop the outsourcing. All in all a good deal. Keep in mind that any outboard DD pre-amps are still in the $3,500 to $5,000 range...I paid $1,200. I will put this unit against any soundwise.

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha DSP E 300

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 09, 2000]
Robert
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

sound, ease of use, looks

Weakness:

low gain, funny volume

I bought this preamp becuase I got a very good deal. It is actually the third unit I brought home as the first two were returned to the store the same day. The first unit was so loud I thought an jet was landing on the house. the second was very quiet but after it warmed up the prossesors started acting up(If you pressed pause on a dvd it would take up to a minute to play sound again after you pressed play).It also would stop playing sound in dolby digital and prologic modes after you switched sources It would work again after you turned it off and on again. This third unit seems to work fine there is no noise that I can detect at all and I use klipsch fortes 99db. The sound is good and the only complaint I have is a small bump when I change channels on my digital satalite box (the 740 is fed with the optical digital output from the box. There is no noise when using the analog outputs but no dolby digital either). Overall I am happy with my purchase ($850 including a five year extended warranty I dont think I could have done better at the price and the warranty gives me peace of mind considering the questionable quality control. PS. nobody should even think about buying one used on Ebay or anyplace else without demoing the actual unit as many of these units aparently are defective.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 14, 2000]
Brian Parker
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean Aesthetics

Weakness:

Sound, Operation, Reliability.

I too bought this without too much compairison shopping, on the advice of a friend. From the start things looked bad. The subwoofer volume level never worked properly. The surround modes sounded wierd. The thing was noisy as hell. All in all aa horrible expierence. I bought a Proceed AVP to replace it, and sent the ADCOM in to be fixed. When I got it back I sold it on EBAY, without listening to it. The guy who bought it did not like it either as it was so noisy. I took the thing back and it has been sitting in my trunk for the last 2 months. I do not know what to do with this $1400 piece of junk. I guess I am considering giving it to my little brother to go with the DVD player that I just gave him. I would have to buy a 5 channel amp for him also. I hope that the combination will end up sounding better than his current boombox.

Similar Products Used:

Proceed AVP

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Nov 18, 1999]
Gerry
Audiophile

Strength:

None

Weakness:

Signal/Noise ratio, Power Supply, Surround Processing, Volume Control, Reliability

Having been a long time fan of Adcom Amplifiers, my recent decision to purchase a GTP-740 DTS Preamplifier came without much comparative research....an assumption that I would soon regret! Having experienced many of the same manufacturing flaws as other reviewers (Failed power supplies, faulty surround mode switching, inconsistent source selection and an annoying volume control design) on three consecutive units, I was compensated with a "new" GTP-750. Adcom has supposedly re-designed the pre-amplifier stage of this replacement product in addition to correcting the aforementioned defects. I have only had the new GTP-750 for a couple of weeks, however, there are definitive improvements in sound quality and reliability. I would be very much interested in hearing from other 750 owners as to their experience with this product. We can only hope that Adcom has redeemed themselves!

I will follow-up with a more extensive review once I have had a chance to fully acquaint myself with the GTP-750.

Similar Products Used:

Recently Replaced by Adcom for their new GTP-750

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com